DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
No claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/26/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A drawn to claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 is a single claim which claims both an apparatus, as it is dependent on claim 1, and method steps of using the apparatus. Claim 1 discloses pixel and claim 12 discloses a calibration method of the pixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0182290 A1 to Yamamoto in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0347990 A1 to Knez et al.
As to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses Amended) a pixel comprising:
a transistor (Fig. 2, paragraph 0032, transistor (Tr1))
a light emitting element (Fig. 2, paragraph 0032, EL device (13));
a memory comprising a memory cell (Fig. 2, paragraph 0032, memory circuit (12A));
a control circuit configured to generate a control voltage (VGS) on a control terminal of the transistor, the control voltage being equal to:
a first voltage during a step of resetting at least one cell of the memory;
a second voltage during a step of setting at least one cell of the memory;
a third voltage during a step of driving the element (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0049-0063, where the gate voltage (Vg) varies during periods shown in the graph).
Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing a memory comprising at least one phase change non-volatile memory cell;
a first switch comprising a first output terminal coupled to the light emitting element, a second output terminal coupled to the non-volatile memory and an input terminal coupled to a supply node by the transistor, the first switch being configured to connect the input terminal either to the first output terminal or to the second output terminal.
However, Knez discloses a memory comprising at least one phase change non-volatile memory cell (Fig. 8, paragraph 0069, memory (78));
a first switch comprising a first output terminal coupled to the light emitting element, a second output terminal coupled to the non-volatile memory and an input terminal coupled to a supply node by the transistor, the first switch being configured to connect the input terminal either to the first output terminal or to the second output terminal (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0077-0086, where switch (104) couples LED (103) to memory (78) or common voltage (110)).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pixel comprising a memory cell as taught by Yamamoto by including a switch to connect the LED to the memory or supply node as taught by Knez. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to storage image data as well as drive the LED in response to the image data (Knez, Abstract).
As to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the first voltage is higher than the second voltage and the second voltage is higher than the third voltage (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0049-0063, where the gate voltage (Vg) varies during periods shown in the graph).
As to claim 3, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch during the steps of setting and resetting of the memory cells, and to connect the first output and the input of the first switch during the step of driving the element.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch during the steps of setting and resetting of the memory cells, and to connect the first output and the input of the first switch during the step of driving the element (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0077-0086, where switch (104) couples LED (103) to memory (78) or common voltage (110)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 4, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein, during a step of reading at least one memory cell of the memory, the control voltage is equal to the third voltage and the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein, during a step of reading at least one memory cell of the memory, the control voltage is equal to the third voltage and the first switch is configured to connect the second output and the input of the first switch (Fig. 8, paragraphs 0077-0086, where switch (104) is connected to memory (78) to read the memory). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 5, Yamamoto pixel according, wherein the transistor is coupled to the supply node by a second switch (Fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 0052-0057, where transistor (Tr1) is coupled to signal lines (DTL) by switches (Tr2, Tr3)).
As to claim 6, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the second switch is configured to be closed for a first duration during the step of setting, for a second duration during the step of resetting and a third duration during the step of driving the element (Fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0052-0057, where switches (Tr2-Tr4) are closed and opened during different durations).
As to claim 7, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the first duration is longer than the second duration and the second duration is longer than the third duration (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0048-0049, where the durations have different lengths as shown in the figure).
As to claim 8, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the memory comprises between 20 and 50 cells (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0029-0032, where display panel (10) has several pixels (11, 12), which each contain memory circuit (12A)).
As to claim 9, Yamamoto discloses pixel, wherein the memory comprises a third switch comprising an input coupled to the second input terminal and an output coupled to each memory cell (Fig. 4-6, paragraphs 0052-0057, where memory (12A) is connected to switches (Tr2-Tr4)).
As to claim 10, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein the light emitting element is a light emitting diode.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein the light emitting element is a light emitting diode (Fig. 8, paragraph 0077, where LED (103) is a light emitting diode). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
As to claim 11, Yamamoto discloses a display screen comprising a plurality of pixels (Fig. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0029-0032, where display panel (10) has several pixels (11, 12)).
As to claim 12, Yamamoto discloses a calibration method of the pixel, comprising:
reading data in the memory;
driving the element according to the data read in the memory;
measuring the brightness of the element;
comparing the brightness to a set value;
if the brightness differs from the set value, modifying the value of said data by steps of setting and resetting (Fig. 2 and 3, paragraphs 0030-0050, where the brightness of organic EL device (13) is controlled based on memory circuit (12A)).
As to claim 13, Yamamoto is deficient in disclosing pixel, wherein the at least one non-volatile memory cell is a phase change memory cell.
However, Knez discloses pixel, wherein the at least one non-volatile memory cell is a phase change memory cell (Fig. 8, paragraph 0069, memory (78)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 1.
Conclusion
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627