DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/24/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al., CN 101544886.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches an oxide photocathode material, characterized by comprising an ATiO3-type material with a perovskite structure, wherein A is an alkaline earth metal element (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the ATiO3- type material with a perovskite structure includes one of SrTiO3, BaTiO3, and CaTiO3 (Abstract-Ca).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 2 and further teaches further comprising doping elements, wherein the doping elements includes transition metal elements and/or rare earth elements, and the total molar concentration of the doping elements is 0-100% of the molar concentration of Ti element in the photocathode material (“praseodymium-doped calcium titanate luminescent powder chemical formula is CaTi03: Pr3 +, wherein P, a doping concentration about occupying 0.5% of the 2 + atom fraction”).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the ATiO3-type material with a perovskite structure includes one or more of single-crystal, polycrystalline, amorphous, and non-crystalline forms (Abstract, “excellent crystallinity”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Fan et al., CN 108597974.
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches a material of the photocathode material layer includes an ATiO3-type material with a perovskite structure, wherein A is an alkaline earth metal element (Abstract). Yang is silent as to the common method of manufacturing a photocathode material layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of photocathode material layers, Fan teaches a common and effective method for manufacturing a photocathode material layer comprises providing a photocathode sample, wherein the photocathode sample includes a photocathode material layer; and performing an annealing treatment on the photocathode sample (Abstract and Step 2). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Regarding claim 6, Yang and Fan teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 5, and Fan further teaches providing a photocathode sample includes: providing a substrate, and providing a base material that solely includes the photocathode material layer as the photocathode sample (step 1). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Regarding claim 7, Yang and Fan teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 6, and Fan further teaches depositing the material on the substrate by evaporation to form the photocathode material layer includes: while depositing the material on the substrate by evaporation to form the photocathode material layer, doping the photocathode material layer with doping elements (steps 2-4). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Yang further teaches wherein the doping elements include transition metal elements and/or rare earth elements, and the total molar concentration of the doping elements is 0-100% of the molar concentration of Ti element in the photocathode material layer (“praseodymium-doped calcium titanate luminescent powder chemical formula is CaTi03: Pr3 +, wherein P, a doping concentration about occupying 0.5% of the 2 + atom fraction”).
Regarding claim 8, Yang and Fan teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 5, and Fan further teaches performing the annealing treatment on the photocathode sample includes: placing the photocathode sample in a vacuum-sealed chamber or in a chamber containing oxygen, hydrogen, or inert gas; heating the photocathode sample at a temperature of 500°C 800°C for a first duration; annealing the heated photocathode sample at a temperature of 600°0C600°C for a second duration (steps 2-4). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Regarding claim 9, Yang and Fan teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 8, and Fan further teaches heating the photocathode sample at a temperature of 500°C~800°C for the first duration includes: heating the photocathode sample at a temperature of 500°C~800°C for 1h~24h as the first duration (steps 2-4). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Regarding claim 10, Yang and Fan teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 8, and Fan further teaches annealing the heated photocathode sample at a temperature of 600°C~1600°C for the second duration includes: annealing the heated photocathode sample at a temperature of 600°C~1600°C for 0.5h~12h as the second duration (steps 2-4). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Regarding claim 11, Yang and Fan teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 6, and Fan further teaches when the photocathode material layer to be formed is in a single-crystal state, providing a substrate includes: determining the material of the substrate based on the photocathode material layer to be formed (claim 1), wherein the lattice of the substrate material matches the lattice of the photocathode material layer; cleaning the substrate (Abstract). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Regarding claim 12, Yang and Fan teach the invention as explained above regarding claim 6 and Fan further teaches the thickness of the photocathode material layer is greater than or equal to 0.3 nm (claim 9). Further, Fan teaches that said method produces a high efficiency and highly stable photocathode (Abstract). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the manufacturing method of Fan to produce the photocathode material of Yang in order to ensure efficiency and stability of the final material layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miyasaka, EP 1137022, teaches a photocathode comprising an organic sulfonic acid derivative, but fails to teach the perovskite structure.
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875