DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
The presence of claim limitations that are preceded by the phrases “wherein” often raises a question as to the limiting effect of the claim limitations (see MPEP §2111.04). The Examiner has interpreted the limitations following the phrase “wherein” as positively being claimed (i.e. the claim limitations are required and/or the claim limitations following the “wherein clause” limits the structure), where “wherein” is being used as a transitional phrase.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: distribution device in claim 11.
The distribution device is disclosed to be (23) and described on Page 15, line 35 thru Page 16, line 15 and shown in Figures 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the chamber encloses more than 25%, or more than 50%, of the circumference of the turbine outlet duct”, which is indefinite since it is unclear what the applicant considers the boundary to be. Does the chamber enclose more than 25% or more than 50%? Dual ranges are confusing as to exactly what the applicant intends the boundaries to be, thereby making the claim indefinite. The Examiner recommends removing “, or more than 50%,” from claim 3 and writing a new claim reciting that “the chamber encloses more than 50% of the circumference of the turbine outlet duct”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHAWANE (U.S. Patent Publication US 2025/0207524 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHAWANE discloses: a turbine arrangement for a turbo device (102) of an internal combustion engine (2) (see Figures 1 and 2, Abstract),
wherein the turbine arrangement comprises a turbine housing (114, 101) and a turbine unit (116, 117) arranged to rotate in the turbine housing (see Figure 2 that shows the turbine unit is located in (114), ¶0112),
wherein the turbine housing comprises:
- an exhaust conducting section (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE) comprising a turbine shroud (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE) and a turbine outlet duct (101) (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE),
- a first opening (113) (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE) provided in a wall of the exhaust conducting section (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE, where the first opening is located in the turbine outlet duct of the exhaust conducting section), and
- a chamber (103) (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE) fluidly connected to the exhaust conducting section via the first opening (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE),
and wherein the turbine arrangement comprises a sensor (107) arranged to sense a property of gas inside the chamber (see Figure 2, ¶0109),
wherein the turbine outlet duct comprises a second opening (112) (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE) provided in the wall of the exhaust conducting section (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE), and wherein the chamber is fluidly connected to the exhaust conducting section via the second opening (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE, ¶0110),
and wherein the turbine outlet duct comprises a first and a second end portion (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE), wherein the first end portion is arranged at an interface between the turbine shroud and the turbine outlet duct (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE),
characterized in that the second opening is arranged closer to the first end portion than to the second end portion (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE that shows the second end opening is located at the first end portion and therefore, is arranged closer to the first end portion than to the second end portion).
Regarding claim 2, CHAWANE discloses: the first opening faces the turbine unit (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, CHAWANE discloses: the second opening is provided at a different circumferential position of the exhaust conducting section than the first opening (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE where the second opening is provided at a different circumferential position than the first opening due to the conical shape of the turbine outlet duct places the openings at different circumferential positions).
Regarding claim 7, CHAWANE discloses: the second opening is provided in a wall of the turbine outlet duct at a position adjacent to an interface between the turbine shroud and the turbine outlet duct (see Marked up Figure 2 of CHAWANE).
Regarding claim 8, CHAWANE discloses: the first opening has a geometrical centre line being angled relative to a geometrical centre line of the second opening (see Figure 2 that shows the second opening is straight, while the first opening is shown as an angle, and therefore, the first opening has a geometrical centre line being angled relative to a geometrical centre line of the second opening).
Regarding claim 9, CHAWANE discloses: the turbine arrangement comprises an exhaust additive dosing unit (111) arranged to supply an exhaust additive inside the turbine outlet duct (see Figures 3 and 5, ¶0110).
Regarding claim 12, CHAWANE discloses: the sensor (107) is a NOx sensor configured to sense a NOx content of the gas inside the chamber (¶0066, ¶0072, ¶0112).
Regarding claim 13, CHAWANE discloses: a turbo device for an internal combustion engine (see Figure 1, ¶0050, ¶0106), wherein the turbo device comprises a turbine arrangement according to claim 1, and wherein the turbine unit of the turbine arrangement is configured to be driven by exhaust gas of the internal combustion engine (see Figure 1, ¶0050, ¶0106, ¶0112, claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, CHAWANE discloses: an internal combustion engine comprising a turbo device according to claim 13 (see Figure 1, ¶0050, ¶0106, ¶0112, claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAWANE in view of ENGELKE (German Patent Publication DE 10 2018 004 913 A1, a machine translation is provided with the foreign patent in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited and is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 10, CHAWANE discloses: the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the exhaust additive dosing unit is arranged to supply the exhaust additive at a position closer to the first end portion than to the second end portion.
Regarding claim 10, ENGELKE teaches: the exhaust additive dosing unit (20, 30) is arranged to supply the exhaust additive at a position closer to the first end portion than to the second end portion (see Figures 2, 3, 5, and 6, where 6 shows the end of the exhaust additive (30) close to a distribution device (34) that is at the first end portion due to it is closer to the turbine unit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the exhaust additive dosing unit is arranged to supply the exhaust additive at a position closer to the first end portion than to the second end portion in the turbine arrangement of CHAWANE, in order to provide additional mixing distance for the exhaust additive for a more uniform mixture.
Regarding claim 11, CHAWANE discloses: the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the turbine arrangement comprises a distribution device arranged on the turbine unit, and wherein the exhaust additive dosing unit is arranged to supply an exhaust additive onto the distribution device.
Regarding claim 11, ENGELKE teaches: the turbine arrangement comprises a distribution device (34) arranged on the turbine unit (see Figure 6 that shows the distribution device (34) is located on the shaft (36) of the turbine (18) and described as being a bowl, which the Examiner considers to be a “cup shape”), and wherein the exhaust additive dosing unit (30) is arranged to supply an exhaust additive onto the distribution device (see Figure 6, Page 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the turbine arrangement comprises a distribution device arranged on the turbine unit, and wherein the exhaust additive dosing unit is arranged to supply an exhaust additive onto the distribution device in the turbine arrangement of CHAWANE, in order to distribute the exhaust additive (see Page 8 of ENGELKE).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAWANE.
Regarding claim 15, CHAWANE discloses the claimed invention, however, does not specifically disclose that a vehicle comprising an internal combustion engine according to claim 14, however, it would be obvious. CHAWANE does discloses in the background of invention having “vehicle” emission standards for internal combustion engines (¶0004) and that failure of the exhaust gas sensors are trying to be avoided due to the associated “vehicle” downtime (¶0011).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have CHAWANE contain an internal combustion engine of claim 14 in a vehicle, since utilizing an internal combustion engine with a turbo device in a vehicle is known (see background of invention of CHAWANE ¶0004 and ¶0011). Utilizing known components (i.e. turbo device) in a known system (i.e. a vehicle) requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to have a more reliable sensor and improved engine and exhaust system performance by utilizing the improvement of CHAWANE in an internal combustion engine that is in a vehicle system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Communication
/Mary A Davis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746