PEDETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 03/21/2025 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1, 3, and 5-6 have been amended. New claims 9-10 have been added. Claims 1-10 are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2023/030336 (filed on 08/23/2023). Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 09/30/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 03/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recite limitations within parenthesis throughout the claims. It is unclear whether these limitations are part of the claims or not. Appropriate correction is required. To advance prosecution, the Examiner will assume that the limitations within the parenthesis are part of the instant claims.
Claims 2 and 4-10 directly or indirectly depend from claims 1 and 3 and are indefinite based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim Interpretation: Claims 1 and 3 are drawn to a silver particle dispersion in a solvent containing a silver particle having a compound represented by formula (1) adhered to the surface of the silver particle. Applicant described that the compound represented by formula (1) is preferably 2-hydroxyisobutyric acid (See specification [0029]). The instant claims further described a measurement value of SPAN by a photocentrifuge method. However, the silver particle dispersion composition are not limited to the manipulations of the recited photocentrifuge method steps. The patentability of the dispersion composition does not depend on its method of measurement, and the claimed steps were not given patentable weight. Moreover, “[p]roducts of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II. "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." In the instant case, if the prior art teaches the same composition, the measurement value of SPAN by a photocentrifuge method of the composition would yield the same or substantially value as claimed. It should be noted that the USPTO is not equipped to perform laboratory testings and experimental benchworks to measure the properties of the resulting composition. The burden is on the applicant to prove otherwise.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2012054103 A (hereinafter Nao).
Nao discloses a conductive composition useful for forming a circuit (an electronic part) comprises a surface treatment silver powder where the silver powder is surface treated with fatty acid (See Abstract). The silver powder having an average particle diameter of 0.5 to 10 um is preferable (See middle of unlabeled page 2). Nao exemplify a silver powder having an average diameter of 0.5 um (See bottom of unlabeled page 2, commercial silver powder “EHD”). The average diameter of 0.5 um is equivalent to 500 nm and is within the claimed average particle diameter of 50 to 600 nm as required in claims 2 and 4. Nao discloses that the fatty acid includes 2-hydroxyisobutyric acid (See bottom at unlabeled page 3, formula (2)). The 2-hydroxyisobutyric acid meets the claimed compound represented by formula (1) as required in claims 1 and 3. Nao further discloses that the surface treated silver power is dispersed in a solvent (See bottom of unlabeled page 6). Noa discloses a silver particle dispersion containing all the claimed components, i.e., silver particle having the claimed particle diameter surface treated with a preferred 2-hydroxyisobutyric acid (claimed compound) as described by Applicant. Based on this rationale, the silver particle dispersion of Nao would have the same or substantially same value of SPAN as claimed because it has been held that products of the same composition must have the same properties and measurements.
The reference specifically or inherently meets each of the claimed limitations in their broadest interpretations. The reference is anticipatory.
In the alternative that Nao is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed silver particle dispersion, any minor modification necessary to meet the claimed limitations, such as measuring the value of SPAN by photocentrifuge would have been within the purview of the skilled artisan.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761