DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-14 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/114412 reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to curable organopolysiloxanes further conductive fillers and no presence of an organic solvent
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-14 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/114414 reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to curable organopolysiloxanes further conductive fillers and no presence of an organic solvent
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18013879 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to curable organopolysiloxanes further conductive fillers and no presence of an organic solvent
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent No. 9947858. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to curable organopolysiloxanes further conductive fillers and no presence of an organic solvent
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7,8,9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022/004462 citing US 2023/0295432 (US ‘432) as a English language equivalent.
As to Claim 1, US ‘432 discloses curable organopolysiloxane compositions (Abstract) used to form electrodes (para. 0072) where the composition is comprised of reactive organopolysiloxanes where one of the polymers contains two carbon-carbon double bonds per molecule and one polymer is comprised of Si-H bonded groups at 0.5 to 2.5 mol per 1 mol of the carbon-carbon double bonds in the polymer. Further, the composition comprises conductive fine particles such as VGCF (para. 0073). The reference discloses the composition can be solvent free (para. 0090).
As to Claims 2-4, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claim 7, US ‘432 discloses a polymer of dimethylsiloxane blocked at both ends of the polymer with a dimethylhydrogensiloxane group which the Examiner construes contains two Si-H bonds in total. See Claim 1 in regards to Si-H content in the polymer.
As to Claim 8, the composition can further contain platinum based hydrosilylation catalysts (para. 0066).
As to Claims 9-14, US ‘432 discloses a laminate article and method of making the laminate comprised of an organopolysiloxane layer containing conductive particles (i.e. electrode layer) onto a organopolysiloxane layer that is a dielectric layer. The laminate can be used as a transducer or electronic device (paras. 0112-0114).
Claim(s) 1-5,7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0380807 (US ‘807).
As to Claim 1, US ‘807 discloses a curable organopolysiloxane composition that further contains single walled nanotubes (Abstract). The reference is silent with respect to the presence of solvent and the Examiner construes this as not being present.
As to Claim 2, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claim 3, the reference discloses the use of a hydrosilylation catalyst (para. 0036), an linear organopolysiloxane that contains terminal carbon-carbon double bonds (vinyl groups) (para. 0015, 0019) and a organopolysiloxane that has a molar ratio of Si-H bonds to carbon-carbon double bonds of 0.5 to 5 to 1 mol (para. 0020).
As to Claims 4-5, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claim 7, see discussion of Claim 3 above. The reference further discloses organopolysiloxanes that contain Si-H terminated end groups (para. 0024).
As to Claim 8, the composition can further contain platinum containing hydrosilylation catalysts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘432 in view of US 2015/0380636 (US ‘636).
As to Claim 5, US ‘432 fails to disclose the use of carbon nanotubes.
As to the difference, US ‘636 discloses organopolysiloxanes composition for use in laminate sensors (Abstract) where the electrode layers contain nanotubes and VGCF (para. 0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the VGCF of US ‘432 with the nanotubes of US ‘636 as substitution is within the level of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
As to Claim 6, US ‘432 discloses the composition as having a volume resistivity of 102 ohm-cm (para. 0037).
However, US ‘432 fails to disclose the volume fraction of the conductive fine particles.
As to the difference, it would have been obvious to optimize the content of the conductive filler for purposes of reaching the target volume resistivity level as the electrical properties of the material are directly related to conductive filler content.
Claim(s)6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘807.
As to Claim 6, US ‘807 discloses the compositions have volume resistivities of 100 ohm-cm (para. 0112), however, fails to disclose the specific volume fraction of carbon nanotubes.
As to the difference, it would have been obvious to optimize the content of the conductive filler for purposes of reaching the target volume resistivity level as the electrical properties of the material are directly related to conductive filler content.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 8/19/2026
/MARK KOPEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762