DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This office action is a non-final rejection in response to the filing of the application on 03/21/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1,3-5,8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scott et al, US Patent (US 5,519,275).
Regarding claim 1, Scott et al discloses a contactless energy transmission device (see Figs 1,7-10) for a rotor (112) of an electric machine (30), including a separately excited synchronous machine inside a drive train of a motor vehicle (column 1, lines 10-28), comprising:
a hollow shaft (116) coupled to the rotor (112) of the electric machine (30) in a torque-transmitting manner (see Figs 1,7-10); and
an inductive transmitter (120) having an energizable primary winding (142) and a secondary winding (140) spaced apart therefrom and electrically conductively coupled to a winding of the rotor (410) (see Figs 1-4); and
rectifier electronics (720,720A) connected to the secondary winding, wherein the rectifier electronics (720,720A) are arranged inside the hollow shaft (116) and are connected thereto for conjoint rotation therewith (see Figs 1-8, column 6, lines 40-63,
in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original) (see MPEP 2114)).
Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding claim 3, Scott et al discloses the contactless energy transmission device of claim 1, wherein the rectifier electronics (720) have a circuit board with electronic components arranged thereon (824A-D, Fig 8), the circuit board has a substantially disc-shaped or circular disc-shaped or cylindrical ring-shaped contour (see Figs 1-8 and column 7, lines 40-66; particularly Fig 7-8 discloses that the rectifier is arranged in a suitable manner inside the hollow pivot bearing support 116, preferably fastened along the longitudinal axis of the pivot bearing support 116 such that the rectifier 720 rotates with the rotary portion 122).
Regarding claim 4, Scott et al discloses the contactless energy transmission device of claim 3, wherein the circuit board is connected to the hollow shaft in a materially-bonded, force-fitting or form-fitting manner for conjoint rotation (see Figs 1-8; particularly Fig 7-8 discloses that the rectifier is arranged in a suitable manner inside the hollow pivot bearing support 116, preferably fastened along the longitudinal axis of the pivot bearing support 116 such that the rectifier 720 rotates with the rotary portion 122).
Regarding claim 5, Scott et al discloses the contactless energy transmission device of claim 1, wherein the rectifier electronics (720) are accommodated in a housing that has a substantially disc-shaped or circular disc-shaped or cylindrical ring-shaped contour and the housing is connected to the hollow shaft in a materially-bonded, force-fitting or form-fitting manner for conjoint rotation (see Figs 1-8 and column 7, lines 40-66, one ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the annular disk-like or cylindrical ring-link contour would be considered a normal design since Figs 2A-4 discloses annular disk-like or cylindrical ring-link shapes).
Regarding claim 8, Scott et al discloses a rotor (112) of an electric machine (30), including a separately excited synchronous machine inside a drive train of a motor vehicle, comprising a contactless energy transmission device (120) according to claim 1 (see Figs 1-8, particularly Figs 7-8).
Regarding claim 9, Scott et al discloses an electric machine (30), including a separately excited synchronous machine inside a drive train of a motor vehicle (column 1, lines 10-28), comprising a rotor according to claim 8 (see Figs 1,7-10).
Regarding claim 10, Scott et al discloses a method for assembling a rotor (112) of an electric machine (30) (see Figs 1,7-10), including a separately excited synchronous machine inside a drive train of a motor vehicle (column 1, lines 10-28), the method comprising:
providing a hollow shaft (116) coupled to the rotor (112) of the electric machine (30) in a torque-transmitting manner (see Figs 1,7-10); and
providing an inductive transmitter (120) having an energizable primary winding (142) and a secondary winding (140) which is spaced apart therefrom and is electrically conductively coupled to a winding of the rotor (410) (see Figs 1-4);
providing rectifier electronics (720,720A) coupled to the secondary winding (140);
inserting the rectifier electronics (720,720A) into the hollow shaft (116) so that the rectifier electronics (720) are connected to the hollow shaft (116) for conjoint rotation; and
connecting the rectifier electronics (720,720A) to the secondary winding (140) of the inductive transmitter (120) (see Figs 1-8, column 6, lines 40-63).
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stout et al, US Patent Application Publication (US 2005/0218740 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Stout et al discloses a kit-of-parts (see Figs 2-6) for manufacturing a contactless energy transmission device (202,206,402,406) for a rotor (208,408) of an electric machine (200,400), including a separately excited synchronous machine inside a drive train of a motor vehicle (par. [0021]), the kit-of-parts comprising:
an inductive transmitter (202,206,402,406,Figs 2 and 4) having an energizable primary winding (202,402) and a secondary winding (206,406) spaced apart therefrom and is electrically conductively coupled to a winding of the rotor (208) (see Fig 2 and par. [0013]-[0015]);
a hollow shaft (212,412) coupled to the rotor (208) of the electric machine in a torque-transmitting manner (see Figs 4-5; par. [0016]); and
rectifier electronics (218,218b,418) connected to the secondary winding and positioned inside the hollow shaft (212,412) and connected thereto for conjoint rotation therewith (see Figs 4-5; par. [0016]-[0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kume et al, US PG-Publication (US 2019/0359074 A1) in view of Stout et al, US Patent Application Publication (US 2005/0218740 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Scott et al discloses the contactless energy transmission device of claim 1;
Scott et al does not clearly discloses wherein the secondary winding of the inductive transmitter is arranged inside the hollow shaft and is connected thereto for conjoint rotation therewith, while the primary winding of the inductive transmitter is positioned therein in a torsionally rigid manner relative to the hollow shaft.
However, Stout et al is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application in which discloses a low profile electric generator having a short axial length. A cylindrical rotor body defines an interior cavity and is coupled to a driveshaft along the axis of the cylindrical body (see Figs 2-6) and further discloses wherein the secondary winding (206,406) of the inductive transmitter is arranged inside the hollow shaft (212,412) and is connected thereto for conjoint rotation therewith, while the primary winding (202,402) of the inductive transmitter is positioned therein in a torsionally rigid manner relative to the hollow shaft (212,412) (see Figs 2-6; par. [0013]-[0018]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scott et al with the teaching of Stout et al by including wherein the secondary winding of the inductive transmitter is arranged inside the hollow shaft and is connected thereto for conjoint rotation therewith, while the primary winding of the inductive transmitter is positioned therein in a torsionally rigid manner relative to the hollow shaft in order to provide a generator that has a low profile or axial length in order to fit such generator into a limited space, or to limit the overhung moment of the generator (Stout et al, par. [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Scott et al discloses the contactless energy transmission device of claim 1;
Scott et al does not clearly discloses wherein the hollow shaft is designed so that a cooling fluid can flow through it in such a way that heat generated by the rectifier electronics can be dissipated by means of the cooling fluid when the contactless energy transmission device is in operation.
However, Stout et al is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application in which discloses a low profile electric generator having a short axial length. A cylindrical rotor body defines an interior cavity and is coupled to a driveshaft along the axis of the cylindrical body (see Figs 2-6) and further discloses wherein the hollow shaft (212,412) is designed so that a cooling fluid can flow through it in such a way that heat generated by the rectifier electronics (308) can be dissipated by means of the cooling fluid when the contactless energy transmission device is in operation (see Figs 2-6, par. [0009],[0020]; claims 4-6,16-18,20).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scott et al with the teaching of Stout et al by including wherein the hollow shaft is designed so that a cooling fluid can flow through it in such a way that heat generated by the rectifier electronics can be dissipated by means of the cooling fluid when the contactless energy transmission device is in operation in order to maintain performance, high efficiency, reduces mechanical stress and fatigue and provide reliability over the generator’s service life.
Examiner Note
8. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the cited prior art in the PTO-892 form attached.
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836