DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a cover that has a waterproof property” (as in claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “power supply part for supplying voltage” and “power supply device” in claim 3, “power supply device” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (WO 2021095860 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches an air-blowing device (Fig.1/3-6/8/15/37) comprising:
a blade (30) that generates an air flow (inherent function of an air-blowing device);
a motor (40) that rotates the blade; and
wherein the motor includes an electrical part (470/471) that has a waterproof property (Fig.37; machine translation ¶146; note through hole 41a on motor housing where electrical wiring 470/471 passes through including a waterproof property in silicone resin 660).
Regarding claim 2, Yamada further teaches the electrical part is sealed by resin (Fig.37; machine translation ¶146; note silicone resin 660).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada further teaches a connection cord (Fig.8/37, 70/71) connected to the electrical part (Fig.37, note wiring 70 connects to connector 484 via 72 which connects to 470/471 via 480/485/472) wherein:
the electrical connection cord includes a power supply part for supplying voltage (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a power jack 231 to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Yamada teaches a connector, 50) to the electrical part from a power supply device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a lithium-ion battery to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Yamada teaches a battery device including a lithium ion battery cell, 800), the power supply part being provided at an end (note power supply part 50 connects to power supply device) of the connection cord opposite an end (note 72) connected to the electrical part (Fig.6/15/37), and
in addition to the electrical part, at least part of the connection cord except the power supply part has a waterproof property (Fig.37, note 650 having a waterproof property and covering at least part of 70/71 and 72).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada further teaches an article (Fig.1) equipped with an air-blowing device (Fig.1/3-6/8/15/37), the article comprising:
the air-blowing device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above);
a main body (11) into which air is introduced by the air-blowing device; and
a power supply device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a lithium-ion battery to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Yamada teaches a battery device including a lithium ion battery cell, 800) that supplies voltage to the air-blowing device.
Regarding claim 5, Yamada further teaches a power cable (Fig.6/15, 810) that connects the power supply device to the air-blowing device, wherein a connection part (Fig.6/15, 811) at which the power cable is connected to the air-blowing device (Fig.15; note power cable 810 connected to the air-blowing device via 811/50) is covered by a cover (Fig.15, 130) that has a waterproof property (machine translation ¶64, note “waterproof member 130”).
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745