DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0212882 by Barkoczi in view of US 2014/0247540 by Steeves et al. (Steeves hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Barkoczi discloses a high voltage modular power distribution unit (10) [see at least Figure 1, (106)] for electric or hybrid vehicles [see at least column 1, lines 63-66, “an electric vehicle and a hybrid vehicle”], the modular power distribution unit being equipped with two or more base electric modules (1) [see at least Figure 2, multiple (114) or multiple (116)] mechanically connected to each other [see at least Figure 2, (124); column 5, lines 12-27, “daisy-chaining unit fasters or clips 124 may be used, for example, to clip modules 110, 114, 116 and 118 together”], the base electric module (1) comprising: at least one input port (2) [see at least Figure 5, (114D); Figure 8, (116D)] connected to an electric power source [see at least Figure 1, (102) to (106)], at least one output port (3) [see at least Figure 2, (1140) or (1160)] connected to an electric user [see at least Figure 1, (106) to various components], a plurality of electric cables (4) [see at least column 4, lines 57-61, “battery casing 100 may require cabling and structure to enable the circuitry illustrated in example FIG. 1”] and a first plurality of electric connection bus bars (5) [see at least Figure 5, (114B); Figure 8, (116B)], and a base structure (6) [see at least Figure 7 or Figure 10, the bottom (base) is clearly shown], provided with a plurality of mechanical connection elements [see at least Figure 5, (114D) and “s/g”; Figure 8, (116D) and “s/g”; column 5, lines 55-64, “Fixing plates 200 are elongate and have a rectangular cross-section that corresponds to and mates with dove-tailed shaped recess 110D, 114D, 116D and 118D”; column 6, lines 33-40], the modular power distribution unit (10) being characterized by the fact that the two or more base electric modules (1) are electrically connected to each other by means of a second plurality of bus bars (15) [see at least Figure 5, (114C); Figure 8, (116C)], which is different from the first plurality of electric connection bus bars (5) [see at least Figure 5, (114B) and (114C); Figure 8, (116B) and (116C)].
Barkoczi fails to disclose intermodular bus bars. However, Steeves discloses a power distribution device [see at least Abstract] which utilizes intermodular bus bars [see at least Figure 1, (142) and (144)] to electrically connect multiple distribution modules together [see at least Figure 3, (166) and (168)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Barkoczi to utilize the intermodular bus bars, as disclosed by Steeves, in order to eliminate multiple separate connecting points between the modules. Thus, providing the benefit of a more reliable system which is simpler to determine if a failure of module occurs.
Regarding claim 2, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the modular power distribution unit (10) according to claim 1.
Steeves discloses wherein the first plurality of bus bars (5) and the second plurality of intermodular bus bars (15) are made of conductive material [see at least paragraph 0019, “bus bar assembly 102 may be fabricated from any conducting material that facilitates operation of bus bar assembly”], are configured for the transport of high amperage currents [see at least paragraph 0019, “Because DC power is high in amperage, a greater amount of conductor material is required to safely transfer the energy”], have an almost linear development and include rectilinear portions and curvilinear portions so as to achieve a topological development such as to ensure all the necessary electrical connections [see at least Figure 2, (102); the bus assembly utilizes straight and curved sections to ensure connection].
Barkoczi discloses under high voltage [see at least column 4, lines 42-56].
Regarding claim 3, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the modular power distribution unit (10) according to claim 1.
Barkoczi discloses wherein the base structure (6) has a base reticular structure from which connecting brackets depart [see at least Figure 2, (200)].
Regarding claim 5, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the modular power distribution unit (10) according to claim 1, wherein the base electric module (1) comprises, alternatively or in combination, one or more relays (7), one or more fuses (8), one or several current sensors (9), one or more voltage sensors [see at least column 5, lines 37-47].
Regarding claim 6, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the modular power distribution unit (10) according to claim 1.
Steeves discloses comprising a housing (20) provided with a cover (21) [see at least Figure 4, (170), (172), (174), (176), (178)].
Regarding claim 7, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the modular power distribution unit (10) according to claim 6, wherein the cover (21) is provided with one or more service panels (22) [see at least Figure 4, (170), (172), (174), (176), (178); any panel is generically a service panel].
Regarding claim 8, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the modular power distribution unit (10) according to claim 1.
Barkoczi discloses comprising a high voltage interlock circuit [see at least column 2, lines 63-67, “the interlock connections being arranged for interconnection with one another to establish an interlock circuit”].
Regarding claim 9, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches a group (50) [see at least Steeves Figure 6] of modular power distribution units (10) [see at least Steeves Figure 6, (108)], wherein the single modular power distribution unit (10) is made according to claim 1 [see claim 1 above], wherein each modular power distribution unit (10) subsequent to the first is stacked on a modular power distribution unit (10) preceding it [see at least Figure 6, (108) on (108)] and the modular power distribution units of the group (50) is electrically connected by means of a third plurality of inter-unitary bus bars (55) [see at least Figure 6, (142) and (144)].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0212882 by Barkoczi in view of US 2014/0247540 by Steeves et al. (Steeves hereinafter) in further view of US 2020/0262368 by Lunde.
Regarding claim 4, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the modular power distribution unit (10) according to claim 3.
Barkoczi in view of Steeves fails to explicitly teach wherein the base structure (6) is made of plastic material and is obtained by molding or three-dimensional printing. However, Lunde discloses a modular power distribution device [see at least Abstract] where modules are made from injection molded thermoplastic [see at least paragraph 0042, “The housing (499) may be injection molded from a thermoplastic material for relatively low per piece price and high strength in high heat, heavy vibration environments”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Barkoczi in view of Steeves to make the base structures with molded plastic, as disclosed by Lunde, in order to keep manufacturing costs low and providing protection from high heat and vibration. Thus, offering the benefit of inexpensive components and extending the life of components.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0212882 by Barkoczi in view of US 2014/0247540 by Steeves et al. (Steeves hereinafter) in further view of US 2023/0347746 by Umeda et al. (Umeda hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Barkoczi in view of Steeves teaches the group (50) of modular power distribution units (10) according to claim 9.
Steeves discloses wherein the modular power distribution units (10) are two in number [see at least Figure 6, (108)], are stacked together [see at least paragraph 0028], are electrically connected by inter- unitary bus bars (55) [see at least paragraph 0028].
Barkoczi in view of Steeves fails to disclose in which a first power modular distribution unit (10') manages a first voltage level and a second modular power distribution unit (10 ") manages a second voltage level, or both modular distribution units manage the first and second voltage levels. However, Umeda discloses a power distribution device [see Abstract] which can manage output of multiple voltage levels [see at least paragraphs 0034-0035] from a power distribution device [see at least Figure 1, (200)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Barkoczi in view of Steeves to manage the voltage output of a power distribution device, as disclosed by Umeda, in order to allow the power distribution device the multiple voltages required in an electric or hybrid vehicle. Thus, offering the benefit of providing electric and hybrid vehicle voltages within the power distribution device without the need for additional components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rainbow et al. (US 2019/0052081) discloses a modular power distribution assembly with multiple bus bars.
Birner (US 2007/0035914) discloses a modular current distribution for high current with multiple distributors along a main busbar.
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836