DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation Under - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a first receiving module, a first processing module, a first display module, a second receiving module, and a second processing module claims 7 - 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the second display module" and “the second region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the second display module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Otsuka (US 2023/0142944).
Regarding independent claim 1, Otsuka teaches an image display method (Figure 4), comprising:
receiving first data corresponding to a first region of an image (paragraph 56: the partial images are successively compressed and encoded in this order, and are, as indicated by an arrow, transmitted to the image processing apparatus 200 and displayed);
processing the first data (paragraph 56: while such processing as compression and encoding, transmission, decoding and decompression, and output to a display panel 94 is being performed for the uppermost partial image 92a, partial images are sequentially transmitted and displayed, as with the partial image 92b under the partial image 92a and the even lower partial image 92c); and
{1}displaying the first region of the image and concurrently with the displaying the first region of the image{1}, {2}receiving second data corresponding to a second region of the image and processing the second data{2} (paragraph 56: {1}while such processing as compression and encoding, transmission, decoding and decompression, and output to a display panel 94 is being performed for the uppermost partial image 92a{1}, {2}partial images are sequentially transmitted and displayed{2}, as with the partial image 92b under the partial image 92a and the even lower partial image 92c).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Otsuka teaches wherein the second data comprises a conversion in form and/or format from the second region of the image during the processing of the first data (paragraph 56: while such processing as compression and encoding, transmission, decoding and decompression, and output to a display panel 94 is being performed for the uppermost partial image 92a, partial images are sequentially transmitted and displayed, as with the partial image 92b under the partial image 92a and the even lower partial image 92c).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Otsuka teaches wherein the method is applied to {1}a display subject{1} (paragraph 37: The output mechanism section 102 includes a housing 108 having such a shape that left and right eyes are covered in a state where a user has mounted the head-mounted display 100, and is internally provided with {1}a display panel that faces the eyes when mounted{1}), and the displaying the first region of the image comprises:
displaying the first region of the image at a position on the display subject corresponding to the first region of the image (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: partial image 92a is displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100); and
after the displaying the first region of the image, the method further comprises:
displaying the second region of the image at a position on the display subject corresponding to the second region of the image (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: subsequent partial images 92b-92e are displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100 after the display of partial image 92a).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Otsuka teaches wherein the method is applied to {1}a first display subject and a second display subject{1} (paragraph 37: The output mechanism section 102 includes a housing 108 having such a shape that left and right eyes are covered in a state where a user has mounted the head-mounted display 100, and is internally provided with {1}a display panel that faces the eyes when mounted{1}), the first region comprises a first part and a second part, and the first data comprises data of the first part and the second part (paragraphs 55-56: each partial images 92a-92e of a frame 90 has a configuration in which a left-eye image and a right-eye image are respectively represented by regions bisected into left and right);
the displaying the first region of the image comprises:
displaying the first part of the image at a position on the first display subject corresponding to the first part (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: partial image 92a is displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100); and
displaying the second part of the image at a position on the second display subject corresponding to the second part (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: partial image 92a is displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Otsuka teaches wherein the second region comprises a third part and a fourth part (paragraphs 55-56: each partial images 92a-92e of a frame 90 has a configuration in which a left-eye image and a right-eye image are respectively represented by regions bisected into left and right), and after the displaying the first region of the image, the method further comprises:
displaying the third part of the image at a position on the first display subject corresponding to the third part (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: subsequent partial images 92b-92e are displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100 after the display of partial image 92a); and
displaying the fourth part of the image at a position on the second display subject corresponding to the fourth part (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: subsequent partial images 92b-92e are displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100 after the display of partial image 92a).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Otsuka teaches wherein the processing the first data comprises: {1}processing data corresponding to the first part{1}; and {2}concurrently processing data corresponding to the second part{2} (paragraph 56: {1}while such processing as compression and encoding, transmission, decoding and decompression, and output to a display panel 94 is being performed for the uppermost partial image 92a{1}, {2}partial images are sequentially transmitted and displayed{2}, as with the partial image 92b under the partial image 92a and the even lower partial image 92c).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is similar in scope as to claim 1, thus the rejections for claim 1 hereinabove is applicable to claim 10. Otsuka teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor, and a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory store a program or instruction that when executed by the processor (Claim 18), implement the image display method according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka (US 2023/0142944) in view of Lei et al. (US 2023/0308681).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Otsuka teaches <<does not disclose>> an image display apparatus (Figure 3), comprising:
a first receiving module configured for receiving first data corresponding to a first region of an image (paragraph 49: An input/output interface 202 in the image processing apparatus 200 sequentially obtains image or audio data transmitted from the server 400);
a first processing module configured for processing the first data (paragraph 50: Each time data for a partial image is stored to the partial image storage section 204, the video decoder 208 reads out this data, subjects the data to decoding and decompression by a procedure that corresponds to the encoding scheme);
a first display module configured for displaying the first region of the image (paragraph 54: Each time data for an image-processed partial image is stored to the partial image storage section 216, the display controller 220 reads out this data, and, at an appropriate timing, outputs this data to the display panel in the head-mounted display 100, the flat panel display 302, and the portable terminal 303);
a <<second>> receiving module configured for receiving second data, concurrently with displaying the first region of the image through the first display module (paragraph 49: An input/output interface 202 in the image processing apparatus 200 sequentially obtains image or audio data transmitted from the server 400), and
a <<second>> processing module configured for processing the second data (paragraph 50: Each time data for a partial image is stored to the partial image storage section 204, the video decoder 208 reads out this data, subjects the data to decoding and decompression by a procedure that corresponds to the encoding scheme).
Otsuka does not expressly disclose a second receiving module and a second processing module. Lei discloses receiving an encoded left-view and right-view bitstreams by multiple decoders (paragraphs 27 – 30 and Figure 1). Lei’s system processing left and right images by utilizing receivers, encoders, transmitters, receivers, decoders, and displays is similar endeavor as to Otsuka. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the time of the effective filing date of the application (AIA ) to achieve a predictable result of a system comprising a left receiver, a right receiver, a left decoder, and a right decoder by modifying Otsuka’s system that comprises a receiver for left and right images and a decoder for decoding the received left and right images by adding an additional receiver for receiving left images by the first receiver and receiving right images by the second receiver and an additional decoder for processing left received images by the first decoder and processing right received images by the second decoder as taught by Lei, and the result would have been predictable.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Otsuka teaches wherein the apparatus is adapted to {1}a display subject{1} (paragraph 37: The output mechanism section 102 includes a housing 108 having such a shape that left and right eyes are covered in a state where a user has mounted the head-mounted display 100, and is internally provided with {1}a display panel that faces the eyes when mounted{1});
{1}the first display module{1} is further configured for displaying the first region of the image at a position on the display subject corresponding to the first region of the image (paragraphs 55-56: each partial images 92a-92e of a frame 90 has a configuration in which a left-eye image and a right-eye image are respectively represented by regions bisected into left and right); and
{1}the second display module{1} is further configured for displaying the second region of the image at a position on the display subject corresponding to the second region of the image (paragraphs 55-56: each partial images 92a-92e of a frame 90 has a configuration in which a left-eye image and a right-eye image are respectively represented by regions bisected into left and right).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Otsuka teaches wherein the apparatus is adapted to {1}a first display subject and a second display subject{1} (paragraph 37: The output mechanism section 102 includes a housing 108 having such a shape that left and right eyes are covered in a state where a user has mounted the head-mounted display 100, and is internally provided with {1}a display panel that faces the eyes when mounted{1}), the first region comprises a first part and a second part, and the first data comprises data of the first part and the second part (paragraphs 55-56: each partial images 92a-92e of a frame 90 has a configuration in which a left-eye image and a right-eye image are respectively represented by regions bisected into left and right);
{1}the first display module{1} is further configured for displaying the first part of the image at a position on the first display subject corresponding to the first part (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: partial image 92a is displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100); and
{1}the second display module{1} is further configured for displaying the second part of the image at a position on the second display subject corresponding to the second part (paragraph 55, 56 and Figure 4: partial image 92a is displayed at a position on the left and right display panels of the head-mounted display 100).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY J CHOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618