DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/22/2025 was received and placed in the record on file. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: it recites “the replaceable batch” but should recite “the replaceable patch”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Guiding means” in claims 1-8, 10 and 12-15
“Optical guiding means” and “mechanical guiding means” in claims 9
The claim interpretation of the identified 112(f) invoked limitations are as follows:
“guiding means” are described as mechanical guiding means or optical guiding means as described on page 15, line 32 – page 14, line 33 and depicted in figures 6A-6C; and equivalents thereof.
The mechanical guiding means and optical guiding means are interpreted as described in page 15, line 32 – page 14, line 33 and depicted in figures 6A-6C which includes a mechanical feature on the patch and/or training computer such as protrusions to receive an edge of the corresponding element; magnetic couplings; positioning mark(s); the optical window; and combinations thereof; and equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by James et al (US 2023/0168194 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, 8-12 and 14; James discloses a replaceable patch (LSPR sensor, element 20) for a wearable training computer (smartwatch, element 10), the replaceable patch for the wearable training computer, comprising:
a plasmonic bioactive layer (LSPR film coating, element 26) for a surface plasmonic resonance measurement (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0014]; figures 1-3);
at least one optical window for a light of at least one photoplethysmogram sensor of the wearable training computer (wherein the LSPR sensor qualifies as an optical window as it allows the light from the smart watch light source go into the sensor and allows for receiving of the reflected light by the photodetector (paragraphs [0013]-[0031]; figures 1-3); and
guiding means (stand, element 30) for guiding positioning of the replaceable patch on the wearable training computer such that the light of the at least one photoplethysmogram sensor can pass the at least one optical window (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0022] and [0024]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 2; James discloses the plasmonic bioactive layer comprises an array of plasmonic sensor elements, wherein each sensor element is configured to be separately activated by an electric input from the wearable training computer (wherein there is a 2-dimensional array of metal nanoparticles in the sensor that are activated by the LED light which is generated in the LED by an electric input from the wearable training computer; paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0016]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 3; James discloses the guiding means (element 30) are further configured to guide positioning of the replaceable patch on the wearable training computer such that a light of a surface plasmonic sensor head of the wearable training computer can be focused on the activated sensor element (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0022] and [0024]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 4; James discloses the array of the electrically active plasmonic sensor elements comprises at least one subset with a first receptor agent for measuring a first biochemical substance (wherein a 2-D array of metal nanoparticles is disclosed, and thus inherently includes at least one subset which measures a first biochemical substance; paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0016]-[0017]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 8; James discloses the plasmonic bioactive layer comprises a metallic layer (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0016]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 9; James discloses the guiding means comprises at least optical guiding means and/or mechanical guiding means (comprises mechanical attachment means; paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0022] and [0024]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 10; James discloses the replaceable patch further comprises attaching means for removably attaching the replaceable patch on the wearable training computer, wherein the attaching means comprises a mechanical attaching and/or a chemical attaching (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0022] and [0024]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 11; James discloses the guiding means comprises the attaching means (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0022] and [0024]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 12; James discloses the replaceable patch is configured to cover, when coupled with the wearable training computer, substantially a whole bottom surface of the wearable training computer (wherein the patch is aligned with the bottom of the smartwatch via the alignment means; paragraphs [0013]-[0031]; figures 1-3).
Further regarding claim 14; James discloses the replaceable patch further comprises at least one microfluidic channel for guiding sweat from the user's skin to the plasmonic bioactive layer (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0018], [0023], [0026]; figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 15; James discloses a wearable training computer, the wearable training computer comprising:
a surface plasmonic sensor (LSPR sensor, element 20) configured to measure biomolecular composition of a sample from a user of the wearable training computer (paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0014]; figures 1-3);
a photoplethysmogram sensor (smartwatch optoelectronics comprising LED and photodetector) configured to measure cardiac activity of the user of the wearable training computer (paragraphs [0013]-[0031]; figures 1-3); and
guiding means (stand, element 30) for guiding positioning of a replaceable patch on the wearable training computer such that a light of the photoplethysmogram sensor can pass at least one optical window of the replaceable patch (wherein the LSPR sensor qualifies as an optical window as it allows the light from the smart watch light source go into the sensor and allows for receiving of the reflected light by the photodetector; paragraphs [0013]-[0031], specifically [0022] and [0024]; figures 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Jornet et al (US 2021/0121065 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6; James is described in the rejection of claims 1 and 2 above. As noted above, James discloses the use of a 2-D array of metal nanomaterials which can be modified to selectively adsorb a desired target biomolecule (paragraph [0014]-[0017]).
However, James does not explicitly disclose that the plasmonic sensor elements comprise a plurality of subsets with a plurality of receptor agents for measuring a plurality of biochemical substances non-invasively from sweat.
Jornet teaches a similar system for utilizing electrically active plasmonic sensor elements comprising a plurality of subsets with a plurality of receptor agents for measuring a plurality of biochemical substances is a biofluid (paragraphs [0028]-[0030]; figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify James 2-D array of plasmonic sensor elements to comprise a plurality of subsets with a plurality of receptor agents for measuring a plurality of biochemical substances as taught by Jornet in order to monitor a plurality of target biomolecules with a single sensor array.
Further regarding claim 6; neither James or Jornet explicitly disclose the biochemical substance to be measured comprises at least one of glucose, lactate or cortisol. However, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to monitor known biochemical substances of interest in biofluids including well known target substances including glucose, lactate and/or cortisol as well known and conventionally monitored biomolecules/analytes.
Claim 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heikenfeld et al (US 2018/0020981 A1).
Regarding claim 7 and 13; James is described in the rejection of claim 1 above. James further discloses the sensor includes a fluid transport/handling system for transporting the fluid across the plasmonic sensor elements (paragraphs [0018] and [0026]).
However, James does not explicitly disclose the specifics of the fluid handling system or that the fluid handling system comprises at least one pilocarpine element for inducing sweat generation of a user of the wearable training computer, the pilocarpine element configured to be activated by an electric input from the wearable training computer.
Heikenfeld discloses a similar modular biofluid sensing system which measures the biofluid from the skin of the user comprising a sweat stimulating component for inducing sweat generation of a user of the system for causing a biofluid to flow across a sensor via a fluid handling/transport system, wherein the pilocarpine element is configured to be activated by an electric input from the system controller (paragraph [0028],[0035],[0039],[0043],[0050],[0052] and [0053]; figures 2A-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify James fluid handling/transport system to include at least one pilocarpine element for inducing sweat generation of a user of the wearable training computer wherein the pilocarpine element is configured to be activated by an electrical input from the controller as taught by Heikenfeld in order to generate sweat to test for analyte in the biofluid. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the fluid handling/transport system of the James/Heikenfeld combination would be controlled by the controller of the system which is the wearable training computer (i.e. smartwatch).
Further regarding claim 13; the James/Heikenfeld combination is described above. Heikenfeld discloses the pilocarpine element generates sweat by iontophoresis via an iontophoresis electrode coupled to the controller (paragraph [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the James/Heikenfeld combination patch to further comprise at least one opening for electric coupling between the wearable training computer and a skin of the user of the wearable training computer as taught by Heikenfeld in order to generate iontophoresis for sweat generation to measure a target molecule.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0313754 A1 to Cappo et al; discloses a miniature, field portable, surface plasmon resonance apparatus and applications in the detection of biological agents.
US 2020/0155047 A1 to Rogers et al; discloses a microfluidic system for epidermal sampling and sensing.
US 2017/0238804 A1 to Hartley; discloses a continuous and non-continuous in-vivo spectroscopy.
US 2021/0241900 A1 to Reykhert et al; discloses a smart patch for monitoring health metrics.
US 2015/0247797 A1 to Oberg; discloses a microchannel plasmon resonance biosensor.
US 2021/0190683 A1 to James et al; discloses a equilibrium plasmonic analyte sensing apparatus and method.
US 2019/0307370 A1 to Shinohara et al; discloses a biological material measuring apparatus.
US 2025/0032010 A1 to Tian et al; discloses a wearable plasmonic paperfluidics apparatus for continuous biofulid analysis.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791