DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 60-79 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
An information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 03/21/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 60-64, 66-67, 69-75, and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Erlendson et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190059343).
In regard to claim 60, Erlendson et al. discloses a shark control device for a line including a hook member for catching an aquatic animal in an aquatic environment, the device comprising: a shark deterrent having a predetermined buoyancy that is more buoyant than the aquatic environment (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where there is a shark control device for a line including a hook member (“the hooked mouth of the fish”) for catching an aquatic animal in an aquatic environment and where the device includes a shark deterrent 5 having a predetermined buoyancy (via floats 27) that is more buoyant than the aquatic environment (“the device can be adjusted to float, or maintain a pre-determined depth”)) such that, when the line is retrieved in the aquatic environment, the shark deterrent is adapted to move from a first position at which it is located above and spaced apart from or excludes the hook member to a second position at which it is adjacent to or encompasses the hook member (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where, when the line 23 is retrieved in the aquatic environment, the shark deterrent 5 is adapted to move from a first position at which it is located above and spaced apart from or excludes the hook member (“a neutral buoyancy”) to a second position at which it is adjacent to or encompasses the hook member (see Fig. 3, at least when the line and fish are reeled in)).
In regard to claim 61, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein the shark deterrent is selected from the list comprising: a magnetic repellent, an electrical repellent, an acoustic repellent, a semiochemical repellent, and a visual repellent (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the shark deterrent 5 is a magnetic repellent (“a protective magnetic field around the fish that will deter sharks from engaging the fish”)).
In regard to claim 62, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein the shark deterrent is more buoyant than the line (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the shark deterrent 5 is more buoyant than the line 23 as is has “a neutral buoyancy” or “the device can be adjusted to float, or maintain a pre-determined depth”).
In regard to claim 63, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein, when in the first position, a main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent extends from the line and towards a surface of the aquatic environment (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where, when in the first position, a main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent 5 extends from the line 23 and towards a surface of the aquatic environment (orientation of the device at least when first placed in water, depending on chosen buoyancy)).
In regard to claim 64, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 63, wherein, when in the first position, the main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent defines a first angle with the line in the form of an acute angle (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where, when in the first position, the main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent 5 defines a first acute angle (angle between the line and the deterrent is at least acute at a first position, depending on chosen buoyancy) with the line 23).
In regard to claim 66, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein, when in the second position, the main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent extends from the line and away from the surface of the aquatic environment (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where, when in the second position, the main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent 5 extends from the line 23 and away from the surface of the aquatic environment (orientation of the device at least when line is being reeled in, depending on chosen buoyancy)).
In regard to claim 67, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 66, wherein, when in the second position, the main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent defines a second angle with the line in the form of an obtuse angle (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where, when in the second position, the main longitudinal axis of the shark deterrent 5 defines a second angle (angle between the line and the deterrent is at least obtuse at a second position, depending on chosen buoyancy) with the line 23).
In regard to claim 69, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein the movement between said first and second positions comprises reorientation of the shark deterrent (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where change from a first position to a second position at least requires some reorientation of the shark deterrent 5).
In regard to claim 70, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 69, wherein the reorientation comprises inversion of the shark deterrent (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the shark deterrent 5 at least inverts from a first position (orientation of the device at least when first placed in water) to a second position (orientation of the device at least when line is being reeled in), based on the chosen buoyancy of the device).
In regard to claim 71, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60 adapted to be attached to the line at an attachment point on the line (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the device is attached to the line 23 at an attachment point (via 20) on the line 23).
In regard to claim 72, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 71, wherein the shark deterrent is adapted to fixedly attached to the line at the attachment point on the line (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the shark deterrent 5 is adapted to be fixedly attached (at least “fixedly” attached by 20) to the line 23).
In regard to claim 73, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 72, wherein, when the shark deterrent is attached to the line at the attachment point on the line, the movement between said first and second positions comprises the shark deterrent pivoting around the attachment point on the line (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the movement between said first (orientation of the device at least when first placed in water) and second (orientation of the device at least when line is being reeled in) positions comprises the shark deterrent 5 at least pivoting around the attachment point (attachment point at 20) on the line 23).
In regard to claim 74, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein the shark deterrent further comprises a means for attracting the aquatic animal or another animal upon which the aquatic animal predates (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where there is at least a hook which has attracted a fish to be hooked onto the line 23).
In regard to claim 75, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein the shark deterrent is semi-rigid (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the shark deterrent is semi-rigid (“fiberglass or a polymer, having any of a number of desirable qualities, such as being lightweight, non-corrosive, pliable, and/or resilient”)).
In regard to claim 77, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 60, wherein the shark deterrent is capable of plastic deformation (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where the shark deterrent is capable of plastic deformation (“polymer” and “pliable”)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 66, 68, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlendson et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190059343).
In regard to claim 65, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 64. Erlendson et al. is silent on wherein the acute angle is about 35-55°, 40-50°, or 45°. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Erlendson et al.to have the acute angle be about 35-55°, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the deterrent of Erlendson et al. The motivation would have been to position the device, as desired by the user, to optimize deterrent effect.
In regard to claim 68, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 67. Erlendson et al. is silent on the obtuse angle is at least about 150°, 160°, 170°, or 175°. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Erlendson et al.to have the obtuse angle be at least about 150°, 160°, 170°, or 175°, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the deterrent of Erlendson et al. The motivation would have been to position the device, as desired by the user, to optimize deterrent effect.
In regard to claim 76, Erlendson et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 75. Erlendson et al. is silent on shark deterrent has a rigidity quantified as a deflection of 8-12, 9-11, or 10 mm over a 1 m span upon application of a 10 g load. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Erlendson et al.to have the shark deterrent have a rigidity quantified as a deflection of 8-12, 9-11, or 10 mm over a 1 m span upon application of a 10 g load, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the deterrent of Erlendson et al. The motivation would have been to allow the device to deform in the water, such that the device does not break or harm the fish, if it were to contact the fish while in use.
Claims 78-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlendson et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190059343) in view of Cheron et al. (U.S. Pub. 20070199515).
In regard to claim 78, Erlendson et al. discloses a shark control device for a line including a hook member for catching an aquatic animal in an aquatic environment, the device comprising a shark deterrent in the form of a magnetic repellent having a predetermined buoyancy that is more buoyant than the aquatic environment (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where there is a shark control device for a line including a hook member (“the hooked mouth of the fish”) for catching an aquatic animal in an aquatic environment and where the device includes a shark deterrent 5 in the form of a magnetic repellent 10 (“a protective magnetic field around the fish that will deter sharks from engaging the fish”) having a predetermined buoyancy (via floats 27) that is more buoyant than the aquatic environment (“the device can be adjusted to float, or maintain a pre-determined depth”)) such that, when the line is retrieved in the aquatic environment, the magnetic repellent is adapted to move from a first position at which it is located above and spaced apart from or excludes the hook member to a second position at which it is adjacent to or encompasses the hook member (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0023-0036], where, when the line 23 is retrieved in the aquatic environment, the magnetic repellent 5/10 is adapted to move from a first position at which it is located above and spaced apart from or excludes the hook member (“a neutral buoyancy”) to a second position at which it is adjacent to or encompasses the hook member (see Fig. 3, at least when the line and fish are reeled in)). Erlendson et al. is silent on an electromagnetic repellent. Cheron et al. discloses an electromagnetic repellent (Paragraph [0015], where there is an electromagnetic repellent used to control fish behavior). Erlendson et al. and Cheron et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include fish repellant devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Erlendson et al. such that there is an electromagnetic repellent in view of Cheron et al. The motivation would have been to utilize a device which can have significantly stronger magnetic force than a permanent magnet.
In regard to claim 79, Erlendson et al. as modified by Cheron et al. discloses the shark control device according to claim 78 adapted to produce an electromagnetic field having an electromagnetic strength that is 0.5-1.5V/m, 0.75- 1.25V/m, 0.85-1.15V/m, 0.95-1.05V/m, or about 1V/m; an electromagnetic pulse that is 3-7 pulses/second, 4-6 pulses/second, or about 5 pulses/second; or both (Cheron et al., Paragraph [0015], where the electromagnetic pulse is in the range of 0.1 to 40 Hz (pulses/second)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited, for the full list of prior art made of record. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of fishing devices.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647