DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended Claim 1. Claim 3 is canceled. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing. No new matter is presented.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 02/02/2026.
Response to Amendment
Responsive to communications filed on 08/06/2026, amendments to the claims have been acknowledged.
The rejections over NPL Singhal are maintained under additional grounds necessitated by amendment. The amendments to Claim 1 overcome the rejections over NPL Rangel et al. and the rejections over NPL Rangel et al. are herein withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by NPL Singhal et al. as evidenced by NPL Gopienko.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, NPL Singhal et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a recycled aluminum metal compact (meeting the limitation for a recycled aluminum metal lump) formed from aluminum powder scrap, the method comprising compressing the aluminum metal followed by irradiating aluminum metal with a microwave (Pages 559-560, Figure 2). Regarding the newly amended limitation of Claim 1 that the aluminum metal comprises Mg, as evidenced by NPL Gopienko, aluminum scrap comprises magnesium as a known impurity, meeting the limitation of the instant Claim that the aluminum metal comprises Mg. The limitation regarding the absence of dendrites is not required to meet the limitations of instant Claim 1. Further, it is noted NPL Singhal et al. teaches metallographic images showing no dendrite formation in the manufactured product (Figure 6).
NPL Singhal et al. discloses an exemplary sintered density of 2.538 grams per centimeters cubed in the manufactured product (Abstract), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
NPL Singhal et al. expressly discloses sintering aluminum compacts below the melting point of aluminum (Page 561), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim for the aluminum metal not becoming molten during the method.
Regarding Claims 4 and 7, NPL Singhal et al. discloses performing compressing the aluminum metal before irradiating with the microwave (Figure 2), meeting the limitations for the instant Claims.
Regarding Claims 5-6 and 8-9 , NPL Singhal et al. discloses the compressing of the aluminum metal is performed using a crucible (Page 561)(meeting the limitation for a molding box), meeting the limitations for the instant Claims.
Regarding Claim 12-15, NPL Singhal et al. discloses compressing the aluminum metal in a crucible (Page 561)(meeting the limitation for a molding box), ultimately forming a shaped recycled aluminum metal lump product (Figure 3), meeting the limitations for the instant Claims.
Generally, changes in shape will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such shape is critical. See MPEP 2141.01(a) I.
Regarding Claim 16, as set forth above, NPL Singhal et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a recycled aluminum metal compact (meeting the limitation for a recycled aluminum metal lump) formed from aluminum powder scrap. As evidenced by NPL Gopienko, aluminum scrap comprises silicon as a known impurity, meeting the limitation of the instant Claim that the aluminum metal additionally comprises Si.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Singhal et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 12-16 above, further in view of NPL Xu et al. as evidenced by NPL Gopienko.
Regarding Claims 10-11, NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above and further teaches improvements in mechanical properties of metal castings and decreased grain coarsening are achieved due to short processing time at (Page 560). NPL Singhal et al. teaches metallographic images showing no dendrite formation (Figure 6).
NPL Singhal et al. however does not expressly disclose the aluminum metal lump does not contain dendrites in its internal structure after applying pressure during irradiating the aluminum metal with the microwave.
The transposition of method steps is prima facie obvious absent a showing of new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. C. Nonetheless, NPL Xu et al., teaches external pressure applied to aluminum oxide powder during sintering enhances the densification process (Introduction, Page 636) and reduces grain coarsening (Introduction, Page 635).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to perform the compression step of NPL Singhal et al. during irradiation with the microwave in order to prevent the formation of air gaps in the finished aluminum product and enhance the densification process and reduce grain coarsening based on the teachings of NPL Xu et al. e.g. at (Introduction, Pages 635-636), meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Singhal et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 12-16 above, further in view of NPL Chhillar et al.
Regarding Claim 17, NPL Singhal et al. discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach the method is carried out in a reducing atmosphere.
However, NPL Chhillar et al. teaches the microwave sintering of compressed molybdenum metal powder in a reducing atmosphere in order to reduce oxidation (Page 183). Though NPL Chhillar et al. teaches a different metal composition, the microwave sintering of metal powder is analogous art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to conduct the method of NPL Singhal et al. in a reducing environment in order to reduce the effects of oxidation and presence of foreign impurity in the produced product based on the teachings of NPL Chhillar et al. at (Page 183) and the teachings of NPL Singhal et al. at (Abstract, Page 563).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Singhal et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 12-16 above, further in view of NPL Venkateswarlu et al.
Regarding Claim 18, NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above. NPL Singhal et al. teaches a sintering time of 15 minutes (900 seconds), a processing time which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 60 seconds to 300 seconds. However, insofar as manufacturing the recycled metal lump in the instantly claimed time range, NPL Singhal et al. does not expressly teach the irradiating with the microwave is carried out for a time of 60 seconds to 300 seconds.
However, NPL Venkateswarlu et al. teaches microwave sintering of an aluminum metal matrix composite for two minutes (120 seconds) in order to achieve optimized hardness and densification of the compacted metal (Page 231); the time of 120 seconds lies within the instantly claimed range of 60 seconds to 300 seconds.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to sinter the aluminum metal chip of NPL Rangel et al. for 120 seconds in order to achieve increased hardness and densification of the resultant metal compact based on the teachings of Venkateswarlu et al. at (Page 232). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would be motivated by a desire to optimize hardness and density to vary sintering times, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of NPL Singhal et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 12-16 above, further in view of NPL Ao et al.
Regarding Claim 19, NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach the recycled aluminum metal lump has an internal structure composed of a granular Si phase and an aluminum eutectic.
However, NPL Ao et al. teaches the morphology of aluminum alloyed with silicon, with an internal structure composed of a granular Si phase and an aluminum eutectic is achieved by varying heat treatment temperature and silicon composition (Page 110049).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to vary the heat treatment temperature and silicon concentration below the eutectic temperature of aluminum and below the eutectic composition of silicon in order to reduce the agglomeration of silicon and increase mechanical strength of the metal product based on the teachings of NPL Singhal et al. at (Page 565). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would expect such temperatures and processing below the eutectic temperature to present the same or similar morphology of eutectic aluminum and granular silicon based on the teachings of NPL Ao et al. e.g. at (Page 110049), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
The internal structure of the recycled aluminum metal lump is a result-effective variable, impacted by the silicon concentration and processing variables. Though NPL Ao et al. details the morphology of aluminum alloyed with silicon, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would look to the art of NPL Ao et al., being motivated by a desire to tune the morphology of aluminum metal comprising silicon. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-16 and 18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Singhal et al. in view of Venkateswarlu et al. as evidenced by NPL Gopienko.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, NPL Singhal et al. teaches a method for manufacturing a recycled aluminum metal compact (meeting the limitation for a recycled aluminum metal lump) formed from aluminum powder scrap, the method comprising compressing the aluminum metal followed by irradiating aluminum metal with a microwave (Pages 559-560, Figure 2). Regarding the newly amended limitation of Claim 1 that the aluminum metal comprises Mg, as evidenced by NPL Gopienko, Aluminum scrap comprises magnesium as a known impurity, meeting the limitation of the instant Claim that the aluminum metal comprises Mg. The limitation regarding the absence of dendrites is not required to meet the limitations of instant Claim 1. Further, it is noted NPL Singhal et al. teaches metallographic images showing no dendrite formation in the manufactured product (Figure 6).
NPL Singhal et al. teaches an exemplary sintered density of 2.538 grams per centimeters cubed in the manufactured product (Abstract), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding the newly amended limitation of Claim 1 that the aluminum metal does not become molten during the method, NPL Singhal et al. expressly teaches sintering aluminum compacts below the melting point of aluminum (Page 561) but does not expressly state the aluminum metal does not become molten during the method.
However, NPL Venkateswarlu teaches microwave sintering aluminum-based matric metal composite powders for 2 minutes or less in order to prevent the melting out of aluminum from the sintered product (Page 235).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention sinter the aluminum powder scrap of NPL Singhal et al. for 2 minutes or less based on the teachings of NPL Venkateswarlu at (Page 235). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would have been motivated by a desire to prevent melting, reduce energy cost, reduce processing time, and minimize porosity formation, to seek the art for suitable sintering times and sinter the aluminum scrap in the method of NPL Singhal et al. for a short time such that aluminum does not become molten during the method, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claims 4 and 7, modified NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above. NPL Singhal et al. further teaches performing compressing the aluminum metal before irradiating with the microwave (Figure 2), meeting the limitations for the instant Claims.
Regarding Claims 5-6 and 8-9, modified NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above. NPL Singhal et al. further teaches the compressing of the aluminum metal is performed using a crucible (Page 561)(meeting the limitation for a molding box), meeting the limitations for the instant Claims.
Regarding Claim 12-15, modified NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above. NPL Singhal et al. further teaches compressing the aluminum metal in a crucible (Page 561)(meeting the limitation for a molding box), ultimately forming a shaped recycled aluminum metal lump product (Figure 3), meeting the limitations for the instant Claims.
Generally, changes in shape will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such shape is critical. See MPEP 2141.01(a) I.
Regarding Claim 16, modified NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above. As set forth above, NPL Singhal et al. teaches a method for manufacturing a recycled aluminum metal compact (meeting the limitation for a recycled aluminum metal lump) formed from aluminum powder scrap. As evidenced by NPL Gopienko, aluminum scrap comprises silicon as a known impurity, meeting the limitation of the instant Claim that the aluminum metal additionally comprises Si.
Regarding Claim 18, NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above. NPL Singhal et al. teaches a sintering time of 15 minutes (900 seconds), a processing time which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 60 seconds to 300 seconds. However, insofar as manufacturing the recycled metal lump in the instantly claimed time range, NPL Singhal et al. does not expressly teach the irradiating with the microwave is carried out for a time of 60 seconds to 300 seconds.
However, NPL Venkateswarlu et al. teaches microwave sintering of an aluminum metal matrix composite for two minutes (120 seconds) in order to achieve optimized hardness and densification of the compacted metal (Page 231); the time of 120 seconds lies within the instantly claimed range of 60 seconds to 300 seconds.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to sinter the aluminum metal chip of NPL Rangel et al. for 120 seconds in order to achieve increased hardness and densification of the resultant metal compact based on the teachings of Venkateswarlu et al. at (Page 232). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would be motivated by a desire to optimize hardness and density to vary sintering times, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 10-11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Singhal et al. in view of Venkateswarlu et al. as evidenced by NPL Gopienko as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-16 and 18 above, further in view of NPL Xu et al.
Regarding Claims 10-11, modified NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above. NPL Singhal et al. further teaches improvements in mechanical properties of metal castings and decreased grain coarsening are achieved due to short processing time at (Page 560). NPL Singhal et al. teaches metallographic images showing no dendrite formation (Figure 6).
NPL Singhal et al. however does not expressly disclose the aluminum metal lump does not contain dendrites in its internal structure after applying pressure during irradiating the aluminum metal with the microwave.
The transposition of method steps is prima facie obvious absent a showing of new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04 IV. C. Nonetheless, NPL Xu et al., teaches external pressure applied to aluminum oxide powder during sintering enhances the densification process (Introduction, Page 636) and reduces grain coarsening (Introduction, Page 635).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to perform the compression step of NPL Singhal et al. during irradiation with the microwave in order to prevent the formation of air gaps in the finished aluminum product and enhance the densification process and reduce grain coarsening based on the teachings of NPL Xu et al. e.g. at (Introduction, Pages 635-636), meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
Claims 17 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Singhal et al. in view of Venkateswarlu et al. as evidenced by NPL Gopienko as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-16 and 18 above, further in view of NPL Chhillar et al.
Regarding Claim 17, modified NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above but NPL Singhal et al. does not expressly teach the method is carried out in a reducing atmosphere.
However, NPL Chhillar et al. teaches the microwave sintering of compressed molybdenum metal powder in a reducing atmosphere in order to reduce oxidation (Page 183). Though NPL Chhillar et al. teaches a different metal composition, the microwave sintering of metal powder is analogous art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to conduct the method of NPL Singhal et al. in a reducing environment in order to reduce the effects of oxidation and presence of foreign impurity in the produced product based on the teachings of NPL Chhillar et al. at (Page 183) and the teachings of NPL Singhal et al. at (Abstract, Page 563).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of NPL Singhal et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-16 and 18 above, further in view of NPL Ao et al.
Regarding Claim 19, NPL Singhal et al. teaches the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach the recycled aluminum metal lump has an internal structure composed of a granular Si phase and an aluminum eutectic.
However, NPL Ao et al. teaches the morphology of aluminum alloyed with silicon, with an internal structure composed of a granular Si phase and an aluminum eutectic is achieved by varying heat treatment temperature and silicon composition (Page 110049).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to vary the heat treatment temperature and silicon concentration below the eutectic temperature of aluminum and below the eutectic composition of silicon in order to reduce the agglomeration of silicon and increase mechanical strength of the metal product based on the teachings of NPL Singhal et al. at (Page 565). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would expect such temperatures and processing below the eutectic temperature to present the same or similar morphology of eutectic aluminum and granular silicon based on the teachings of NPL Ao et al. e.g. at (Page 110049), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
The internal structure of the recycled aluminum metal lump is a result-effective variable, impacted by the silicon concentration and processing variables. Though NPL Ao et al. details the morphology of aluminum alloyed with silicon, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would look to the art of NPL Ao et al., being motivated by a desire to tune the morphology of aluminum metal comprising silicon. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not deemed persuasive as to NPL Singhal et al. The amendments to Claim 1 overcome withdrawn rejections over NPL Rangel et al.
Regarding NPL Rangel et al. Applicant amended Claim 1 to require the aluminum metal not become molten during the method. NPL Rangel et al. taught aluminum chip smelting via the application of microwaves. Therefore, it is no longer applicable to the claims as amended.
Regarding NPL Singhal, As set forth above NPL Singhal et al. discloses a method of forming an aluminum compact meeting the limitations of the instant Claims. Additionally and alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention sinter the aluminum powder scrap of NPL Singhal et al. for 2 minutes or less based on the teachings of NPL Venkateswarlu at (Page 235). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would have been motivated by a desire to prevent melting and reduce energy cost, reduce processing time, and minimize porosity formation, to seek the art for suitable sintering times and sinter the aluminum scrap in the method of NPL Singhal et al. for a short time such that aluminum does not become molten during the method. See MPEP 2141.01(a) I. “[A] reference need not be from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention in order to be analogous art.” Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.
Further, Applicant argues the present method does not contain oxide debris when applied to Al alloys comprising Mg. The claims are drawn to Al scrap and not to an alloy. As established above, Al scrap is known to comprise both Mg and Si as an impurity.
Applicant argues due to differences in Si and SiC, persons of ordinary skill would not be motivated to apply the teachings of NPL Ao et al. to the teachings of NPL Rangel et al. or NPL Singhal et al. However, as established above, the internal structure of the recycled aluminum metal lump is a result-effective variable, impacted by the silicon concentration and processing variables. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to vary the heat treatment temperature and silicon concentration below the eutectic temperature of aluminum and below the eutectic composition of silicon in order to reduce the agglomeration of silicon and increase mechanical strength of the metal product based on the teachings of NPL Singhal et al. at (Page 565). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would expect such temperatures and processing below the eutectic temperature to present the same or similar morphology of eutectic aluminum and granular silicon based on the teachings of NPL Ao et al. e.g. at (Page 110049), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim. Persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would have been motivated by a desire to tune the morphology of the aluminum lump product to seek the art for processing temperatures and silicon concentrations of silicon-containing aluminum materials. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Roy, Rustum, et al. "Decrystallizing solid crystalline titania, without melting, using microwave magnetic fields." Journal of the American Ceramic Society 88.6 (2005): 1640-1642. teaches sintering of inorganic compounds via the application of microwaves without melting.
Takayama, S., M. Sato, and J. Fukushima. "General Features of MW Interaction with Materials." Microwave Engineering of Nanomaterials: From Mesoscale to Nanoscale. Pan Stanford, 2019. 47-88. teaches applications of microwave energy with metal.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733