Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
According to pages 7-9 of 11, Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art Howie et al. (US 2010/0101921) fails to teach the amended limitations according to claims 16, 23 and 30, are persuasive.
According to pages 9 of 11, Applicant's arguments that
, are not persuasive.
Referring to claim 16, in an analogous art, Kaiser et al. (US 9,310,949 hereinafter Kaiser) discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor is distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection regions (Col. 7 line 65 to Col. 8 line 2, Fig. 1; A multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 8 lines 11-21; The sensor elements 4 are arranged on an outer circumference 5 of the actuation lever 2 so as to be distributed annularly in the circumferential direction, with the result that they form an annular structure around the actuation lever 2. In this connection, the sensor elements 4 are arranged so as to be distributed in a manner spaced apart at equal distance from one another, with the result that the spacing between the respective adjacent sensor elements 4 in the circumferential direction are identical. The individual sensor elements 4 also have an elongate configuration and extend in the longitudinal direction of the actuation lever 2.); and
the control unit configured to associate respective ones of the functions with the plurality of selection regions, detect a selected function (Col. 8 lines 43-54; Further mechanical operating elements can also be mounted on the actuation lever 2, for instance push buttons and/or rotary knobs and/or toggle switches and the like. Provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 to be able to be pushed in the direction towards the steering column and/or pulled in the direction away from the steering column. Thus, various functions can also be activated or deactivated. As an alternative, however, provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 not to be mechanically actuable and not to have any mechanical switches, with the result that all operating functions can be triggered by means of the sensor elements 4.).
Referring to claim 23, in an analogous art, Kaiser et al. (US 9,310,949 hereinafter Kaiser) discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor is distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection region (Col. 7 line 65 to Col. 8 line 2, Fig. 1; A multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 8 lines 11-21; The sensor elements 4 are arranged on an outer circumference 5 of the actuation lever 2 so as to be distributed annularly in the circumferential direction, with the result that they form an annular structure around the actuation lever 2. In this connection, the sensor elements 4 are arranged so as to be distributed in a manner spaced apart at equal distance from one another, with the result that the spacing between the respective adjacent sensor elements 4 in the circumferential direction are identical. The individual sensor elements 4 also have an elongate configuration and extend in the longitudinal direction of the actuation lever 2.); and
the control unit configured to associate respective ones of the functions with the plurality of selection regions, detect a selected function (Col. 8 lines 43-54; Further mechanical operating elements can also be mounted on the actuation lever 2, for instance push buttons and/or rotary knobs and/or toggle switches and the like. Provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 to be able to be pushed in the direction towards the steering column and/or pulled in the direction away from the steering column. Thus, various functions can also be activated or deactivated. As an alternative, however, provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 not to be mechanically actuable and not to have any mechanical switches, with the result that all operating functions can be triggered by means of the sensor elements 4.).
Referring to claim 30, in an analogous art, Kaiser et al. (US 9,310,949 hereinafter Kaiser) discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor is distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection regions (Col. 7 line 65 to Col. 8 line 2, Fig. 1; A multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 8 lines 11-21; The sensor elements 4 are arranged on an outer circumference 5 of the actuation lever 2 so as to be distributed annularly in the circumferential direction, with the result that they form an annular structure around the actuation lever 2. In this connection, the sensor elements 4 are arranged so as to be distributed in a manner spaced apart at equal distance from one another, with the result that the spacing between the respective adjacent sensor elements 4 in the circumferential direction are identical. The individual sensor elements 4 also have an elongate configuration and extend in the longitudinal direction of the actuation lever 2.); and
associating, by the control unit, respective ones of functions with the plurality of selection regions (Col. 8 lines 43-54; Further mechanical operating elements can also be mounted on the actuation lever 2, for instance push buttons and/or rotary knobs and/or toggle switches and the like. Provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 to be able to be pushed in the direction towards the steering column and/or pulled in the direction away from the steering column. Thus, various functions can also be activated or deactivated. As an alternative, however, provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 not to be mechanically actuable and not to have any mechanical switches, with the result that all operating functions can be triggered by means of the sensor elements 4.).
Thus, Kaiser teaches the amended limitations of claims 16, 23, and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 19, 21-24, 26, 28-31, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howie et al. (US 2010/0101921 hereinafter Howie) in view of Kaiser et al. (US 9,310,949 hereinafter Kaiser).
Referring to claim 16, Howie discloses a steering column switch (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) for a motor vehicle configured to select functions ([0008]; The inventors have found that a combined mechanical and touch switch (for example capacitance switch) control provides a vehicle driver independent control of a vehicle system that heretofore has not been separately controllable, such as the turn signal system and the wiper and washer system. The lever may be moved to make a first input to the vehicle system and a touch pad incorporated into the body of the lever may be touched to signal a second input that either overrides an input made with movement of the lever or to activate/deactivate the vehicle system in a manner not available with movement of the lever.), comprising:
a rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24);
a lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) at least partially surrounding the rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24) (Fig. 1; lever cap 22 surrounding the rigid lever 24), the lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) including at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28) configured to select at least one function through a defined touch by an operator ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors. As will be described with respect to FIG. 2 below, the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be pivoted at the steering column 18 between an OFF position (in a generally horizontal position) and either a LEFT-ON position or a RIGHT-ON position (pivoted down or pivoted up) to control the turn signal lamps of the vehicle accordingly. Further, the turn signal lamps may also be controlled with inputs to the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28.); and
a control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) having a data-communicating connection (Fig. 2; two signals 40) to the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), detect a selected function ([0025]; driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44.), and relay the selected function via an interface of the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) to a control device (Fig. 1; signal lamps 44, 46) of the motor vehicle to execute an action corresponding to the selected function ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.).
However, Howie does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one touch sensor is distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection regions; and the control unit configured to associate respective ones of the functions with the plurality of selection regions, detect a selected function.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor is distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection regions (Col. 7 line 65 to Col. 8 line 2, Fig. 1; A multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 8 lines 11-21; The sensor elements 4 are arranged on an outer circumference 5 of the actuation lever 2 so as to be distributed annularly in the circumferential direction, with the result that they form an annular structure around the actuation lever 2. In this connection, the sensor elements 4 are arranged so as to be distributed in a manner spaced apart at equal distance from one another, with the result that the spacing between the respective adjacent sensor elements 4 in the circumferential direction are identical. The individual sensor elements 4 also have an elongate configuration and extend in the longitudinal direction of the actuation lever 2.); and the control unit configured to associate respective ones of the functions with the plurality of selection regions, detect a selected function (Col. 8 lines 43-54; Further mechanical operating elements can also be mounted on the actuation lever 2, for instance push buttons and/or rotary knobs and/or toggle switches and the like. Provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 to be able to be pushed in the direction towards the steering column and/or pulled in the direction away from the steering column. Thus, various functions can also be activated or deactivated. As an alternative, however, provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 not to be mechanically actuable and not to have any mechanical switches, with the result that all operating functions can be triggered by means of the sensor elements 4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to allow user’s friendly of controlling vehicle functions with plurality of capacitive sensors attached on a steering column.
Referring to claim 17, Howie discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor includes a capacitive touch sensor or a resistive touch sensor ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors).
Referring to claim 19, Howie as modified by Kaiser discloses further comprising a vibration motor disposed in or on the rigid lever, the vibration motor configured to provide haptic feedback corresponding to the selected function (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 17-22; The evaluation device can also be configured to output a feedback signal once a touch and/or approach has been identified, by means of which feedback signal the touch and/or approach is confirmed to the driver. A cognitive or discernible item of feedback such as this can be realized by means of a beep and/or a vibration of the actuation lever, for example.).
Referring to claim 21, Howie as modified by Kaiser discloses wherein a position of at the least one touch sensor is adjustable via the control unit (Kaiser- Col. 4 lines 60-63; In this case, for example, it can be provided that a headlight of the motor vehicle and/or a windscreen wiper and/or an interior illumination and/or an interior heating and/or a window heating and/or a seat heating and/or a seat adjustment and/or an indicator of the motor vehicle are/is controllable by means of the sensor elements.).
Referring to claim 22, Howie as modified by Kaiser discloses wherein the interface of the control unit is configured to communicate with a human-machine interface for programming association of the respective ones of the functions with the plurality of selection regions (Kaiser- Col. 10 lines 36-53; If the actuation lever 2 is mechanically actuable in at least two manners, the evaluation device can also store information relating to the manner of the mechanical actuation associated with an item of information relating to the touch and/or approach in a memory device when the actuation lever 2 is mechanically actuated. The evaluation device therefore learns which sensor elements 4 are touched in the event of which manner of mechanical actuation. The evaluation device can therefore identify which mechanical operation by the driver usually follows a particular manner of touch on the touch-sensitive sensor elements 4. Said stored in formation can be used to perform a plausibility check on a later touch and/or approach. If, for example, the driver always actuates a certain sensor element 4 before he pushes the actuation lever 2 along the longitudinal axis 8 thereof, then, in the event of a later touch which is similar but not unambiguously identified, the stored information can be taken into account and a plausibility check can be performed on the identified touch.).
Referring to claim 23, Howie discloses a steering wheel system (Fig. 1-2; steering wheel 10) for a motor vehicle ([0008]; The inventors have found that a combined mechanical and touch switch (for example capacitance switch) control provides a vehicle driver independent control of a vehicle system that heretofore has not been separately controllable, such as the turn signal system and the wiper and washer system. The lever may be moved to make a first input to the vehicle system and a touch pad incorporated into the body of the lever may be touched to signal a second input that either overrides an input made with movement of the lever or to activate/deactivate the vehicle system in a manner not available with movement of the lever.), comprising:
a steering wheel (Fig. 1; steering wheel 10);
a steering wheel mount (Fig. 1; steering wheel 10 with mounting member touch switch controls 20 and 30); and
at least one steering column switch (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) comprising:
a rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24) attached to the steering wheel (Fig. 1; steering wheel 10) or the steering wheel mount (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) (rigid lever 24 attached to the steering mounts 20 and 30);
a lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) at least partially surrounding the rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24), the lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) including at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28) configured to select at least one function through a defined touch by an operator ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors. As will be described with respect to FIG. 2 below, the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be pivoted at the steering column 18 between an OFF position (in a generally horizontal position) and either a LEFT-ON position or a RIGHT-ON position (pivoted down or pivoted up) to control the turn signal lamps of the vehicle accordingly. Further, the turn signal lamps may also be controlled with inputs to the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28.); and
a control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) having a data-communicating connection (Fig. 2; two signals 40) to the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) configured to, detect a selected function, and relay the selected function via an interface of the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) to a control device (Fig. 1; signal lamps 44, 46) of the motor vehicle to execute an action corresponding to the selected function ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.).
However, Howie does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one touch sensor is
distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection regions; and
the control unit configured to associate respective ones of the functions with the plurality of
selection regions, detect a selected function.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor is distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection region (Col. 7 line 65 to Col. 8 line 2, Fig. 1; A multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 8 lines 11-21; The sensor elements 4 are arranged on an outer circumference 5 of the actuation lever 2 so as to be distributed annularly in the circumferential direction, with the result that they form an annular structure around the actuation lever 2. In this connection, the sensor elements 4 are arranged so as to be distributed in a manner spaced apart at equal distance from one another, with the result that the spacing between the respective adjacent sensor elements 4 in the circumferential direction are identical. The individual sensor elements 4 also have an elongate configuration and extend in the longitudinal direction of the actuation lever 2.); and
the control unit configured to associate respective ones of the functions with the plurality of selection regions, detect a selected function (Col. 8 lines 43-54; Further mechanical operating elements can also be mounted on the actuation lever 2, for instance push buttons and/or rotary knobs and/or toggle switches and the like. Provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 to be able to be pushed in the direction towards the steering column and/or pulled in the direction away from the steering column. Thus, various functions can also be activated or deactivated. As an alternative, however, provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 not to be mechanically actuable and not to have any mechanical switches, with the result that all operating functions can be triggered by means of the sensor elements 4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to allow user’s friendly of controlling vehicle functions with plurality of capacitive sensors attached on a steering column.
Referring to claim 24, Howie discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor of
the at least one steering column switch includes a capacitive touch sensor or a resistive touch sensor ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors.).
Referring to claim 26, Howie as modified by Kaiser discloses wherein the at least one steering column switch further includes a vibration motor disposed in or on the rigid lever, the vibration motor configured to provide haptic feedback corresponding to the selected function (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 17-22; The evaluation device can also be configured to output a feedback signal once a touch and/or approach has been identified, by means of which feedback signal the touch and/or approach is confirmed to the driver. A cognitive or discernible item of feedback such as this can be realized by means of a beep and/or a vibration of the actuation lever, for example.).
Referring to claim 28, Howie as modified by Kaiser discloses wherein a position of at the least one touch sensor of the at least one steering column switch is adjustable via the control unit (Kaiser- Col. 4 lines 60-63; In this case, for example, it can be provided that a headlight of the motor vehicle and/or a windscreen wiper and/or an interior illumination and/or an interior heating and/or a window heating and/or a seat heating and/or a seat adjustment and/or an indicator of the motor vehicle are/is controllable by means of the sensor elements.).
Referring to claim 29, Howie as modified by Kaiser discloses wherein the interface of the control unit of the at least one steering column switch is configured to communicate with a human-machine interface for programming association of the respective ones of the functions with the plurality of selection regions (Kaiser- Col. 10 lines 36-53; If the actuation lever 2 is mechanically actuable in at least two manners, the evaluation device can also store information relating to the manner of the mechanical actuation associated with an item of information relating to the touch and/or approach in a memory device when the actuation lever 2 is mechanically actuated. The evaluation device therefore learns which sensor elements 4 are touched in the event of which manner of mechanical actuation. The evaluation device can therefore identify which mechanical operation by the driver usually follows a particular manner of touch on the touch-sensitive sensor elements 4. Said stored in formation can be used to perform a plausibility check on a later touch and/or approach. If, for example, the driver always actuates a certain sensor element 4 before he pushes the actuation lever 2 along the longitudinal axis 8 thereof, then, in the event of a later touch which is similar but not unambiguously identified, the stored information can be taken into account and a plausibility check can be performed on the identified touch.).
Referring to claim 30, Howie discloses a method for executing a function using a steering column switch of a motor vehicle ([0008]; The inventors have found that a combined mechanical and touch switch (for example capacitance switch) control provides a vehicle driver independent control of a vehicle system that heretofore has not been separately controllable, such as the turn signal system and the wiper and washer system. The lever may be moved to make a first input to the vehicle system and a touch pad incorporated into the body of the lever may be touched to signal a second input that either overrides an input made with movement of the lever or to activate/deactivate the vehicle system in a manner not available with movement of the lever.), the steering column switch (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) comprising a rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24), a lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) at least partially surrounding the rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24) (Fig. 1; handle 22 surrounding the rigid lever 24) and having at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), and a control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) having a data-communicating connection (Fig. 2; two signals 40) to the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), the method comprising:
receiving a defined touch on the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28) by an operator to select at least one function ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors. As will be described with respect to FIG. 2 below, the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be pivoted at the steering column 18 between an OFF position (in a generally horizontal position) and either a LEFT-ON position or a RIGHT-ON position (pivoted down or pivoted up) to control the turn signal lamps of the vehicle accordingly. Further, the turn signal lamps may also be controlled with inputs to the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28.);
detecting, by the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38), the selected function based on the defined touch ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.); and
relaying, via an interface of the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38), the selected function to a control device (Fig. 1; signal lamps 44, 46) of the motor vehicle to execute an action corresponding to the selected function ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.).
However, Howie does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one touch sensor is
distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection regions; and
associating, by the control unit, respective ones of functions with the plurality of selection regions.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor is distributed around a surface of the lever cap and comprises a plurality of selection regions (Col. 7 line 65
to Col. 8 line 2, Fig. 1; A multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 8 lines 11-21; The sensor elements 4 are arranged on an outer circumference 5 of the actuation lever 2 so as to be distributed annularly in the circumferential direction, with the result that they form an annular structure around the actuation lever 2. In this connection, the sensor elements 4 are arranged so as to be distributed in a manner spaced apart at equal distance from one another, with the result that the spacing between the respective adjacent sensor elements 4 in the circumferential direction are identical. The individual sensor elements 4 also have an elongate configuration and extend in the longitudinal direction of the actuation lever 2.); and
associating, by the control unit, respective ones of functions with the plurality of selection regions (Col. 8 lines 43-54; Further mechanical operating elements can also be mounted on the actuation lever 2, for instance push buttons and/or rotary knobs and/or toggle switches and the like. Provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 to be able to be pushed in the direction towards the steering column and/or pulled in the direction away from the steering column. Thus, various functions can also be activated or deactivated. As an alternative, however, provision can also be made for the actuation lever 2 not to be mechanically actuable and not to have any mechanical switches, with the result that all operating functions can be triggered by means of the sensor elements 4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to allow user’s friendly of controlling vehicle functions with plurality of capacitive sensors attached on a steering column.
Referring to claim 31, Howie discloses wherein detecting the defined touch comprises using a capacitive touch sensor or a resistive touch sensor of the steering column switch ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors.).
Referring to claim 33, Howie as modified by Kaiser discloses further comprising providing haptic feedback for the defined touch via a vibration motor of the steering column switch, wherein the vibration motor generates a vibration corresponding to the selected function (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 17-22; The evaluation device can also be configured to output a feedback signal once a touch and/or approach has been identified, by means of which feedback signal the touch and/or approach is confirmed to the driver. A cognitive or discernible item of feedback such as this can be realized by means of a beep and/or a vibration of the actuation lever, for example.).
Referring to claim 35, Howie discloses further comprising adapting a position of the at least one touch sensor via the control unit ([0018]; FIG. 2 a simplified schematic representation of a combined mechanical and touch switch turn signal activation stalk mounted to the steering column shown in FIG. 1 movable between a neutral position and either a left turn position and a right turn position, and having upper and lower touch sensors that cause temporary activation of turn signal lamps independent of the position of the activation stalk).
Claims 18, 20, 25, 27, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howie et al. (US 2010/0101921 hereinafter Howie) in view of Kaiser et al. (US 9,310,949 hereinafter Kaiser), and Yoshida Kazushi (EP 1764264 A2 hereinafter Yoshida).
Referring to claim 18, Howie in view of Kaiser as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising at least one strain gauge configured to detect the defined touch.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses further comprising at least one strain
gauge configured to detect the defined touch (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0071-0072]; The first to eighth embodiments have been described with reference to the force sensor 2 using a change in capacitance shown in Fig. 2. However, the force sensor according to the present invention is not limited to this, but the grip force or pressure can be detected by using strain sensors such as strain gauges as shown in Figs. 17A and 17B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in view of Kaiser in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 20, Howie in view of Kaiser as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the control unit is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein the control unit is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0035]; The CPU 23 looks for a force sensor 2 for which the difference value of the conductor foil B is at least a predetermined threshold value. If the driver strengthens grip force of a grasping part corresponding to any force sensor 2, then the difference value of the corresponding force sensor 2 becomes at least the predetermined threshold value. For example, if the threshold value is 2.0 in the example shown in Fig. 7, then a force sensor 2 that is at least 2.0 in difference value is the force sensor 2C. As a result, it can be detected that the force sensor 2C disposed on the upper-left side of the steering wheel 1 shown in Fig. 2 has been pressed. The output signal of the force sensor 2C is transmitted to the controller 4, and operation such as driving various on-vehicle devices and processing is executed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in view of Kaiser in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 25, Howie in view of Kaiser as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one steering column switch further includes at least one strain gauge configured to detect the defined touch.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein the at least one steering column switch further includes at least one strain gauge configured to detect the defined touch (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0071-0072]; The first to eighth embodiments have been described with reference to the force sensor 2 using a change in capacitance shown in Fig. 2. However, the force sensor according to the present invention is not limited to this, but the grip force or pressure can be detected by using strain sensors such as strain gauges as shown in Figs. 17A and 17B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in view of Kaiser in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 27, Howie in view of Kaiser as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the control unit of the at least one steering column switch is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein the control unit of the at least one
steering column switch is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0035]; The CPU 23 looks for a force sensor 2 for which the difference value of the conductor foil B is at least a predetermined threshold value. If the driver strengthens grip force of a grasping part corresponding to any force sensor 2, then the difference value of the corresponding force sensor 2 becomes at least the predetermined threshold value. For example, if the threshold value is 2.0 in the example shown in Fig. 7, then a force sensor 2 that is at least 2.0 in difference value is the force sensor 2C. As a result, it can be detected that the force sensor 2C disposed on the upper-left side of the steering wheel 1 shown in Fig. 2 has been pressed. The output signal of the force sensor 2C is transmitted to the controller 4, and operation such as driving various on-vehicle devices and processing is executed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in view of Kaiser in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 32, Howie in view of Kaiser as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein detecting the defined touch comprises using at least one strain gauge of the steering column switch.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein detecting the defined touch comprises using at least one strain gauge of the steering column switch (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0071-0072]; The first to eighth embodiments have been described with reference to the force sensor 2 using a change in capacitance shown in Fig. 2. However, the force sensor according to the present invention is not limited to this, but the grip force or pressure can be detected by using strain sensors such as strain gauges as shown in Figs. 17A and 17B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in view of Kaiser in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 34, Howie in view of Kaiser as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein detecting the selected function comprises determining that a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein detecting the selected function comprises determining that a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0035]; The CPU 23 looks for a force sensor 2 for which the difference value of the conductor foil B is at least a predetermined threshold value. If the driver strengthens grip force of a grasping part corresponding to any force sensor 2, then the difference value of the corresponding force sensor 2 becomes at least the predetermined threshold value. For example, if the threshold value is 2.0 in the example shown in Fig. 7, then a force sensor 2 that is at least 2.0 in difference value is the force sensor 2C. As a result, it can be detected that the force sensor 2C disposed on the upper-left side of the steering wheel 1 shown in Fig. 2 has been pressed. The output signal of the force sensor 2C is transmitted to the controller 4, and operation such as driving various on-vehicle devices and processing is executed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in view of Kaiser in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624