DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15, 18-20, 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wingeier et al. US Publication 2016/0022981 (hereinafter Wingeier).
Regarding claim 14, Wingeier discloses a soft and dry electrode for measuring bioelectric signals of an individual (Figures 1a-b), the electrode made of elastomeric material, has conductive properties (electrode 100, also at 110, [0063] which details conductive silicone rubber), and comprises a central connector portion with attachment means for attaching the electrode to a measuring apparatus and a plurality of flexible contact members (161-162), wherein the electrode has a connector side on a side of the attachment means (Figure 1A, portion closer to 161), and a contact side opposite the connector side and facing the individual when applying the electrode to the individual (Figure 1A, the portion closer to 110); wherein the connector portion further defines a central axis of the electrode arranged centrally through the contact side and the connector side of the electrode (161 is centrally located, Figure 1A); wherein the plurality of contact members is arranged around the central axis and connected with the connector portion (Figure 1A), the plurality of contact members further protrudes on the contact side of the connector portion for contacting an area of interest of the individual for measurement (110, specifically near 111, Figure 1A); wherein each contact member of the plurality of contact members comprises a flexible leg portion and a foot portion at a free end of the flexible leg portion (Figure 3B with the leg portion being closer to 11, and the foot portion being closer to 12); wherein the flexible leg portion has a longitudinal cavity formed by an inner wall curved around a longitudinal axis of the contact member (11 as per Figure 3B), wherein the longitudinal cavity remains open on the connector side and is closed on the contact side by the foot portion (Figure 3B); and wherein the foot portion and the flexible leg portion form a continuous radially inner contact surface (Figure 3B which shows the two portions continuously connected with a same inner contact surface).
Regarding claim 15, Wingeier discloses that the radially inner contact surface is tilted (110 as per Figure 5A which shows the tilted angle), and a tilt angle between the radially inner contact surface and the central axis of the electrode is about 10 to about 45 degrees and opens on the contact side (Figure 5A which shows on the outer contacts a sharper angle due to the overall electrode’s curvature).
Regarding claim 18, Wingeier discloses a thickness of the curved inner wall decreases in a radially outward direction (Figure 3B which shows the thickness decreases in a radial outward direction, however “radially outward” is terribly broad in nature).
Regarding claim 19, Wingeier discloses that the foot portion extends in a radial outward direction over an inner wall of the leg portion (Figure 3B where the foot portion is thicker along the wall than the leg portion and radially outward is simply the center of the wall ).
Regarding claim 20, Wingeier discloses that the leg portion further comprises a curved outer wall forming together with the curved inner wall the longitudinal cavity of the leg portion with an opening towards the connector side of the electrode (Figure 3B, element 11).
Regarding claim 22, Wingeier discloses an outer surface of the inner wall and/or an outer surface of the outer wall translates into the outer surface of the foot portion to form a continuous outer surface of the contact element (Figure 3B where the outer surface of the outer wall translates and becomes the outer surface of the foot portion 12 of the contact element 111’).
Regarding claim 23, Wingeier discloses that each leg portion is connected to adjacent leg portions at an upper end of the leg portion (Figure 1B which shows a portion of each of the legs contacting the leg portions of the adjacent legs on the base of the device 105a).
Regarding claim 24, Wingeier discloses that the attachment means is a knob formed by the connector portion or a rigid connecting insert embedded in the connector portion of the electrode ([0110] which details snap connectors using reversible male/female connectors).
Regarding claim 25, Wingeier discloses that the longitudinal cavity has a semi-oval, semi-elliptic, oval or elliptic cross section (Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 26, Wingeier discloses that the longitudinal cavity is open or closed in a radially outer direction (Figure 3B where the cavity shown at 11 is closed via the walls of 12 at both the leg and foot portions, and is technically designed as an opened cavity in the radial direction towards the connector portion).
Claims 14-17, 19-20, 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connor US Publication 2022/0233124 (hereinafter Connor).
Regarding claim 14, Connor discloses a soft and dry electrode for measuring bioelectric signals of an individual (Figures 1, 13), the electrode made of elastomeric material, has conductive properties ([0111][0118][0119] which details various conductive polymers), and comprises a central connector portion with attachment means for attaching the electrode to a measuring apparatus and a plurality of flexible contact members (Figure 56 at 5601 and [0116]), wherein the electrode has a connector side on a side of the attachment means (Figure 56, 5601 is the connector side), and a contact side opposite the connector side and facing the individual when applying the electrode to the individual (Figure 56 on the side closer to 5605); wherein the connector portion further defines a central axis of the electrode arranged centrally through the contact side and the connector side of the electrode (5601 of Figure 56 includes a central axis); wherein the plurality of contact members is arranged around the central axis and connected with the connector portion (Figure 56, contact members 5602-5603), the plurality of contact members further protrudes on the contact side of the connector portion for contacting an area of interest of the individual for measurement (Figure56, 5602-5603); wherein each contact member of the plurality of contact members comprises a flexible leg portion and a foot portion at a free end of the flexible leg portion (Figure 56 foot portion at 5604 and leg portion at 5602-5603); wherein the flexible leg portion has a longitudinal cavity formed by an inner wall curved around a longitudinal axis of the contact member (Figure 56), wherein the longitudinal cavity remains open on the connector side and is closed on the contact side by the foot portion (Figures 59-62); and wherein the foot portion and the flexible leg portion form a continuous radially inner contact surface (Figures 55-56 where the leg and foot portions have continuity along their sidewalls and are designed to bend and flex along the surface of the skin, see also Figures 59-60).
Regarding claim 15, Connor discloses that the radially inner contact surface is tilted (Figures 55-56 at 5602-5604), and a tilt angle between the radially inner contact surface and the central axis of the electrode is about 10 to about 45 degrees and opens on the contact side (Figures 55-56 which shows such an angle).
Regarding claims 16-17, Connor discloses that the tilt angle of the contact surface starting at a lower end of the leg portion to the lower end of the foot portion continuously increases to about 35 to about 45 degrees [0511] which details the various examples shown in Figures 55-56 can bend and change their tilt angle in the same way the Applicant is claiming, given it is made of elastomeric materials as well and would have been fully capable of bending upon force when in use).
Regarding claim 19, Connor discloses that the foot portion extends in a radial outward direction over an inner wall of the leg portion (Figure 56, which shows the foot portion 5604 extending beyond the inner wall of the leg portion 5603).
Regarding claim 20, Connor discloses that the leg portion further comprises a curved outer wall forming together with the curved inner wall the longitudinal cavity of the leg portion with an opening towards the connector side of the electrode (Figures 56 and 59 shows this design).
Regarding claim 22, Connor discloses an outer surface of the inner wall and/or an outer surface of the outer wall translates into the outer surface of the foot portion to form a continuous outer surface of the contact element (Figure 56, elements 5603, 5604).
Regarding claim 23, Connor discloses that each leg portion is connected to adjacent leg portions at an upper end of the leg portion (Figure 59 at 5902).
Regarding claim 24, Connor discloses that the attachment means is a knob formed by the connector portion or a rigid connecting insert embedded in the connector portion of the electrode ([0116] which details multiple types of electrical connectors).
Regarding claim 25, Connor discloses that the longitudinal cavity has a semi-oval, semi-elliptic, oval or elliptic cross section (Figures 56, 59-60).
Regarding claim 26, Connor discloses that the longitudinal cavity is open or closed in a radially outer direction (Figures 56, 59-60).
Regarding claim 27, Connor discloses that the connector portion and the plurality of contact members are integrally formed as single pieces of elastomeric material, with or without a rigid insert in the connector portion (Figure 59 at connector 5901 and 5902 which are each made of elastomeric conductors as per [0104][0111] and are integrally formed together to operate as disclosed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closet prior art of record (above) does not disclose nor render obvious the varying thickness of the two walls. There is varying thickness between the walls of the foot portion versus the leg portion, but not a different thickness of the inner and outer walls.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M ANTISKAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794