DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-38, 41-46, 49-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269).
Regarding Claim 35, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses a video decoding device (video decoder 300, Fig. 1) comprising:
a processor (desktop computers, notebook, laptop, computers, mobile devices, tablet computers, set-top boxes, telephone handsets such as smartphones, televisions, cameras, display devices, digital media players, video gaming consoles, video streaming device, broadcast receiver devices, [0025]) configured to:
obtain a coding block (quad-tree leaf node [0069]) that comprises a plurality of sub-partitions (quadtree leaf node further partitioned by the binary tree [0069]);
for a first sub-partition (a first current CU [0076]) of the plurality of sub-partitions (leaf nodes of the binary tree are referred to as CUs [0069] a quad-tree leaf node [0069]), derive a first intra prediction mode (choose the intra prediction mode [0077]) based on a first template (template regions 352 A, B above and to the left of CU 350 [0076]) associated with the first sub-partition (the current CU [0076]);
decode the first sub-partition based on the first intra prediction mode (combine the prediction block and the residual block 810, Fig. 8);
for a second sub-partition (the next current CU [0076]) of the plurality of sub-partitions (leaf nodes of the binary tree are referred to as CUs [0069] of the same quad-tree leaf node [0069]), derive a second intra prediction mode (choose the intra prediction mode [0077]) based on a second template (template regions 352 A, B above and to the left of CU 350 [0076]) associated with the second sub-partition (the current CU [0076]);
and decode the second sub-partition based on the second intra prediction mode (combine the prediction block and the residual block 810, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 36, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses the video decoding device of claim 35, wherein the processor is further configured to:
reconstruct the first sub-partition (combine the prediction block and the residual block 810, Fig. 8), wherein the second template associated with the second sub-partition comprises at least one reconstructed sample in the first sub-partition (the binary partitions on the right or bottom of the leaf quadtree node will have a template comprising reconstructed samples in the left or top binary partition of the same leaf quadtree node, See Fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 37, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses the video decoding device of claim 35, wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a plurality of probable prediction modes (MPM list [0077]) associated with the first sub-partition (for the first current CU [0077]);
determine a plurality of predictions of the first template (for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list use the intra prediction mode to generate a prediction block for template region [0077]) associated with the first sub-partition (first current CU 350 [0077]) based on the plurality of probable prediction modes (each intra prediction mode in the MPM list [0077]) associated with the first sub-partition (first current CU 350 [0077]), wherein deriving the first intra prediction mode (choose the intra prediction mode [0077]) is further based on the plurality of predictions of the first template (prediction block for the template for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list [0077]);
obtain a plurality of probable prediction modes (MPM list [0077]) associated with the second sub-partition (the next current CU [0076]);
and determine a plurality of predictions of the second template (for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list use the intra prediction mode to generate a prediction block for template region [0077]) associated with the second sub-partition (the next current CU [0076]) based on the plurality of probable prediction modes (each intra prediction mode in the MPM list) associated with the second sub-partition (the next current CU [0076]), wherein deriving the second intra prediction mode (choose the intra prediction mode [0077]) is further based on the plurality of predictions of the second template (prediction block for the template for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list [0077]).
Regarding Claim 38, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses the video decoding device of claim 37, wherein the processor is further configured to:
for the first sub-partition (first current CU 350 [0077]), derive a secondary first intra prediction mode (the video coder takes the first two intra prediction modes, model and mode2, with the lowest cost, cost-1 and cost-2, from TIMD modes [0113]; second intra prediction mode in TIMD [0108]) based on the first template associated with the first sub-partition (template regions 352 A, B above and to the left of the first current CU 350 [0076]) and the plurality of predictions of the first template (SATD between template region and prediction for each intra mode in the MPM list [0077]), wherein decoding the first sub-partition (combine the prediction block and the residual block 810, Fig. 8) is further based on the secondary first intra prediction mode (determine whether to fuse intra prediction modes based on the first and second intra mode in TIMD [0108]);
and for the second sub-partition (the next current CU [0076]), derive a secondary second intra prediction mode (the video coder takes the first two intra prediction modes, model and mode2, with the lowest cost, cost-1 and cost-2, from TIMD modes [0113]; second intra prediction mode in TIMD [0108]) based on the second template associated with the second sub-partition (template regions 352 A, B above and to the left of the next current CU 350 [0076]) and the plurality of predictions of the second template (SATD between template region and prediction for each intra mode in the MPM list [0077]), wherein decoding the second sub-partition (combine the prediction block and the residual block 810, Fig. 8) is further based on the secondary second intra prediction mode (determine whether to fuse intra prediction modes based on the first and second intra mode in TIMD [0108]).
Regarding Claim 41, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses the video decoding device of claim 35, wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify a plurality of candidate modes (secondary MPM list [0074]) based on the first intra prediction mode (primary MPM list [0074]), wherein the second intra prediction mode is derived from the plurality of candidate modes (secondary MPM list includes modes offset from the modes in the primary MPM list [0074]).
Regarding Claim 42, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses the video decoding device of claim 35, wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a plurality of prediction errors (SATD cost [0077]) associated with the first template (between the template region and the prediction for each intra mode in the MPM list [0077]) associated with the first sub-partition (first current CU 350 [0077]), wherein deriving the first intra prediction mode (choose the intra prediction mode [0077]) is based on the plurality of prediction errors associated with the first template (lowest SATD cost [0077]);
and obtain a plurality of prediction errors (SATD cost [0077]) associated with the second template (between the template region and the prediction for each intra mode in the MPM list [0077]) associated with the second sub-partition (next current CU 350 [0077]), wherein deriving the second intra prediction mode (choose the intra prediction mode [0077]) is based on the plurality of prediction errors associated with the second template (lowest SATD cost [0077]).
Regarding Claim 43, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 35.
Regarding Claim 44, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 36.
Regarding Claim 45, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 37.
Regarding Claim 46, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 38.
Regarding Claim 49, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 41.
Regarding Claim 50, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 42.
Regarding Claim 51, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 35.
Regarding Claim 52, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 36.
Regarding Claim 53, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 37.
Regarding Claim 54, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 38.
Claim(s) 35, 39, 40, 43, 47, 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269).
Regarding Claim 35, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses a video decoding device (video decoder 300, Fig. 1) comprising:
a processor (desktop computers, notebook, laptop, computers, mobile devices, tablet computers, set-top boxes, telephone handsets such as smartphones, televisions, cameras, display devices, digital media players, video gaming consoles, video streaming device, broadcast receiver devices, [0025]) configured to:
obtain a coding block (the current CU [0111]) that comprises a plurality of sub-partitions (divided into four equal sized sub-segments [0111]);
for a first sub-partition (the first sub-block [0111]) of the plurality of sub-partitions (the current CU divided into four equal sub-segments [0111]), derive a first intra prediction mode (intra prediction mode X [0111]) based on a first template (two template regions 352 A, B above and to the left of the current CU 350 [0076]) associated with the first sub-partition (the current CU divided into four equal sub-segments [0111]);
decode the first sub-partition based on the first intra prediction mode (generate intra prediction samples for the first sub-block [0111]);
for a second sub-partition (the next sub-block [0111]) of the plurality of sub-partitions (the current CU divided into four equal sub-segments [0111]), deriving a second intra prediction mode (intra prediction mode X [0111]) based on a second template (two template regions 352 A, B above and to the left of the current CU 350 [0076]) associated with the second sub-partition (the current CU divided into four equal sub-segments [0111]);
and decode the second sub-partition based on the second intra prediction mode (generate intra prediction samples for the next sub-block [0111]).
Regarding Claim 39, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses the video decoding device of claim 35, wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a secondary prediction mode (second intra prediction mode [0108]) associated with the coding block (the current CU [0077]), wherein decoding the first sub-partition (generate intra prediction samples for the first sub-block [0111]) is further based on the secondary prediction mode (fuse the first and second intra prediction modes [0108]), and wherein decoding the second sub-partition (generate intra prediction samples for the next sub-block [0111]) is further based on the secondary prediction mode (fuse the first and second intra prediction modes [0108]).
Regarding Claim 40, Cao (US PG Publication 2022/0394269) discloses the video decoding device of claim 35, wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a plurality of probable prediction modes (MPM list [0077]) associated with the coding block (for the current CU [0077]);
determine a plurality of predictions (for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list generate a prediction for the template region [0077]) of the coding block (for the current CU [0077]) based on the plurality of probable prediction modes associated with the coding block (for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list [0077]);
for the first sub-partition (for the current CU [0077], divided into four equal sub-segments, i.e., the first sub-block [0111]), derive a secondary first intra prediction mode (the video coder takes the first two intra prediction modes, model and mode2, with the lowest cost, cost-1 and cost-2, from TIMD modes [0113]) based on the plurality of predictions of the coding block (for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list generate a prediction for the template [0077]), wherein decoding the first sub-partition (generate intra prediction samples for the first sub-block [0111]) is further based on the secondary first intra prediction mode (fuse the first mode and the second mode [0108]);
and for the second sub-partition (for the current CU [0077], divided into four equal sub-segments, i.e., the next sub-block [0111]), derive a secondary second intra prediction mode (the video coder takes the first two intra prediction modes, model and mode2, with the lowest cost, cost-1 and cost-2, from TIMD modes [0113]) based on the plurality of predictions of the coding block (for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list generate a prediction for the template [0077]), wherein decoding the second sub-partition (generate intra prediction samples for the next sub-block [0111]) is further based on the secondary second intra prediction mode (fuse the first mode and the second mode [0108]).
Regarding Claim 43, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 35.
Regarding Claim 47, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 39.
Regarding Claim 48, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 40.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 7/15/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s remarks argue limitations that are not claimed, and those limitations are not inherent in the claimed terms.
Applicant argues that a CU in Cao is the coding block on which intra prediction is performed. The quadtree node mapped in Cao is not the coding block on which intra prediction is performed. Remarks at 9. The claim does not define coding block to be a block on which intra prediction is performed.
Applicant argues that Cao discloses no structural or processing relationship between sibling CUs that would correspond to a coding block comprising sub-partitions. Remarks at 11. The claim does not define a structural or processing relationship among sub-partitions. The claim does not require the sub-partitions not to have their own MPM list construction or their own template region or their own intra prediction modes. Applicant may amend the claim to include these limitations.
Applicant argues that the same mode of Cao is applied to every sub-segment. Remarks at 11. The claim does not require that only a different mode is applied. Applicant may amend the claim to include this limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
JVET-M0102 – intra sub-partitioning
US 20220329800 A1 – Quadtree/binary tree partitioning with template intra mode derivation and most probable modes
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2485