DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a control voltage" in lines 8 and 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the control voltage in line 8 is the same control voltage in line 10 or not. Claims 2-11 are dependent on claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a control voltage" in lines 8 and 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the control voltage in line 8 is the same control voltage in line 10 or not. Claim 13 is dependent on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0182290 A1 to Yamamoto in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0347990 A1 to Knez et al.
As to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses Amended) a pixel comprising:
a transistor (Fig. 2, paragraph 0032, transistor (Tr1))
a light emitting element (Fig. 2, paragraph 0032, EL device (13));
a memory comprising a memory cell (Fig. 2, paragraph 0032, memory circuit (12A));
a control circuit configured to generate a control voltage (VGS) on a control terminal of the transistor, the control voltage being equal to:
a first voltage during a step of resetting at least one cell of the memory (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0049-0063, where the gate voltage (Vg) between time (T1-T3) is the first voltage);
a second voltage during a step of setting at least one cell of the memory (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0049-0063, where the gate voltage (Vg) between time (T13-T14) is the second voltage);
a third voltage during a step of driving the element (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0049-0063, where the gate voltage (Vg) between time (T9-T13) is the third voltage).
Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing a memory comprising at least one phase change non-volatile memory cell;
a first switch comprising a first output terminal coupled to the light emitting element, a second output terminal coupled to the non-volatile memory and an input terminal coupled to a supply node by the transistor, the first switch being configured to connect the input terminal, according to a control voltage, either to the first output terminal or to the second output terminal.
However, Knez discloses a memory comprising at least one phase change non-volatile memory cell (Fig. 8, paragraph 0069, memory (78));
a first switch comprising a first output terminal coupled to the light emitting element, a second output terminal coupled to the non-volatile memory and an input terminal coupled to a supply node by the transistor, the first switch being configured to connect the input terminal, according to a control voltage, either to the first output terminal or to the second output terminal (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0077-0086, where switch (104) couples LED (103) to memory (78) or common voltage (110), which supplies a common voltage).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pixel comprising a memory cell as taught by Yamamoto by including a switch to connect the LED to the memory or supply node as taught by Knez. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to storage image data as well as drive the LED in response to the image data (Knez, Abstract).
As to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the first voltage is higher than the second voltage and the second voltage is higher than the third voltage (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0049-0063, where the gate voltage (Vg) varies during periods shown in the graph).
As to claim 3, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch during the steps of setting and resetting of the memory cells, and to connect the first output and the input of the first switch during the step of driving the element.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch during the steps of setting and resetting of the memory cells, and to connect the first output and the input of the first switch during the step of driving the element (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0077-0086, where switch (104) couples LED (103) to memory (78) or common voltage (110)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 4, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein, during a step of reading at least one memory cell of the memory, the control voltage is equal to the third voltage and the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein, during a step of reading at least one memory cell of the memory, the control voltage is equal to the third voltage and the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0077-0086, where switch (104) is connected to memory (78) to read the memory). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 5, Yamamoto pixel according, wherein the transistor is coupled to the supply node by a second switch (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0052-0057, where transistor (Tr1) is coupled to signal lines (DTL) by switches (Tr2, Tr3)).
As to claim 6, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the second switch is configured to be closed for a first duration during the step of setting, for a second duration during the step of resetting and a third duration during the step of driving the element (Fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0052-0057, where switches (Tr2-Tr4) are closed and opened during different durations).
As to claim 7, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the first duration is longer than the second duration and the second duration is longer than the third duration (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0048-0049, where the durations have different lengths as shown in the figure).
As to claim 8, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the memory comprises between 20 and 50 cells (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0029-0032, where display panel (10) has several pixels (11, 12), which each contain memory circuit (12A)).
As to claim 9, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the memory comprises a third switch comprising an input coupled to the second input terminal and an output coupled to each memory cell (Fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0052-0057, where memory (12A) is connected to switches (Tr2-Tr4)).
As to claim 10, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein the light emitting element is a light emitting diode.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein the light emitting element is a light emitting diode (Fig. 8, paragraph 0077, where LED (103) is a light emitting diode). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 11, Yamamoto discloses a display screen comprising a plurality of pixels (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0029-0032, where display panel (10) has several pixels (11, 12)).
As to claim 12, Yamamoto and Knez disclose limitations similar to claim 1. In addition, Yamamoto discloses a calibration method of the pixel, comprising:
reading data in the memory;
driving the element according to the data read in the memory;
measuring the brightness of the element;
comparing the brightness to a set value;
if the brightness differs from the set value, modifying the value of said data by steps of setting and resetting (Fig. 2 and 3, paragraphs 0030-0050, where the brightness of organic EL device (13) is controlled based on memory circuit (12A)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 13, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein the at least one non-volatile memory cell is a phase change memory cell.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein the at least one non-volatile memory cell is a phase change memory cell (Fig. 8, paragraph 0069, memory (78)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 6/25/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 12 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, on pages 5-7, Knez fails to disclose the “first switch”. Examiner disagrees as Knez discloses, “first switch” (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0077-0086, where switch (104) couples LED (103) to memory (78) or common voltage (110), which supplies a common voltage).
Applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, on page 7, Yamamoto fails to disclose a control voltage taking voltage levels (reset, set, and driving). Examiner disagrees as Yamamoto discloses a control voltage taking voltage levels (reset, set, and driving) (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0049-0063, where the gate voltage (Vg) between time (T1-T3) is the first voltage, where the gate voltage (Vg) between time (T13-T14) is the second voltage, where the gate voltage (Vg) between time (T9-T13) is the third voltage).
Applicant argues, on pages 7-10, the application is in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627