DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-18 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1-18 of Application No. 19/114414. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-9,10-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 6, line 3, it is unclear whether the (A1) linear organopolysiloxane further limits the (A) organopolysiloxane of Claim 1 or is in addition to the (1) organopolysiloxane of Claim 1.
As to Claim 9, line 4, it is unclear as to whether the “organopolysiloxane composition” is referring to one of the components of the composition of Claim 1 or to the entire composition. Applicants are suggested to amend to –- hot-melt forming electrode layer-forming organopolysiloxane composition -- for purposes of clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/116441 citing US 12037481 (US ‘481) as a English translation.
As to Claim 1, US ’481 discloses a composition comprised of curable organopolysiloxanes (Abstract) for use as an electrode layer (para. Col. 26, line 45) in laminate structures (Col. 26, lines 11-15) wherein the polysiloxanes are mixtures comprised of a linear polysiloxane (Col. 7, lines 50-52) and a polysiloxane that has a MQ copolymer structure where RSiO1/2 and SiO4/2 repeat units are present and terminated with vinyl groups (Col. 8, lines 29-39) and the sum total of the repeat units range from 50 to 500 which the Examiner construes as inherently disclosing the molecular weight of 5000 as required by the claims. Table 1 discloses example compositions wherein said copolymers are present at more than 45 mass percent of the overall composition (Table 1, Exs. 5 and 6, Component (a2) and (a3)). Further, the composition can contain conductive fine fillers (Col. 15, lines 13-35).
US ‘481 fails to disclose the physical properties of being non-flowable at 25 deg C and heat meltable per the claim.
As to the difference, the Examiner respectfully submits the prior art would inherently possess the claimed characteristic due to the similarity of the prior art and claimed compositions.
As to Claim 3, US ‘481 discloses the vapor phase growth carbon fiber (para. 0073).
As to Claims 11-13, the cured films of US ‘481 can be used as a transducer for electronic devices (Col. 5, lines 25-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,4,9,11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘481 and further in view of EP 3875543 (EP ‘543), WO 2022/004462 citing US 2023/0295432 (US ‘432) as a English translation, and US 2015/0380636 (US ‘636).
In the alternative, as to Claim 1, US ’481 is relied upon as discussed above, however, US ‘481 fails to disclose the physical properties of being non-flowable at 25 deg C and heat meltable per the claim.
As to the difference, EP ‘543 discloses a polysiloxane composition that can be used in laminate structures comprised of a mixture of linear polysiloxane resins and MQ polysiloxane copolymers wherein the composition is non fluid at 25 deg C and heat meltable (Abstract). The reference notes the advantage of these properties as being excellent gap fillability where any defects in adherends are easily followed (para. 0132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of US ‘481 to have the heat meltable properties of EP ‘543 for the advantages of improving the quality of the adhesion between adjacent layers comprised of organopolysiloxanes.
As to Claim 3-4, see 102 discussion above.
As to Claim 4, US ‘481 fails to disclose the use of single walled carbon nanotubes.
As to the difference, US ‘636 disclose use of conductive fillers including vapor grown carbon fiber and single layer carbon nanotubes (para. 0090) for use in organopolysiloxane based transducers (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to substitute the carbon fiber of US ‘481 with the single walled carbon nanotubes of US ‘636 as substitution of art recognized equivalents is within the level of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
As to Claim 9, US ‘481 fails to disclose the specific layer structure of the laminate as required by the claim.
As to the difference, US ‘432 discloses laminate structures comprised of cured organopolysiloxanes similar to those of US ‘481 wherein the electrode layer is formed on the surface a dielectric layer (para. 0015).
It would have been obvious to utilize the organopolysiloxanes of US ‘481 in the specific laminate configuration of US ‘432 as US ‘481 discloses the embodiments directed to the individual layers as well as laminate structures and US ‘432 specifically discloses the claimed structure using similar materials to those of US ‘481.
As to Claims 11-13, see discussion of 102 rejections above.
As to Claim 14, US ‘481 discloses embodiments involving the prior art composition being in laminated film form (Col. 26, line 14), however, fails to disclose a two-step process of generating a laminate involving a hot melt application of the organopolysiloxane as required by step 2.
As to the difference, US ‘432 discloses the method of forming the two layer structure as discussed in Claim 9. EP ‘543 further discloses that the organopolysiloxane can be applied via heating and melting and formed into sheets (para. 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed steps of Claim 14 in view of the teachings of US ‘481, US ‘432 and EP ‘543 for the obvious advantages of creating a laminate article that easily processed using hot melt methods discussed in the prior art.
As to Claim 15, see discussion of Claims, 9,11 and 14 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,5,6-8,10 and 16-18 would be allowable pending resolution of the double patenting issues raised above.
Specifically, none of the prior art discloses the ratio of storage moduli of Claim 2, the volume fraction and volume resistivity of the composition in Claim 5, or the specific breakdown of the composition including the volume fraction of carbon nanotubes of Claims 6-8,10 and 16-18 nor is there any teaching, suggestion or motivation to arrive at the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 8/18/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762