DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims (beginning with claim 16) reference “at least two positions.” Claim 16 recites the “at least one of the two positions” flowing air and being the “smallest flow cross-section.” Claim 19 recites “in the other position” (being other than that of claim 16), the flow cross-section is “greater than in the at least one position.” Claim 20 then recites “in the other position, the flow cross-section of the inlet opening is the smallest flow cross-section of the air path through which the air can flow.” This is unclear and confusing. The claims also recite a third position where the air flow path is “fluidically blocked.” Examiner understands that there are three positions, presumably one large opening, one small opening, and one closed position. However, the claims are contradictory and the limitations do not match up to support these three positions.
Claim 27 is unclear and confusing because it is not clear how the first and second cover parts are sealed with respect to one another in the at least one position AND in the other position. The disclosure / drawings do not support two positions where the two parts are sealed together. Therefore, the OR statement appears acceptable, but not “and/or.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-26 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ishikawa (US Pat. No. 4,457,558).
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa discloses A motor vehicle, comprising: at least one heat exchanger (6) through which a fluid flows and around which air is flowable, wherein the fluid is to be temperature-controlled via the air; an air path through which the air is flowable and by which, to supply the heat exchanger with the air, the air is guided to the heat exchanger; and a bumper cover arranged on a front of the motor vehicle, wherein the bumper cover comprises a first cover part, which forms a first part of an external skin of the motor vehicle, and a second cover part, which forms a second part of the external skin and is pivotable relative to the first cover part between at least two positions, wherein in at least one of the two positions:(i) an inflow opening of the air path, into which the air from a surrounding environment of the motor vehicle is introducable via the inflow opening, is delimited upwards in a vehicle vertical direction through a partial area of the first cover part and downwards in the vehicle vertical direction through an end edge of the second cover part arranged below the partial area in the at least one of the two positions in the vehicle vertical direction, in each case directly; and(ii) the inflow opening has a flow cross-section through which the air is flowable, which in the at least one of the two positions is a smallest flow cross- section of the air path through which the air can flow (see annotated figs below as best understood in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 17, Ishikawa discloses wherein the second cover part is pivotable relative to the first cover part between the two positions (at least figs 1 vs 2 or 2 vs 3) about a pivot axis (generally at 20, figs 1-3) extending in a transverse direction of the vehicle (figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Ishikawa discloses wherein in the other position, the inflow opening is closed and the air path is fluidically blocked (at least fig 3 as best understood in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 19, Ishikawa discloses wherein, in the other position:(i) the inflow opening of the air path is delimited upwards in the vehicle vertical direction by the partial area of the first cover part and downwards in the vehicle vertical direction by the end edge of the second cover part arranged in the other position below the partial area in the vehicle vertical direction, in each case directly; and(ii) the flow cross-section of the inflow opening is greater than in the at least one position (at least figs 1-3 as best understood in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 20, Ishikawa discloses wherein in the other position, the flow cross-section of the inlet opening is the smallest flow cross-section of the air path through which the air can flow (at least figs 1-3 as best understood in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 21, Ishikawa discloses wherein the second cover part is pivotable relative to the first cover part into a third position, in which the inflow opening is closed and the air path is fluidically blocked (at least fig 3 as best understood in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 22, Ishikawa discloses wherein in the other position, the end edge of the second cover part, with the exception of ground contact elements of the motor vehicle, which can be supported on a ground via the ground contact elements in the vehicle vertical direction, is a lowest point of the motor vehicle when viewed downwards in the vehicle vertical direction (at least fig 2 as best understood in view of indefiniteness noted above).
Regarding claim 23, Ishikawa discloses wherein the second cover part is held on a crossmember of the motor vehicle so as to be pivotable relative to the first cover part and relative to the crossmember (at least figs 1-3, where the crossmember is a known element of such a motor vehicle).
Regarding claim 24, Ishikawa discloses further comprising: an actuator (generally at 16), by which the second cover part is driven and pivoted relative to the first cover part from the at least one position into the other position and/or from the other position into the at least one position (figs).
Regarding claim 25, Ishikawa discloses further comprising: a transmission and/or linkage (16a), via which the second cover part is moved by the actuator (figs).
Regarding claim 26, Ishikawa discloses wherein the transmission and/or linkage is self-locking (since it is locked by the actuator in the various positions).
Regarding claim 28, Ishikawa discloses further comprising: an open-loop or closed-loop control system which adjusts the positions of the second cover part as a function of an operating state of the motor vehicle (col 2, line 34 – col 3, line 22).
Regarding claim 29, Ishikawa discloses wherein the operating state comprises a speed of the motor vehicle (col 2, line 34 – col 3, line 22).
Regarding claim 30, Ishikawa discloses wherein stops are assigned to the second cover part, by which the movement of the second cover part into the positions is delimited (col 2, line 34 – col 3, line 22; stops assigned and affected by the control system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Jeong (US Pat. No. 9,676,269).
Regarding claim 27, Ishikawa discloses the invention except for specifically pointing out further comprising: at least one seal, by which the first and second cover parts are sealed with respect to one another in the at least one position and/or in the other position.
However, at least Jeong discloses a vehicle active air flap that incorporates a rubber seal (at least col 5, lines 49-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the seal technique of Jeong with the mating parts of Ishikawa, since it would have improved the sealing aspect thereby preventing unwanted air flow through the mating surface.
Conclusion
JACOB B. MEYER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3613
/JACOB B MEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613