DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 03/20/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simchak et al. (US 2020/0072428 hereinafter refer as “Simchak”).
Regarding claim 1. Simchak discloses an optical module (see Figs. 4 and 5) module for a light-emitting system (see Para. 0019) for an automotive vehicle, comprising: a. at least one light source (101-104, see Fig. 4, Para. 0030); b. a one-piece optical system (110) including at least one primary optical member (e.g. first, second, and third arrays 111, 112, 113, see Fig. 5, Para. 0030), the primary optical member being arranged to form a primary image from the light sources; c. a mask (opaque material 125, see Figs. 4 and 5, Para. 0043, 0045) placed downstream of the primary optical member and having at least one opaque zone and a window (see Fig. 4, Para. 0046) formed in the opaque zone, the window being arranged facing the primary optical member (see Fig. 4, Para. 0046) so as to form a secondary image from the primary image, a segment (inner lens face 115, see Fig. 4, Para. 0041) of the one-piece primary optical system (110) extending through the window; and d. a projecting optical system (120, Fig. 4, Para. 0027) arranged to project, onto the ground (in front of the vehicle, see Para. 0027, 0028), the secondary image formed by the mask (125).
Regarding claim 2. Simchak further discloses the primary optical system (110) is being produced by over-molding at least one material on the mask (125, e.g. inner lens assembly 110 and opaque material 125 may be formed as a single part using a two-shot injection molding process, see Para. 0045).
Regarding claim 3. Simchak further discloses the projecting optical system (110) has a focal surface
Regarding claim 4. Simchak further discloses plurality of selectively controllable light sources (101-104, see Fig. 4, Para. 0030), in that the one- piece primary optical system (110) comprises a plurality of primary optical members (e.g. first, second, and third arrays 111, 112, 113, see Fig. 5, Para. 0030), wherein each primary optical member is arranged to form a primary image from one of said light sources, and wherein the mask (125) includes a plurality of windows (area surrounding the primary optical member) each arranged facing one of the primary optical members so as to form a secondary image from the primary image formed by that primary optical member, one segment (115) of the one-piece primary optical system extending through each of the windows.
Regarding claim 5. Simchak further discloses wherein the primary optical members (see Fig. 2, Para. 0030) are arranged in a matrix array.
Regarding claim 6. Simchak further discloses the primary optical system (110) comprises an exit optical member (115), said primary optical member comprising an entrance face for light (input side of inner lenses 111-114 see Fig. 4, Para. 0044), facing which said light source is placed, and a junction face (merged area of the inner lenses) joining the primary optical member to said segment (115) extending through said window, said segment being joined to the exit optical member (see Para. 0042).
Regarding claim 7. Simchak further discloses the junction face (merged area of the inner lenses) of the primary optical member (111-114) and an upstream face of the mask (125) lie substantially in the same plane.
Regarding claim 8. Simchak further discloses primary optical member (111-114, see Fig. 4, Para. 0040) comprises a primary light guide, the entrance face (51) of said light guide being joined to the junction face (52) of said light guide by an envelope (First, second, third and fourth inner lenses 111-114) such that each point on the outline of the entrance face is connected to one point on the outline of the junction face by a straight line (see Fig. 4, Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 9. Simchak further discloses the projecting optical system (120) has a focal surface (see Fig. 1) passing substantially through the junction face where said primary optical member (111-114, see Fig. 4, Para. 0040) joins the segment (115, see Fig. 4, Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 10. Simchak discloses a light-emitting system (110) for an automotive vehicle, comprising an optical module (see Figs. 4 and 5) with the optical module including at least one light source (101-104), a one-piece primary optical system (110) including at least one primary optical member (111-114, see Fig. 4, Para. 0040), the primary optical member being arranged to form a primary image from the light source, a mask (125) placed downstream of the primary optical member (see Figs. 4 and 5) and having at least one opaque zone and a window formed in the opaque zone, the window being arranged facing the primary optical member so as to form a secondary image from the primary image, a segment (115) of the one-piece primary optical system extending through the window, and a projecting optical system (120) arranged to project, onto the ground (in front of the vehicle, see Para. 0027, 0028), the secondary image formed by the mask.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DANNER et al. (US 2018/0370419 hereinafter refer as “DANNER”) in view of MAIER et al. (US 2016/0273727 hereinafter refer as “MAIER”).
Regarding claim 1. DANNER discloses an optical module (see Figs. 2b, 6 and 9) module for a light-emitting system (vehicle 1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0075) for an automotive vehicle, comprising: a. at least one light source (light sources 9a, 10b, 10a, 10b, and 10c, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077); b. a one-piece optical system including at least one primary optical member (primary optics 11, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077), the primary optical member being arranged to form a primary image from the light sources; c. a mask (mask 16, mask openings 16a, 16b, see Figs. 2b and 6, Para. 0078, 0081,0083) placed downstream of the primary optical member and having at least one opaque zone and a window (mask openings 16a, 16b, see Figs. 2b and 6, Para. 0078, 0081,0083) formed in the opaque zone, the window being arranged facing the primary optical member (see Fig. 6, Para. 0083) so as to form a secondary image from the primary image (see Para. 0083) and d. a projecting optical system (imaging optics 8, Figs. 2a and 9, Para. 0077) arranged to project, onto the ground (in front of the vehicle in the form of a light pattern 110′, 110″, see Figs. 10 and 11), the secondary image (light pattern 110′, 110″) formed by the mask (see para. 0078).
DANNER further discloses a holder (17, see Fig. 4b, Para. 0081) configured for mechanical fastening of the light modules (6 and 7).
However, DANNER is silent with respect to a segment of the one-piece primary optical system extending through the window.
MAIER teaches a mask (main body 101, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0045, 0042, 0054, specifically the entire main body is formed from a single light-impermeable material, Para. 0054) disposed upstream of the output optical member (optical element 1, see Fig. 5) and having at least one window (receptacle 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, see Figs. 2 and 3), wherein a segment (e.g. light-decoupling faces 11b-15b and connecting webs 21, 22 extending transversely to the ancillary optics 11-15, see Figs. 2, and 5, Para. 0042, 0047, 0049) of the one-piece primary optical system (1, see Fig. 2-6) extending through the window (Figs. 2-6, Para. 0052).
Therefore, in view of MAIER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DANNER by replacing the holder with MAIER’s opaque (light-impermeable material) main body having windows configured to receive segments of the one-piece primary optical system extending therethrough in order to provide a positioning member for the primary optical member and to ensure that light is not crossing out of one primary optical member into another. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve optical isolation and alignment.
Regarding claim 2. DANNER further discloses the primary optical system (11) are produced by an injection molding process (see Para. 0080).
However, DANNER is silent with respect to the primary optical system is being produced by over-molding at least one material on the mask.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify DANNER by producing the primary optical system through over-molding at least one material on the mask, as this represents the selection of one of a finite number of well-known manufacturing techniques for forming optical components, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, employing an over-molding process to form the primary optical system on the mask would have been predictable variation of DANNER’s injection molding process, such modification would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 3. DANNER further discloses the projecting optical system has a focal surface
Regarding claim 4. DANNER further discloses the at least one light source (light sources 9a, 10b, 10a, 10b, and 10c, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077) includes a plurality of selectively controllable light sources (e.g. selectively turning off individual areas, Para. 0087, 0099), the one-piece primary optical system includes a plurality of primary optical members (first light guide element 12a, 12b and second light guide element 13a, 13b, 13c, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077 and 0081), with each of the plurality of primary optical members being arranged to form a primary image from one of the light sources, and wherein the mask includes a plurality of windows (e.g. 16a, and 16b, see Figs. 5 and 6, Para. 0038) each arranged facing one of the plurality of primary optical members so as to form a secondary image from the primary image formed by the plurality of primary optical members,
However, DANNER is silent with respect to the one segment of the one-piece primary optical system extending through each of the windows.
MAIER teaches a mask (main body 101, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0045, 0042, 0054, specifically the entire main body is formed from a single light-impermeable material, Para. 0054) disposed upstream of the output optical member (optical element 1, see Fig. 5) and having at least one window (receptacle 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, see Figs. 2 and 3), wherein a segment (e.g. light-decoupling faces 11b-15b of ancillary optics 11-15, see Figs. 2, and 5) of the one-piece primary optical system (1, see Fig. 2-6) extending through the window (Figs. 2-6, Para. 0052).
Therefore, in view of MAIER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DANNER by replacing the holder with MAIER’s opaque (light-impermeable material) main body having windows configured to receive segments of the one-piece primary optical system extending through each of the windows in order to provide a positioning member for the primary optical member and to ensure that light is not crossing out of one primary optical member into another. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve optical isolation and alignment.
Regarding claim 5. DANNER further discloses the plurality of primary optical members (first light guide element 12a, 12b and second light guide element 13a, 13b, 13c, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077 and 0081) are arranged in a matrix array (see Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 6. DANNER as modified in view of MAIER further discloses the primary optical system includes an exit optical member (light exit surface 15, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077), the primary optical member includes an entrance face (light entrance surface 14, see Para. 0077) for light, facing which the light source is placed, a junction face (where the multiple light guide elements 12a, 12b, 13a, 13b, 13c meets the light emission portion of the primary optics) joining the primary optical member to the segment extending through the window, the segment being joined to the exit optical member.
Regarding claim 7. DANNER as modified in view of MAIER further discloses the junction face (where the multiple light guide elements 12a, 12b, 13a, 13b, 13c meets the light emission portion of the primary optics) of the primary optical member and an upstream face of the mask lie substantially in the same plane.
Regarding claim 8. DANNER further discloses the primary optical member (11, see Para. 0077) includes a primary light guide (12a, 12b, 13a, 13b, 13c, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077), the entrance face (light entrance surface 14, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077) of the light guide being joined to the junction face of the light guide by an envelope such that each point on the outline of the entrance face is connected to one point on the outline of the junction face by a straight line.
Regarding claim 9. DANNER as modified in view of MAIER further discloses the projecting optical system has a focal surface (focal surface of the imaging optics 8, Figs. 2a and 9, Para. 0077)
However, DANNER is silent with respect to a focal surface passing substantially through the junction face where the primary optical member joins the segment.
MAIER further discloses a projection lens (501, see Fig. 4, Para. 0039) having a focal point (F1); wherein a focal surface is passing substantially through the junction face where the primary optical member (1) joins the segment (see Fig. 5, Para. 0059) therefore these boundary edges are sharply imaged in the light pattern, and the light segments are therefore sharply delimited (see Para. 0061).
Therefore, in view of MAIER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DANNER by arranging the focal surface to pass through the junction face of the primary optical member joins the segment in order to provide boundary edges that are sharply imaged in the light pattern, and the light segments are therefore sharply delimited.
Regarding claim 10. DANNER discloses a light-emitting system (3, see Fig. 2a, Para. 0075) for an automotive vehicle (1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0075), comprising an optical module (see Figs. 2b, 6 and 9), with the optical module including at least one light source (light sources 9a, 10b, 10a, 10b, and 10c, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077), a one-piece primary optical system (primary optics 11, see Fig. 2b, Para. 0077) including at least one primary optical member, the primary optical member being arranged to form a primary image from the light source, a mask (mask 16, mask openings 16a, 16b, see Figs. 2b and 6, Para. 0078, 0081,0083) placed downstream of the primary optical member and having at least one opaque zone and a window (mask openings 16a, 16b, see Figs. 2b and 6, Para. 0078, 0081, and 0083) formed in the opaque zone, the window being arranged facing the primary optical member so as to form a secondary image from the primary image, and a projecting optical system (imaging optics 8, Figs. 2a and 9, Para. 0077) arranged to project, onto the ground (in front of the vehicle in the form of a light pattern 110′, 110″, see Figs. 10 and 11), the secondary image (light pattern 110′, 110″) formed by the mask (see para. 0078).
DANNER further discloses a holder (17, see Fig. 4b, Para. 0081) configured for mechanical fastening of the light modules (6 and 7).
However, DANNER is silent with respect to a segment of the one-piece primary optical system extending through the window.
MAIER teaches a mask (main body 101, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0045, 0042, 0054, specifically the entire main body is formed from a single light-impermeable material, Para. 0054) disposed upstream of the output optical member (optical element 1, see Fig. 5) and having at least one window (receptacle 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, see Figs. 2 and 3), wherein a segment (e.g. light-decoupling faces 11b-15b and connecting webs 21, 22 extending transversely to the ancillary optics 11-15, see Figs. 2, and 5, Para. 0042, 0047, 0049) of the one-piece primary optical system (1, see Fig. 2-6) extending through the window (Figs. 2-6, Para. 0052).
Therefore, in view of MAIER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DANNER by replacing the holder with MAIER’s opaque (light-impermeable material) main body having windows configured to receive segments of the one-piece primary optical system extending therethrough in order to provide a positioning member for the primary optical member and to ensure that light is not crossing out of one primary optical member into another. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve optical isolation and alignment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. SUGIYAMA et al. (US 2019/0322209); FLEURENCE et al. (US 20190299853); BOIROUX et al. (US 2022/0063492); and DE LAMBERTERIE et al. (US 2018/0087732) disclose an optical module for a light-emitting system for an automotive vehicle.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875