DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2025 and 04/07/2025 have/has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 22-24, 29-31, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howie et al. (US 2010/0101921 hereinafter Howie).
Referring to claim 16, Howie discloses a steering column switch (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) for a motor vehicle configured to select functions ([0008]; The inventors have found that a combined mechanical and touch switch (for example capacitance switch) control provides a vehicle driver independent control of a vehicle system that heretofore has not been separately controllable, such as the turn signal system and the wiper and washer system. The lever may be moved to make a first input to the vehicle system and a touch pad incorporated into the body of the lever may be touched to signal a second input that either overrides an input made with movement of the lever or to activate/deactivate the vehicle system in a manner not available with movement of the lever.), comprising:
a rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24);
a lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) at least partially surrounding the rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24) (Fig. 1; lever cap 22 surrounding the rigid lever 24), the lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) including at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28) configured to select at least one function through a defined touch by an operator ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors. As will be described with respect to FIG. 2 below, the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be pivoted at the steering column 18 between an OFF position (in a generally horizontal position) and either a LEFT-ON position or a RIGHT-ON position (pivoted down or pivoted up) to control the turn signal lamps of the vehicle accordingly. Further, the turn signal lamps may also be controlled with inputs to the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28.); and
a control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) having a data-communicating connection (Fig. 2; two signals 40) to the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) configured to detect the selected function and relay the detected function via an interface of the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) to a control device (Fig. 1; signal lamps 44, 46) of the motor vehicle to execute an action corresponding to the selected function ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.).
Referring to claim 17, Howie discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor includes a capacitive touch sensor or a resistive touch sensor ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors).
Referring to claim 22, Howie discloses wherein the interface of the control unit is configured to relay the selected function to a motor vehicle control system or a human-machine interface ([0024]; Referring now to FIG. 2, one representative turn signal activation stalk 20 is partly of conventional design in that the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be mechanically pivoted from a turn signal OFF position to either a RIGHT-ON position or a LEFT-ON position as described above, to activate a mechanical switch (not shown) sending one of two signals 40 (indicating three states) to a processor 38. In the OFF position, processor 38 provides no output signals so that neither of the left side turning lamps 46 nor the right side turning lamps 44 of the vehicle are illuminated. If the activation stalk 20 is moved upward by the driver to the RIGHT-ON position, the processor 38 provides an intermittently on signal to flash the right side lamps 44. Similarly, when the activation stalk 20 is forced downward to the LEFT-ON position, the processor 38 provides an intermittently on signal to flash the left side lamps 46. It is understood that the output from the microprocessor may be further amplified by a relay or transistor to provide suitable current for the lamps 44 and 46, as known in the art.).
Referring to claim 23, Howie discloses a steering wheel system (Fig. 1-2; steering wheel 10) for a motor vehicle ([0008]; The inventors have found that a combined mechanical and touch switch (for example capacitance switch) control provides a vehicle driver independent control of a vehicle system that heretofore has not been separately controllable, such as the turn signal system and the wiper and washer system. The lever may be moved to make a first input to the vehicle system and a touch pad incorporated into the body of the lever may be touched to signal a second input that either overrides an input made with movement of the lever or to activate/deactivate the vehicle system in a manner not available with movement of the lever.), comprising:
a steering wheel (Fig. 1; steering wheel 10);
a steering wheel mount (Fig. 1; steering wheel 10 with mounting member touch switch controls 20 and 30); and
at least one steering column switch (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) including:
a rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24) attached to the steering wheel (Fig. 1; steering wheel 10) or the steering wheel mount (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) (rigid lever 24 attached to the steering mounts 20 and 30);
a lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) at least partially surrounding the rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24), the lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) including at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28) configured to select at least one function through a defined touch by an operator ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors. As will be described with respect to FIG. 2 below, the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be pivoted at the steering column 18 between an OFF position (in a generally horizontal position) and either a LEFT-ON position or a RIGHT-ON position (pivoted down or pivoted up) to control the turn signal lamps of the vehicle accordingly. Further, the turn signal lamps may also be controlled with inputs to the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28.); and
a control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) having a data-communicating connection (Fig. 2; two signals 40) to the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) configured to detect the selected function and relay the detected function via an interface of the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) to a control device (Fig. 1; signal lamps 44, 46) of the motor vehicle to execute an action corresponding to the selected function ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.).
Referring to claim 24, Howie discloses wherein the at least one touch sensor of
the at least one steering column switch includes a capacitive touch sensor or a resistive touch
sensor ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors.).
Referring to claim 29, Howie discloses wherein the interface of the control unit of
the at least one steering column switch is configured to relay the selected function to a motor
vehicle control system or a human-machine interface ([0024]; Referring now to FIG. 2, one representative turn signal activation stalk 20 is partly of conventional design in that the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be mechanically pivoted from a turn signal OFF position to either a RIGHT-ON position or a LEFT-ON position as described above, to activate a mechanical switch (not shown) sending one of two signals 40 (indicating three states) to a processor 38. In the OFF position, processor 38 provides no output signals so that neither of the left side turning lamps 46 nor the right side turning lamps 44 of the vehicle are illuminated. If the activation stalk 20 is moved upward by the driver to the RIGHT-ON position, the processor 38 provides an intermittently on signal to flash the right side lamps 44. Similarly, when the activation stalk 20 is forced downward to the LEFT-ON position, the processor 38 provides an intermittently on signal to flash the left side lamps 46. It is understood that the output from the microprocessor may be further amplified by a relay or transistor to provide suitable current for the lamps 44 and 46, as known in the art.).
Referring to claim 30, Howie discloses a method for executing a function using a steering column switch of a motor vehicle ([0008]; The inventors have found that a combined mechanical and touch switch (for example capacitance switch) control provides a vehicle driver independent control of a vehicle system that heretofore has not been separately controllable, such as the turn signal system and the wiper and washer system. The lever may be moved to make a first input to the vehicle system and a touch pad incorporated into the body of the lever may be touched to signal a second input that either overrides an input made with movement of the lever or to activate/deactivate the vehicle system in a manner not available with movement of the lever.), the steering column switch (Fig. 1; touch switch controls 20 and 30) comprising a rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24), a lever cap (Fig. 1; handle 22) at least partially surrounding the rigid lever (Fig. 1; connector arm 24) (Fig. 1; handle 22 surrounding the rigid lever 24) and having at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), and a control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38) having a data-communicating connection (Fig. 2; two signals 40) to the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28), the method comprising:
receiving a defined touch on the at least one touch sensor (Fig. 1; An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28) by an operator to select at least one function ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors. As will be described with respect to FIG. 2 below, the turn signal activation stalk 20 may be pivoted at the steering column 18 between an OFF position (in a generally horizontal position) and either a
LEFT-ON position or a RIGHT-ON position (pivoted down or pivoted up) to control the turn signal lamps of the vehicle accordingly. Further, the turn signal lamps may also be controlled with inputs to the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28.);
detecting, by the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38), the selected function based on the defined touch ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.); and
relaying, via an interface of the control unit (Fig. 2; processor 38), the selected function to a control device (Fig. 1; signal lamps 44, 46) of the motor vehicle to execute an action corresponding to the selected function ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.).
Referring to claim 31, Howie discloses wherein detecting the defined touch comprises using a capacitive touch sensor or a resistive touch sensor of the steering column switch ([0022]; Two combined mechanical and touch switch controls 20 and 30 are mounted to the steering column 18. Specifically, a turn signal activation stalk 20 includes a handle 22 that is connected to the steering column 18 using a connector arm 24. Preferably, the connector arm 24 is of sufficient length to extend the handle 22 past the edge of the annular rim 12 of the steering wheel 10. An upper touch pad 26 and a lower touch pad 28 are carried by the handle 22. Preferably, the upper and lower touch pads 26, 28 are electrodes of capacitance switches, but it is understood that other types of touch sensors could be used, such as resistance based sensors.).
Referring to claim 35, Howie discloses further comprising adapting a position of the at least one touch sensor via the control unit; or associating functions with a plurality of selection regions of the at least one touch sensor via the control unit ([0025]; The touch pads 26, 28 may also be used to activate the turn signal lamps 44, 46. More particularly, driver contact or near contact with the upper touch pad 26 causes one of two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, 28 and the microprocessor 38 to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the left side lamps 46. Similarly, driver contact or near contact with the lower touch pad 28 causes the other of the two signals 42 between the touch pads 26, and 28 and the microprocessor to cause the processor 38 to temporarily illuminate the right side lamps 44. This functionality is particular advantageous for lane changes.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 25, 27, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howie et al. (US 2010/0101921 hereinafter Howie) in view of Yoshida Kazushi (EP 1764264 A2 hereinafter Yoshida).
Referring to claim 18, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising at least one strain gauge configured to detect the defined touch.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses further comprising at least one strain
gauge configured to detect the defined touch (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0071-0072]; The first to eighth embodiments have been described with reference to the force sensor 2 using a change in capacitance shown in Fig. 2. However, the force sensor according to the present invention is not limited to this, but the grip force or pressure can be detected by using strain sensors such as strain gauges as shown in Figs. 17A and 17B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 20, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the control unit is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein the control unit is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0035]; The CPU 23 looks for a force sensor 2 for which the difference value of the conductor foil B is at least a predetermined threshold value. If the driver strengthens grip force of a grasping part corresponding to any force sensor 2, then the difference value of the corresponding force sensor 2 becomes at least the predetermined threshold value. For example, if the threshold value is 2.0 in the example shown in Fig. 7, then a force sensor 2 that is at least 2.0 in difference value is the force sensor 2C. As a result, it can be detected that the force sensor 2C disposed on the upper-left side of the steering wheel 1 shown in Fig. 2 has been pressed. The output signal of the force sensor 2C is transmitted to the controller 4, and operation such as driving various on-vehicle devices and processing is executed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 25, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one steering column switch further includes at least one strain gauge configured to detect the defined touch.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein the at least one steering column switch further includes at least one strain gauge configured to detect the defined touch (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0071-0072]; The first to eighth embodiments have been described with reference to the force sensor 2 using a change in capacitance shown in Fig. 2. However, the force sensor according to the present invention is not limited to this, but the grip force or pressure can be detected by using strain sensors such as strain gauges as shown in Figs. 17A and 17B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 27, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the control unit of the at least one steering column switch is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein the control unit of the at least one
steering column switch is configured to detect the selected function when a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0035]; The CPU 23 looks for a force sensor 2 for which the difference value of the conductor foil B is at least a predetermined threshold value. If the driver strengthens grip force of a grasping part corresponding to any force sensor 2, then the difference value of the corresponding force sensor 2 becomes at least the predetermined threshold value. For example, if the threshold value is 2.0 in the example shown in Fig. 7, then a force sensor 2 that is at least 2.0 in difference value is the force sensor 2C. As a result, it can be detected that the force sensor 2C disposed on the upper-left side of the steering wheel 1 shown in Fig. 2 has been pressed. The output signal of the force sensor 2C is transmitted to the controller 4, and operation such as driving various on-vehicle devices and processing is executed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 32, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein detecting the defined touch comprises using at least one strain gauge of the steering column switch.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein detecting the defined touch comprises using at least one strain gauge of the steering column switch (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0071-0072]; The first to eighth embodiments have been described with reference to the force sensor 2 using a change in capacitance shown in Fig. 2. However, the force sensor according to the present invention is not limited to this, but the grip force or pressure can be detected by using strain sensors such as strain gauges as shown in Figs. 17A and 17B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Referring to claim 34, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein detecting the selected function comprises determining that a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded.
In an analogous art, Yoshida discloses wherein detecting the selected function comprises determining that a predetermined touch duration of the defined touch is exceeded or a predetermined touch pressure of the defined touch is exceeded (Yoshida-see attachment highlighted section [0035]; The CPU 23 looks for a force sensor 2 for which the difference value of the conductor foil B is at least a predetermined threshold value. If the driver strengthens grip force of a grasping part corresponding to any force sensor 2, then the difference value of the corresponding force sensor 2 becomes at least the predetermined threshold value. For example, if the threshold value is 2.0 in the example shown in Fig. 7, then a force sensor 2 that is at least 2.0 in difference value is the force sensor 2C. As a result, it can be detected that the force sensor 2C disposed on the upper-left side of the steering wheel 1 shown in Fig. 2 has been pressed. The output signal of the force sensor 2C is transmitted to the controller 4, and operation such as driving various on-vehicle devices and processing is executed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Yoshida to the system of Howie in order to assure the safety of the driver when operating on-vehicle equipment of an automobile.
Claims 19, 21, 26, 28, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howie et al. (US 2010/0101921 hereinafter Howie) in view of Kaiser et al. (US 9,310,949 hereinafter Kaiser).
Referring to claim 19, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising a vibration motor disposed in or on the rigid lever, the vibration motor configured to provide haptic feedback corresponding to the selected function.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses further comprising a vibration motor disposed in or on the rigid lever, the vibration motor configured to provide haptic feedback corresponding to the selected function (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 17-22; The evaluation device can also be configured to output a feedback signal once a touch and/or approach has been identified, by means of which feedback signal the touch and/or approach is confirmed to the driver. A cognitive or discernible item of feedback such as this can be realized by means of a beep and/or a vibration of the actuation lever, for example.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to improve motor car operator safety.
Referring to claim 21, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein a position of the at least one touch sensor is adjustable via the control unit; or the at least one touch sensor includes a plurality of selection regions, and the control unit is configured to associate functions with the plurality of selection regions.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses wherein a position of the at least one touch sensor is adjustable via the control unit; or the at least one touch sensor includes a plurality of selection regions, and the control unit is configured to associate functions with the plurality of selection regions (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 61-67, Fig. 1; a touch-sensitive operating device (1) for a motor vehicle comprises a multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 9 lines 32-40; In addition or as an alternative, the evaluation device can also detect a sequence of touches on the individual sensor elements 4 or approaches towards the individual sensor elements 4 and trigger a predetermined function in the motor vehicle on the basis of the detected sequence. This manner of operation can be used, for example, to activate or else to deactivate a wide variety of functionalities in the motor vehicle. By way of example, a rain sensor can be activated or deactivated by touching every second sensor element 4 Thus, reads on limitation “the at least one touch sensor includes a plurality of selection regions, and the control unit is configured to associate functions with the plurality of selection regions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to improve motor car operator safety.
Referring to claim 26, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one steering column switch further includes a vibration motor disposed in or on the rigid lever, the vibration motor configured to provide haptic feedback corresponding to the selected function.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses wherein the at least one steering column
switch further includes a vibration motor disposed in or on the rigid lever, the vibration motor
configured to provide haptic feedback corresponding to the selected function (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 17-22; The evaluation device can also be configured to output a feedback signal once a touch and/or approach has been identified, by means of which feedback signal the touch and/or approach is confirmed to the driver. A cognitive or discernible item of feedback such as this can be realized by means of a beep and/or a vibration of the actuation lever, for example.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to improve motor car operator safety.
Referring to claim 28, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein a position of the at least one touch sensor of the at least one steering column switch is adjustable via the control unit; or the at least one touch sensor includes a plurality of selection regions, and the control unit is configured to associate functions with the plurality of selection regions.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses wherein a position of the at least one touch sensor of the at least one steering column switch is adjustable via the control unit; or the at least one touch sensor includes a plurality of selection regions, and the control unit is configured to associate functions with the plurality of selection regions (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 61-67, Fig. 1; a touch-sensitive operating device (1) for a motor vehicle comprises a multiplicity of sensor elements 4 are arranged in an end region 3 of the actuation lever 2, which sensor elements are capacitive sensor electrodes in the exemplary embodiment and together form a sensor arrangement…. and Col. 9 lines 32-40; In addition or as an alternative, the evaluation device can also detect a sequence of touches on the individual sensor elements 4 or approaches towards the individual sensor elements 4 and trigger a predetermined function in the motor vehicle on the basis of the detected sequence. This manner of operation can be used, for example, to activate or else to deactivate a wide variety of functionalities in the motor vehicle. By way of example, a rain sensor can be activated or deactivated by touching every second sensor element 4 Thus, reads on limitation “the at least one touch sensor includes a plurality of selection regions, and the control unit is configured to associate functions with the plurality of selection regions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to improve motor car operator safety.
Referring to claim 33, Howie as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising providing haptic feedback for the defined touch via a vibration motor of the steering column switch, wherein the vibration motor generates a vibration corresponding to the selected function.
In an analogous art, Kaiser discloses further comprising providing haptic feedback for the defined touch via a vibration motor of the steering column switch, wherein the vibration motor generates a vibration corresponding to the selected function (Kaiser- Col. 7 lines 17-22; The evaluation device can also be configured to output a feedback signal once a touch and/or approach has been identified, by means of which feedback signal the touch and/or approach is confirmed to the driver. A cognitive or discernible item of feedback such as this can be realized by means of a beep and/or a vibration of the actuation lever, for example.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kaiser to the system of Howie in order to improve motor car operator safety.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624