DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kadono et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0076237 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kadono discloses One or more memory or storage devices having stored thereon a program ([0247] recording a program implementing the steps of … method to a floppy disk or other computer-readable data recording medium; [0251]; [0257] The software for … can be stored to any computer-readable data recording medium (such as a CD-ROM disc, floppy disk, or hard disk drive)).
See MPEP 2111.05 (III), when determining the scope of the claims, “an encoded bitstream” is not given patentable weight, because “an encoded bitstream” is non-functional descriptive material. It is merely static data that imparts no function (unlike an executable computer program which performs a function). It does not have any functional relationship with the intended computer system. Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium disclosed in Kadono meets claim 20.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHAO et al. (US 20250142093 A1).
Regarding claim 1. (Original) ZHAO discloses A method for decoding a current block (figure 3, abstract, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video), comprising:
decoding, from a compressed bitstream, an index of a motion vector candidate of a list of motion vector candidates ([0075] With the AMVP mode, a reference index, an MVP candidate index referring to an AMVP candidate list and motion vector difference (MVD) is signaled. Regarding the merge mode, only a merge index referring to a merge candidate list is signaled);
determining a subset of motion vector candidates to generate based on the index ([0214] In the decoder side, only the candidates within a chosen subgroup need to be reordered);
generating the subset of motion vector candidates, wherein the subset of motion vector candidates is a proper subset of the list of motion vector candidates ([0214] In the decoder side, only the candidates within a chosen subgroup need to be reordered; [0213] organize the available merge candidates into subgroups);
selecting, based on the index, the motion vector candidate from the subset of motion vector candidates ([0214] In the decoder side, only the candidates within a chosen subgroup need to be reordered; [0075] With the AMVP mode, a reference index, an MVP candidate index referring to an AMVP candidate list and motion vector difference (MVD) is signaled. Regarding the merge mode, only a merge index referring to a merge candidate list is signaled); and
decoding the current block using the motion vector candidate ([0075] Inter prediction aims to remove the temporal redundancy between adjacent frames, which serves as an indispensable component in the hybrid video coding framework. Specifically, inter prediction makes use of the contents specified by motion vector (MV) as the predicted version of the current to-be-coded block, thus only residual signals and motion information are transmitted in the bitstream. With the AMVP mode, a reference index, an MVP candidate index referring to an AMVP candidate list and motion vector difference (MVD) is signaled. Regarding the merge mode, only a merge index referring to a merge candidate list is signaled).
Regarding claim 2. (Original) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 1, comprising:
determining that the subset of motion vector candidates is a proper subset of the list of motion vector candidates responsive to determining that a cardinality of the list of motion vector candidates is less than a threshold number of motion vector candidates ([0175] N is the maximum allowed candidate number can be inserted into MVP list in the corresponding single or joint group).
Regarding claim 3. (Original) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 2, comprising:
decoding, from the compressed bitstream, the threshold number of motion vector candidates ([0178] N can be signaled in the bitstream).
Regarding claim 4. (Original) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 2, comprising:
determining the threshold number of motion vector candidates using a block size of the current block ([0290] the threshold for a certain pass or group is determined by the decoding information, including but not limited to the block size).
Regarding claim 5. (Currently amended) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 1, wherein decoding, from the compressed bitstream, the index of the motion vector candidate of the list of motion vector candidates comprises:
decoding, from the compressed bitstream, a codeword indicative of the subset of motion vector candidates ([0075] With the AMVP mode, a reference index, an MVP candidate index referring to an AMVP candidate list and motion vector difference (MVD) is signaled. Regarding the merge mode, only a merge index referring to a merge candidate list is signaled); and
decoding, from the compressed bitstream, an offset index for the motion vector candidate within the subset of motion vector candidates ([0075] With the AMVP mode, a reference index, an MVP candidate index referring to an AMVP candidate list and motion vector difference (MVD) is signaled. Regarding the merge mode, only a merge index referring to a merge candidate list is signaled).
Regarding claim 7. (Currently amended) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 1, comprising:
decoding, from the compressed bitstream, a number of motion vector candidates to generate for the subset of motion vector candidates ([0099] The maximum allowed non-adjacent TMVP number in the MVP list may be signaled in the bitstream; [0178] N can be signaled in the bitstream; [0215] the candidates can be categorized into subgroups according to the candidates' category, such as non-adjacent MVP, temporal MVP (TMVP) or HMVP, etc (non-adjacent TMVP can be a subgroup)).
Regarding claim 8. (Currently amended) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 1, comprising:
decoding, from the compressed bitstream, a first number of motion vector candidates corresponding to a first subset of the list of motion vector candidates; and
decoding, from the compressed bitstream, a second number of motion vector candidates corresponding to a second subset of the list of motion vector candidates ([0180] different single or joint groups may have different N value; [0178] N can be signaled in the bitstream).
Regarding claim 9. (Currently amended) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the subset of the motion vector candidates comprises:
performing a pruning process so that the subset of the motion vector candidates does not include duplicate motion vector candidates ([0076] To avoid redundant MV candidates, duplicated motion vector candidates in the list are abandoned; [0077] performing availability and redundant checking).
Regarding claim 10. (Currently amended) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the subset of motion vector candidates includes an other motion vector candidate, and wherein the other motion vector candidate is a candidate from another subset of motion vector candidates that corresponds to another index that is different from the index ([0241] at least two single/joint groups may have overlap MVP candidates; [0247] different single/joint groups may have overlap candidates).
Regarding claim 11. (Original) the same analysis has been stated in claim 1 (corresponding encoding method).
Regarding claim 12. (Original) the same analysis has been stated in claims 2-3.
Regarding claim 13. (Currently amended) the same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 15. (Currently amended) the same analysis has been stated in claim 7.
Regarding claim 16. (Currently amended) the same analysis has been stated in claim 8.
Regarding claim 17. (Currently amended) the same analysis has been stated in claim 9.
Regarding claim 18. (Currently amended) the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19. (Currently amended) the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20. (Currently amended) the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHAO et al. (US 20250142093 A1).
Regarding claim 6. (Original) ZHAO discloses The method of claim 5, wherein a codeword is decoded using truncated unary coding ([0318] A syntax element may be binarized with a truncated unary code).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to code the codeword indicative of the subset of motion vector candidates using a truncated unary code.
Regarding claim 14. (Original) the same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488