DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application filed on 03/21/2025
Application is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/014716 09/25/2023
Application claims a FP date of 09/30/2022
Claims 11 and 26 are independent
Claims 11-30 are pending
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first driving unit” and “second driving unit” in claims 11-12, 16 and 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0280637 A1 which has an EFD of May 31, 2022) in view of Lee (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0203203 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Kumar discloses a camera module (Fig 3 – camera device 300) comprising:
a first body (Fig 3 – shield case 310 – The upper portion of the case 310 has been interpreted as “a first body”);
a second body coupled to the first body (Fig 3 – shield case 310 – The lower portion of the case 310 has been interpreted as “a second body”);
an actuator arranged inside the first body and the second body (Fig 3- Actuator assembly 315 – has clearly been indicated to be arranged inside the first and second body);
a lens module (Fig 3 – lens assembly 305) coupled to the actuator (Since in ¶0049, Kumar discloses that the actuator assembly 315 causes a translation of the lens assembly 305 in a direction parallel to the optical axis, it is clear that the lens assembly 305 is coupled to the actuator 315); and
a substrate assembly (Fig 3 – PCB 340) including an image sensor (Fig 3 – image sensor 345) arranged to face the lens module (See Fig 3, 4, 8A and 8B),
wherein the actuator (Fig 3 – actuator 315) comprises:
a bobbin (Fig 3 – lens barrel 304) to which the lens module is coupled (Fig 3 discloses that the one or more lens are housed in the lens barrel);
a first driving unit arranged on an outer surface of the bobbin (Fig 3 – autofocusing coil 330); and
a second driving unit arranged on an outside of the first driving unit (Fig 3- actuator 320 – which is a VCM actuator),
wherein the actuator (Fig 3 – actuator 315) includes a cover can (Fig 3 – carrier 325) for accommodating the bobbin (Kumar also discloses in ¶0052 that the carrier 325 is directly coupled to the lens barrel 304).
However Kumar fails to clearly disclose wherein the cover can is integrally formed with the first body by insert injection.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the cover can (Second housing 310) is integrally formed with the first body by insert injection (In ¶0105 Lee teaches that the second housing 310 may be formed in an injection molded article. The second housing is a part moving for OIS function and may be spaced apart from the bobbin and first housing).
Kumar and Lee are combinable because both are related to devices using actuators.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the injection molding as taught by Lee in the imaging module disclosed by Kumar.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “provide structural strength” as is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kumar and Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, Kumar in view of Lee discloses wherein the actuator (Kumar: Fig 3- Actuator assembly 315) comprises:
a housing arranged on an outside of the bobbin (Kumar: Fig 3, 4 clearly discloses that the actuator assembly is arranged outside of the lens barrel 304 – which has been interpreted as “the bobbin”) and to which the second driving unit (Kumar: actuator 320 (VCM) is part of the actuator assembly and coupled to the lens barrel) is coupled ; a base (Lee: substrate 1440 as taught in Fig 4) that supports a lower surface of the housing (Lee: housing 1200) and is positioned below the bobbin (Lee: Fig 4 and 5 teaches that the second substrate 1440 supports the housing 1200 and is below the lens barrel (or bobbin)); and an elastic member connected to the bobbin and the housing (Lee: Fig 5 – elastic member 1470;).
Regarding Claim 13, Kumar in view of Lee discloses wherein a material of the cover can (Kumar: Fig 3 – carrier 325) is metal (Kumar – Since Kumar discloses that the carrier houses the coil, it could be broadly interpreted that the carrier is metal), and a material of the first body is plastic (Kumar: In ¶0048, Kumar discloses that the shield case 310 may be made of wide variety of material ranging from plastic to metals).
Regarding Claim 14, Kumar in view of Lee discloses wherein the substrate assembly includes a first substrate arranged with the image sensor (Kumar: image sensor 335) on an upper surface thereof, and wherein an adhesive member arranged between the first substrate (Kumar - PCB) and the actuator is included (Kumar: In ¶0061 Kumar discloses that the actuator 465 may couple to (mounted, affixed to or attached to) the sensor 335 via the PCB 440).
Regarding Claim 15, Kumar in view of Lee discloses wherein the adhesive member includes epoxy (Kumar; ¶0070).
Regarding Claim 16, Kumar in view of Lee discloses wherein the first driving unit includes a coil (Kumar: Fig 3 – autofocusing coil 330), and wherein the second driving unit includes a magnet (Kumar: Fig 3- actuator 320 – which is a VCM actuator).
Regarding Claim 17, Kumar in view of Lee discloses wherein the lens module is screw-coupled to the bobbin (Lee: In ¶0151 Lee teaches that the lens module may be screw-coupled with the driving device).
Regarding Claim 22, Kumar in view of Lee discloses comprising a shield can (Kumar: ¶0083; The shield case 815 which may be manufactured from a wide variety of materials ranging from plastic to metal) arranged on an inside of the second body (Kumar: Watch body 104 may include one or more camera device 115),
wherein the second body includes a hole for exposing the shield can to an outside (Kumar: Since the camera has to be exposed, it is clear that the body 104 will include a hole to expose the camera and the shield can.)
Regarding Claim 23, Kumar in view of Lee discloses wherein the first substrate (Kumar: PCB 340) is electrically connected to the first driving unit (Kumar; In ¶0055 Kumar discloses that a controller may be located on the PCB 340 and the PCB 340 electrically connects to the various components like the autofocusing coil 330, the sensor 335 etc. of the camera device).
Claims 21, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0280637 A1 which has an EFD of May 31, 2022) in view of Lee (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0203203 A1) and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0177775 A1)
Regarding Claim 21, Kumar in view of Lee fails to clearly discloses comprising a glass disposed on the first body.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Park discloses a glass arranged on the first body (In ¶0043 Park teaches using a cover glass for protecting the lens and teaches it to be disposed at the upper end of the lens barrel).
Kumar, Lee and Park are combinable because both are related to imaging devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a glass cover as taught by Park in the imaging module disclosed by Kumar in view of Lee.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “provide protection for the lens” as disclosed by Park in ¶0043.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kumar, Lee and Park to obtain the invention as specified in claim 21.
Regarding Claim 26, Kumar discloses a camera module (Fig 3 – camera device 300) comprising:
a first body (Fig 3 – shield case 310 – The upper portion of the case 310 has been interpreted as “a first body”);
a second body coupled to the first body (Fig 3 – shield case 310 – The lower portion of the case 310 has been interpreted as “a second body”);
an actuator arranged inside the first body and the second body (Fig 3- Actuator assembly 315 – has clearly been indicated to be arranged inside the first and second body);
a lens module (Fig 3 – lens assembly 305) coupled to the actuator (Since in ¶0049, Kumar discloses that the actuator assembly 315 causes a translation of the lens assembly 305 in a direction parallel to the optical axis, it is clear that the lens assembly 305 is coupled to the actuator 315); and
a substrate assembly (Fig 3 – PCB 340) including an image sensor (Fig 3 – image sensor 345) arranged to face the lens module (See Fig 3, 4, 8A and 8B), and
wherein the actuator (Fig 3 – actuator 315) includes a cover can (Fig 3 – carrier 325) for accommodating the bobbin (Kumar also discloses in ¶0052 that the carrier 325 is directly coupled to the lens barrel 304).
However Kumar fails to clearly disclose wherein the cover can and the first body are formed to be in direct contact with each other
Instead in a similar endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the cover can and the first body are formed to be in direct contact with each other (In ¶0105 Lee teaches that the second housing 310 may be formed in an injection molded article. The second housing is a part moving for OIS function and may be spaced apart from the bobbin and first housing).
Kumar and Lee are combinable because both aa related to imaging devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the injection molding as taught by Lee in the imaging module disclosed by Kumar.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “provide structural strength” as is well known in the art.
Further Kumar in view of Lee fails to clearly disclose a glass arranged on the first body.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Park discloses a glass arranged on the first body (In ¶0043 Park teaches using a cover glass for protecting the lens and teaches it to be disposed at the upper end of the lens barrel).
Kumar, Lee and Park are combinable because both are related to imaging devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a glass cover as taught by Park in the imaging module disclosed by Kumar in view of Lee.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to “provide protection for the lens” as disclosed by Park in ¶0043.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kumar, Lee and Park to obtain the invention as specified in claim 26.
Regarding Claim 27, Kumar in view of Lee and Park discloses wherein a material of the cover can (Kumar: Fig 3 – carrier 325) is metal (Kumar – Since Kumar discloses that the carrier houses the coil, it could be broadly interpreted that the carrier is metal), and a material of the first body is plastic (Kumar: In ¶0048, Kumar discloses that the shield case 310 may be made of wide variety of material ranging from plastic to metals).
Regarding Claim 28, Kumar in view of Lee and Park discloses wherein the substrate assembly includes a first substrate arranged with the image sensor (Kumar: image sensor 335) on an upper surface thereof, and wherein an adhesive member arranged between the first substrate (Kumar - PCB) and the actuator is included (Kumar: In ¶0061 Kumar discloses that the actuator 465 may couple to (mounted, affixed to or attached to) the sensor 335 via the PCB 440).
Regarding Claim 29, Kumar in view of Lee and park discloses wherein the lens module is screw-coupled to the bobbin (Lee: In ¶0151 Lee teaches that the lens module may be screw-coupled with the driving device).
Regarding Claim 30, Kumar in view of Lee and park discloses comprising a glass disposed on the first body (Park: In ¶0043 Park teaches using a cover glass for protecting the lens and teaches it to be disposed at the upper end of the lens barrel).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are objected as they depend on Claim 18.
Claim 25 is objected as it depends on Claim 24.
Reference Cited
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shikama (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0314832 A1) disclosure provides an anti-vibration device, including a housing, a base fixed to the housing, and an anti-vibration mechanism accommodated in the housing. The anti-vibration mechanism includes a lens, a rolling member, a movable frame, an image sensor, and an electric actuator. The electric actuator includes a coil and a magnet, and the magnet and the coil are arranged opposite to each other to actuate the movable frame to drive the image sensor to move along the first direction and the second direction orthogonal to the optical axis. The anti-vibration mechanism adopts two coils arranged at intervals along the first direction two coils arranged at intervals along the second direction, so that the electric actuator drives the image sensor to rotate in the plane of the first direction and the second direction, which helps to improve the shooting effect.
GO et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0170170 A1) discloses a camera module having a housing accommodating a lens module; a lens driver, comprising a magnet mounted in the housing, configured to induce a driving force along an optical axis direction and in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction; and a yoke portion offset from the magnet along the optical axis direction.
Conclusion
/PADMA HALIYUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 August 11, 2026