DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-18 & 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Becker et al (U.S. Pat. # 6,175,229).
Regarding Independent claim 11, Becker teaches:
A current-measuring facility (Fig. 2 & 4. See abstract and column 3 lines 29-39.) for an electric machine, the current-measuring facility comprising:
a sensor arranged in a region of homogenous magnetic field lines (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 20. Column 2 lines 41-60.);
a first flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 50. Column 3 lines 39-44.);
a second flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 52. Column 3 lines 39-44.);
a first distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 54. Column 3 lines 39-44.) designed to distance the first flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 50. Column 3 lines 39-44.) from the second flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 52. Column 3 lines 39-44.); and
a second distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 56. Column 3 lines 39-44.).
Regarding claim 12, Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches the first flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 50. Column 3 lines 39-44.) includes end regions (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 50 wherein there is a top and bottom.) and the second flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 52. Column 3 lines 39-44.) includes further end regions (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 52 wherein there is a top and bottom of the second element.), with the first flux-conducting element being distanced from the second flux-conducting element in the end regions by the first distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 54 which separates the top ends.), and with the first flux-conducting element being distanced from the second flux-conducting element in the further end regions by the second distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 56 which separates the bottom ends.).
Regarding claim 13, Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches a current conductor surrounded by the first and second flux-conducting elements together with the first and second distancing elements (Fig. 2 & 4 Element 22.).
Regarding claim 14, Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches at least one of the first and second flux-conducting elements and/or at least one of the first and second distancing elements is exchangeable (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 50, 52, 54, & 56 wherein all pairs of elements are identical and interchangeable.).
Regarding claim 15, Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches a connecting element designed to connect one of the first and second distancing elements to the first and second flux-conducting elements (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 54 & 56 wherein these elements are continuous and therefore have a connection based on the structures themselves.).
Regarding claim 16, Becker teaches all elements of claim 15, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches the connecting element includes a non-magnetic material (Column 3 lines 44-55.).
Regarding claim 17, Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches the sensor is arranged in a distancing region (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 20 & 62 which lie in the bridge region of the spacing elements 54 & 56.).
Regarding claim 18, Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches a current conductor (Fig. 2 & 4 Element 22.), said sensor being arranged at a minimum distance from the current conductor (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 20 & 62 wherein the sensors are at a set minimum and maximum distance simultaneously by design.).
Regarding claim 20, , Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches the sensor is received in a recess of the first distancing element (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 20 & 62 wherein the sensors are in grooves designed to hold them in the distancing elements.).
Regarding Independent claim 21, Becker teaches:
A method for measuring a current of an electric machine, the method comprising:
arranging a sensor in a region of homogenous magnetic field lines (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 20. Column 2 lines 41-60.);
distancing a first flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 50. Column 3 lines 39-44.) from a second flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 52. Column 3 lines 39-44.) by a first distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 54. Column 3 lines 39-44.); and
providing a second distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 56. Column 3 lines 39-44.).
Regarding claim 22, Becker teaches all elements of claim 21, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches designing at least one the first and second distancing elements exchangeable for measuring different currents (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 54 & 56 wherein this pair of elements are identical and interchangeable.).
Regarding claim 23, Becker teaches all elements of claim 21, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches the first flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 50. Column 3 lines 39-44.) is distanced from the second flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 52. Column 3 lines 39-44.) in end regions of the first flux-conducting element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 52 wherein there is a top and bottom of the second element.) by the first distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 54 wherein the spacer 54 separates the elements 50 & 52 at the top end regions of 50 & 52.), and wherein the first flux-conducting element is distanced from the second flux-conducting element in further end regions of the second flux-conducting element by the second distancing element (Fig. 1, 2, & 4 Element 56 wherein the spacer 56 separates the elements 50 & 52 at the bottom end regions of 50 & 52.).
Regarding claim 24, Becker teaches all elements of claim 21, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches surrounding a current conductor (Fig. 2 & 4 Element 22.) by the first and second flux-conducting elements together with the first and second distancing elements (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 50, 52, 54, & 56 wherein all of these elements surround the conductor 22.).
Regarding claim 25, Becker teaches all elements of claim 21, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches connecting at least one of the first and second distancing elements to the first and second flux-conducting elements by a connecting element (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 54 & 56 wherein these elements are continuous and therefore have a connection based on the structures themselves.).
Regarding claim 26, Becker teaches all elements of claim 25, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches the connecting element includes a non-magnetic material (Column 3 lines 44-55.).
Regarding claim 27, Becker teaches all elements of claim 21, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches arranging the sensor in a distancing region (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 20 & 62 which lie in the bridge region of the spacing elements 54 & 56.).
Regarding claim 28, Becker teaches all elements of claim 21, upon which this claim depends.
Becker teaches arranging the sensor (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 20 & 62.) at a minimum distance from a current conductor (Fig. 2 & 4 Elements 20 & 62 wherein the sensors are at a set minimum and maximum distance simultaneously by design.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al (U.S. Pat. # 6,175,229).
Regarding claim 19, Becker teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Becker does not explicitly teach at least one of the first and second flux-conducting elements is realized as sheet metal.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have at least one of the first and second flux-conducting elements be realized as sheet metal because sheet metal is cheaper than machined metal and because it could be manufactures more quickly than it could be machined.
Regarding claim 29, Becker teaches all elements of claim 21, upon which this claim depends.
Becker does not explicitly teach realizing at least one of the first and second flux-conducting elements as sheet metal.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to realize at least one of the first and second flux-conducting elements as sheet metal because sheet metal is cheaper than machined metal and because it could be manufactures more quickly than it could be machined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858