DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, it appears “and have same thickness” should be “and have the same thickness as the panel”.
Regarding claim 7, it appears “have shape of trapezium” should be “have shape of a trapezium”.
Regarding claim 8, it appears “either same shaped end-profiles” should be “either the same shaped end-profiles”.
Regarding claim 9, it appears “width of the plurality” should be “the width of the plurality”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bach et al. (US 9206559).
In regards to claim 1, Bach discloses an interlocking panel, comprising:
A first edge (as seen in fig. 4, right edge of central longitudinal axes 70):
Plurality of tabs, protruding from the first edge (as seen in fig. 4, reference elements 58);
A second edge, wherein the second edge is present on an opposite side of the first edge (as seen in fig. 4, left edge of central longitudinal axes 70); and
Plurality of slots formed along the second edge, wherein the plurality of slots is positioned corresponding to the position of the plurality of tabs and are adapted to receive a complementary plurality of tabs of another adjoining panel when assembled to effect interlocking of panels to form a level joint (as seen in fig. 4, reference element 56).
In regards to claim 2, Bach disclose the claimed invention, wherein the plurality of slots 56 formed along the second edge are narrow openings (as seen in annotated fig. 1), wherein the narrow openings facilitate the complementary plurality of tabs 58 of another panel to pass through them when assembled (as seen in fig. 6).
In regards to claim 7, Bach discloses the claimed invention, wherein end-profiles of the plurality of tabs 58 protruding from the first edge have a trapezium shape (as seen in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 8, Bach discloses the claimed invention, wherein the plurality of tabs 58 protruding from the first edge has the same shaped end-profile (as seen in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 10, Bach discloses the claimed invention, wherein the level joint formed between interlocked panels includes overlapping of at least some portion of one panel with another panel (as seen in fig. 8).
Claims 1, 3 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gautreau et al. (US 10415258).
In regards to claim 1, Gautreau discloses an interlocking panel, comprising
A first edge (as seen in fig. 3):
Plurality of tabs, protruding from the first edge (as seen in fig. 3, reference elements 26);
A second edge, wherein the second edge is present on an opposite side of the first edge (as seen in fig. 3); and
Plurality of slots formed along the second edge (as seen in fig. 3, reference element 27), wherein the plurality of slots 27 are positioned corresponding to the position of the plurality of tabs 26 and are adapted to receive a complementary plurality of tabs 26 of another adjoining panel when assembled to effect interlocking of panels to form a level joint (as seen in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 3, Gautreau discloses the claimed invention, wherein the plurality of tabs 26 protruding from the first edge are flat and have same thickness as the panel (as seen in fig. 3-5).
In regards to claim 4, Gautreau discloses the claimed invention, wherein the plurality of tabs 26 protruding from the first edge are uniformly spaced along the first edge (as seen in fig. 3).
Claim 1, 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blatz (US 5616389).
In regards to claim 1, Blatz discloses an interlocking panel, comprising:
A first edge (as seen in fig. 2, reference element 26):
Plurality of tabs, protruding from the first edge (as seen in fig. 2, reference elements 56 & 60);
A second edge (as seen in fig. 2, reference element 20), wherein the second edge 20 is present on an opposite side of the first edge 26; and
Plurality of slots (as seen in fig. 2, reference elements 32) formed along the second edge 20, wherein the plurality of slots 32 are positioned corresponding to the position of the plurality of tabs 56 & 60 and are adapted to receive a complementary plurality of tabs 56 & 60 of another adjoining panel when assembled to effect interlocking of panels to form a level joint (as seen in fig. 9).
In regards to claim 5, Blatz discloses the claimed invention, wherein the plurality of tabs 56 & 60 are protruding from the first edge 26 have a grouping pattern comprising a repeating sequence of at least two groups of tabs 56 & 60 (as seen in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 6, Blatz discloses the claimed invention, wherein the spacing between the tabs 56 & 60 in each group is equal and the spacing between adjacent groups of tabs 56 & 60 is greater than the distance between the tabs 56 & 60 within each group (as seen in fig. 2).
Claims 1 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ehlers (US 12054905).
In regards to claim 1, Ehlers discloses an interlocking panel, comprising:
A first edge (as seen in fig. 14B):
Plurality of tabs, protruding from the first edge (as seen in fig. 14B, reference elements 106.1);
A second edge, wherein the second edge is present on an opposite side of the first edge (as seen in fig. 14B, reference element 106.2); and
Plurality of slots formed along the second edge, wherein the plurality of slots is positioned corresponding to the position of the plurality of tabs and are adapted to receive a complementary plurality of tabs of another adjoining panel when assembled to effect interlocking of panels to form a level joint (as seen in fig. 14B).
In regards to claim 9, Ehlers discloses the claimed invention, wherein the width of the plurality of tabs 106.1 protruding from the first edge is in the range of 25 mm to 75mm (col 3, lines 49-52).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barlow (US 9631375) discloses of a first edge, plurality of tabs, a second edge with slots that are opposite, narrow to receive the complementary plurality of tabs, The end-profiles are trapezium, and when connected with another panel the tabs include overlapping of some portion.
Dreyer (US 8806831) discloses a first edge, plurality of tabs, a second edge with slots that are opposite of the plurality of tabs.
Sorensen et al. (US 20030208979) discloses a group of tabs and wherein the spacing between the tabs of each group are equal and the distance from adjacent groups of tabs are greater than the distance between the tabs within each group.
/GARRETT CHRISTOPHER PATTERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633