DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33, 38-40, 43-44 and 51-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Loterie et al. (US 2020/0384682).
As to claims 33 and 47: Loterie discloses the claimed method and system for fabricating a three-dimensional object from a build volume by tomographic vat photopolymerization (Loterie at Title, [0001], [0125]), the method and system comprising:
a processing unit configured for computing a number of primary projections describing the three-dimensional object to be formed from different orientation angles of the object, the primary projections comprise positive and negative intensity values (Loterie at [0045], [0147], [0168], FIG. 9);
deriving, from each primary projection, a positive projection, corresponding to the positive intensity values, and a negative projection, corresponding to the negative intensity values (Loterie at [0147], [0168], FIG. 9);
a projection system configured for irradiating the build volume at the respective corresponding orientations (Loterie at [0140], [0143], [0159], [0160]) with: light of a first wavelength in a first series of patterns of light, as defined by the negative projections (Loterie at [0140], [0143], [0147], [0161], [0168], FIG. 9); and light of a second wavelength in a second series of patterns of light, as defined by the positive projections (Loterie at [0140], [0143], [0147], [0161], [0168], FIG. 9); and
a build volume comprising: a monomer; a precursor of a stable radical scavenger, the stable radical scavenger is inducible by light of the first wavelength, and the stable radical scavenger is sensitive to light of the second wavelength (Loterie at [0046]-[0049], [0065]-[0066], [0141]-[0142]); and
a photosensitive component capable of initiating polymerization of the monomer upon receiving light of the second wavelength (Loterie at [0140], [0143], [0147], [0161], [0168], FIG. 9).
As to claims 38 and 51: Loterie discloses the method and system of claim 33 and claim 47. Loterie further discloses the claimed wherein the positive projection comprises the positive pixel values and the negative projection comprises the negative pixel values, of each corresponding primary projection; or wherein each primary projection comprises the intensity values of the corresponding positive and negative projections (Loterie at [0147], [0168], FIG. 9).
As to claim 39: Loterie discloses the method and system of claim 33. Loterie further discloses the claimed wherein: the stable radical scavenger is inducible by photolysis of the precursor, by light of the first wavelength; the stable radical scavenger absorbs light of the second wavelength; or the concentration of the stable radical scavenger is decreased by providing light of the second wavelength (Loterie at [0066], [0065]).
As to claim 40: Loterie discloses the method and system of claim 33. Loterie further discloses the claimed wherein a rate of polymerization is a function of the ratio between the intensity of the light of the first wavelength and the light of the second wavelength (Loterie at [0066], [0065], [0161]-[0164]).
As to claim 43: Loterie discloses the method and system of claim 33. Loterie further discloses the claimed wherein the stable radical scavenger is configured such that it is stable in the build volume for at least 1 s, or at least 3 s, or at least 5 s, or at least 10 s, in the absence of light of the secondary wavelength (Loterie at [0125]).
As to claims 44 and 52: Loterie discloses the method and system of claim 33. Loterie further discloses the claimed wherein the build volume is illuminated simultaneously, at the respective corresponding orientations, with: light of the first wavelength in the first series of patterns of light, as defined by the negative projections; and light of the second wavelength in the second series of patterns of light, as defined by the positive projections (Loterie at [0147], [0161]-[0164], [0168], FIG. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loterie as applied to claims 33 and 47 above, and further in view of Martinez Fraiz et al. (US 2023/0347580).
As to claims 37 and 50: Loterie discloses the method and system of claim 33 and claim 47. Loterie fails to disclose the claimed wherein the primary projection, the negative projections or the positive projections are sinograms.
However, Martinez Fraiz teaches a method for stereolithographic three dimensional printing. During this method, the container containing the photopolymerizable polymer can be rotated or moved linearly during the irradiating of the light sheets. By rotating and/or moving the container, this method allows performing perform a volumetric bioprinting or tomographic bioprinting based on tomographic back-projections, in which a 3D polymerized shape is generated by illuminating with tomographic back-projections generated by the modulated laser beams, which depending on the properties of the container and the polymer, results in a faster or more efficient method (Martinez Fraiz at [0077]).
Martinez Fraiz further teaches creating an drawing of the 3D structure to be printed in a stereolithography format in any known computer-aided design (CAD) or modelling software, converting it to a stack of binary masks (“slicing”), creating an drawing of the 3D structure to be printed in a stereolithography format in any known computer-aided design (CAD) or modelling software, converting it to a stack of binary masks (“slicing”), calculating a sinogram or Radon transformation of each slice, and using sinograms to generate a spatial and intensity modulation of the light sheet illumination for each slice to further perform the gel polymerization within a container placed on a rotating platform so that at each angular step, the gel is illuminated by the light sheet patterned accordingly to the sinograms (Martinez Fraiz at [0078]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the sinograms to generate a spatial and intensity modulation of the light sheet illumination for each slice as such is known in the art of tomographic back projections given the discussion of Martinez Fraiz above presenting a reasonable expectation of success and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 41-42 and 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loterie as applied to claims 33, and further in view of Shusteff et al. (US 2020/0361152).
As to claim 41: Loterie discloses the method of claim 33. Loterie fails to disclose the claimed wherein the build volume comprises a secondary radical scavenger that is sensitive to light of the second wavelength.
However, Shusteff teaches photocurable resins for use in a volumetric additive manufacturing process comprising: a photocurable resin prepolymer; a photoinitiator; and a curing inhibitor (Shusteff at [0011]) Shusteff further teaches combinations of inhibitors being included, specifically dissolved molecular oxygen (Shusteff at [0027], [0028]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the build volume comprising additional materials as such is known in the art of photocurable resins for volumetric additive manufacturing given the discussion of Shusteff above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 42: Loterie and Shusteff disclose the claimed method of claim 41. Shusteff further discloses the claimed wherein: the secondary radical scavenger is configured to absorb light of the second wavelength; the secondary radical scavenger is arranged to suppress or prevent polymerization of the monomer; or the secondary radical scavenger is selected from the list including oxygen or 2,2,6,6- tetramethylpiperdinoxyl (Shusteff at [0027], [0028]).
As to claim 45: Loterie discloses the method of claim 33. Loterie fails to disclose the claimed wherein one of the first and second wavelengths is in the UV range, with a wavelength range from 10 nm to 400 nm, and wherein the other of the wavelengths is in the visible light range with a wavelength range from 400 nm to 700 nm.
However, Shusteff remains as introduced and applied in the rejection of claim 41 above, and Shusteff further teaches the claimed wherein one of the first and second wavelengths is in the UV range, with a wavelength range from 10 nm to 400 nm, and wherein the other of the wavelengths is in the visible light range with a wavelength range from 400 nm to 700 nm (Shusteff at [0022]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 41.
As to claim 46: Loterie discloses the method of claim 33. Loterie fails to disclose the claimed wherein: the precursor of the stable radical scavenger is o-Cl-HABI; the stable radical scavenger is selected from the group including lophyl radical or tetraethylthiuram disulfide; the monomer is selected from the group including TEGDMA or bisGMA; or the build volume comprises a photoinitiator selected from the group including camphorquinone or ethyl 4-(dimethylamino) benzoate.
However, Shusteff remains as introduced and applied in the rejection of claim 41 above, and Shusteff further teaches the claimed wherein: the precursor of the stable radical scavenger is o-Cl-HABI; the stable radical scavenger is selected from the group including lophyl radical or tetraethylthiuram disulfide; the monomer is selected from the group including TEGDMA or bisGMA; or the build volume comprises a photoinitiator selected from the group including camphorquinone or ethyl 4-(dimethylamino) benzoate (Shusteff at [0028], [0052]-[0056]), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 41.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34 and 48-49 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the claimed wherein the build volume is irradiated with light of the first wavelength, in the first series of patterns of light and at the respective corresponding orientations, such that a first energy distribution is provided to the build volume, wherein the energy provided to unpolymerizing voxels is higher than the energy provided to polymerizing voxels; and wherein the polymerizing voxels and the unpolymerizing voxels are voxels of the build volume that are to polymerize and remain unpolymerized, respectively, in order to accurately reproduce the three-dimensional object. Claims 35-36 are indicated as allowable due to their dependency on claim 34.
Conclusion
/BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743