DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The spacing of the lines of the specification is such as to make reading difficult. New application papers with lines 1 1/2 or double spaced (see 37 CFR 1.52(b)(2)) on good quality paper are required.
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are: excessive run on sentences, use of acronyms such as HW and OEM with no definition, improper capitalization of random words, excessive bullet points detailing what happens before and after stimulation that are incorrectly formatted.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is written as one sentence with improper grammar. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 contains multiple sentences and does not have a proper preamble. Claim 1 fails to properly claim the primary device to be further limited by the dependent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-5 objected to because of the following informalities: The transition words “characterized” and “wherein” are fully capitalized in the claims which is unnecessary. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-5 objected to because of the following informalities: random capitalization of words in the middle of sentences, such as Vagus and Electrode, which is unnecessary. Appropriate correction is required.
The claims are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "electronic transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulator device synchronized by respiratory chest movements in humans" in line 1. It is unclear what the nerve stimulator is synchronized to match up with because there is no claimed element that is matched to the device. If the stimulator is synchronized to match the respiratory chest movements, the term “by” should be removed and language on synchronizing the stimulator to pair with the respiratory movements should be used. As is currently stated the claim, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claims 1 and 5 recite the limitation “OEM cards” in lines 8 and 6 respectively. It is unclear what “OEM” stands for according to both the claim language and the specification. Further, acronyms are not proper practice for claim language. Therefore, the claims are unclear and indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “HW” in line 8. It is unclear what “HW” stands for according to both the claim language and the specification. Further, acronyms are not proper practice for claim language. Therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claims 2-5 recites the limitation "Electronic transcutaneous electrical stimulator device of the Vagus nerve synchronized by respiratory thoracic movements in humans according to claim 1" in lines 1-2 for each claim. However, claim 1 states “Electronic transcutaneous Vagus nerve stimulator device synchronized by respiratory chest movements in humans” which is different than the dependent claims. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 5 contains the trademark/trade name “QI” in terms of “QI standard”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “QI standard” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Examiner noted that claims are replete with issues under 35 U.S.C. 112 and the above listing is not inclusive, Applicant is required to review all of the claims for compliance to 35 USC 112 so as to facilitate a clear understanding of the claimed invention, the scope of the protection sought and the proper application of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Sharma(US 20210187296 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sharma discloses the Electronic transcutaneous Vagus nerve stimulator device synchronized by respiratory chest movements in humans to improve motor function of patients after suffering an ischemic stroke, and with potential for therapeutic use in patients with migraine, major depression, hypertension, inflammatory disorder, cardiovascular disease, chronic pain, anxiety disorder, disorder associated with chronic hypoxia / hypercapnia, primary autonomic system disorder or gastrointestinal disorder(The method of example 64 wherein the disorder or indication is at least one of: an autoimmune disease, a demyelinating disease, an affective disorder, a headache disorder, a learning disorder, a neurodegenerative disorder, stroke recovery, a traumatic brain injury, a cardiovascular disorder, a memory disorder, a learning disability, or improving wellness[0245]). This, with a wireless transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulator CHARACTERIZED by a respiratory cycle sensing band with a respiratory cycle sensing module consisting of OEM cards with an HW and a known communication protocol for sending data wirelessly to an atrial mechanism of electrical stimulus generator is located on the back of the skull inside a housing, whether it is a fixed housing or a tilting housing, which in turn communicates wirelessly with a mobile application and attaches to the arms, of two earpieces; wherein the right earpiece at its termination has attached a right plate with a path of oval section or spiral section and two concavities, which are fixed or rotate in its center and which houses a right posterior Cymba conchae Electrode and a right front Cavum Conchae Electrode, and wherein the left earpiece at its termination has attached a left plate with a trajectory is oval section or spiral section and two concavities, that are fixed or rotate in its center and that houses a left posterior Cymba Conchae Electrode and a left frontal Cavum Conchae Electrode ( Representative systems in accordance with the present technology deliver electrical signals transcutaneously to the auricular branch(es) of a patient's vagus nerve. The signals are delivered via electrodes positioned at or partially within one or both of the patient's ears. FIG. 1 illustrates the general physiology of the external portion of a human ear 180, indicating a representative target region 195 at which the electrical signals are applied. The external ear 180 includes the helix 181 partially encircling the triangular fossa 182 and the scaphoid fossa 184, and terminating at the lobule or lobe 190. Within the helix 181 is positioned the antihelix 185, the antihelix crura 183, the antitragus 188, and the intertragic notch 189. The concha 191 is positioned inwardly from the antihelix 185, and includes the cymba concha 192 and cavum concha 193, bounded by the tragus 187 and separated from the cymba concha 192 by the helix crus 186. The skin 196 of the external ear 180 extends into the external ear canal 194, which terminates at the ear drum (not visible in FIG. 1). The auricular branch of the vagus nerve 197 innervates the ear 180, and the target region 195 is generally over and/or adjacent the auricular branch 197.[0037]. Two earpiece links 421 (e.g., in the form of flexible cables) connect the signal generator 410 to corresponding earpieces 420a, 420b, which each carry two electrodes 422. The signal generator 410 can be controlled by an external controller 430 via a wireless controller link 432. The external controller 430 can accordingly be used to set and/or adjust the signal delivery parameters in accordance with which the signal generator 410 provides therapeutic electrical signals to the earpieces 420[0044]. As described above, some techniques in accordance with the present technology include coordinating the delivery of the therapy signal with the patient's respiratory cycles. Accordingly, the system can include a respiratory sensor that monitors the patient's respiratory exhalation and (a) activates the stimulator approximately at the start of each exhalation phase and (b) deactivates the stimulator approximately at the end of the each exhalation phase. The respiratory sensor can use motion or acoustic monitoring technology to identify the start and end of each exhalation phase. The respiratory sensor can be integrated in a chest or stomach belt, or integrated into a face mask[0146]).
Regarding claim 2, Sharma discloses electronic transcutaneous electrical stimulator device of the Vagus nerve synchronized by respiratory thoracic movements in humans according to claim 1 WHEREIN the housing has a transverse axis that on its right side joins on its axis to the right arm and on its left side joins on its axis to the left arm( FIGS. 8A and 8B illustrate another representative system 800 having a signal generator 810, earpieces 820a, 820b, and earpiece links 821, all of which are integrated to provide a unitary, single-piece device. For example, the signal generator 810 can include a housing 811 that houses the earpiece links 821 (in addition to the signal generating circuitry), and directly supports the earpieces 820a, 820b[0053][FIG. 8A]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of Hamner(CN 113784748 A).
Regarding claim 3, Sharma discloses electronic device transcutaneous electrical stimulator of the Vagus nerve synchronized by respiratory thoracic movements in humans according to claim 1 WHEREIN the housing houses a wireless power supply mechanism with QI standard that is coupled in a wireless base and houses the atrial mechanism of electrical stimulus generator, coupled to a microcontroller configured wirelessly with a mobile application, whose electrical stimulation includes a direct current pulse with Burst of biphasic square wave pulses; Frequency: 1 -120 Hz; Current intensity: 1 mA to 10 mA; Pulse width: 100 - 500 microseconds; Stimulation duration: 0.5 - 2 s and Therapy time: 1 - 60 minutes; and formed by the stimulation circuit that is connected to each Electrode, with connection to the right posterior Cymba Conchae Electrode , the right frontal Cavum Conchae Electrode, the left posterior Cymba Conchae Electrode and the left frontal Cavum Conchae Electrode (33)(In representative embodiments, at least a portion of the signal 1260 has signal delivery parameters in the following ranges: [0063] Frequency: about 15 kHz to about 50 kHz, or about 20 kHz to about 50 kHz or 20 kHz [0064] Amplitude: about 0.1 mA to about 10 mA, or about 1 mA to about 5 mA, or about 2 mA to about 4 mA [0065] Pulse width: about 5 microseconds to about 30 microseconds, e.g., about 20 microseconds [0066] Interphase spacing: about 1 microsecond to about 40 microseconds, or about 1 microsecond to about 10 microseconds [0067] Interpulse spacing: about 1 microsecond to about 40 microseconds, or about 1 microsecond to about 15 microseconds [0068] Duty cycle: on-period of 0.1 seconds-15 minutes off-period of 0.1 seconds-15 minutes[0062]. The electrical therapy signal is typically delivered to the patient over the course of one or more sessions that have a limited duration. For example, an individual session typically lasts no longer than sixty minutes and is typically at least two seconds in duration.[0071]. ] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate a further representative system 900 in which the signal generator 910 is integrated with the earpiece 920 in a single housing 911. Beginning with FIG. 9A, for patients using multiple earpieces (as is typical), each earpiece includes a dedicated signal generator 910. In at least some embodiments, the signal generators 910 can communicate with each other (e.g., wirelessly) to provide for consistent treatment. FIG. 9B illustrates a representative charging station 950 for charging the signal generator 910 shown in FIG. 9A. The charging station 950 can include a base 952 having multiple ports 951 (e.g., one port for each earpiece 920) and an optional cover 953 to protect the earpieces 920 during charging. The earpieces 920 can be charged inductively so as to avoid the need for direct mechanical contact between electrical elements of the signal generator 910 and electrical elements of the charging station 950[0055]. Sharma fails to disclose a frequency between 1 - 120 Hz.
However, Hamner discloses “In some embodiments, the stimulator may be targeted tissue (including but not limited to neural tissue, including vagus nerve, and other peripheral nerve disclosed herein) delivery of various signals, including electrical and other signals. Once the trigger signal is generated from the controller, the stimulator may deliver a constant current burst of the biphasic square wave pulse at a frequency of about 5-200 Hz(see attached translation, page 37, paragraph 4)”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the auricular nerve stimulation of Sharma with the frequency range of the wearable peripheral nerve stimulation of Hamner. Doing so would specify a lower frequency range for safe stimulation of the patients nerves.
Regarding claim 5, Sharma discloses electronic transcutaneous electrical stimulator device of the Vagus nerve synchronized by respiratory thoracic movements in humans according to claim 1 WHEREIN the respiratory cycle sensing module of the respiratory cycle sensing band has an electronic board with two side grooves that are crossed by the strap extension surrounding the patient's chest; current injectors; a wireless power supply mechanism with QI standard; OEM cards that send respiratory cycle information to the microcontroller of the atrial mechanism of electrical stimulus generator to activate the stimulation; whose front of the electronic board has a microcontroller, an on/off button; and on the back of the electronic board it has a wireless charging mechanism with its coil that is coupled parallel to the electronic board( The external controller 430 can also communicate with a backend device 440 (e.g., a server or other suitable device located on the cloud or other medium) via a backend link 441. Accordingly, the external controller 430 can exchange data with the backend 440. For example, the external controller 430 can provide the backend 440 with information about the patient's condition (e.g., obtained from feedback sensors included in the system 400), and/or a schedule of the signal delivery parameters selected by the patient or practitioner over the course of time[0045]. FIGS. 5A and 5B further illustrate features of the system 400 described above with reference to FIG. 4. In particular, FIG. 5A illustrates the signal generator 410 as including an input device 418 and an output device 419. The input device 418 can include a button or other element to activate or deactivate the signal generator 410[0046]. Accordingly, the system can include a respiratory sensor that monitors the patient's respiratory exhalation and (a) activates the stimulator approximately at the start of each exhalation phase and (b) deactivates the stimulator approximately at the end of the each exhalation phase. The respiratory sensor can use motion or acoustic monitoring technology to identify the start and end of each exhalation phase. The respiratory sensor can be integrated in a chest or stomach belt, or integrated into a face mask[0146]. The signal generator 110 can include a housing 111 that encloses or partially encloses signal generating circuitry 114. The signal generating circuitry 114 can be controlled by an internal controller 108, e.g., a processor 113 that accesses instructions stored in a memory 112. The signal generator 110 can include a signal transmission port 115 for communicating with the earpieces 120, e.g., transmitting an electrical therapy signal to the earpieces 120, and optionally, receiving feedback or other communications from the earpieces 120. When the system 100 is in use, the electrical therapy signal is in electrical communication with the target neural population to create a desired effect on the target neural population. A communications transceiver 116 provides for communication between the signal generator 110 and the external controller 130[0039][FIG. 2][FIG. 5B]). Sharma fails to disclose “respiratory cycle sensing band has an electronic board with two side grooves that are crossed by the strap extension surrounding the patient's chest” and “and connectors of a force sensor”.
However, Hamner teaches “FIGS. 1-1 C illustrate a block diagram of embodiments of one or more parameters or adjustments to provide peripheral nerve stimulation -- targeting individual nerve -- to disease and using a sensor to detect biological signals and/or evaluate autonomic nerve imbalances to alter the stimulation of delivery when stimulated. FIG. 1 D schematically illustrates a stimulation system configured for double-side in-ear stimulation, comprising a pair of ear electrode, the electrode is operatively connected to the belt attached to the chest or torso of the force belt sensor; The shell is connected with the containing electronic component(see attached translation, page 20, paragraph 6). In some embodiments, the treatment system adjusted by one or more of the measured biological signal may include any of the following parts: (1) a monitoring unit, which has a sensor, a circuit, and optionally may have a power supply and/or a microcontroller, (2) a treatment unit, which has a stimulator (e.g., a pulse generator), a circuit, a power supply and a microcontroller, (3) a skin interface, which has an electrode and an electrode connection of the electrode and the treatment unit; and (4) a respiratory detection device as disclosed herein(see attached copy, page 27, paragraph 2)”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the auricular nerve stimulation of Sharma with the chest band monitor unit of the wearable peripheral nerve stimulation of Hamner. Doing so would specify the electronic components housed in the chest band of the system to keep the housing centered on the body for obtaining signals.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of Hamner and further in view of George(WO 2021252292 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Sharma discloses electronic device transcutaneous electrical stimulator of the Vagus nerve synchronized by respiratory thoracic movements in humans according to claim 1, but fails to disclose WHEREIN the atrial mechanism of electrical stimulus generator inside its housing has an electronic card with an energy backup mechanism of the device; whose electronic card on the front has three pushbuttons, first push button on and off, a second push button for increasing the stimulus current and a third push button for decreasing the stimulus current; and on the back of the electronic card it has regulators and voltage boosters that make up the lift/regulator mechanism, and a wireless charging mechanism with its wireless charging coil that is coupled parallel to the electronic card.
However, Hamner teaches “The treatment unit may also have a battery, which may be rechargeable and can use the charging circuit to charge, the charging circuit can be sensed. The treatment unit may also include a processor and a memory to store and execute programs and instructions to complete the function 10 described herein. The treatment unit may also include a sensor, such as a motion sensor and a communication module, which may be wireless and may be in communication with a base station and/or an auxiliary display/computing device, and a breath detection device (not shown). The tape may have an electrode and may also include a memory for storing authentication information or may include an identifier of some other forms as described herein. The base station may include a charging circuit, the charging circuit may also be inductive and can transmit power to the complementary charging circuit on the treatment unit. The base station may also have a processor and memory for storing and executing instructions and programs. The base station may also include a communication module, which may be a cellular to communicate with the cloud, and another communication module, which can be wireless and used for communication with the treatment unit and/or respiration detection device(see attached translation, page 43, paragraph 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the auricular nerve stimulation of Sharma with the charging circuit of the wearable peripheral nerve stimulation of Hamner. Doing so would specify the electronic components of the charging circuit for wireless charging to occur in the system.
However, George discloses “The applicator 100 can have one or more user input elements 134, which can receive input from a user. The user input element(s) 134 can include one or more buttons, switches, dials, touchscreens, and the like. The controller 124 can control the applicator 100 based on input received by the one or more user input elements 134. For example, the user can push a button to turn the electrical current, vibration, heating, and/or cooling on or off. The user can provide input to specify parameters (e.g., frequency and/or amplitude) of the electrical current, vibration, heating, and/or cooling or to select between available treatment profiles, which can be stored in computer readable memory[0158]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the auricular nerve stimulation of Sharma with the multiple buttons of the pain treatment system of George. Doing so would specify the multiple push buttons in the device to control elements of stimulation.
Conclusion
/MARIA CATHERINE ANTHONY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796