DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/5/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 3/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein,” should not have a comma after wherein. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 states “a de-icing device for the air intake of the aircraft turbojet nacelle”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the air intake” and “the aircraft turbojet nacelle”.
Claim 10 states “the aircraft turbojet nacelle extending along the turbojet axis”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the aircraft turbojet nacelle” and “the turbojet axis”.
Claim 11 states “the fresh air flow circulating inside the hot air flow of peripheral shape”. It is unclear what is meant by “the hot air flow of peripheral shape”. It may just be a typo but it seems grammatically incorrect and unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boulet et al (FR 2953254 A1).
For claim 1, Boulet discloses an injector for a de-icing device for an air intake of an aircraft turbojet nacelle, the injector Fig. 2-4 comprising;
a peripheral member Fig. 3 internally defining a passage duct, the peripheral member comprising
a peripheral mouth nozzle 19 configured to inject a peripheral hot air flow hot air streams 23 so as to cause a fresh air flow Fr to circulate in the passage duct from upstream to downstream Fig. 3: from right to left,
an inner guide wall wall of mixer 17 located downstream of the peripheral mouth, and
a plurality of members channels 21 for rotating the hot air flow during the injection thereof.
For claim 2, Boulet disclose the injector according to claim 1, wherein the injector comprises a supply member 10, connected to the peripheral member, comprising a mounting foot flange 16 configured to be attached to the air intake in order to be supplied by the hot air flow Fig. 2.
For claim 3, Boulet disclose the injector according to claim 2, wherein, the supply member extends along a mounting axis, the mounting foot defining a passage cross-section, the peripheral member defines an overall cross-section, defined in projection in a plane orthogonal to the mounting axis, which is less than that of the passage cross-section of the mounting foot Fig. 2: flange 16 is wider than 17.
For claim 4, Boulet disclose the injector according to claim 1, wherein the peripheral member further comprises an inner guide wall wall of mixer 17, and wherein the inner guide wall is located downstream of the peripheral mouth Fig. 3.
For claim 9, Boulet disclose a de-icing device for the air intake of the aircraft turbojet nacelle extending along a turbojet axis, the air intake comprising an inner cavity Fig. 1-2: chamber 15 extending in an annular manner around the turbojet axis and which comprises an inner wall Fig. 2: bottom wall in Fig. 2 facing the turbojet axis and an outer wall Fig. 2: top wall which is opposite the inner wall, the inner wall and the outer wall being connected by a leading edge Fig. 2: leading edge, the de-icing device comprising:
at least one of the injectors according to claim 1 see claim 1 of the hot air flow into the inner cavity along an injection axis oriented from upstream to downstream Fig. 2.
For claim 10, Boulet disclose an air intake of the aircraft turbojet nacelle extending along the turbojet axis Fig. 2, the air intake comprising:
the de-icing device according to claim 9 see claim 9.
For claim 11, Boulet disclose a method for using the de-icing device according to claim 9 for de-icing the air intake of the aircraft turbojet nacelle extending along the turbojet axis, the method comprising:
injecting the peripheral and twisted hot air flow so as to cause the fresh air flow Fig. 3: Fr to circulate in the passage duct twisted by mixer 17, the fresh air flow circulating from the upstream to the downstream with respect to the injection axis Fig. 3: from right to left, the fresh air flow circulating inside the hot air flow of peripheral shape so as to allow mixing between the hot air flow and the fresh air flow the hot and fresh air mix at flow Fm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642