DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-157687, filed on 09/30/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2026 and 03/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al [US 2002/0209400 A1] in view of Abadi et al [US 2014/0347243 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Ryu discloses an antenna comprising:
a first plate-shaped conductor (Fig. 4a-4b, 1101-1 and 1101-2); and
a columnar conductor (Fig. 4a-4b, 100 and 104) provided at a plate surface of the first plate-shaped conductor so as to protrude therefrom (Fig. 4a-b, a "cone radiator 1100 R" a columnar conductor (4) protruding from the plate surface of the first plate conductor), wherein
a distal end of the columnar conductor (Fig. 4a-b, the tip end of the columnar conductor being a power supply point) has a feeding point (Fig. 4a-b, 1105), and
a sectional area of a cross-section of the columnar conductor (Fig. 4a-b, it can be seen that the cross section along the plate surface of the "cone antenna 1100" (columnar conductor) is wider than the end surface of the tip end)
Ryu does not specify a sectional area of a cross-section of the columnar conductor along the plate surface is larger than an area of an end surface of the distal end.
Abadi discloses a sectional area of a cross-section of the columnar conductor along the plate surface is larger than an area of an end surface of the distal end (Fig. 1, a columnar conductor protruding to the plate surface of the first plate conductor, and it can be seen that the dimension of the "top edge 120" of the columnar conductor is formed larger than the tip end ("bottom edge 130"))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Abadi with Ryu to discloses or teach a sectional area of a cross-section of the columnar conductor along the plate surface is larger than an area of an end surface of the distal end for purpose of improves the omindirectionality at higher frequencies as disclosed by Abadi (Paragraph [0053]).
In regards to claim 2. Ryu in view of Abadi discloses the antenna according to claim 1, wherein a shape of the columnar conductor is a shape having a taper-shaped side surface tapered from the first plate-shaped conductor side toward the distal end side (Abadi: Paragraph [0037] fig. 1a) discloses an "antenna 100" having "a top hat conductor 104" (first plate conductor) and a "feed conductor 106" (columnar conductor protruding from the plate surface of the first plate conductor), wherein the "bottom edge 130" (tip end of the columnar conductor) of the "feed conductor 106" has a "feed element 108" (power supply point), and these are mounted on a "ground plane substrate 102" and Paragraph [0044] these resonances can be optimized such that they merge with the other resonances to form an ultra-wideband antenna. Thus, the shape of feed conductor 106 can be optimized to increase the bandwidth of antenna 100". Abadi indicates that "...In the illustrative embodiment, the feed conductor 106 is primarily cone shaped. In alternative embodiment, the feed conductor 106 may not include first side edge 122 or third side edge 126 and/or bottom edge 130 resulting in a triangular shape...”, thus, it is suggested that the "feed conductor 106" has a conical shape.).
Claims 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al [US 2002/0209400 A1] in view of Abadi et al [US 2014/0347243 A1] and further in view of FUJITA SEIKEN [WO 2008/023800 A1]
In regards to claim 3. Ryu in view of Abadi discloses the antenna according to claim 2,
Ryu in view of Abadi does not specify wherein the side surface is a convex curved surface.
FUJITA SEIKEN discloses wherein the side surface is a convex curved surface (paragraphs [0085]-[0090], fig. 36) discloses a columnar conductor in which a side surface is formed to have a convex surface)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of FUJITA SEIKEN with Ryu in view of Abadi to discloses or teach wherein the side surface is a convex curved surface for purpose of provide an antenna device that realizes a compact, low-profile, wide band and the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized as disclosed by FUJITA SEIKEN (Paragraph [0006]).
In regards to claim 4. Ryu in view of Abadi discloses the antenna according to claim 2,
Ryu in view of Abadi does not specify wherein a shape of the side surface is a side surface shape of a solid of revolution about a revolution axis that is a line perpendicular to the plate surface, and when the revolution axis is defined as a y axis and a line perpendicular to the revolution axis at the distal end is defined as an x axis, a contour curve of the side surface in a cross-section of the columnar conductor along a plane including the revolution axis satisfies the following formula: y=ax.sup.P where x≥0, a>0, and P≥1
FUJITA SEIKEN discloses a columnar conductor formed on a stepped side surface that gradually widens toward the first plate conductor side (Paragraph [0141-142] Fig. 78)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of FUJITA SEIKEN with Ryu in view of Abadi to discloses or teach wherein a shape of the side surface is a side surface shape of a solid of revolution about a revolution axis that is a line perpendicular to the plate surface, and when the revolution axis is defined as a y axis and a line perpendicular to the revolution axis at the distal end is defined as an x axis, a contour curve of the side surface in a cross-section of the columnar conductor along a plane including the revolution axis satisfies the following formula: y=ax.sup.P where x≥0, a>0, and P≥1 for purpose of provide an antenna device that realizes a compact, low-profile, wide band and the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized as disclosed by FUJITA SEIKEN (Paragraph [0006]).
Abadi indicates that the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized. Therefore, referring to the invention disclosed in FUJITA SEIKEN, a person skilled in the art could easily form the shape of the columnar conductor (a "feed conductor 106") of Abadi, as appropriate, so that a side surface thereof is convex.
In regards to claim 5. Ryu in view of Abadi discloses the antenna according to claim 1,
Ryu in view of Abadi does not specify wherein a shape of the columnar conductor is a shape having a step-shaped side surface expanding stepwise from the distal end side toward the first plate-shaped conductor side.
FUJITA SEIKEN discloses a columnar conductor formed on a stepped side surface that gradually widens toward the first plate conductor side (Paragraph [0141-142] Fig. 78)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of FUJITA SEIKEN with Ryu in view of Abadi to discloses or teach wherein a shape of the columnar conductor is a shape having a step-shaped side surface expanding stepwise from the distal end side toward the first plate-shaped conductor side for purpose of provide an antenna device that realizes a compact, low-profile, wide band and the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized as disclosed by FUJITA SEIKEN (Paragraph [0006]).
Abadi indicates that the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized. Therefore, referring to the invention disclosed in FUJITA SEIKEN, a person skilled in the art could easily form the shape of the columnar conductor (a "feed conductor 106") of Abadi, as appropriate, so that a side surface thereof is convex.
In regards to claim 6. Ryu in view of Abadi discloses the antenna according to claim 1,
Ryu in view of Abadi does not specify wherein the first plate-shaped conductor has a band shape.
FUJITA SEIKEN discloses a columnar conductor formed on a stepped side surface that gradually widens toward the first plate conductor side (Paragraph [0141-142] Fig. 78)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of FUJITA SEIKEN with Ryu in view of Abadi to discloses or teach wherein the first plate-shaped conductor has a band shape for purpose of provide an antenna device that realizes a compact, low-profile, wide band and the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized as disclosed by FUJITA SEIKEN (Paragraph [0006]).
Abadi indicates that the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized. Therefore, referring to the invention disclosed in FUJITA SEIKEN, a person skilled in the art could easily form the shape of the columnar conductor (a "feed conductor 106") of Abadi, as appropriate, so that a side surface thereof is convex.
In regards to claim 7. Ryu in view of Abadi and further in view of FUJITA SEIKEN discloses the antenna according to claim 6, wherein the columnar conductor is provided on a first end side in a longitudinal direction of the first plate-shaped conductor (FUJITA SEIKEN paragraphs [0085]-[0090], [0141], [0142], fig. 36, 78)
In regards to claim 8. Ryu in view of Abadi and further in view of FUJITA SEIKEN discloses the antenna according to claim 6, wherein a width dimension of the first plate-shaped conductor and a width dimension of the cross-section of the columnar conductor along the plate surface are the same (FUJITA SEIKEN paragraphs [0085]-[0090], [0141], [0142], fig. 36, 78).
In regards to claim 9. Ryu in view of Abadi and further in view of FUJITA SEIKEN discloses the antenna according to claim 8, wherein a short side on a first end side in a longitudinal direction of the first plate-shaped conductor has a shape along a contour shape of the cross-section of the columnar conductor along the plate surface (FUJITA SEIKEN paragraphs [0085]-[0090], [0141], [0142], fig. 36, 78).
In regards to claim 10. Ryu in view of Abadi discloses the antenna according to claim 1,
Ryu in view of Abadi does not specify wherein the columnar conductor is provided at a position shifted from a center of the first plate-shaped conductor, on the plate surface.
FUJITA SEIKEN discloses a columnar conductor formed on a stepped side surface that gradually widens toward the first plate conductor side (Paragraph [0141-142] Fig. 78)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of FUJITA SEIKEN with Ryu in view of Abadi to discloses or teach wherein the columnar conductor is provided at a position shifted from a center of the first plate-shaped conductor, on the plate surface for purpose of provide an antenna device that realizes a compact, low-profile, wide band and the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized as disclosed by FUJITA SEIKEN (Paragraph [0006]).
Abadi indicates that the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized. Therefore, referring to the invention disclosed in FUJITA SEIKEN, a person skilled in the art could easily form the shape of the columnar conductor (a "feed conductor 106") of Abadi, as appropriate, so that a side surface thereof is convex.
In regards to claim 11. Ryu in view of Abadi and further in view of FUJITA SEIKEN discloses the antenna according to claim 10, wherein a center of the first plate-shaped conductor is a center of gravity of a contour shape of the first plate-shaped conductor as seen in a plan view, or a center of a circumscribed circle of the contour shape (FUJITA SEIKEN paragraphs [0085]-[0090], [0141], [0142], fig. 36, 78).
In regards to claim 12. Ryu in view of Abadi discloses the antenna according to claim 1, further comprising
Ryu in view of Abadi does not specify a short-circuit conductor provided at the plate surface so as to protrude therefrom and grounding the first plate-shaped conductor.
FUJITA SEIKEN discloses a columnar conductor formed on a stepped side surface that gradually widens toward the first plate conductor side (Paragraph [0141-142] Fig. 78)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of FUJITA SEIKEN with Ryu in view of Abadi to discloses or teach a short-circuit conductor provided at the plate surface so as to protrude therefrom and grounding the first plate-shaped conductor for purpose of provide an antenna device that realizes a compact, low-profile, wide band and the shape of a columnar conductor is variously adjusted, and desired electrical performance and the like are optimized as disclosed by FUJITA SEIKEN (Paragraph [0006]).
In regards to claim 13. Ryu in view of Abadi and further in view of FUJITA SEIKEN discloses the antenna according to claim 12, wherein the short-circuit conductor has a plate shape curved in accordance with a side surface of the columnar conductor, and is located so as to be opposed to the side surface of the columnar conductor with a predetermined interval therebetween (FUJITA SEIKEN paragraphs [0085]-[0090], [0141], [0142], fig. 36, 78).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“a second plate-shaped conductor provided at a side surface of the columnar conductor so as to protrude therefrom and located on the plate surface side of the first plate-shaped conductor so as to be opposed to the first plate-shaped conductor.” as shown in claim 14.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845