DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are considered in this office action. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a display unit and an input unit which is configured to…. in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses display unit and input units in following para [0022] and [0023] and herein after will be interpreted as such ( in Para [0022]: The input unit 23i receives information related to automatic operation in accordance with an operation by the operator. Specifically, for example, the input unit 23i may be a touch panel, a mouse, a keyboard, or a device for inputting information based on information of a line of sight of the operator. Furthermore, the input unit 23i may be a device for inputting information based on the location information of a finger of the operator in the space. [0023] The display unit 230 is configured to display information related to automatic operation (display output unit). Specifically, for example, the display unit 230 may be a monitor (display), a device configured to project an image onto an object, or a device that uses AR (Augmented Reality)technology. An image displayed on the display unit 230 (i.e., an image that the control unit 23c causes the display unit 230 to display) is termed a display image G. The display image G includes information related to automatic operation. The display image G includes shape, pattern, color, text, symbol, etc. The display image G includes a GUI (Graphical User Interface). In addition, the information terminal 23 may have a unit (output unit) for performing outputs other than image display. Examples of such a unit include an audio output unit and a vibration output unit.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morimoto et al. (US 12336445B2) and herein after will be referred as Morimoto.
Regarding Claim 1, Morimoto teaches an automatic operation information processing device connected to an automatically-operable working machine in a communicable manner (Col.11 Line 31-41: “The automatic traveling-and-working mode is a mode in which the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1 is caused to travel in automatic operation while the working device 2 is caused to perform an agricultural job (ground work). The automatic operation of the agricultural machine 1 indicates that the travel speed of the traveling vehicle body 3 is changed automatically and the traveling vehicle body 3 is steered automatically. The automatic steering-and-working mode is a mode in which the traveling vehicle body 3 is steered automatically while the working device 2 is caused to perform an agricultural job (ground work). When the agricultural machine 1 is in the automatic steering-and-working mode, the operator of the agricultural machine 1 operates the accelerator member or the brake member of the manual operator 62 (FIG. 1), so that the travel speed of the traveling vehicle body 3 is changed in response to the operation of the accelerator member or the brake member. That is, in the automatic steering-and-working mode, the travel speed of the traveling vehicle body 3 is changed based on manual operation.”), comprising:
a display unit which is configured to display a display image including information related to automatic operation; and an input unit which is configured to receive information related to the automatic operation in response to an operation by an operator (Col.11 Line 59-Col.12 Line 10: Upon selection of the “automatic operation” key B2 a by the user on the home screen D1 illustrated in FIG. 3 , the controller 51 causes the display operation interface 52 to display a “select job” screen D3 as illustrated in FIG. 4 . The “select job” screen D3 displays a message indicative of instructions for input operations. The “select job” screen D3 also displays job keys B31 to B35, an up-pointing arrow key B41, a down-pointing arrow key B42, a “next” key B9, and a “back” key B8. The job keys B31 to B35 indicate agricultural jobs that can be performed by the agricultural machine 1 and working device(s) 2 linked to the agricultural machine 1. In FIG. 4 , five job keys B31, B32, B33, B34, and B35 are displayed. If the number of the agricultural jobs that can be performed by the agricultural machine 1 and the working device(s) 2 is six or more, the controller 51 causes job key(s) indicating another type(s) of job(s) to be displayed on the “select job” screen D3 upon selection of the up-pointing arrow key B41 or the down-pointing arrow key B42 by the user.”).
Similarly Claim 20 is rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 2, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 1.
Morimoto also teaches wherein; the display image includes a task selection section which is displayed for each of types of tasks automatically performed by the working machine and which displays the types of the tasks in a manner selectable by the input unit (Col.12 Line 3-10).
Regarding Claim 4, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 2.
Morimoto also teaches the display image includes a function selection section which is displayed for each of functions corresponding to the type of the task selected in the task selection section and which displays the functions in a manner selectable by the input unit (Col.12 Line 11-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto in view of Braunstein (US 9019436) and herein after will be referred as Braunstein.
Regarding Claim 3, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 2.
Morimoto does not expressly teach wherein, image display in the task selection section changes for each of the types of the tasks, in accordance with the number of connected working machines corresponding to each of the types of the tasks.
Braunstein teaches image display in the task selection section changes for each of the types of the tasks, in accordance with the number of connected working machines corresponding to each of the types of the tasks (Col.8 Line 37-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morimoto to incorporate the teachings of Braunstein to include image display in the task selection section changes for each of the types of the tasks, in accordance with the number of connected working machines corresponding to each of the types of the tasks. Doing so would optimize the automatic operation of the machinery.
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto in view of Glover et al. (US2014/0240506A1) and herein after will be referred as Glover.
Regarding Claim 5, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to any one of claims 1.
Morimoto does not expressly teach the display image includes: a machine selection section which is displayed for each working machine so that each working machine is selectable by the input unit; and a main display area which displays information regarding the working machine selected by the machine selection section and is an area different from the machine selection section among display areas on the display unit.
Glover teaches the display image includes: a machine selection section which is displayed for each working machine so that each working machine is selectable by the input unit; and a main display area which displays information regarding the working machine selected by the machine selection section and is an area different from the machine selection section among display areas on the display unit (Para [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morimoto to incorporate the teachings of Glover to include the display image includes: a machine selection section which is displayed for each working machine so that each working machine is selectable by the input unit; and a main display area which displays information regarding the working machine selected by the machine selection section and is an area different from the machine selection section among display areas on the display unit. Doing so would optimize the automatic operation of the machinery.
Regarding Claim 18, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to Claim 1.
Glover teaches wherein, the display image is switchable between a first screen and a second screen, and information regarding the automatic operation displayed in the second screen includes only part of information regarding the automatic operation displayed in the first screen (Para [0004]).
Regarding Claim 19, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to Claim 1.
Glover teaches the second screen includes a state display section that displays states regarding the automatic operation, and the states displayed by the state display section include: a state in which the working machine is automatically performing a task; the working machine is on standby; and the working machine is stopped in emergency (Para [0027]).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto in view of Glover and in further view of Braunstein.
Regarding Claim 6, Morimoto in view of Glover teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 5.
Braunstein teaches an image of the machine selection section changes depending on a state of the working machine (Col.8 Line 44-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morimoto and Glover to incorporate the teachings of Braunstein to include an image of the machine selection section changes depending on a state of the working machine. Doing so would optimize the automatic operation of the machinery.
Regarding Claim 7, Morimoto in view of Glover and in further view of Braunstein teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 6.
Glover also teaches the image of the machine selection section changes depending on at least one of a state in which the automatic operation is in progress, a state in which the automatic operation has been properly finished, or a state in which the working machine is stopped in emergency (Para [0027]).
Regarding Claim 8, Morimoto in view of Glover and in further view of Braunstein teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 6.
Braunstein teaches the image of the machine selection section changes between a case where the machine selection section corresponding to a working machine whose state has changed is selected and a case where the machine selection section whose state has changed is not selected, after the state of the working machine is changed (Col. 8 Line 54-61).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto in view of Moriya et al. (US 5274557) and herein after will be referred as Moriya.
Regarding Claim 9, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according 1.
Morimoto does not expressly teach the automatic operation is performed based on instruction data that is set by an operation of the working machine by the operator, and the display image includes an operation speed setting section which is displayed to allow one of plural stages of operation speeds including an operation speed of the working machine in the instruction data to be selectable by the input unit as an operation speed in the automatic operation.
Moriya teaches the automatic operation is performed based on instruction data that is set by an operation of the working machine by the operator (Col.5 Line 15-20), and the display image includes an operation speed setting section which is displayed to allow one of plural stages of operation speeds including an operation speed of the working machine in the instruction data to be selectable by the input unit as an operation speed in the automatic operation (Col.5 Line 39-Col.6 Line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morimoto to incorporate the teachings of Moriya to include the automatic operation is performed based on instruction data that is set by an operation of the working machine by the operator, and the display image includes an operation speed setting section which is displayed to allow one of plural stages of operation speeds including an operation speed of the working machine in the instruction data to be selectable by the input unit as an operation speed in the automatic operation. Doing so would optimize the automatic operation of the machinery.
Regarding Claim 13, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 1.
Morimoto does not expressly teach one cycle of the automatic operation includes plural work phases, and the display image includes a work phase display section that displays information indicating in which one of the work phases a task performed by the working machine is.
Moriya teaches one cycle of the automatic operation includes plural work phases, and the display image includes a work phase display section that displays information indicating in which one of the work phases a task performed by the working machine is (Col. 5 Line 39-Col.6 Line3).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto in view of O’Neill et al. (US 9720419) and herein after will be referred as O’Neill.
Regarding Claim 14, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 1.
Morimoto does not expressly teach the display image includes an all machine stop selection section by which all connected working machines are stopped in emergency.
O’Neill teaches the display image includes an all machine stop selection section by which all connected working machines are stopped in emergency (Col.6 Line 62-Col.7 Line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morimoto to incorporate the teachings of O’Neill to include the display image includes an all machine stop selection section by which all connected working machines are stopped in emergency. Doing so would optimize the automatic operation of the machinery.
Regarding Claim 15, Morimoto in view of O’Neill teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 14.
Morimoto does not expressly teach the all machine stop selection section stops the all connected working machines in emergency, through only a single operation.
O’Neill teaches the all machine stop selection section stops the all connected working machines in emergency, through only a single operation (Col.6 Line 62-Col.7 Line 10).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto in view of Shintani et al. (US10900201) and herein after will be referred as Shintani.
Regarding Claim 17, Morimoto teaches the automatic operation information processing device according to claim 1.
Morimoto does not expressly teach the display image includes a machine state display section that displays a state of the working machine, and an image of the machine state display section is synchronized with image display of a state display device which is mounted on an actual working machine and is used to display the state of the working machine.
Shintani teaches the display image includes a machine state display section that displays a state of the working machine (#29P Fig.3), and an image of the machine state display section is synchronized with image display of a state display device which is mounted on an actual working machine and is used to display the state of the working machine (Col.3 Line 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morimoto to incorporate the teachings of Shintani to include the display image includes a machine state display section that displays a state of the working machine, and an image of the machine state display section is synchronized with image display of a state display device which is mounted on an actual working machine and is used to display the state of the working machine. Doing so would optimize the automatic operation of the machinery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakaguchi et al. (US20180206389A1) teaches a work vehicle includes a touch-panel display, at least one first physical button, and the circuitry. The touch-panel display is to display at least one first touch button, at least one first function, and work information. The at least one function is displayed in the at least one first touch button to which the at least one first function is assigned. The work information includes a state of work which the work vehicle performs. The at least one first physical button is provided outside the touch-panel display. The at least one first function is assigned to the at least one first physical button. The circuitry is configured to change the at least one first function assigned to the at least one first touch button and the at least one first physical button in accordance with the work information.
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668