DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heusser (US 20020076260).
Regarding claim 1, Heusser discloses a fluid nozzle comprising:
a body (3) comprising a first end and a second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) opposite to the first end (Figure 4), the body extending along a longitudinal axis defined between the first end and the second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), the body comprising:
an outlet (4) disposed at the first end, wherein the outlet has a maximum outlet width orthogonal to the longitudinal axis at the first end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
an inlet disposed at the second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein the inlet has a maximum inlet width orthogonal to the longitudinal axis at the second end (Examiner/s Annotated Figure 1), and wherein the maximum outlet width is greater than the maximum inlet width (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
a fluid passageway disposed within the body and extending from the inlet to the outlet (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1); and
a pair of sidewalls opposing each other and extending at least along the longitudinal axis from the second end to the first end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), each of the pair of sidewalls comprising a plurality of first wall portions (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) and a second wall portion alternating with each other (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein each first wall portion from the plurality of first wall portions is inclined to an adjacent second wall portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of second wall portions extends outwardly relative to the longitudinal axis in a flow direction from the second end to the first end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), such that the body tapers outwardly in the flow direction (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein the first wall portion extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), and wherein the first wall portion comprises a proximal first wall portion extending from the first end and a distal first wall portion extending from the second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of second wall portions is inclined to the longitudinal axis by an inclination angle (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), the pair of sidewalls at least partially defining the fluid passageway therebetween (The passageway is defined between the fluid passageway), but fails to disclose the nozzle including a plurality of second wall portions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heusser to change the shape of the nozzle since it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape to include a plurality of second wall portions, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis, 193 USPQ 8.
As modified, Heusser discloses a nozzle wherein each first wall portion from the plurality of first wall portions is inclined to an adjacent second wall portion from the plurality of second wall portions, wherein each of the plurality of first wall portions extends parallel to the longitudinal axis and wherein the plurality of first wall portions comprises a proximal first wall portion extending from the first end and a distal first wall portion extending from the second end.
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of claim 1, wherein the inclination angle is from about 30 degrees to about 90 degrees (Paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 3, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of claim 1, wherein the body has a maximum orthogonal width to the longitudinal axis at the first end and a minimum width orthogonal to the longitudinal axis at the second end (Figure 4) but fails to disclose wherein the maximum width is greater than the minimum width by a factor of at least 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heusser to include a device wherein the maximum width is greater than the minimum width by a factor of at least 2 since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Heusser would not operate differently with the claimed width, and the device would function appropriately having the claimed width. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that “in some embodiments, the maximum outlet width 107 is greater than the maximum inlet width 117 by a factor of at least 2, at least 2.5, at least 3, at least 3.5, at least 4, at least 4.5, or at least 5” (Applicant’s specification, page 10, line 37-Page 11, line 2).
Regarding claim 5, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of claim 1, wherein the body further comprises a pair of longitudinal walls opposite to each other and extending from the second end to the first end, and wherein each of the pair of longitudinal walls extends between the pair of sidewalls (Paragraph 25, The device includes top and bottom longitudinal sidewalls (walls defining the length of the outlet slit) that extend between the first and second end, perpendicularly to the highlighted sidewalls).
Regarding claim 6, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of claim 5, wherein each of the pair of longitudinal walls is planar (The disclosure suggests that the walls are planar; Paragraph 24, the nozzle is shaped as a trapezoid; Paragraph 25, the walls define the length of the slit).
Regarding claim 7, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of any of claim 1, wherein the fluid passageway in the body has a rectangular cross-section (Paragraph 25; The opening is a slit with a length and width).
Regarding claim 8, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of any of claim 1, wherein the outlet has a rectangular cross-section or an elliptical cross-section (Paragraph 25, rectangular).
Regarding claim 9, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of any of claim 11, wherein each of the pair of sidewalls defines a thickness of the body orthogonal to the longitudinal axis (the sidewalls define a thickness, expressed as the width of the outlet opening), and wherein the thickness is constant along a length of the body (Paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 10, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of claim 1, wherein the body defines a width axis normal to the longitudinal axis (Width of the top and bottom walls) and a thickness axis orthogonal to each of the width axis and the longitudinal axis (Width of the sidewalls), and wherein the body is symmetric about each of a first plane comprising the longitudinal axis and the width axis and a second plane comprising the longitudinal axis and the thickness axis (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 11., Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of claim 1, wherein the outlet comprises a maximum outlet thickness orthogonal to each of the maximum outlet width and the longitudinal axis, and wherein the maximum outlet width is greater than the maximum outlet thickness by a factor of at least 5 (Paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 12, Heusser discloses the fluid nozzle of claim 1, further comprising a connecting portion (41) disposed at the second end of the body (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein the connecting portion fluidly communicates with and surrounds the inlet of the body (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Heusser discloses a method of using the fluid nozzle of claim 1, the method comprising:
connecting the fluid nozzle to a fluid source (10) (Paragraph 18);
directing a fluid from the fluid source into the inlet of the fluid nozzle (Paragraphs 3-4); and
ejecting the fluid through the outlet of the fluid nozzle (Paragraphs 3-4, a shaped dispensing of dispensing of a mixture is discharged from the mixer).
Regarding claim 14, Heusser discloses a fluid system comprising:
a fluid nozzle (Figure 4) comprising:
a body (3) comprising a first end and a second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) opposite to the first end (Figure 4), the body extending along a longitudinal axis defined between the first end and the second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), the body comprising:
an outlet (4) disposed at the first end, wherein the outlet has a maximum outlet width orthogonal to the longitudinal axis at the first end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
an inlet disposed at the second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein the inlet has a maximum inlet width orthogonal to the longitudinal axis at the second end (Examiner/s Annotated Figure 1), and wherein the maximum outlet width is greater than the maximum inlet width (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
a fluid passageway disposed within the body and extending from the inlet to the outlet (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1); and
a pair of sidewalls opposing each other and extending at least along the longitudinal axis from the second end to the first end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), each of the pair of sidewalls comprising a plurality of first wall portions (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) and a second wall portion alternating with each other (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein each first wall portion from the plurality of first wall portions is inclined to an adjacent second wall portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of second wall portions extends outwardly relative to the longitudinal axis in a flow direction from the second end to the first end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), such that the body tapers outwardly in the flow direction (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein the first wall portion extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), and wherein the first wall portion comprises a proximal first wall portion extending from the first end and a distal first wall portion extending from the second end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein each of the plurality of second wall portions is inclined to the longitudinal axis by an inclination angle (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), the pair of sidewalls at least partially defining the fluid passageway therebetween (The passageway is defined between the fluid passageway), and a fluid source (10) connected with the fluid nozzle (Figure 4) and disposed in fluid communication with the fluid passageway (Paragraphs 3-4), but fails to disclose the nozzle including a plurality of second wall portions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heusser to change the shape of the nozzle since it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape to include a plurality of second wall portions, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis, 193 USPQ 8.
As modified, Heusser discloses a nozzle wherein each first wall portion from the plurality of first wall portions is inclined to an adjacent second wall portion from the plurality of second wall portions, wherein each of the plurality of first wall portions extends parallel to the longitudinal axis and wherein the plurality of first wall portions comprises a proximal first wall portion extending from the first end and a distal first wall portion extending from the second end.
Regarding claim 15, Heusser discloses the fluid system of claim 14, wherein the inclination angle is from about 30 degrees to about 90 degrees (Paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 17, Heusser discloses the fluid system of claim 14, wherein the body further comprises a pair of longitudinal walls opposite to each other and extending from the second end to the first end, and wherein each of the pair of longitudinal walls extends between the pair of sidewalls (Paragraph 25, The device includes top and bottom longitudinal sidewalls (walls defining the length of the outlet slit) that extend between the first and second end, perpendicularly to the highlighted sidewalls).
Regarding claim 18, Heusser discloses the fluid system of claim 14, wherein the outlet has a rectangular cross-section or an elliptical cross-section (Paragraph 25, rectangular).
Regarding claim 19, Heusser discloses the fluid system of claim 14, wherein the body defines a width axis normal to the longitudinal axis (width of the top and bottom walls) and a thickness axis (axis of the sidewalls) orthogonal to each of the width axis and the longitudinal axis, and wherein the body is symmetric about each of a first plane comprising the longitudinal axis and the width axis and a second plane comprising the longitudinal axis and the thickness axis (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 20, Heusser discloses the fluid system of claim 14, further comprising a connecting portion (41) disposed at the second end of the body (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein the connecting portion fluidly communicates with and surrounds the inlet of the body (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), and wherein the connection portion is connected to the fluid source (Figure 4).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752