DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “a holding chamber communicated to” in line 9 should be written as –a holding chamber communicating with[[communicated to]]— for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “one of the rotating member and the second side wall” in line 3 should be written as –one of the rotating member [[and]]or the second side wall— for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “blades of the air outlet member is deflected” in line 2 should be written as –blades of the air outlet member [[is]]are deflected— for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the bearing” in lines 2 and 3 should be written as –the at least one bearing— for consistency in claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the inner side” in lines 17-18 lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 2-16 are indefinite by dependence on claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “the outer side of the support cylinder” in line 3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 6-7 and 16 are indefinite by dependence on claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “the spacing position” in line 3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 16 is indefinite by dependence on claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, the phrases “the outer side of the heating assembly” in lines 1-2 and “the inner wall of the vulcanizing bladder” in lines 3-4 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, the phrases “the blades” in line 2 and “the radial direction of the air outlet member” in line 3 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “the bottom” in line 2 lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, the phrases “the upper end of the outer support cylinder” in line 3 and “the upper end of the inner support cylinder” in lines 3-4 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 12-15 are indefinite by dependence on claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “the outer side of the inner support cylinder” in lines 2-3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 13-14 are indefinite by dependence on claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the phrases “the top of the inner support cylinder” in line 3 and “the top of the fixed cylinder” in line 6 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “the outer surface” in line 2 and “the other end” in line 3 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “the heating cartridge” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 16, the phrases “the outer side” in line 1 and “the inner wall” in line 3 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yano et al. (WO 2010109603, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yano discloses a vulcanization device, comprising: a vulcanizing mold, which is openable and closeable, inside which a vulcanizing cavity is formed (Figs. 7-8); a vulcanizing bladder (Figs. 3, 7-8: BL) adapted to be placed in the vulcanizing cavity (Figs. 7-8); a support assembly comprising a central rod (Figs. 3, 6-8: 10), and a clamping device (Fig. 3: 11, 12, 313, 314) provided on the central rod (Fig. 3: 10), the clamping device being adapted to sealingly mount the vulcanizing bladder in the cavity (Page 3: [02]-[04]); wherein the clamping device comprises a ring seat (Figs. 3, 6: 31, 32), the central rod (Figs. 3, 6: 10) is sleeved in the ring seat, the ring seat is provided with a window (Figs. 3, 6: 40c), a holding chamber communicated to the window is provided inside the ring seat (See annotated Fig. 6 below: see how the holding chamber communicates with 40c), and the vulcanization device further comprises: a rotating member (Figs. 3, 6: 40) provided in the holding chamber and rotatably connected (Fig. 6: 40 connected via bearing 41 to wall of holding chamber 323) to a first side wall of the holding chamber (See annotated Fig. 6 below), an electromagnetic assembly (Fig. 6: 521b, 522b) being provided between the rotating member (Fig. 6: 40) and a second side wall of the holding chamber (See annotated Fig. 6 below), and the electromagnetic assembly being adapted to be energized to rotate the rotating member (Page 5: [07]; Page 6: [03]-[04]); an air outlet member (Fig. 3: see path from 40 to 312) connected to (Fig. 3: see path with arrows showing air flow followed in S1) the rotating member (Figs. 3, 6: 40) and extending out of the window (Figs. 3, 6: see how air flow path extends out from 40c); a heating assembly (Figs. 3, 6: 36) which is provided in the vulcanizing bladder (Fig. 3: BL) and at the inner side of which the air outlet member (Fig. 3: see path from 40 to 312) is located.
The examiner notes that much of the claim language is broad and does not provide any particular structure for what is claimed. For instance, the limitations for “ring seat”, “window”, “holding chamber”, “air outlet member”, etc. do not require any particular structure or other boundaries. Therefore, the corresponding features in Yano as discussed above are considered to satisfy the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Yano further discloses the heating assembly (Fig. 3: 36) is located at the peripheral side of the air outlet member (Fig. 3: see path from 40 to 312) and is provided on the ring seat (Fig. 3: 31, 32).
The examiner again notes that the claim language is broad and does not provide any particular structure for what is claimed. For instance, the limitation “peripheral side” does not require any particular structure or other boundaries and is broad in what constitutes a “side”. Therefore, the corresponding features in Yano as discussed above are considered to satisfy the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Yano further discloses blades (Figs. 5-6; 40a) of the air outlet member (Fig. 6: see path from 40 to 312) are deflected towards one side with respect to the radial direction of the air outlet member (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Yano further discloses a gas inlet pipeline and/or a gas exhaust pipeline (Fig. 6: 321a, 322a) provided on the ring seat (Fig. 6: 31, 32) (Page 4: [05]; Page 5: [02]-[03]).
Regarding claim 10, Yano further discloses a gap (Fig. 6: ga) is formed between the bottom of the rotating member (Figs. 3, 6: 40) and the holding chamber (See annotated Fig. 6 above in claim 1).
The examiner again notes that the claim language is broad and does not provide any particular structure for what is claimed. For instance, the limitation “bottom” does not require any particular structure or other boundaries and is broad in what constitutes a “bottom”. Therefore, the corresponding features in Yano as discussed above are considered to satisfy the claim limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-7, and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, no prior art of record is considered to teach or suggest the combination of limitations of claims 1-2. In particular, the limitations “an armature winding provided on the second side wall corresponding to the permanent magnet, the armature winding being adapted to be energized to drive the rotating member to rotate.”
Claim 3 would be allowable by dependence on claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, no prior art of record is considered to teach or suggest the combination of limitations of claims 1 and 4-5. In particular, the limitations “the heating assembly comprises: a support cylinder provided on the ring seat, the outer side of the support cylinder being provided with a mounting slot; and a heater provided in the mounting slot, the support cylinder having a circulation portion formed thereon which is adapted to guide heated medium gas.”
Claims 6-7 and 16 would be allowable by dependence on claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, no prior art of record is considered to teach or suggest the combination of limitations of claims 1 and 11. In particular, the limitations “the ring seat comprises an outer support cylinder and an inner support cylinder inside the outer support cylinder, the outer support cylinder and the inner support cylinder are fixed together at lower ends, and the upper end of the outer support cylinder and the upper end of the inner support cylinder are spaced apart from each other, thereby forming a semi- closed container with one open end, and the rotating member is provided inside the outer support cylinder, so that the rotating member is located in the semi-closed container and can rotate with respect to the outer support cylinder, wherein the heating assembly is mounted on the outer support cylinder and the air outlet member is mounted on the rotating member and is located inside the heating assembly.”
Claims 12-15 would be allowable by dependence on claim 11.
The closest prior art of record is considered to be Yano et al. (WO 2010109603, see machine translation).
Yano discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Yano further discloses the electromagnetic assembly comprises a permanent magnet (Fig. 6: 521b) provided on a side wall of the rotating member (Fig. 6: 40). However, Yano does not expressly recite an armature winding provided on the second side wall corresponding to the permanent magnet, the armature winding being adapted to be energized to drive the rotating member to rotate. Instead, Yano discloses another magnetic component (Fig. 6: 522b) that is on a wall (Fig. 6: 324a) within the holding chamber and not on the second wall of the holding chamber. Moreover, Yano does not expressly recite the specifically claimed structure of the heating assembly comprising: a support cylinder provided on the ring seat, the outer side of the support cylinder being provided with a mounting slot; and a heater provided in the mounting slot, the support cylinder having a circulation portion formed thereon which is adapted to guide heated medium gas. Instead, Yano generically discloses heating rods (Figs. 3, 5-6: 36) provided within the air flow path. Furthermore, Yano does not expressly recite the specifically claimed structure of the ring seat comprising an outer support cylinder and an inner support cylinder inside the outer support cylinder, the outer support cylinder and the inner support cylinder are fixed together at lower ends, and the upper end of the outer support cylinder and the upper end of the inner support cylinder are spaced apart from each other, thereby forming a semi- closed container with one open end, and the rotating member is provided inside the outer support cylinder, so that the rotating member is located in the semi-closed container and can rotate with respect to the outer support cylinder, wherein the heating assembly is mounted on the outer support cylinder and the air outlet member is mounted on the rotating member and is located inside the heating assembly. Instead, Yano discloses a ring seat (Figs. 3, 6: 31, 32) formed of two cylinder housings connected end to end, rather than provided within each other. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not have found it obvious to modify Yano contrary to its expressly discloses structure, especially without any motivation or teaching to do so, so as to arrive at the specifically claimed structures as discussed above.
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749