DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 March, 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a front louver member translatably coupled the portable housing and configured to have a position along a front louver translation path to cover the air outlet", which appears to include minor defects. It is suggested the claim be amended to - - a front louver member translatably coupled to the portable housing and configured to have a position along a front louver translation path to cover the air outlet -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILDERSLEEVE (US 2009/0211291 A1) in view of EISERER (US 2021/0108812 A1).
Regarding claim 1, GILDERSLEEVE discloses a mobile impeller fan blade assembly (110, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par.[0068], ‘an evaporative cooler 110’) comprising:
a portable housing (112, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par. [0069], ‘a cooler housing 112’) with an upper end (126, Fig. 8 – see upper end defined by top panel 126; par. [0077], ‘a top panel 126’), with a lower end opposing the upper end of the housing (Fig. 8 – see lower end with reservoir 114), with a front housing surface defining an air outlet (116, 118, Fig. 8, 10 – see front housing surface with front panel 116 and front air outlet 118; par. [0070], ‘The cooler housing 112 generally includes a front panel 116 and a front exhaust panel 118 positioned along and defining the front surface of the cooler housing 112’), defining an air inlet, with a rear housing surface opposing the front surface (130, 160, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 – see air inlet 130/160 defined in the rear surface of the housing; par. [0074], ‘The cooler housing 112 includes a rear intake panel 130 positioned along the rear surface of the cooler housing 112. The rear intake panel 130 defines an inlet opening 160 positioned for the forward intake of ambient air into the interior of the cooler housing 112, as depicted by the arrows in FIG. 11’), defining and internal upstream air-flow channel (Fig. 11 – see internal upstream air-flow channel defined between media pad 153 and air blower inlet port 184; par. [0081]), and defining an internal downstream air flow channel (187, Fig. 11 - see internal downstream airflow channel 187;par. [0080]);
an evaporative media housed within the portable housing (153, 154, Fig. 11, 12; par. [0082], ‘The media pad housing 154, which includes the media pad 153 contained therewith, is releasably mounted to the interior side of the rear intake panel 130 by fasteners or other fastening means’), interposed between the air inlet and the internal upstream air-flow channel (Fig. 11, 12 - see how the evaporative media 153/154 is interposed between the air inlet 130/160 and the internal upstream air-flow channel), and of a porous material configured to retain a liquid substance therein (153, Fig. 11, 12, see how the media 153 is of a porous material configured to retain water therein; par. 0048], ‘each media pad housing 52 and 54 includes an inlet channel 57 for channeling water onto a top surface of a respective media pad 51 and 53. The media pads 51 and 53 may be provided in the form of a sponge, layered expanded paper, layered corrugated paper (rigid media blocks), polyester (woven and/or non-woven), or aspen wood shavings, for example’; par. [0083], ‘the evaporative cooler 110 includes a water distribution system configured for continuously wedding the media pad 153’);
an impeller fan motor assembly retained within the portable housing (150, Fig. 11, 12 – see impeller fan motor assembly 150 retained within the portable housing 112; par. [0079], 'the evaporative cooler 110 includes an air blower 150'), defining an inlet aperture (184, Fig. 11, 12; par. [0080], ‘The air blower 150 defines one inlet port 184 for receiving air’), with a motor electrically couplable to a power source and operably coupled to a plurality of fan blades about an axis of rotation (188, Fig. 11, 12 – see motor 188 inherently capable of being electrically coupled to a power source for powering the motor, and operably coupled to a plurality of radial fan blades interposed between the internal upstream air-flow channel and the internal upstream air-flow channel and the internal downstream channel 187, and configured to rotate about an axis of rotation; par. [0080], ‘the air blower 150 includes a motorized impeller 188, or other means, for drawing air through the air channel 187’) (Note: intended use. The motor is capable of electrically coupling to a power source), and defining a centrifugally configured outlet aperture relative to an axis of rotation and interposed between the internal downstream channel and the plurality of fan blades (Fig. 11, 12 – see centrifugally configured outlet aperture defined above the fan blades and below the internal downstream channel 187; par. [0080]); the impeller fan motor assembly operably configured to induce an airflow sequentially into the portable housing through the air inlet, through the evaporative media, through the internal upstream air-flow channel, through the inlet apertures, through the centrifugally configured outlet aperture, through the internal downstream channel, and through the air outlet (Fig. 11, 12 – see how the impeller fan motor assembly 150 is configured to induce an airflow sequentially into the housing 112, through the air inlet, 130/160, through the evaporative media 153, through the internal upstream air-flow channel and through the inlet aperture, 184, through the centrifugal configured outlet aperture and into the internal downstream channel 187, and through the outlet 118; par. [0079]; par. [0080]; par. [0081]); and a front louvre member (123 and/or 119, Fig. 8, 9; par. [0072], ‘An exhaust grille 122 is positioned over the front exhaust panel 118. Additionally, the grill 122 may be integrated with the front exhaust panel 118, or they may be separate components. The exhaust grill 122 optionally includes a series of fixed louvers 123 defined along its height dimension. The louvers 123 can also be manually adjustable upward or downward in unison to change the expelled direction of the air.’; par. [0073], 'A series of vertically oriented, tiltable louvers 119 are mounted to the interior side of the fixed louvers 123. A louver oscillation bracket 129 interfaces with one or more of the tiltable louvers 119 for adjustably tilting the louvers 119 in a side-to-side direction.') translatably coupled (par. [0072], ‘The louvers 123 can also be manually adjustable upward or downward in unison to change the expelled direction of the air.’; par. [0073], 'A louver oscillation bracket 129 interfaces with one or more of the tiltable louvers 119 for adjustably tilting the louvers 119 in a side-to-side direction.') the portable housing (Fig. 8, 9, and 12) and configured to have a position along a front louvre translation path (par. [0072] and [0073] - see how the louvers are positioned at a position along the direction of which the respective louvers move, either upwards and downwards or left and right) to cover the air outlet (par. [0072] and [0073] - see how the louvers cover the air outlet 116,118 based on the tilted position upon actuation either upwards and downwards or left and right, such that the flow path must move around the position of the respective louvers covering particular flow paths of the air outlet.).
However, GILDERSLEEVE does not specifically teach a duct of a flexible material, defining at least one duct aperture, and operably configured to selectively removably couple to the portable housing to cover air outlet, the impeller fan motor assembly operably configured to induce an airflow sequentially into the portable housing through the air inlet, through the evaporative media, through the internal upstream air flow channel, through the inlet aperture, through the centrifugally configured outlet aperture, through the internal downstream channel, and through the air outlet into the duct for discharging through the at least one duct aperture.
However, EISERER teaches a mobile fan blade assembly (Fig. 4, 8) comprising: a portable housing (410, Fig. 4; par. [0030], ‘a housing or enclosure 410’) with an upper end, with a lower end opposing the upper end of the housing (Fig. 4 – see upper and lower ends), with a front housing surface defining an air outlet (414, Fig. 4 - see right front housing surface defining an air outlet 414; par. [0032], defining an air inlet, with a rear housing surface opposing the front surface (413, Fig. 4 - see air inlet 413 defined on the rear housing surface; par. [0032]), defining an internal upstream air-flow channel (Fig. 4 - see internal upstream air-flow channel disposed between the fan 420 and evaporative media 430), and defining an internal downstream air flow channel (Fig. 4 - see internal downstream air flow channel disposed between the evaporative media 430 and outlet 414); an evaporative media housed within the portable housing and of a porous material configured to retain a liquid substance therein (430, Fig. 4; par. [0032], ‘The embodiment of FIG. 4 includes multiple evaporative cooling media 430. These media may, for example, be fibrous pads or other suitable media’); a fan motor assembly retained within the portable housing (420, Fig. 4; par. [0030], ‘a fan 420’), with a motor electrically coupled to a power source (Fig. 4, 8; par. [0026], ‘For example, in the embodiment above, the fan is driven by an electric motor. The fan’s motor may be powered by a battery, a generator, or any other means'); and a duct of a flexible material, defining at least one duct aperture, and operably configured to selectively removably couple to the portable housing to cover air outlet (820, Fig. 4, 8 – see duct 820 of flexible material defining at least one duct aperture 830 and operatively configured to selectively removably couple to the housing to cover air outlet 414; par. [0044], ‘the system’s housing 810 is connected to inflatable duct 820 that unrolls when the system is used and can be rolled up and stored with the evaporative cooling system when not in use. The ducting can be made of a lightweight fabric that takes up very little space when it is rolled up, potentially allowing the ducting to be stored with the evaporative cooling system. The ducting has several outlets 830 along its length that allow the cooled air to be distributed through the duct to a desired area'), the fan motor assembly operably configured to induce an airflow sequentially into the portable housing through the air inlet, through the evaporative media, through the internal downstream channel, and through the air outlet into the duct for discharge through the at least one duct aperture (Fig. 4, 8; par. [0030]; par. [0032]; par. [0026]; par. [0044]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the selectively attachable duct of flexible material as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 2, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 1, and EISERER further teaches wherein the duct further comprises: a first terminal end, a second terminal end opposing the first terminal end, a duct length separating the first and second terminal ends of the duct, and a plurality of duct apertures spaced apart from one another along the duct length through which the airflow discharged (820,830, Fig. 4, 8 – see how the duct 820 comprises a first terminal end connected to air outlet, 414, a second terminal end at the opposite end, and a duct length separating the first and second thermal ends, and a plurality of duct apertures 830 spaced apart from one another along the length through which airflow is discharged; par. [0044], 'The ducting has several outlets 830 along its length that allow the cooled air to be distributed through the duct to a desired area.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the duct, as claimed, as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 3, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 2, and EISERER further teaches wherein the plurality of duct apertures are uniformly and continuously spaced apart from one another along the duct length (830, Fig. 4, 8 – see how the duct apertures 830 are shown to be uniformly and continuously spaced apart from one another along the length; par. [0044]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the duct, as claimed, as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 4, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 1, and EISERER further teaches wherein the duct is operably configured to selectively removably couple to the portable housing in a hermetically sealed configuration (Fig. 4, 8 – see how the duct 820 is operably configured to selectively removably couple to the housing via the outlet 414, and is capable of connecting in a hermetically sealed configuration; par. [0044])(Note: intended use).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the duct, as claimed, as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 7, GILDERSLEEVE, in view EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 1, and GILDERSLEEVE further teaches wherein the evaporative media is disposed proximal to the air inlet (153, 154, Fig. 11, 12 – see media 153 disposed proximal to the air inlet 130/160; par. [0082], ‘The media pad housing 154, which includes the media pad 153 contained therewith, is releasably mounted to the interior side of the rear intake panel 130 by fasteners or other fastening means’).
Regarding claim 8, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 1, and EISERER further teaches wherein the portable housing further comprises: an annular port defining and enclosing the air outlet, wherein the duct is operably configured to selectively removably couple to the annular port in a hermetically sealed configuration (414, Fig. 4, 8 see annular port 414 defining and enclosing the air outlet, and see how the duct 820 is operably configured to selectively removably couple to the housing via the annular port, 414, and is capable of connecting in a hermetically sealed configuration; par. [0044])(Note: intended use).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the duct, as claimed, as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 10, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 1, and GILDERSLEEVE further teaches the assembly further comprising: a liquid tank defined by the portable housing and configured to house a liquid therein (114, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par. [0069], ‘A reservoir 114 configured to contain water is mounted beneath the cooler housing 112 to one or more of the panels of the cooler housing 112’); and a pump operably configure to pump the liquid from the liquid tank onto the evaporative media (162, Fig. 11, 12; par. [0083], ‘the evaporative cooler 110 includes a water distribution system configured for continuously wetting the media pad 153. More particularly, the water distribution system generally includes a submersible water pump 162, a hollow conduit, 163, and two nozzles 180 disposed at the end of the conduit 163. The water pump 162 is mounted to the floor of the reservoir 114. The water pump 162 is configured to deliver water from the reservoir 14 and into the conduit 163. The water is expelled onto the top surface of the media pad 153 through two nozzles 180 provided at the end of the conduit 163’).
Claim(s) 5 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILDERSLEEVE (US 2009/0211291 A1) in view of EISERER (US 2021/0108812 A1) and CARRIER (US 2019/0234418).
Regarding claim 5, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of fan blades are each of a backward curved configuration.
However, CARRIER teaches an impeller fan blade assembly (52, Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5; par. [0040], ‘a blower assembly 52’) comprising: and impeller fan motor assembly (52, Fig. 1, 2,3 ,4 ,5; par. [0040]) defining an inlet aperture (Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - see inlet aperture defined on either side of the assembly 52), a plurality of fan blades (62, Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - see fan blades defined by fan wheel 62; par. [0043], ‘The fan wheel 62 is typically formed as an assembly of three primary components: a first wheel portion 100, a second wheel portion 102, and a support ring 104 located centrally between the first wheel portion 100 and the second wheel portion 102. When the fan wheel 62 is incorporated into a blower assembly 52 of a furnace system, such as system 20 of FIG.1, both the first wheel portion 100 and the second wheel portion 102 are configured to provide air to an adjacent component and are associated with a single plenum. The first wheel portion 100 includes a shroud 106 and a first plurality of impeller blades 108 spaced about a periphery of the shroud 106 and connected thereto at a first end 110. The second wheel portion 96 similarly includes a shroud 112 and a second plurality of impeller blades 114 arranged about a periphery of the shroud 112 and connected thereto at a first end 116’) and a centrifugally configured outlet aperture (72; Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - see centrifugally configured outlet aperture 72; par. [0042], ‘outlet opening 72’); and further teaches wherein the plurality of fan blades are each of a backward curved configuration (Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5; par. [0043], ‘one or both of the first plurality and the second plurality of impeller blades 108, 114 are configured as backward curved impeller blades’; par. [0053], ‘The fan wheel 62 as illustrated and described herein has an improve efficiency compared to conventional fan wheels 62. As a result, a motor having a decreased horsepower can be used to satisfy regulatory furnace efficiency requirements’).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art to have modified GILDERSLEEVE's impeller fan blade assembly by employing the backward curved configuration as taught by CARRIER, in order to have allowed for a more efficient and powerful fan blade configuration capable of producing greater air flow with decreased power.
Regarding claim 12, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of CARRIER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 11, but does not specifically teach a duct of a flexible material, defining at least one duct aperture, and operably configured to selectively removably couple to the portable housing to cover air outlet, the impeller fan motor assembly operably configured to induce the airflow through the air outlet into the duct for discharge through the at least one duct aperture.
However, EISERER teaches a mobile fan blade assembly (Fig. 4, 8) comprising: a portable housing (410, Fig. 4; par. [0030], ‘a housing or enclosure 410’) with an upper end, with a lower end opposing the upper end of the housing (Fig. 4 – see upper and lower ends), with a front housing surface defining an air outlet (414, Fig. 4 - see right front housing surface defining an air outlet 414; par. [0032]), defining an air inlet, with a rear housing surface opposing the front surface (413, Fig. 4 - see air inlet 413 defined on the rear housing surface; par. [0032]), defining an internal upstream air-flow channel (Fig. 4 - see internal upstream air-flow channel disposed between the fan 420 and evaporative media 430), and defining an internal downstream air flow channel (Fig. 4 - see internal downstream air flow channel disposed between the evaporative media 430 and outlet 414); an evaporative media housed within the portable housing and of a porous material configured to retain a liquid substance therein (430, Fig. 4; par. [0032], ‘The embodiment of FIG. 4 includes multiple evaporative cooling media 430. These media may, for example, be fibrous pads or other suitable media’); a fan motor assembly retained within the portable housing (420, Fig. 4; par. [0030], ‘a fan 420’), with a motor electrically coupled to a power source (Fig. 4, 8; par. [0026], ‘For example, in the embodiment above, the fan is driven by an electric motor. The fan’s motor may be powered by a battery, a generator, or any other means'); and a duct of a flexible material, defining at least one duct aperture, and operably configured to selectively removably couple to the portable housing to cover air outlet (820, Fig. 4, 8 – see duct 820 of flexible material defining at least one duct aperture 830 and operatively configured to selectively removably couple to the housing to cover air outlet 414; par. [0044], ‘the system’s housing 810 is connected to inflatable duct 820 that unrolls when the system is used and can be rolled up and stored with the evaporative cooling system when not in use. The ducting can be made of a lightweight fabric that takes up very little space when it is rolled up, potentially allowing the ducting to be stored with the evaporative cooling system. The ducting has several outlets 830 along its length that allow the cooled air to be distributed through the duct to a desired area'), the fan motor assembly operably configured to induce an airflow sequentially into the portable housing through the air inlet, through the evaporative media, through the internal downstream channel, and through the air outlet into the duct for discharge through the at least one duct aperture (Fig. 4, 8; par. [0030]; par. [0032]; par. [0026]; par. [0044]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the selectively attachable duct of flexible material as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 13, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of CARRIER and EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 12, and EISERER further teaches wherein the duct further comprises: a first terminal end, a second terminal end opposing the first terminal end, a duct length separating the first and second terminal ends of the duct, and a plurality of duct apertures spaced apart from one another along the duct length through which the airflow discharged (820,830, Fig. 4, 8 – see how the duct 820 comprises a first terminal end connected to air outlet, 414, a second terminal end at the opposite end, and a duct length separating the first and second thermal ends, and a plurality of duct apertures 830 spaced apart from one another along the length through which airflow is discharged; par. [0044], 'The ducting has several outlets 830 along its length that allow the cooled air to be distributed through the duct to a desired area.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the duct, as claimed, as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 14, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of CARRIER and EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 13, and EISERER further teaches wherein the plurality of duct apertures are uniformly and continuously spaced apart from one another along the duct length (830, Fig. 4, 8 – see how the duct apertures 830 are shown to be uniformly and continuously spaced apart from one another along the length; par. [0044]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the duct, as claimed, as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Regarding claim 15, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of CARRIER and EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 12, and EISERER further teaches wherein the duct is operably configured to selectively removably couple to the portable housing in a hermetically sealed configuration (Fig. 4, 8 – see how the duct 820 is operably configured to selectively removably couple to the housing via the outlet 414, and is capable of connecting in a hermetically sealed configuration; par. [0044])(Note: intended use).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the air outlet of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the duct, as claimed, as taught by EISERER, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient evaporative cooler capable of cooling remote spaces.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILDERSLEEVE (US 2009/0211291 A1) in view of EISERER (US 2021/0108812 A1) and TAKEUCHI (US 5,117,652 A).
Regarding claim 9, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 1, and GILDERSLEEVE further discloses the assembly further comprising: an electronic controller communicatively coupled to the motor (Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par. [0078], ‘An ornamentally designed control panel 124, similar in function to control panel 24 of FIG. 1, is configured for controlling the operation of the evaporative cooler 110 and is optionally positioned along the front surface of the cooler housing 112’), operably configured to selectively control the rotation of the plurality of fan blades about the axis of rotation (Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par. [0078]; par. [0034], ‘the control panel 24 may include one or more of the following provisions for controlling and/or observing the operation of the evaporative cooler 10: exhaust air temperature selection knob, exhaust air velocity selection knob, a timer, a thermostat, a digital display, and/or an analog display. The control panel 24 may incorporate knobs, levers, buttons, or any is other mechanisms for adjustably controlling the operation of the cooler 10’), but does not specifically teach the controller operably configured to generate a plurality of fan mode operations that includes an off mode without any fan rotation, an on mode with a fan rotation generating an airflow velocity, and an auto-dry mode with a fan rotation generating an airflow velocity less than the airflow velocity when in the on mode.
However, TAKEUCHI teaches an impeller fan blade assembly (Fig. 1, 25, 26; col. 4, lines 46-60) comprising: an impeller fan motor assembly with a motor operatively coupled to a plurality of fan blades (39, 40, Fig. 1; col. 4, line 61 to col. 5, line 2, ‘A motor 39 which has rotating shafts 39a and 39b projecting outside from its top and bottom is held, passing through the partition wall 32. These shafts 39a and 39b are directed vertical and a first fan 40 is attached to the rotating shaft 39a which is projected upward from the top of the motor 39. The first fan 40 is provided with upper and lower sucking openings 41a and 41b at the top and bottom thereof and it is enclosed by a casing 43 which has a blower opening 42 communicated with the cooled air blowing grille 36’); and further teaches an electronic controller communicatively coupled to the motor, operably configured to selectively control the rotation of the plurality of fan blades about the axis of rotation, and operably configured to generate a plurality of fan mode operations that includes an off mode without any fan rotation, an on mode with a fan rotation generating an airflow velocity, and an auto-dry mode with a fan rotation generating an airflow velocity less than the airflow velocity when in the on mode (80, Fig. 1, 25, 26 - see controller 80 coupled to the motor and operably configured to control the rotation of the blades 40, said controller operably configured to generate a plurality of fan mode operations that include an off mode, an on mode with a fan rotation generative airflow velocity, and an auto-dry mode with a fan rotation generating an airflow velocity less than the velocity in the on mode; col. 9, lines 42-64, ‘As shown in Fig. 25, an operation panel 80 is arranged on a part of the front side of the body 30. Switches 81 are arranged on the upper portion of the operation panel 80 and lamps 82 and a power switch 83 are arranged on the lower portion thereof. Fan, dry or cool can be selected by an operation mode switch 84 of the switches 81. High, low or automatic can be selected by a changeover switch 85 to adjust the amount of air blown by the first fan 40. “Continued”, “switched on after the lapse of a set time” or “switched off after the lapse of a set time” can be selected by a timer switch 86’).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the controller of GILDERSLEEVE's assembly by employing the control arrangement as taught by TAKEUCHI, in order to have allowed for a more efficient and controllable mobile air conditioning unit capable of being operated in a plurality of different cooling modes.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILDERSLEEVE (US 2009/0211291 A1) in view of CARRIER (US 2019/0234418).
Regarding claim 11, GILDERSLEEVE discloses a mobile impeller fan blade assembly (110, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par.[0068], ‘an evaporative cooler 110’) comprising:
a portable housing (112, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par. [0069], ‘a cooler housing 112’) with an upper end (126, Fig. 8 – see upper end defined by top panel 126; par. [0077], ‘a top panel 126’), with a lower end opposing the upper end of the housing (Fig. 8 – see lower end with reservoir 114), with a front housing surface defining an air outlet (116, 118, Fig. 8, 10 – see front housing surface with front panel 116 and front air outlet 118; par. [0070], ‘The cooler housing 112 generally includes a front panel 116 and a front exhaust panel 118 positioned along and defining the front surface of the cooler housing 112’), defining an air inlet, with a rear housing surface opposing the front surface (127, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 – see air inlet opening of 127, defined in the middle thereof in the rear surface of the housing; structure of 127, in view of the supply of air entering therein; depicted by the arrows in FIG. 11), defining and internal upstream air-flow channel (Fig. 11 – see internal upstream air-flow channel defined between media pad 153 and air blower inlet port 184; par. [0081]), and defining an internal downstream air flow channel (187, Fig. 11 - see internal downstream airflow channel 187;par. [0080]); defining a liquid tank configured to house a liquid therein (114, Fig. 8, 9, 10, 11, 12; par. [0069], ‘A reservoir 114 configured to contain water is mounted beneath the cooler housing 112 to one or more of the panels of the cooler housing 112’); and having a pump disposed within the liquid tank(162, Fig. 11, 12; par. [0083], ‘the evaporative cooler 110 includes a water distribution system configured for continuously wetting the media pad 153. More particularly, the water distribution system generally includes a submersible water pump 162, a hollow conduit, 163, and two nozzles 180 disposed at the end of the conduit 163. The water pump 162 is mounted to the floor of the reservoir 114. The water pump 162 is configured to deliver water from the reservoir 14 and into the conduit 163. The water is expelled onto the top surface of the media pad 153 through two nozzles 180 provided at the end of the conduit 163’);
an evaporative media housed within the portable housing (153, 154, Fig. 11, 12; par. [0082], ‘The media pad housing 154, which includes the media pad 153 contained therewith, is releasably mounted to the interior side of the rear intake panel 130 by fasteners or other fastening means’), interposed between the air inlet and the internal upstream air-flow channel (Fig. 11, 12 - see how the evaporative media 153/154 is interposed between the air inlet 127 and the internal upstream air-flow channel), and of a porous material configured to retain a liquid substance therein (153, Fig. 11, 12, see how the media 153 is of a porous material configured to retain water therein; par. 0048], ‘each media pad housing 52 and 54 includes an inlet channel 57 for channeling water onto a top surface of a respective media pad 51 and 53. The media pads 51 and 53 may be provided in the form of a sponge, layered expanded paper, layered corrugated paper (rigid media blocks), polyester (woven and/or non-woven), or aspen wood shavings, for example’; par. [0083], ‘the evaporative cooler 110 includes a water distribution system configured for continuously wedding the media pad 153’), wherein the pump is operably configure to pump the liquid from the liquid tank onto the evaporative media (162, Fig. 11, 12; par. [0083], ‘the evaporative cooler 110 includes a water distribution system configured for continuously wetting the media pad 153. More particularly, the water distribution system generally includes a submersible water pump 162, a hollow conduit, 163, and two nozzles 180 disposed at the end of the conduit 163. The water pump 162 is mounted to the floor of the reservoir 114. The water pump 162 is configured to deliver water from the reservoir 14 and into the conduit 163. The water is expelled onto the top surface of the media pad 153 through two nozzles 180 provided at the end of the conduit 163’);
a removable inlet guard defining the rear housing surface (127; par. [0077], ‘An intermediate panel 127 is positioned along the rear surface of the cooler housing 112 and coupled to both side panels 128, the rear panel 130, the top panel 126, and the reservoir 114'; par. [0038], ’The intermediate panel 27 is mounted to the top panel 26, the reservoir 14 and the side panels 26. The rear intake panel 30 is releasably mounted to the intermediate panel 27 and the reservoir 14. Any of the foregoing components may be releasably mounted by fasteners, or any other means for fastening known in the art. By way of non-limiting example, means for fastening may include fasteners (e.g., screws, bolts, staples), adhesive, clips, clamps, welds, pins, posts, and so forth. Alignment tabs and/or slots for receiving the alignment tabs may be positioned on any of the foregoing components to facilitate assembly of the cooler housing 12. ');
an air filter (130/160; par. [0074], ‘As an alternative to louvers, and although not shown, the rear intake panel 130 may incorporate a mesh or wire material having small apertures sized for the passage of air.’) selectively removably retained (par. [0033], ‘ The rear intake panel 30 is fastened to the intermediate panel 27 by releasable mechanical fasteners (not shown) or by other fastening mechanisms’ ;par. [0038], ’The intermediate panel 27 is mounted to the top panel 26, the reservoir 14 and the side panels 26. The rear intake panel 30 is releasably mounted to the intermediate panel 27 and the reservoir 14. Any of the foregoing components may be releasably mounted by fasteners, or any other means for fastening known in the art. By way of non-limiting example, means for fastening may include fasteners (e.g., screws, bolts, staples), adhesive, clips, clamps, welds, pins, posts, and so forth. Alignment tabs and/or slots for receiving the alignment tabs may be positioned on any of the foregoing components to facilitate assembly of the cooler housing 12. ') by the portable housing and interposed between the removable inlet guard and the evaporative media (Fig. 11 - see wherein the filter, 130/160, is positioned between the removable inlet guard, 127, and the evaporative media, 153);
an impeller fan motor assembly retained within the portable housing (150, Fig. 11, 12 – see impeller fan motor assembly 150 retained within the portable housing 112; par. [0079], 'the evaporative cooler 110 includes an air blower 150'), defining an inlet aperture (184, Fig. 11, 12; par. [0080], ‘The air blower 150 defines one inlet port 184 for receiving air’), with a motor electrically couplable to a power source and operably coupled to a plurality of fan blades interposed between the internal upstream air-flow channel and the internal downstream channel and operably configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (188, Fig. 11, 12 – see motor 188 inherently capable of being electrically coupled to a power source for powering the motor, and operably coupled to a plurality of radial fan blades interposed between the internal upstream air-flow channel and the internal downstream channel 187, and configured to rotate about an axis of rotation; par. [0080], ‘the air blower 150 includes a motorized impeller 188, or other means, for drawing air through the air channel 187’) (Note: intended use. The motor is capable of electrically coupling to a power source), and defining a centrifugally configured outlet aperture relative to an axis of rotation and interposed between the internal downstream channel and the plurality of fan blades (Fig. 11, 12 – see centrifugally configured outlet aperture defined above the fan blades and below the internal downstream channel 187; par. [0080]) and operably configured to induce an airflow sequentially into the portable housing through the air inlet, through the evaporative media, through the internal upstream air-flow channel, through the inlet apertures, through the centrifugally configured outlet aperture, through the internal downstream channel, and through the air outlet (Fig. 11, 12 – see how the impeller fan motor assembly 150 is configured to induce an airflow sequentially into the housing 112, through the air inlet, 127, through the evaporative media 153, through the internal upstream air-flow channel and through the inlet aperture, 184, through the centrifugal configured outlet aperture and into the internal downstream channel 187, and through the outlet 118; par. [0079]; par. [0080]; par. [0081]).
However, GILDERSLEEVE does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of fan blades are each of a backward curved configuration.
However, CARRIER teaches an impeller fan blade assembly (52, Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5; par. [0040], ‘a blower assembly 52’) comprising: and impeller fan motor assembly (52, Fig. 1, 2,3 ,4 ,5; par. [0040]) defining an inlet aperture (Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - see inlet aperture defined on either side of the assembly 52), a plurality of fan blades (62, Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - see fan blades defined by fan wheel 62; par. [0043], ‘The fan wheel 62 is typically formed as an assembly of three primary components: a first wheel portion 100, a second wheel portion 102, and a support ring 104 located centrally between the first wheel portion 100 and the second wheel portion 102. When the fan wheel 62 is incorporated into a blower assembly 52 of a furnace system, such as system 20 of FIG.1, both the first wheel portion 100 and the second wheel portion 102 are configured to provide air to an adjacent component and are associated with a single plenum. The first wheel portion 100 includes a shroud 106 and a first plurality of impeller blades 108 spaced about a periphery of the shroud 106 and connected thereto at a first end 110. The second wheel portion 96 similarly includes a shroud 112 and a second plurality of impeller blades 114 arranged about a periphery of the shroud 112 and connected thereto at a first end 116’) and a centrifugally configured outlet aperture (72; Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - see centrifugally configured outlet aperture 72; par. [0042], ‘outlet opening 72’); and further teaches wherein the plurality of fan blades are each of a backward curved configuration (Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5; par. [0043], ‘one or both of the first plurality and the second plurality of impeller blades 108, 114 are configured as backward curved impeller blades’; par. [0053], ‘The fan wheel 62 as illustrated and described herein has an improve efficiency compared to conventional fan wheels 62. As a result, a motor having a decreased horsepower can be used to satisfy regulatory furnace efficiency requirements’).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art to have modified GILDERSLEEVE's impeller fan blade assembly by employing the backward curved configuration as taught by CARRIER, in order to have allowed for a more efficient and powerful fan blade configuration capable of producing greater air flow with decreased power.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILDERSLEEVE (US 2009/0211291 A1) in view of CARRIER (US 2019/0234418), EISERER (US 2021/0108812 A1), and JANG (KR 10-2005-0049041 A).
Regarding claim 16, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of CARRIER and EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 12, but does not specifically disclose wherein the portable housing defines apertures spanning laterally through the housing, interposed between the front housing surface and the rear housing surface, and shaped and sized to receive forklift forks therethrough.
JANG teaches a portable housing (Fig. 1 and 4; pg. 7, lines 274-275; pg. 12, lines 499-500) defining apertures (52'/410; pg. 7, lines 270-275; pg. 12,lines 497-504) spanning laterally through the housing (Fig. 1 and 5;pg. 7, lines 270-275; pg. 12,lines 497-504), interposed between the front housing surface and the rear housing surface (Fig. 1, 4, and 5) and shaped and sized to receive forklift forks therethrough(pg. 7, lines 270-275; pg. 12,lines 497-504).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the assembly of GILDERSLEEVE's by employing the apertures, as claimed, as taught by JANG, in order to allow for easy lifting of the portable housing.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GILDERSLEEVE (US 2009/0211291 A1) in view of CARRIER (US 2019/0234418), EISERER (US 2021/0108812 A1), and GOETTL (US 4,333,887).
Regarding claim 17, GILDERSLEEVE, in view of CARRIER and EISERER, discloses the mobile impeller fan blade assembly according to claim 12, but does not specifically teach a particle filter disposed between the evaporative media and the liquid tank and operably configured to filter liquid from the evaporative media to the liquid tank.
GOETTL teaches a impeller fan blade assembly (10; col. 6, lines 45-48) with a housing (cooler's cabinet; col. 6, line 55) that comprises a particle filter (90; col.9, lines 50-61) disposed between the evaporative media (15; col. 6, lines 53-62, ‘cooler pads 15’) and the liquid tank (20;pg. 6, lines 63-68; col. 7, lines 1-11 and 38-41) and operably configured to filter liquid from the evaporative media to the liquid tank (col. 9, lines 50-61) (Note: intended use).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the assembly of GILDERSLEEVE's by employing the particular filter, as claimed, as taught by GOETTL, in order to allow for removal of large foreign objects, such as dislodged wood shavings from the excelsior pad, from passing into the drain valve and/or the pump and clogging or otherwise interfering with the operation thereof.
Conclusion
/JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 9/18/2026
JENNA M. MARONEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3763