DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening means”, “retaining elements”, “fastening element” in claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22, and 23, .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. Limitations such as “are designed in such a way” and “its” and “which” are narrative.
Regarding claims 3, 9, 11, 13, 18, and 23, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear and indefinite how both the closure plate and carrier element have undercuts that connect to each other. In order for there to be a connection, one of the closure plate or carrier element would have to have a protrusion to interact with the undercut.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations “the closure plate” in lines 5 and 6 are unclear and indefinite. It appears that the limitations should read --the further closure plate--, as the claim is directed to connecting the further closure plate to the carrier element.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation, “a vacuum valve” in line 4 is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite if a different vacuum valve is being claimed than in claim 14 from which claim 16 depends. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as the same vacuum valve. Similarly, the limitations “a second sealing surface”, “a first sealing surface”, “the valve seat”, “a second connection side”, “a first connection side”, “a carrier element”, “a retaining element”, and “a support” are unclear and indefinite. Please note multiple limitations of claim 16 appear to be repetitive of claim 14.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 13-17, 19, 21-23, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoch et al. (U.S. 2011/0095218).
Regarding claim 1, Schoch discloses:
A vacuum valve for regulating a volume or mass flow and/or for closing and opening a valve opening (2, 3), comprising
a valve seat (11, 12) having the valve opening (2, 3) defining an opening axis and a first sealing surface surrounding the valve opening 2, 3 (see paragraph 0043)
a closure assembly (6) for regulating the volume or mass flow and/or for closing the valve opening (2,3) in a substantially gas-tight manner with a second sealing surface corresponding to the first sealing surface (see paragraph 0043)
a drive unit (14) coupled to the closure assembly (6) and adapted to provide movement of the closure assembly (6) such that the closure assembly (6) is adjustable (see paragraphs 0046, 0048), from an open position in which the closure assembly (6) at least partially exposes the valve opening (2, 3) into a closed position in which there is sealing contact of the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface with a sealing material (9, 10) present therebetween and the valve opening (2, 3) is thereby closed in a gas-tight manner, and back (see paragraphs 0043-0048)
wherein:
the closure assembly (6) comprises
a carrier element (19) having a first connection side and a closure plate (7) having a second connection side, wherein the first and second connection sides are designed to connect the carrier element (19) to the closure plate 7 (see Figure 2)
a support (25) and a retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch), wherein
the first connection side comprises the support (25) and the second connection side comprises the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) or the first connection side comprises the retaining element and the second connection side comprises the support
the closure plate (7) is brought together with the carrier element (19), and the support (25) and the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) are designed to correspond in such a way that a clamping force, which is directed orthogonally to an extension of at least one of the connection sides, is generated by an interaction of the support (25) with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) in the brought-together state
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) projects from the respective connection side and has a curved boundary line for interaction with the support 25 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 2, Schoch discloses:
wherein the curved boundary line has a radius of curvature, wherein a width of the first or the second connection side corresponds to at least twenty times the radius of curvature (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 4, Schoch discloses:
wherein the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) is fixedly connected to the respective connection side
Regarding claim 6, Schoch discloses:
wherein the boundary line forms an ellipse, a circle or a semicircle (see Figure 4, the boundary line forms a portion of a circle)
Regarding claim 7, Schoch discloses:
wherein the support (25) has a curved support line for cooperating with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) wherein
the support line has a radius of curvature, wherein a width of the first or second connection side corresponds to at least twenty times the radius of curvature and/or (see Figure 3)
forms an ellipse, a circle, or semicircle (see Figure 3)
Regarding claim 8, Schoch discloses:
wherein the closure plate (7) has a fastening element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 34a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 20 in Schoch) projecting from its connection side for releasably connecting the closure plate (7) to the carrier element 19 (see paragraph 0057)
Regarding claim 9, Schoch discloses:
wherein the fastening element (20) is designed to project with respect to the connection side and has a recess, extending through the fastening element (20) for the passage of a fastening means (per the 112f interpretation, no number listed, described on page 12 of the specification; functional equivalent 27 in Schoch; see paragraph 0057)
Regarding claim 13, Schoch discloses:
Wherein the closure assembly (6) comprises at least two retaining elements (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch), wherein the second connection side comprises at least two retaining elements 24 (see Figure 4, retaining elements separated by element 33)
Regarding claim 14, Schoch discloses:
A closure assembly (6) for a vacuum valve for regulating a volume or mass flow and/or for closing and opening a valve opening (2, 3), comprising
a coupling adapted to be coupled to a drive unit (14) of the vacuum valve (see paragraphs 0043-0408)
a second sealing surface corresponding to a first sealing surface of a valve seat (11, 12) of the vacuum valve (see paragraph 0043)
wherein
a carrier element (19) having a first connection side and a closure plate (7) having a second connection side (see paragraphs 0043-008)
wherein the first and second connection sides are designed to connect the carrier element (19) to the closure plate 7 (see Figure 2)
a support (25) and a retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch), wherein
the first connection side comprises the support (25) and the second connection side comprises the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) or the first connection side comprises the retaining element and the second connection side comprises the support
wherein
the closing plate (7) is brought together with the carrier element (19), and the support (25) and the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) are designed to correspond in such a way that a clamping force, which is directed orthogonally to an extension of at least one of the connection sides, is generated by an interaction of the support (25) with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) in the brought-together state
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) projects from the respective connection side and has a curved boundary line for interaction with the support 25 (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 15, Schoch discloses:
wherein the carrier element (19) has a third connection side opposite the first connection side and a further closure plate (8), wherein the further closure plate (8) is connected to the carrier element (19) by means of the third connection side, wherein a further retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) of the further closure plate (8) or of the carrier element interacts in a clamping manner with a further support (25) of the further closure plate or of the carrier element 19 (see Figures 2-4; see paragraphs 0056 and 0057)
Regarding claim 16, Schoch discloses:
the second sealing surface which corresponds to the first sealing surface of the valve seat (11, 12) of the vacuum valve, wherein the second sealing surface comprises a sealing material 10 (see paragraphs 0043-0048)
the second connection side, wherein the second connection side is adapted for connection to the first or a third connection side of the carrier element (19) of the closure assembly (6) and is provided on the rear side of the closure plate (7) relative to the sealing surface
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch), wherein the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) is adapted such that, when the closure plate (7) is brought together with the carrier element (19), a clamping force is generated by an interaction of the support (25) of the carrier element (19) with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch), with the clamping force being directed orthogonally to an extension of the second connection side
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) projects from the second connection side and has a curved boundary line for interaction with the support 25
Regarding claim 17, Schoch discloses:
wherein the curved boundary line has a radius of curvature, wherein a width of the second connection side corresponds to at least twenty times the radius of curvature (see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 19, Schoch discloses:
wherein the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 24 in Schoch) is fixedly connected to the second connection side
Regarding claim 21, Schoch discloses:
wherein the boundary line forms an ellipse, a circle or a semicircle (see Figure 4, the boundary line forms a portion of a circle)
Regarding claim 22, Schoch discloses:
wherein the closure plate (7) comprises a fastening element (per the 112f interpretation, no number listed, described on page 12 of the specification; functional equivalent 27 in Schoch) protruding from the second connection side for releasably connecting the closure plate (7) to a carrier element (19) of the closure assembly 6 (see paragraph 0057)
Regarding claim 23, Schoch discloses:
wherein the fastening element (20) is designed to project with respect to the second connection side and has a recess, extending through the fastening element (20) for the passage of a fastening means (per the 112f interpretation, no number listed, described on page 8 of the specification; functional equivalent 27 in Schoch; see paragraph 0057)
Claim(s) 1-7, 13, 14, and 16-21, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,867,307).
Regarding claim 1, Le discloses:
A vacuum valve for regulating a volume or mass flow and/or for closing and opening a valve opening comprising
a valve seat (470) having the valve opening defining an opening axis and a first sealing surface surrounding the valve opening (see Figure 4A)
a closure assembly (300) for regulating the volume or mass flow and/or for closing the valve opening in a substantially gas-tight manner with a second sealing surface corresponding to the first sealing surface
a drive unit (215) coupled to the closure assembly (300) and adapted to provide movement of the closure assembly (300) such that the closure assembly (300) is adjustable, from an open position in which the closure assembly (300) at least partially exposes the valve opening into a closed position in which there is sealing contact of the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface with a sealing material (320) present therebetween and the valve opening is thereby closed in a gas-tight manner, and back (Col. 4, line 49 - Col. 5, line 18)
wherein:
the closure assembly (300) comprises
a carrier element (310) having a first connection side and a closure plate (330) having a second connection side, wherein the first and second connection sides are designed to connect the carrier element (310) to the closure plate 330 (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
a support (rim of 318) and a retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le), wherein (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
the first connection side comprises the support (rim of 318) and the second connection side comprises the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) or the first connection side comprises the retaining element and the second connection side comprises the support (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
the closure plate (330) is brought together with the carrier element (310), and the support (rim of 318) and the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) are designed to correspond in such a way that a clamping force, which is directed orthogonally to an extension of at least one of the connection sides, is generated by an interaction of the support (rim of 318) with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) in the brought-together state (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) projects from the respective connection side and has a curved boundary line for interaction with the support (rim of 318; see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 2, Le discloses:
wherein the curved boundary line has a radius of curvature, wherein a width of the first or the second connection side corresponds to at least twenty times the radius of curvature (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 3, Le discloses:
wherein the first or the second connection side has a receptacle (318) for fastening the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le; see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
Regarding claim 4, Le discloses:
wherein the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) is fixedly connected to the respective connection side
Regarding claim 5, Le discloses:
wherein the retaining element (334) has a round-headed head at its end projecting from the respective connection side (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 6, Le discloses:
wherein the boundary line forms an ellipse, a circle or a semicircle (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 7, Le discloses:
wherein the support (rim of 318) has a curved support line for cooperating with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) wherein
the support line has a radius of curvature, wherein a width of the first or second connection side corresponds to at least twenty times the radius of curvature and/or (see Figure 3B)
forms an ellipse, a circle, or semicircle (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 13, Le discloses:
Wherein the closure assembly (300) comprises at least two retaining elements (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le), wherein the second connection side comprises at least two retaining elements 334 (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 14, Le discloses:
A closure assembly (300) for a vacuum valve for regulating a volume or mass flow and/or for closing and opening a valve opening, comprising
a coupling adapted to be coupled to a drive unit (215) of the vacuum valve
a second sealing surface corresponding to a first sealing surface of a valve seat (470) of the vacuum valve
wherein
a carrier element (310) having a first connection side and a closure plate (330) having a second connection side (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
wherein the first and second connection sides are designed to connect the carrier element (310) to the closure plate 330 (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
a support (rim of 318) and a retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le), wherein (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
the first connection side comprises the support (rim of 318) and the second connection side comprises the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) or the first connection side comprises the retaining element and the second connection side comprises the support (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
wherein
the closing plate (330) is brought together with the carrier element (310), and the support (rim of 318) and the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) are designed to correspond in such a way that a clamping force, which is directed orthogonally to an extension of at least one of the connection sides, is generated by an interaction of the support (rim of 318) with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) in the brought-together state (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) projects from the respective connection side and has a curved boundary line for interaction with the support (rim of 318; see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
Regarding claim 16, Le discloses:
the second sealing surface which corresponds to the first sealing surface of the valve seat (470) of the vacuum valve, wherein the second sealing surface comprises a sealing material 320
the second connection side, wherein the second connection side is adapted for connection to the first or a third connection side of the carrier element (310) of the closure assembly (300) and is provided on the rear side of the closure plate (330) relative to the sealing surface
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le), wherein the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) is adapted such that, when the closure plate (330) is brought together with the carrier element (310), a clamping force is generated by an interaction of the support (rim of 318) of the carrier element (310) with the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le), with the clamping force being directed orthogonally to an extension of the second connection side (see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) projects from the second connection side and has a curved boundary line for interaction with the support rim of 318 (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 17, Le discloses:
wherein the curved boundary line has a radius of curvature, wherein a width of the second connection side corresponds to at least twenty times the radius of curvature (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 18, Le discloses:
wherein the second connection side has a receptacle (318) for fastening the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le; see Figure 3B; Col. 5, lines 34-50)
Regarding claim 19, Le discloses:
wherein the retaining element (per the 112f interpretation, shown as elements 33a-d in the drawings, described on page 9 of the specification; functional equivalent 334 in Le) is fixedly connected to the second connection side
Regarding claim 20, Le discloses:
wherein the retaining element (334) has a round-headed head at its end projecting from the second connection side (see Figure 3B)
Regarding claim 21, Le discloses:
wherein the boundary line forms an ellipse, a circle or a semicircle (see Figure 3B)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schaltegger (U.S. 2022/0390021) discloses a vacuum valve comprising a valve seat, a drive unit, a closure assembly comprising a carrier element and a closure plate connected through a support and retaining element.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753