DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1,
Claim 1, Ln. 3-5, the limitation “side support members including a first side support member and a second side support member, each defining a material support interface configured to guide a material support member from an insertion position to a loaded position” is vague and indefinite. It is unclear how the side support members “define” a material support interface. For examination purposes, Examiner has assumed “defining a material support interface” means that the material itself, the material roll, or a support component on which the material roll is disposed is in contact with the side support members.
Claim 1, Ln. 15, it is unclear whether “output roller” refers to “an output roller” (Claim 1, Ln. 9) or if a separate output roller is being recited. For examination purposes, Examiner has assumed “output roller” (Claim 1, Ln. 15) is referring to “an output roller” (Claim 1, Ln. 9). If this interpretation is correct, Examiner suggests “output roller” should read --the output roller--
Regarding Claim 2,
Claim 2 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 1.
Claim 2, Ln. 2, it is unclear whether “a sheet material roll” refers to “a sheet material roll” (Claim 1, Ln. 1) or if a separate sheet material roll is being recited. For examination purposes, Examiner has assumed “a sheet material roll” (Claim 2, Ln. 2) is referring to “a sheet material roll” (Claim 1, Ln. 1). If this interpretation is correct, Examiner suggests “a sheet material roll” should read --the sheet material roll--
Claims 3-5 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6,
Claim 6 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 1.
Claim 6, Ln. 1, it is unclear whether “drive system” refers to “a drive system” (Claim 1, Ln. 21) or if a separate drive system is being recited. For examination purposes, Examiner has assumed “drive system” (Claim 6, Ln. 1) is referring to “a drive system” (Claim 1, Ln. 21). If this interpretation is correct, Examiner suggests “drive system” should read --the drive system--
Regarding Claim 7,
Claim 7 is rejected due to its dependency on claims 1 and 6.
Claim 7, Ln. 1-2, the limitation “wherein circumferences of the input roller and the output roller cooperatively provide the velocity ratio” is vague and indefinite. It is unclear how the circumferences “cooperatively provide” the velocity ratio. For examination purposes, Examiner has assumed “cooperatively provide” means the circumferences correspond to a gear ratio which allows the drive system to drive the rollers at different velocities despite being linked by a transmission element.
Claims 8-11 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 1
Claim 12, Ln. 1-3, the limitation “further comprising the material support member configured to extend concurrently through both material support interfaces of the side support members and releasably coupled to the side support members” is grammatically unclear. It is unclear whether the limitation “releasably coupled to the side support members” is a part of the functional limitation clause and means “the material support member configured to … releasably coupled to the side support members” or the arrangement is being positively recited and means “the material support member … releasably coupled to the side support members” For the purposes of Examination, Examiner has assumed that “coupled” is a typographical error that should read --couple-- and “releasably coupled to the side support members” is included in the functional limitation clause. If this interpretation is correct, Examiner suggests “further comprising the material support member configured to extend concurrently through both material support interfaces of the side support members and releasably coupled to the side support members” should read --further comprising the material support member configured to extend concurrently through both material support interfaces of the side support members and releasably couple to the side support members-- OR --wherein the material support member is configured to extend concurrently through both material support interfaces of the side support members and releasably couple to the side support members--
Claim 13 is rejected due to its dependency on claims 1 and 12.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 1.
Claim 14, Ln. 1-3, the limitation “at least one friction reduction element positioned between the side support members and one of more of: the input roller, the output roller, the material support member, and the at least one roller support member” appears to have a typographical error and it unclear whether the friction reduction element is positioned between one of the listed elements or the friction reduction element is positioned one or more of the listed elements. For examination purposes, Examiner has assumed “between the side support members and one of more of” should read --between the side support members and one or more of--
Claims 15-18 and 20-21 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Cheich (US 2020/0016860), hereinafter Cheich ‘860, in view of Cheich (US 2018/0236742), hereinafter Cheich ‘742, and Goodrich (US 2016/0067938), hereinafter Goodrich ‘938.
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6 from Cheich '860
Regarding Claim 1, Cheich ‘860, Figures 4-13 and annotated Figure 1 above, teaches a dispenser 112 for a sheet material roll 124 of sheet material 126 having expandable slits (“expandable slit sheet stock material”; See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0058), the dispenser 112 comprising:
side support members 134’ including a first side support member 134a’ and a second side support member 134b’ (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0059), each defining a material support interface 134c configured to guide a material support member 154 from an insertion position to a loaded position (material support member 154 is inserted into opening of support interface 134c and material support member 154 is lowered into the closed portion of support interface 134c by gravity; See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0060);
an input roller 172 rotatably coupled to the side support members 134’ and extending along a width direction (corresponding with axis of material support member 154), the input roller 172 positioned to engage the sheet material 126 when the material support member 154 engages the sheet material roll 124 (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0062-0065);
an output roller 192 rotatably coupled to the side support members 134’ and extending along the width direction, the output roller 192 spaced from the input roller 172 along a draw direction (direction of sheet feeding out of outlet 171) orthogonal to the width direction, the output roller 192 positioned to engage unrolled sheet material 126 from the sheet material roll 124 extending from the input roller 172 (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0064-0067);
at least one roller support member 190’ coupled to the side support members 134’ and extending along the width direction, the at least one roller support member 190’ positioned relative to the output roller 192 to engage the unrolled sheet material 126 when the unrolled sheet material 126 is engaged with the respective output roller 192 (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0071-0075), the at least one roller support member 190’ configured to apply a loading force onto the unrolled sheet material 126 toward the respective output roller 192, and
a drive system (“transfer member 204 enables joint rotation of the first driven tensioning member 172 and the second expansion member 192, such as in the same direction, by the motor 178”; See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0067) configured to couple rotation of the input roller 172 and the output roller 192 to expand slits in the sheet material 126 (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0067-0069).
Cheich ‘860 teaches all the elements of the dispenser except for the roller support member being slidably coupled to the side support members and a velocity ratio of the output roller to the input roller being greater than 1.1.
However, Cheich ‘742, Figures 1-19, teaches at least one roller support member 69 slidably coupled to the side support members 21 (See Cheich ‘742, Fig. 19),
wherein the at least one roller support member 69 is slidable relative to the side support members 21 in a direction orthogonal to the width direction (See Cheich ‘742, Para. 0092-0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Cheich ‘860 with the roller support member being slidably coupled to the side support members, as taught by Cheich ‘742, for the purpose of “allowing for different thicknesses of sheet material or wrinkled portions of the sheet material to pass between the expansion members 69 and 70 without causing jamming or binding” (See Cheich ‘742, Para. 0093).
Furthermore, Goodrich ‘938, Figures 5-14, teaches a drive system configured to couple rotation of the input roller 503 and the output roller 504 (“unexpanded slit sheets driven by pinch rubber rollers 503 into the expander rolls section 504 within the internal workings of the automatic expander …. The driving process is precisely driven with motor 608 that turns drive shaft 607 that has attached two identically drive gear pulleys 604 and 605 that engage the teeth of the drive belt 609”; See Goodrich ‘938, Para. 0093-0094) such that a velocity ratio of the output roller 504 to the input roller 503 is greater than 1.1 to expand slits in the sheet material (“two rolls approximately 10″ apart from the front to the back of the machine operate at different speeds …. The second slit sheet material will feed into an additional set of feed rollers and expander rollers that will set the ratio of 193%”; See Goodrich ‘938, Para. 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Cheich ‘860 with a velocity ratio greater than 1.1, as taught by Goodrich ‘938, for the purpose of “continuously feed[ing] the slit sheet layers to the operator and simultaneously expand[ing] those layers for ease of use” without the operator being required to repeatedly pull the layers to expand the material (See Goodrich ‘938, Para. 0083).
Regarding Claim 3, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches wherein the input roller 172 is positioned to engage the unrolled sheet material 126 from the sheet material roll 124 (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0062).
Regarding Claim 4, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches wherein the at least one roller support member 190’ comprises an output roller support member 190 rotatably coupled to the side support members 134’ (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0066).
Regarding Claim 5, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches wherein the at least one roller support member 190’ comprises an input roller support member 173 and an output roller support member 190, each rotatably coupled to the side support members 134’ (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0062, 0066).
Regarding Claim 6, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches wherein drive system 178 comprises a rotary transfer element 204 coupled to the input roller 172 and the output roller 192 (See Cheich ‘860, Fig. 6, Para. 0067).
Regarding Claim 7, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Goodrich ‘938 further teaches wherein circumferences of the input roller 503 and the output roller 504 cooperatively provide the velocity ratio (See Goodrich ‘938, Para. 0095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Cheich ‘860 with the circumferences of the input roller and output roller cooperatively proving the velocity ratio, as taught by Goodrich ‘938, for the purpose of “creat[ing] the varying speeds that provide the expansion and exit speed” (See Goodrich ‘938, Para. 0095).
Regarding Claim 11, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Goodrich ‘938 further teaches wherein the velocity ratio is between 1.5 and 2 (“two rolls approximately 10″ apart from the front to the back of the machine operate at different speeds …. The second slit sheet material will feed into an additional set of feed rollers and expander rollers that will set the ratio of 193%”; See Goodrich ‘938, Para. 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Cheich ‘860 with a velocity ratio between 1.5 and 2, as taught by Goodrich ‘938, for the purpose of “continuously feed[ing] the slit sheet layers to the operator and simultaneously expand[ing] those layers for ease of use” without the operator being required to repeatedly pull the layers to expand the material (See Goodrich ‘938, Para. 0083).
Regarding Claim 12, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches the material support member 154 configured to extend concurrently through both material support interfaces 134c of the side support members 134’ and releasably coupled to the side support members 134’ (material support member 154 can be lifted out of support interfaces 134c to decouple it from side support members 134’; See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0060).
Regarding Claim 14, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘742 further teaches at least one friction reduction element positioned between the side support members 21 and the material support member 22 (“the area of the indents 66, may be coated to reduce friction between the frame 20 and the supply support 22. Additionally or alternatively the supply support 22 may include such coating”; See Cheich ‘742, Para. 0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Cheich ‘860 with at least one friction reduction element, as taught by Cheich ‘742, for the purpose of allowing the sheet material to be unrolled from the material sheet roll freely while supported on the material support member (See Cheich ‘742, Para. 0062-0063).
Regarding Claim 15, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches wherein the input roller 172 and the output roller 192 are configured to rotate in response to a user exerting a pull force in the draw direction on the unrolled sheet material 126 (“In even other embodiments, neither of the first and second expansion members 190 and 192 may be driven, and tension at the outlet 171 of the converter 112 may be provided manually, such as by a user”; See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0070).
Additionally, Cheich ‘742, Figures 1-19, teaches wherein the input roller 120 and the output roller 70 are configured to rotate in response to a user exerting a pull force in the draw direction 38 on the unrolled sheet material 30 (See Cheich ‘742, Fig. 5, Para. 0059, 0067-0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860 and Cheich ‘742 to provide the input roller and the output roller being configured to rotate in response to a user exerting a pull force in the draw direction on the unrolled sheet material for the purpose of dispensing the expanded sheet material manually (See Cheich ‘742, Para. 0059).
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheich ‘860 (US 2020/0016860) in view of Cheich ‘742 (US 2018/0236742) and Goodrich ‘938 (US 2016/0067938) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Osborne (US 10,441,117).
Regarding Claim 2, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 teach all the elements of the dispenser except for wherein the input roller is positioned to engage an outer surface of a sheet material roll.
However, Osborne, Figure 7, teaches wherein the input roller 91 is positioned to engage an outer surface of a sheet material roll 97.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Osborne to provide the input roller positioned to engage an outer surface of a sheet material roll, as taught by Osborne, for the purpose of “providing a more efficient and consistent way to dispense sheet material” (i.e., “The gravity assisted roll and feed mechanism utilizes gravity as “free energy” to create the friction required to roll the sheet material on roll 97 on the main roller 91 limiting the friction required to feed the sheet material by the exit rollers 75, 77”) (See Osborne, Col. 11, Ln. 12-31).
Regarding Claim 13, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 teach all the elements of the dispenser except for wherein the material support member is configured to provide input loading force on the sheet material roll toward the input roller when engaged with an inner surface of the sheet material roll.
However, Osborne, Figure 7, teaches wherein the material support member 95 is configured to provide input loading force on the sheet material roll 97 toward the input roller 91 when engaged with an inner surface of the sheet material roll 97 (“The sheet material holder 95 and axis 93 maintain a consistent friction coefficient between the main product roller 91 and the roll of sheet material 97 (as the diameter/weight of the sheet material roll 97 changes) by changing the angle of the roll of sheet material 97 as applied to the main roller 91”; See Osborne, Col. 11, Ln. 13-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Osborne to provide the material support member being configured to provide input loading force on the sheet material roll toward the input roller when engaged with an inner surface of the sheet material roll, as taught by Osborne, for the purpose of “providing a more efficient and consistent way to dispense sheet material” (i.e., “The gravity assisted roll and feed mechanism utilizes gravity as “free energy” to create the friction required to roll the sheet material on roll 97 on the main roller 91 limiting the friction required to feed the sheet material by the exit rollers 75, 77”) (See Osborne, Col. 11, Ln. 12-31).
Claims 8-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheich ‘860 (US 2020/0016860) in view of Cheich ‘742 (US 2018/0236742) and Goodrich ‘938 (US 2016/0067938) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Goodrich (WO 2020/154429), hereinafter Goodrich ‘429.
Regarding Claim 8, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches wherein the drive system comprises at least one motor 178 the at least one motor 178 coupled to the input roller 172, the output roller 192, or both (See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0063, 0067, 0069-0070).
Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 teach all the elements of the dispenser except for at least one controller coupled to the at least one motor.
However, Goodrich ‘429, Figure 12, teaches wherein the drive system comprises at least one controller CO operatively coupled to at least one motor (“a controller CO is also provided that provides control of the motor(s) or drive(s) (e.g., motors or drives M1 to M4 in the illustrative example) in order to control the operation of the system”; See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 22, Ln. 9-12), the at least one motor M1, M2, M3, M4 coupled to the input roller 123, the output roller 109, or both, wherein the controller CO is configured to command the at least one motor M1, M2, M3, M4 to drive the input roller 123, the output roller 109, or both (See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 21, Ln. 30 - Pg. 22, Ln. 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘429 to provide at least one controller coupled to the at least one motor, as taught by Goodrich ‘429, for the purpose of “control[ling] the operation of the system” (See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 22, Ln. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 9, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘429 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches wherein the at least one motor 178 comprises a first motor coupled to the input roller 172 and (“At least one of the tensioning members 172 and 173 may be powered by a suitable motor 178. The motor 178 drives rotation of a force transfer axle 180 to which the first driven tensioning member 172 is coupled by a suitable force transfer member 182”; See Cheich ‘860, Para. 0063).
Goodrich ‘429 further teaches a second motor M1 coupled to the output roller 109 (See Goodrich ‘429, Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘429 to provide a second motor coupled to the output roller, as taught by Goodrich ‘429, for the purpose of driving the respective rollers independently (See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 21, Ln. 30 - Pg. 22, Ln. 25).
Regarding Claim 10, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘429 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 further teaches a rotary transfer element 204 coupled to the input roller 172 and the output roller 172, wherein the at least one motor 178 comprises only one motor coupled to at least the input roller 172, (See Cheich ‘860, Fig. 6-7, Para. 0063, 0067, 0069-0070).
Regarding Claim 17, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 teach all the elements of the dispenser except for a user interface.
However, Goodrich ‘429, Figure 12, teaches a user interface configured to accept user input to initiate rotation of the drive system (“the controller CO can include at least one computer …. the at least one computer can include a keyboard and display for user entry of inputs (e.g., to control timing, rotational speeds, etc.) …. Additionally, the at least one computer can also include input and output mechanisms for receiving and sending signals, such as, e.g., to monitor operation of the motor(s), and to send control signals to control the speed and timing of the motors”; See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 22, Ln. 12-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘429 to provide a user interface, as taught by Goodrich ‘429, for the purpose of “control[ling] the operation of the system” (See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 22, Ln. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 18, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘429 are advanced above.
Goodrich ‘429 further teaches wherein the user interface comprises: a button operatively coupled to at least one controller CO configured to command at least one motor to drive rotation of the drive system (“the controller CO can include at least one computer …. the at least one computer can include a keyboard and display for user entry of inputs (e.g., to control timing, rotational speeds, etc.) …. Additionally, the at least one computer can also include input and output mechanisms for receiving and sending signals, such as, e.g., to monitor operation of the motor(s), and to send control signals to control the speed and timing of the motors”; See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 22, Ln. 12-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘429 to provide a button, as taught by Goodrich ‘429, for the purpose of “control[ling] the operation of the system” (See Goodrich ‘429, Pg. 22, Ln. 9-12).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheich ‘860 (US 2020/0016860) in view of Cheich ‘742 (US 2018/0236742) and Goodrich ‘938 (US 2016/0067938) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Goodrich (US 5,782,735), hereinafter Goodrich ‘735.
Regarding Claim 16, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 teach all the elements of the dispenser except for a Minimum Pull Force Per Meter to initiate rotation.
However, Goodrich ‘735 teaches wherein a Minimum Pull Force Per Meter to initiate rotation of the drive system is less than or equal to 45 N/m (45 N/m is equivalent to approximately 4.1 oz/inch and Goodrich ‘735 discloses the minimum preferable expansion force as 3 oz per linear inch of paper width; See Goodrich ‘735, Col. 8, Ln. 58-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Goodrich ‘735 to provide a Minimum Pull Force Per Meter to initiate rotation of the drive system less than or equal to 45 N/m, as taught by Goodrich ‘735, for the purpose of producing controlled expansion of the sheet material without tearing the sheet material (See Goodrich ‘735, Col. 8, Ln. 53-58).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheich ‘860 (US 2020/0016860) in view of Cheich ‘742 (US 2018/0236742) and Goodrich ‘938 (US 2016/0067938) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-15 above, and further in view of DeLuca (US 4,307,639).
Regarding Claim 20, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 teach all the elements of the dispenser except for the input roller comprising a plurality of spaced apart wheels.
However, DeLuca, Figures 1-13, teaches wherein the input roller 84 comprises a plurality of spaced apart wheels 94, each wheel 94 comprising a plurality of protrusions 96 spaced around a circumference of the wheel 94 (See DeLuca, Fig. 8, Col. 9, Ln. 26-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and DeLuca to provide the input roller comprising a plurality of spaced apart wheels, as taught by DeLuca, for the purpose of picking up the edge of the sheet material from the outer surface of a new sheet material roll so that it can be fed through the dispenser (See DeLuca, Col. 12, Ln. 9-26).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheich ‘860 (US 2020/0016860) in view of Cheich ‘742 (US 2018/0236742) and Goodrich ‘938 (US 2016/0067938) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Cheich (WO 2018/191012), hereinafter Cheich ‘012.
Regarding Claim 21, Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 are advanced above.
Cheich ‘860 in view of Cheich ‘742 and Goodrich ‘938 teach all the elements of the dispenser except for the output roller comprising a plurality of bristles (See Cheich ‘012, Pg. 19, Ln. 16-23).
However, Cheich ‘012, Figure 9, teaches wherein the output roller 462 comprises a plurality of bristles 472 configured to extend through the expandable slits in the sheet material 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheich ‘860, Cheich ‘742, Goodrich ‘938, and Cheich ‘012 to provide the output roller comprising a plurality of bristles, as taught by Cheich ‘012, for the purpose of “apply[ing] friction to … the reinforcement ties of the sheet material” (See Cheich ‘012, Pg. 19, Ln. 20-23).
Conclusion
/T.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654