DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Enomoto Wakao et al. (JP 2007202411) [411].
Regarding Claim 1, Reference [411] discloses a storage bin (2) to retain objects therein, and an engagement assembly (38, 39, 41, 43, 44, 48) operably coupling the storage bin to a frame (3, 37) of the riding lawn care vehicle, wherein the engagement assembly translates the storage bin within a translation plane between a forward position and an aft position, and wherein in the aft position, the storage bin pivots out of the translation plane to a pivoted position via the engagement assembly.
Regarding Claim 2, Reference [411] discloses a movable mount (41) and a rail system (39), wherein the rail system is operably coupled to the frame, and wherein the movable mount operably couples the storage bin to the rail system.
Regarding Claim 3, Reference [411] discloses wherein the movable mount comprises a planar surface to which the storage bin operably couples to via one or more fasteners (42).
Regarding Claim 4, Reference [411] discloses wherein the rail system comprises a first rail and a second rail, wherein the first and second rails are disposed on opposite sides of, and parallel to, a longitudinal axis of the riding lawn care vehicle, and wherein the first and second rails are disposed in the translation plane.
Regarding Claim 5, Reference [411] discloses wherein the movable mount is operably coupled to the rail system by first, second, third and fourth wheels, wherein the first, second, third and fourth wheels roll within the rail system to move the movable mount between the forward and aft positions, and wherein the first and second wheels are operably coupled to the first rail, and the third and fourth wheels are operably coupled to the second rail (48, 48, 48, 48, left and right sides).
Regarding Claim 11, Reference [411] discloses a frame to which wheels of the riding lawn care vehicle are attachable; a power source (8) operably coupled to the frame, wherein the power source provides power to the wheels; a seat (6) for an operator of the riding lawn care vehicle to utilize when operating the riding lawn care vehicle; a steering assembly (7, 14) operably coupled to the wheels; and a movable storage assembly operably coupled to the frame, wherein the movable storage assembly comprises: a storage bin to retain objects therein, and an engagement assembly operably coupling the storage bin to the frame, wherein the engagement assembly translates the storage bin within a translation plane between a forward position and an aft position, and wherein in the aft position, the storage bin pivots out of the translation plane to a pivoted position via the engagement assembly.
Regarding Claim 12, Reference [411] discloses wherein the engagement assembly comprises a movable mount and a rail system, wherein the rail system is operably coupled to the frame, and wherein the movable mount operably couples the storage bin to the rail system.
Regarding Claim 13, Reference [411] discloses wherein the movable mount comprises a planar surface to which the storage bin operably couples to via one or more fasteners.
Regarding Claim 14, Reference [411] discloses wherein the rail system comprises a
first rail and a second rail, wherein the first and second rails are disposed on opposite sides of, and parallel to, a longitudinal axis of the riding lawn care vehicle, and wherein the first and second rails are disposed in the translation plane.
Regarding Claim 15, Reference [411] discloses wherein the movable mount is
operably coupled to the rail system by first, second, third and fourth wheels, wherein the first, second, third and fourth wheels roll within the rail system to move the movable mount between the forward and aft positions, and wherein the first and second wheels are operably coupled to the first rail, and the third and fourth wheels are operably coupled to the second rail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto Wakao et al. (JP 2007202411) [411] in view of Ciechomski Tomasz et al. (EP 2395379 A2) [379].
Regarding Claim 6, Reference [411] discloses the claimed invention, but does not explicitly disclose to enable the storage bin to pivot rearward to the pivoted position about the first and third wheels, and wherein the second and fourth wheels exit the first and second rails, respectively, through the first and second slots responsive to the storage bin pivoting about the first and third wheels.
Nevertheless, Reference [379] teaches a pivot rearward to the pivoted position about the first and third wheels, and wherein the second and fourth wheels exit the first and second rails, respectively, through the first and second slots responsive to the storage bin pivoting about the first and third wheels.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the rail assembly of Reference [411] with guide slots and branches as taught by Reference [379] in order to have a smoother operation and pivoting of the collector by being in a guide slot arrangement during movement.
Regarding Claim 7, the previous combination of Reference [411] / [379] and reasoning above discloses first and second frame supports and a bin guide, wherein the bin guide comprises a first guide member operably coupled to the first rail, a second guide member operably coupled to the second rail and a cross member (crossbar of 41) disposed perpendicularly between the first and second guide members, wherein the first and second frame supports operably couple the first and second guide members to the frame.
Regarding Claim 9, the previous combination of Reference [411] / [379] and reasoning above discloses wherein the storage bin is removable from the riding lawn care vehicle responsive to the first, second, third and fourth wheels exiting the first and second rails through the first and second slots.
Regarding Claim 10, the previous combination of Reference [411] / [379] and reasoning above discloses wherein the movable storage assembly further comprises a retention pin (49, 50) to retain the movable mount in the forward position.
Regarding Claim 16, the previous combination of Reference [411] / [379] and reasoning as applied to the rejection of claim 6 above discloses wherein the first and second rails comprise first and second slots, respectively, wherein the second and fourth wheels align with the first and second slots, respectively, while the storage bin is in the aft position to enable the storage bin to pivot rearward to the pivoted position about the first and third wheels, and wherein the second and fourth wheels exit the first and second rails, respectively, through the first and second slots responsive to the storage bin pivoting about the first and third wheels.
Regarding Claim 17, the previous combination of Reference [411] / [379] and reasoning above discloses wherein the engagement assembly further comprises first and second frame supports and a bin guide, wherein the bin guide comprises a first guide member operably coupled to the first rail, a second guide member operably coupled to the second rail and a cross member disposed perpendicularly between the first and second guide members, and wherein the first and second frame supports operably couple the first and second guide members to the frame.
Regarding Claim 19, the previous combination of Reference [411] / [379] and reasoning above discloses wherein the storage bin is removable from the riding lawn care vehicle responsive to the first, second, third and fourth wheels exiting the first and second rails through the first and second slots.
Regarding Claim 20, the previous combination of Reference [411] / [379] and reasoning above discloses wherein the movable storage assembly further comprises a retention pin to retain the movable mount in the forward position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The Examiner notes that the prior art of record does not comprehensively disclose wherein the first and second guide members of the bin guide curve downward at roughly 90° such that the cross member is disposed below the rail system, wherein the storage bin rests on the first and second guide members of the bin guide while the storage bin is in the pivoted position. U.S. 2021/0307244 discloses a utility container with vertical support legs where the accessory can be pivoted, but does not explicitly disclose the cross member disposed below the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 8,998,341 discloses a similar mower with a pivoting dump cart.
U.S. 2021/0307244 discloses a similar mower with a bucket accessory.
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677