DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 19/114,518 filed on 03/24/2025.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for priority to parent Application No. PCT/JP2022/037426, filed on 10/06/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 11/25/2025 and 03/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretations
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “a first decoder decrypting”, “a first encoder encrypting”, “a second encoder encrypting”, “a second decoder decrypting”, “a first key distributor”, “a second key distributer”, “a third key distributor”, “a fourth key distributer”, “a first separator”, “a second separator”, “a first multiplexer”, and “a second multiplexer” as recited in claims 1-6.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vig et al. (US 2005/0286723; Hereinafter “Vig”).
Regarding claim 1, Vig teaches a communication system comprising first, second, and third communication apparatuses and a control apparatus configured to control the first, second, and third communication apparatuses (Vig: Claim 1, Fig. 3, Para. [0017], The present invention relates to QKD system networks. An example QKD system network according to the present invention includes first and second QKD stations optically coupled to a relay station in between. The relay station includes a single third QKD station and an optical switch. The optical switch allows the third QKD station to alternately communicate with the first and second QKD stations so as to establish a common key between the first and second QKD stations. End-users P1 and P2 are respectively coupled to QKD stations A1 and A2. A secret key (S) can be shared between P1 and P2 by B being able to independently form keys between B and A1 and B and A2 by adjusting the state of the optical switch. Para. [0032]), wherein
the first communication apparatus comprises first encoder encrypting, using a first key shared with the second communication apparatus, data to be transmitted to the second communication apparatus (Vig: Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2. Claim 1, Fig. 3, Para. [0017]), and
the second communication apparatus comprises:
a first decoder decrypting, by using the first key, data received from the first communication apparatus (Vig: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2. [first key = k1]); and
a second encoder encrypting, by using a second key shared with the third communication apparatus, data to be transmitted to the third communication apparatus (Vig: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2. [second key = k2]),
the third communication apparatus comprises a second decoder decrypting, by using the second key, data received from the second communication apparatus (Vig: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2.), and
the control apparatus comprises; a memory configured to store instructions, and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to couple a first encrypted link between the first encoder and the first decoder to a second encrypted link between the second encoder and the second decoder and set an encrypted communication path from the first communication apparatus to the third communication apparatus (Vig: Para. [0032], FIG. 4 is a high-level schematic diagrams of QKD station Alice (A) or Bob (B) according to the present invention. The QKD station (A or B) includes a quantum optics layer 100 operably coupled to a controller 110. Quantum optics layer 100 and controller 110 are operably coupled to switch 55, e.g., via optical fiber link F3 and an electrical link E1. Electrical link E1 allows for controller 110 to set the position or "state" of switch 55. For a "one-dimensional" grid of QKD stations (discussed below), switch 55 is, for example, a 1.times.2 optical switch--for example, a micro-electrical-mechanical system (MEMS) switch. Para. [0033], FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a QKD system network 200 in the form of a one-dimensional grid configuration, which can be represented in shorthand as P1-A1-B1-A2-B2-P2. Stations A1 and B1 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F4, stations B1 and A2 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F5, and stations A2 and B2 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F6. End-users P1 and P2 are operatively coupled to respective QKD stations A1 and B2 via links LA1 and LB2. Para. [0033], Para. [0034], Para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Vig teaches the communication system according to claim 1, wherein
the first communication apparatus comprises a first key distributor sharing the first key with the second communication apparatus by performing quantum key distribution with the second communication apparatus via a first key distribution link (Vig: Para. [0030]), the second communication apparatus comprises:
a second key distributor sharing the first key with the first communication apparatus by performing the quantum key distribution with the first communication apparatus via the first key distribution link (Vig: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2.); and
a third key distributor sharing the second key with the third communication apparatus by performing the quantum key distribution with the third communication apparatus via the second key distribution link (Vig: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0032], Quantum optics layer 100 and controller 110 are operably coupled to switch 55, e.g., via optical fiber link F3 and an electrical link E1. Electrical link E1 allows for controller 110 to set the position or "state" of switch 55. For a "one-dimensional" grid of QKD stations (discussed below), switch 55 is, for example, a 1.times.2 optical switch--for example, a micro-electrical-mechanical system (MEMS) switch.), and
the third communication apparatus comprises a fourth key distributor sharing the second key with the second communication apparatus by performing the quantum key distribution with the second communication apparatus via the second key distribution link (Vig: Para. [0033], FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a QKD system network 200 in the form of a one-dimensional grid configuration, which can be represented in shorthand as P1-A1-B1-A2-B2-P2. Stations A1 and B1 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F4, stations B1 and A2 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F5, and stations A2 and B2 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F6. End-users P1 and P2 are operatively coupled to respective QKD stations A1 and B2 via links LA1 and LB2.).
Regarding claim 7, Vig teaches a control apparatus configured to control first, second, and third communication apparatuses, the control apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions (Vig. Fig. 3-5), and a processor configured to execute the instructions to;
acquire information on a link that connects the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus and information on a link that connects the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus (Vig: Para. [0032], FIG. 4 is a high-level schematic diagrams of QKD station Alice (A) or Bob (B) according to the present invention. The QKD station (A or B) includes a quantum optics layer 100 operably coupled to a controller 110. Quantum optics layer 100 and controller 110 are operably coupled to switch 55, e.g., via optical fiber link F3 and an electrical link E1. Electrical link E1 allows for controller 110 to set the position or "state" of switch 55. For a "one-dimensional" grid of QKD stations (discussed below), switch 55 is, for example, a 1.times.2 optical switch--for example, a micro-electrical-mechanical system (MEMS) switch. Para. [0033], FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a QKD system network 200 in the form of a one-dimensional grid configuration, which can be represented in shorthand as P1-A1-B1-A2-B2-P2. Stations A1 and B1 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F4, stations B1 and A2 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F5, and stations A2 and B2 are optically coupled by an optical fiber link F6. End-users P1 and P2 are operatively coupled to respective QKD stations A1 and B2 via links LA1 and LB2. Para. [0034], Para. [0041]), and
couple, based on the acquired information, a first encrypted link where encrypted communication is performed between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus using a first key to a second encrypted link where encrypted communication is performed between the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus using a second key, and set an encrypted communication path from the first communication apparatus to the third communication apparatus (Vig: Fig. 3-5, Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P,1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2. [first key = k1], [second key = k2], Claim 1, Para. [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Vig teaches The control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the first key is a key shared between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus by performing quantum key distribution between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus via a first key distribution link (Vig: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2. [first key = k1]), and
the second key is a key that is shared between the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus by performing quantum key distribution between the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus via a second key distribution link (Vig: Fig. 4-5, Para. [0030], For example, suppose B first chooses the switch position that allows QKD exchange with A1. After both A1 and B share a key k1, then the position (state) of the switch is changed so that B establishes a connection with A2 to share a key k2 with A2. At this point, B has two keys k1 and k2. To send a secret key S from P1 to P2, one can send it from P1 to A1 to B using one-time pad encryption with k1, decrypt it at B with k1, one-time pad encrypt it at B with k2, send it to A2, and decrypt it at P2 with k2. [second key = k2]).
Regarding Claims 10-11, Claims 10-11 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-2, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vig et al. (US 2005/0286723; Hereinafter “Vig”) in view of Yoshihiro Nakahira (JP JP2008005046A; Hereinafter “Nakahira”).
Regarding claim 3, Vig teaches the communication system according to claim 2. Vig does not explicitly teach wherein the first communication apparatus comprises a first multiplexer multiplexing means for multiplexing a signal of the first encrypted link and a signal of the first key distribution link and transmitting a multiplexed signal after it has been multiplexed, the second communication apparatus comprises: a first separator separation means for separating the multiplexed signal received from the first communication apparatus into the signal of the first encrypted link and the signal of the first key distribution link; and a second multiplexer multiplexing means for multiplexing a signal of the second encrypted link and a signal of the second key distribution link and transmitting a multiplexed signal after it has been multiplexed, and the third communication apparatus comprises a second separator separation means for separating the multiplexed signal received from the second communication apparatus into a signal of the second encrypted link and a signal of the second key distribution link.
In an analogous art, Nakahira teaches wherein the first communication apparatus comprises a first multiplexer multiplexing means for multiplexing a signal of the first encrypted link and a signal of the first key distribution link and transmitting a multiplexed signal after it has been multiplexed (Nakahira: Page 4, Para. 1, Para. 7,),
the second communication apparatus comprises: a first separator separation means for separating the multiplexed signal received from the first communication apparatus into the signal of the first encrypted link and the signal of the first key distribution link (Nakahira: Page 5, Para 4-6, The encryption key generation unit 107 generates an encryption key based on a random number stored in the encryption key creation information storage unit 106 and gives it to the encryption unit 108. As will be described later, the error correction unit 111 built in the encryption key generation unit 107 may generate error correction information, and this error correction information is given to the multiplexing / frame forming unit 109. The encryption means 108 encrypts the plaintext to be transmitted using the encryption key given from the encryption key generation means 107, and the obtained ciphertext is given to the multiplexing / framing means 109. In the cipher receiving apparatus 200, the normal receiving means 203 receives the above-described frame (multiplex information).The clock signal extraction unit 204 extracts a clock signal based on the received frame, and provides the frame signal to the frame synchronization / information extraction unit 205, the quantum reception unit 201, and the encryption key creation information storage unit 202.); and
a second multiplexer multiplexing means for multiplexing a signal of the second encrypted link and a signal of the second key distribution link and transmitting a multiplexed signal after it has been multiplexed (Nakahira: Page 6, Para. 9-12, In the cryptographic communication system 50A of the second embodiment, the cryptographic transmission device 100A includes the wavelength multiplexing unit 113 in addition to the same constituent elements 100 to 112 as those of the first embodiment, and the opposing cryptographic reception device 200A is In addition to the same constituent elements 200 to 210 as in the first embodiment, wavelength demultiplexing means 211 is provided. The wavelength multiplexing means 113 is supplied with a transmission signal of quantum information output from the quantum transmission means 102 and a transmission signal of frames output from the multiplexing / framing means 109. In the case of the second embodiment, the carrier wavelength (λ1) in the transmission signal from the quantum transmission means 102 and the carrier wavelength (λ2) in the transmission signal from the multiplexing / framing means 109 are different from each other. The means 113combines both transmission signals and sends them to a common transmission line. The wavelength demultiplexing unit 211 demultiplexes the optical signal that has arrived from such a common transmission path in to a wavelength component (λ1) related to the transmission signal of quantum information and a wavelength component (λ2) related to the transmission signal of the frame. Then, the quantum information transmission signal obtained by the demultiplexing is given to the quantum receiving means 201, and the frame transmission signal obtained by the demultiplexing is given to the normal receiving means 203. Except for the quantum information and the wavelength division multiplexing transmission of frames as described above, the configuration and function of each unit are the same as those in the first embodiment.), and
the third communication apparatus comprises a second separator separation means for separating the multiplexed signal received from the second communication apparatus into a signal of the second encrypted link and a signal of the second key distribution link (Nakahira: Page 7, Para. 14, In the case of the fourth embodiment quantum information (random number), time information, and ciphertext are transmitted from the cipher transmitting apparatus 100C to the cipher receiving apparatus 200C through separate transmission paths. Therefore, the cryptographic transmission apparatus 100C according to the fourth embodiment does not include the multiplexing / framing unit 109,and the normal transmission unit 104 uses the time information generated by the time information generation unit 105 as the quantum information from the quantum transmission unit 102. Synchronize with the transmission of information and send it to the transmission line. Page 7, Para. 2-5, Page 6, Para. 9-12,).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nakahira with the system and method of Vig to include wherein the first communication apparatus comprises a first multiplexer multiplexing means for multiplexing a signal of the first encrypted link and a signal of the first key distribution link and transmitting a multiplexed signal after it has been multiplexed, the second communication apparatus comprises: a first separator separation means for separating the multiplexed signal received from the first communication apparatus into the signal of the first encrypted link and the signal of the first key distribution link; and a second multiplexer multiplexing means for multiplexing a signal of the second encrypted link and a signal of the second key distribution link and transmitting a multiplexed signal after it has been multiplexed, and the third communication apparatus comprises a second separator separation means for separating the multiplexed signal received from the second communication apparatus into a signal of the second encrypted link and a signal of the second key distribution link because this functionality of using quantum optical communication technology that can reduce transmission line cost is desired, and encryption communication using quantum optical communication technology that can shorten the time until ciphertext transmission is started (Nakahira: Page 3).
Regarding claim 4, Vig, in combination with Nakahira, teaches the communication system according to claim 3, wherein the first multiplexer wavelength-multiplexes the signal of the first encrypted link and the signal of the first key distribution link, and the second multiplexer wavelength-multiplexes the signal of the second encrypted link and the signal of the second key distribution link (Nakahira: Page 7, Para. 2-3, In the second embodiment described above, quantum information and a frame are to be wavelength-multiplexed. In the third embodiment, quantum information and a frame are to be time-division multiplexed. Therefore, in the cryptographic communication system 50B according to the third embodiment, the cryptographic transmission device 100B includes a two-input one-output optical switch (SW) 114 instead of the wavelength multiplexing unit 113 according to the second embodiment, The receiving device 200Bincludes a 1-input 2-output optical switch (SW) 212 instead of the wavelength demultiplexing unit 211 of the second embodiment. The optical switch 114 receives the control signal from the multiplexing / framing Unit 109. Accordingly, the quantum information output from the quantum transmission means 102 and the frame output from the multiplexing / framing means 109 are alternatively selected and transmitted to a common transmission line. In response to the control signal from the frame synchronization / information extraction unit 205, the optical switch 212 sends the received signal of the quantum information period in the signal arriving from the common transmission path to the quantum reception unit 201 and arrives from the common transmission path. The received signal of the frame period in the received signal is sent to the normal receiving means 203. 4A1 and 4A2 are explanatory diagrams of control signals output from the multiplexing / framing means 109. FIG. The quantum transmission means 102 periodically outputs quantum information as shown in FIG. 4 (A1). On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 4 (A2), the multiplexing / framing means 109 sets the period during which quantum information is output as a null area (null period), and includes frame overhead and time between adjacent null areas. A frame including information, error correction information and ciphertext is transmitted. Further, the multiplexing / framing Unit 109 selects a control signal for selecting the output signal from the quantum transmission unit 102 in the null region and selecting the output signal from the multiplexing / framing Unit 109 in a region other than the null region. To the optical switch 114.).
Regarding claim 5, Vig, in combination with Nakahira, teaches the communication system according to claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to set a wavelength of the signal of the first encrypted link and a wavelength of the signal of the second encrypted link (Nakahira: Page 7, Para. 6, According to the third embodiment, the same effects as those of the first and second embodiments can be obtained. Furthermore, according to the third embodiment, optical signals having the same wavelength can be used for communication of quantum information and frames, and there is an effect that interference between the two is reduced. Page 9, Para. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vig et al. (US 2005/0286723; Hereinafter “Vig”) in view of Miko Fujiwara et al. ("3-2 Implementation of and experiments on QKD network", 31 October 2017, Journal of the National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, vol. 63, no. l, pp. 19-25; Hereinafter “Fujiwara”).
Regarding claim 6, Vig teaches the communication system according to claim 1. Vig does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to extract the first encrypted link capable of performing encrypted communication from information on a link that connects the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus, extract the second encrypted link capable of performing encrypted communication from information on a link that connects the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus, and couple the first encrypted link and the second encrypted link that have been extracted.
In an analogous art, Fujiwara teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to extract the first encrypted link capable of performing encrypted communication from information on a link that connects the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus, extract the second encrypted link capable of performing encrypted communication from information on a link that connects the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus, and couple the first encrypted link and the second encrypted link that have been extracted (Fujiwara: Page 26, To extend the effective service area of QKD, we have been conducting operations on a connection of QKD links—a number of QKD links are interconnected at a connector. Such a connector is called a node, and it preserves the key information as a normal bit-stream. Such a node, because it is strictly protected to secure its safety so that no risks of intrusion and information theft assumedly exist, is defined as a “trusted node.” Service-area extension is realized by relaying the other link’s key stored in a node after being exclusive-OR processed from a link to another link. The operation of such a QKD network requires a network architecture enabling strict key management. Page 21-23).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fujiwara with the system and method of Vig to include wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to extract the first encrypted link capable of performing encrypted communication from information on a link that connects the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus, extract the second encrypted link capable of performing encrypted communication from information on a link that connects the second communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus, and couple the first encrypted link and the second encrypted link that have been extracted because this functionality provides performance improvements that would enable high speed processing (Fujiwara: Page 28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0255736 by Lee et al.
/NELSON S. GIDDINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408