DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: regarding claim 2, the phrase “selected,.” in line 4 should be “selected.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SO et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0031648).
Regarding claim 1, with respect to Figures 1-11, SO teaches a display device comprising:
a speaker (fig.1, 3, 5-10; paragraphs 0009-0030);
a display that displays a volume adjustment UI for adjusting the volume of audio output through the speaker (figs.5-10; paragraphs 0026-0030, 0033, 0075-0077);
a wireless communication interface that connects to at least one external speaker (fig.5-10; paragraph 0019, 0027, 0058, 0084, 0085); and
a controller that displays the volume adjustment UI for adjusting the volume of the speaker and the external speaker when connected to the external speaker upon receiving a volume adjustment command (figs.2, item 130, fig.11; paragraphs 0003, 0021, 0026-0030, 0032, 0033, 0075-0077).
Regarding claim 2, SO teaches wherein the controller that transmits a sound volume adjusting command [i.e., notification signal] to the external speaker corresponding to the selected volume adjustment UI when the volume adjustment UI for adjusting the volume of the external speaker is selected (fig.6; paragraphs 0143-0146).
Regarding claim 4, SO teaches wherein the controller displays a plurality of volume adjustment UIs for adjusting the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers when receiving the volume adjustment command, if there are a plurality of external speakers connected to the display device (fig.6; paragraph 0166).
Regarding claim 5, SO teaches wherein the controller simultaneously adjusts the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers corresponding to each of the plurality of volume adjustment UIs when two or more of the plurality of volume adjustment UIs are selected and then a volume adjustment command is received (fig.6; paragraphs 0068, 0077, “When the user selects a plurality of speaker apparatuses prior to the sound volume adjusting manipulation and the sound volume adjusting manipulation of the user is sound volume adjusting manipulation of any one of the plurality of selected speaker apparatuses, the controller 130 may control the communication interface 110 to transmit a sound volume adjusting command corresponding to the sound volume adjusting manipulation to each of the plurality of speaker apparatuses selected by the user”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SO et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0320082).
Regarding claim 3, SO does not specifically teach wherein the notification signal includes one of a notification sound signal, an LED notification signal, and a vibration signal. Examiner takes an official notice wherein the notification signal includes one of a notification sound signal, an LED notification signal, and a vibration signal is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SO to incorporate the feature of wherein the notification signal includes one of a notification sound signal, an LED notification signal, and a vibration signal in SO’s invention in order to provide a particular form of notification for a particular information.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SO et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0320082) in view of HU et al. (Chinese. Pub. No. CN105933822A).
Regarding claim 6, SO teaches wherein the controller displays a plurality of volume adjustment UIs for adjusting the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers (fig.6; paragraphs 0143-0146).
However, SO does not specifically teach adjusting the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers based on the priority of each of the plurality of external speakers. HU teaches adjusting the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers based on the priority of each of the plurality of external speakers (6th paragraph under “invention contents” in page 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SO to incorporate the feature of adjusting the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers based on the priority of each of the plurality of external speakers in SO’s invention as taught by HU. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to provide audio output based on priority level of corresponding speaker conveniently.
Regarding claim 7, SO does not specifically teach wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers. HU teaches wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers (6th paragraph under “invention contents” in page 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SO to incorporate the feature of wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers in SO’s invention as taught by HU. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to provide audio output based on priority level of corresponding speaker conveniently.
Regarding claim 8, SO does not specifically teach wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the distance from each of the plurality of external speakers. HU teaches wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the position [i.e., distance] from each of the plurality of external speakers (2th paragraph in page 6, “the corresponding information of the priority level, which can be applied to the vehicle sound control system simultaneously receives a plurality of different audio signal, because it can according to configuration information of different types of the audio signal output to the speaker at different positions to play, so the vehicle sound control system of the embodiment of the invention can realize synchronously playing different audio signals. Further, because different audio signals having different priority levels, the invention further can according to the audio signal with different priority level control different audio signals to different volume to play, so as to brings better user experience to the passengers and driver”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SO to incorporate the feature of wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the distance from each of the plurality of external speakers in SO’s invention as taught by HU. The motivation for the modification is to do so in order to provide audio output based on priority level of corresponding speaker at different position conveniently.
Regarding claim 9, SO in view of HU does not specifically teach wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the order in which each of the plurality of external speakers is connected to the display device. Examiner takes an official notice wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the order in which each of the plurality of external speakers is connected to the display device is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SO in view of HU to incorporate the feature of wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the order in which each of the plurality of external speakers is connected to the display device in SO’s invention in view of HU’s invention in order to provide audio output based on priority level of corresponding speaker at different order conveniently.
Regarding claim 10, SO in view of HU does not specifically teach wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the number of times each of the plurality of external speakers is connected to the display device. Examiner takes an official notice wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the number of times each of the plurality of external speakers is connected to the display device is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SO in view of HU to incorporate the feature of wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the number of times each of the plurality of external speakers is connected to the display device in SO’s invention in view of HU’s invention in order to provide audio output based on priority level of corresponding speaker at different connection conveniently.
Regarding claim 11, SO in view of HU does not specifically teach wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the number of times the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers is adjusted during a preset time. Examiner takes an official notice wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the number of times the volume of each of the plurality of external speakers is adjusted during a preset time is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SO in view of HU to incorporate the feature of wherein the controller obtains the priority based on the distance from each of the plurality of external speakers in SO’s invention in view of HU’s invention in order to provide audio output based on priority level in accordance with adjustment times of volume of corresponding speaker at a particular time conveniently.
Conclusion
/MD S ELAHEE/
MD SHAFIUL ALAM ELAHEE
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2694
September 5, 2026