Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IT102022000019749, filed on 09/26/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/24/2025 was compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Angelo et al. (US 2020/0410706 A1) hereinafter D’Angelo.
Regarding Claim 1, D’Angelo teaches a device for the plenoptic reconstruction of indirect images of an object (fig.2; Para.0068; plenoptic images), comprising: a first electromagnetic emission detector configured to be impinged by a first electromagnetic emission coming from a source and having a first propagation path (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para0075; optical path D1 and D2), wherein during use the object of which the indirect image is to be reconstructed is arranged along the first propagation path in a position between the source and the first electromagnetic emission detector (fig.2-3; Para.0084-Para0087; image sensor 13), a second electromagnetic emission detector (fig.2-3; Para.0084-Para0087; image sensor 14) configured to be impinged by a second electromagnetic emission from said source and having a second propagation path (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para0075; optical path D1 and D2), wherein: the first electromagnetic emission detector comprises a first sensor element configured to emit a signal proportional to an intensity of the first electromagnetic emission impinging upon the first sensor element (fig.2-3; Para.0084-Para0087; image sensor 13), and the second electromagnetic emission detector comprises a plenoptic image acquisition device (fig.2-3), the plenoptic image acquisition device comprising a second sensor element configured to detect a spatial distribution information of an intensity of the second electromagnetic emission (fig.2-3; Para.0084-Para0087; image sensor 14), and an information about a direction of origin of the second electromagnetic emission at a plurality of spatial locations on the second sensor element (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para0075; image sensor 14; object 5).
Regarding Claim 2, D’Angelo teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising a processing unit configured to reconstruct an indirect image of said object (OBJ) by means of a correlation measurement (Para.0032; reconstruction of the scene), over a time interval (fig.2; Para.0028-0032), of first signals from the first electromagnetic emission detector and second signals from the second electromagnetic emission detector (fig.2; Para.0028-0032), wherein: each first signal is proportional to an the intensity of said first electromagnetic emission (fig.2; Para.0028-0032), each second signal comprises the spatial distribution information of the intensity of said second electromagnetic emission (fig.2; Para.0028-0032), and an the information about a the direction of origin of said second electromagnetic emission at the plurality of spatial positions on said second sensor element (fig.2-3; Para.0067-Para0075; image sensor 14; image sensor 14).
Regarding Claim 3, D’Angelo teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein said first electromagnetic emission and second electromagnetic emission are separate secondary electromagnetic emissions from the same primary electromagnetic emission of the source (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para0075; image sensor 13 and 14).
Regarding Claim 4, D’Angelo teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein said first electromagnetic emission and said second electromagnetic emission are primary electromagnetic emissions, correlated with each other, of the source (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para0075; light beam emitted from the light source 4 to image sensors 13 and 14).
Regarding Claim 5, D’Angelo teaches same reason as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, D’Angelo teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein said first electromagnetic emission and second electromagnetic emission are separate secondary electromagnetic emissions from the same primary electromagnetic emission of said source (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para.0075; light beam emitted from the light source 4 are separated by 11).
Regarding Claim 7, D’Angelo teaches the method of claim 6, wherein said first electromagnetic emission and said second electromagnetic emission are correlated primary electromagnetic emissions from said source (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para.0075; light 7 and 8 are correlated from light source 4).
Regarding Claim 8, D’Angelo teaches the method of claim 5, wherein said reconstructing the indirect image of said object by means of the correlation measurement comprises reconstructing said second electromagnetic emission on a focusing plane using said second signals, wherein said focusing plane is arranged upstream of said second electromagnetic emission detector (fig.2-3; Para.0029 and 0068-Para.0075; light beam emitted from the light source 4).
Conclusion
/FAYEZ BHUIYAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638