DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on 6/24/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s). Examiner fully addresses below any arguments that were not rendered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungah Choi et al. [US 20240357111 A1: already of record] in view of Moonmo Koo et al. [US 20210281881 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
1. (Currently Amended) A method for reconstructing a current block, performed by a video decoding device (i.e. FIG. 3 is a view schematically illustrating an image decoding apparatus, to which an embodiment of the present disclosure is applicable- ¶0098), the method comprising:
acquiring transform coefficients for a transform block of the current block from a bitstream (i.e. The information on the prediction may be encoded in the entropy encoder 190 and output in the form of a bitstream- ¶0083… The dequantizer 220 may dequantize the quantized transform coefficients and output the transform coefficients. The dequantizer 220 may rearrange the quantized transform coefficients in the form of a two-dimensional block- ¶0104… The decoding apparatus may acquire and decode information on the quantized transform coefficients (residual information) from the bitstream to derive quantized transform coefficients- ¶0114);
determining whether to apply a non-separable primary transform (NSPT) to the transform block of the current block (i.e. a bitstream generated by an image encoding apparatus or an image encoding method of the present disclosure may be transmitted- ¶0019… a predetermined first flag (e.g., nspt_flag) may be signaled to indicate whether non-separable primary transform is applied- ¶0192); and
in response to determining that the NSPT is to be applied to the transform block (i.e. For example, non-separable primary transform may not be included in the MTS candidate but may be used as an independent transform candidate. In this case, a predetermined first flag (e.g., nspt_flag) may be signaled to indicate whether non-separable primary transform is applied- ¶0192) determining a NSPT kernel (i.e. Transform/inverse transform may be performed based on transform kernel(s). For example, according to the present disclosure, a multiple transform selection (MTS) scheme is applicable. In this case, some of a plurality of transform kernel sets may be selected and applied to a current block. A transform kernel may be referred to as various terms such as a transform matrix or a transform type. For example, the transform kernel set may indicate a combination of a vertical-direction transform kernel (vertical transform kernel) and a horizontal-direction transform kernel (horizontal transform kernel)- ¶0116… Non-separable primary transform may be performed, for example, with a 4×4 block as input as follows. An example of a 4×4 input block X is as shown in Equation 3- ¶0193) based on and a size of the transform block (i.e. width/height of an input block, the number of pixels of the input block- ¶0276), an intra prediction mode of the current block (i.e. a prediction mode (e.g., intra prediction mode, inter prediction mode, etc.)- ¶0276… the non-separable primary transform set and/or kernel may be variously configured based on at least one of a prediction mode (e.g., intra prediction mode, inter prediction mode, etc.), a width/height of an input block, the number of pixels of the input block, the location of a subblock in the input block, an explicitly signaled syntax element, statistical characteristics of neighboring pixels, whether secondary transform is applied, or a quantization parameter (QP)- ¶0276); and
performing a primary inverse transform by applying the NSPT kernel to the transform coefficients for the transform block(i.e. The inverse transformer 230 may inversely transform the transform coefficients to obtain a residual signal (residual block, residual sample array)- ¶0105… FIG. 13 is a view illustrating a transform and inverse transform process according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In FIG. 13, a transform unit 1310 may correspond to the transform unit 120 of FIG. 2, and an inverse transform unit 1320 may correspond to the inverse transform unit 150 of FIG. 2 or the inverse transform unit 230 of FIG. 3.- ¶0182… Here, F represents a transform coefficient vector, T represents a 16×16 non-separable transform matrix, and an operator • means multiplication of the matrix and the vector- ¶0196).
However, Jungah does not teach explicitly:
wherein one of a width and a height of the NSPT kernel is the size of the transform block, and the other of the width and the height of the NSPT kernel is a number of the transform coefficients.
In the same field of endeavor, Moonmo teaches:
wherein one of a width and a height of the NSPT kernel (i.e. regular transform matrix- ¶0195) is the size of the transform block, and the other of the width and the height of the NSPT kernel is a number of the transform coefficients (i.e. In an example, if the size of the block to which the transform is applied is 8×8 and R=16 (i.e., R/N=16/64=¼)- ¶0126… the size of the regular transform matrix is 64×64 (N×N)- ¶0129… The decoding apparatus 300 may perform an inverse primary transform on the modified transform coefficients for the target block, in which case a reduced inverse transform may be applied or a conventional separable transform may be used as the inverse primary transform- ¶0195).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Jungah with the teachings of Moonmo to improve coding efficiency (Moonmo- ¶0063).
Regarding claim 2, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
further comprising:
in response to determining that the NSPT is not to be applied to the transform block (i.e. a second flag (e.g., mts_flag) indicating whether MTS is applied may be signaled only when a first flag is 0 (i.e., the case of indicating that non-separable primary transform is not applied)- ¶0192), obtaining explicitly or implicitly a pair of primary transform kernels in vertical and horizontal directions for the transform block (i.e. a multiple transform selection (MTS) scheme is applicable. In this case, some of a plurality of transform kernel sets may be selected and applied to a current block. A transform kernel may be referred to as various terms such as a transform matrix or a transform type. For example, the transform kernel set may indicate a combination of a vertical-direction transform kernel (vertical transform kernel) and a horizontal-direction transform kernel (horizontal transform kernel)- ¶0116… MTS index information (or mts_idx syntax element) may be generated/encoded in an encoding apparatus and signaled to a decoding apparatus to indicate one of the transform kernel sets. For example, a transform kernel set according to the value of the MTS index information may be derived as shown in Table 1- ¶0117); and
generating residual signals of the current block by applying the pair of primary transform kernels in the vertical and horizontal directions to the transform coefficients (i.e. The inverse transformer 230 may inversely transform the transform coefficients to obtain a residual signal (residual block, residual sample array)- ¶0105… FIG. 13 is a view illustrating a transform and inverse transform process according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In FIG. 13, a transform unit 1310 may correspond to the transform unit 120 of FIG. 2, and an inverse transform unit 1320 may correspond to the inverse transform unit 150 of FIG. 2 or the inverse transform unit 230 of FIG. 3.- ¶0182… Here, F represents a transform coefficient vector, T represents a 16×16 non-separable transform matrix, and an operator • means multiplication of the matrix and the vector- ¶0196).
Regarding claim 3, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
wherein determining the NSPT kernel includes: selecting a mode set including an intra prediction mode of the current block among predefined mode sets (i.e. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of them may be transmitted for each transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be referred to as an AMT index and may be expressed as amt_idx- ¶0139); and selecting a kernel set based on the size of the transform block and the selected mode set (i.e. the non-separable primary transform set and/or kernel may be variously configured based on at least one of a prediction mode (e.g., intra prediction mode, inter prediction mode, etc.), a width/height of an input block, the number of pixels of the input block, the location of a subblock in the input block, an explicitly signaled syntax element, statistical characteristics of neighboring pixels, whether secondary transform is applied, or a quantization parameter (QP)- ¶0276).
Regarding claim 6, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
the size of the transform block is defined as a product of a width and a height of the transform block (i.e. An example of a 4×4 input block X is as shown in Equation 3- ¶0193… If the input block X is expressed in the form of a vector, it may be expressed as Equation 4- ¶0194).
Regarding claim 7, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 6 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
wherein the number of transform coefficient is less than or equal to the size of the transform block and is determined based on the size of the transform block (see equation 5).
Regarding claim 8, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
wherein, when a width and a height of the transform block are larger than or equal to a predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT and less than or equal to a predefined maximum size for NSPT(i.e. see equation 5) decoding a NSPT flag indicating the NSPT is to be applied to the transform block, wherein the predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT represents a minimum size of a transform block for which the NSPT is applied, and the predefined maximum size for NSPT represents a maximum size of a transform block for decoding the NSPT flag (i.e. Referring to FIG. 4, LFNST is applicable between forward primary transform 411 and quantization 413 at an encoder stage, and is applicable between dequantization 421 and inverse primary transform (or primary inverse transform) 423 at a decoder stage… In LFNST, 4×4 non-separable transform or 8×8 non-separable transform may be (selectively) applied depending on the block size. For example, 4×4 LFNST may be applied to relatively small blocks (i.e., min (width, height)<8), and 8×8 LFNST may be applied to relatively large blocks (i.e., min (width, height)>4). In FIG. 4, as an example, it is shown that 4×4 forward LFNST is applied to 16 input coefficients, and 8×8 forward LFNST is applied to 64 input coefficients- ¶0125-126… a bitstream generated by an image encoding apparatus or an image encoding method of the present disclosure may be transmitted- ¶0019), wherein the NSPT flag indicates whether to apply non-separable primary transform (i.e. a predetermined first flag (e.g., nspt_flag) may be signaled to indicate whether non-separable primary transform is applied- ¶0192).
Regarding claim 12, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
wherein performing the primary inverse transform comprises:
based on size and type of the NSPT kernel, packing all or part of the transform coefficients into a one-dimensional vector according to a predefined first scanning order to generate a primary transform coefficient (i.e. The quantizer 130 may rearrange quantized transform coefficients in a block type into a one-dimensional vector form based on a coefficient scanning order and generate information on the quantized transform coefficients based on the quantized transform coefficients in the one-dimensional vector form- ¶0089… The dequantizer 220 may rearrange the quantized transform coefficients in the form of a two-dimensional block. In this case, the rearrangement may be performed based on the coefficient scanning order performed in the image encoding apparatus- ¶0104);
performing matrix multiplication between the primary transform coefficient vector (i.e. Here,
F
→
represents a transform coefficient vector- ¶0196, equation 5) and the NSPT kernel (i.e. T represents a 16×16 non-separable transform matrix- ¶0196…Examiner’s note T-1) to generate a vector of residual signals for the current block (i.e.
X
→
equation 4… residual samples A’- fig. 13… The inverse transformer 230 may inversely transform the transform coefficients to obtain a residual signal (residual block, residual sample array)- ¶0105); and
allocating the vector of the residual signals to the transform block according to a predefined second scanning order to generate a residual block of the current block (i.e. If the input block X is expressed in the form of a vector, it may be expressed as Equation 4- ¶0194).
Regarding claim 13, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
wherein, in response to determining that the NSPT is to be applied to the transform block, a secondary transform flag or a secondary transform index is implicitly set to 0, wherein the secondary transform flag or the secondary transform index indicates whether to perform secondary transform (i.e. NSST may not be applied to a block to which primary transform has been applied- ¶0165… a predetermined first flag (e.g., nspt_flag) may be signaled to indicate whether non-separable primary transform is applied- ¶0192).
Regarding claim 14, Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
14. (Currently Amended) A method for encoding a current block, performed by a video encoding device (i.e. FIG. 2 is a view schematically illustrating an image encoding apparatus, to which an embodiment of the present disclosure is applicable- ¶0031), the method comprising:
generating residual signals for a transform block of the current block (i.e. The residual processor may further include the subtractor 115- ¶0080… The subtractor 115 may generate a residual signal (residual block or residual sample array) by subtracting the prediction signal (predicted block or prediction sample array) output from the prediction unit from the input image signal (original block or original sample array). The generated residual signal may be transmitted to the transformer 120- ¶0087);
determining a NSPT kernel based on a size of the transform block, an intra prediction mode of the current block (i.e. the non-separable primary transform set and/or kernel may be variously configured based on at least one of a prediction mode (e.g., intra prediction mode, inter prediction mode, etc.), a width/height of an input block, the number of pixels of the input block, the location of a subblock in the input block, an explicitly signaled syntax element, statistical characteristics of neighboring pixels, whether secondary transform is applied, or a quantization parameter (QP)- ¶0276);
generating primary transform coefficients (i.e. transform coefficients B- fig 13) by performing primary transform based on NSPT kernel and the residual signals for the transform block (i.e. Referring to FIG. 13, the transform unit 1310 may include a primary transform unit 1311- ¶0183…The primary transform unit 1311 may generate (primary) transform coefficients B- ¶0184); and encoding the primary transform coefficients (i.e. The information on the prediction may be encoded in the entropy encoder 190 and output in the form of a bitstream- ¶0083).
However, Jungah does not teach explicitly:
wherein one of a width and a height of the NSPT kernel is the size of the transform block, and the other of the width and the height of the NSPT kernel is a number of the primary transform coefficient.
In the same field of endeavor, Moonmo teaches:
wherein one of a width and a height of the NSPT kernel (i.e. regular transform matrix- ¶0195) is the size of the transform block, and the other of the width and the height of the NSPT kernel is a number of the primary transform coefficients (i.e. In an example, if the size of the block to which the transform is applied is 8×8 and R=16 (i.e., R/N=16/64=¼)- ¶0126… the size of the regular transform matrix is 64×64 (N×N)- ¶0129… The decoding apparatus 300 may perform an inverse primary transform on the modified transform coefficients for the target block, in which case a reduced inverse transform may be applied or a conventional separable transform may be used as the inverse primary transform- ¶0195).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Jungah with the teachings of Moonmo to improve coding efficiency (Moonmo- ¶0063).
Regarding claim 15, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 14 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
further comprising:
determining a NSPT flag indicating whether to apply non-separable primary transform, and encoding the NSPT flag (i.e. a bitstream generated by an image encoding apparatus or an image encoding method of the present disclosure may be transmitted- ¶0019), wherein the NSPT flag indicates whether to apply non-separable primary transform (i.e. a predetermined first flag (e.g., nspt_flag) may be signaled to indicate whether non-separable primary transform is applied- ¶0192).
Regarding claim 16, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 15 and further Jungah teaches and/or suggests:
encoding the primary transform coefficients based on the NSPT flag (i.e. The entropy encoder 190 may encode the quantized signal (information on the quantized transform coefficients) and output a bitstream- ¶0089… upon determining that the secondary transform is not applied (‘NO’ in S1720), the image encoding apparatus may not perform secondary transform on the (primary) transform coefficients. In this case, a bitstream may be generated based on the (primary) transform coefficients- ¶0252).
Regarding claim 17, computer-readable medium storing instructions claim 17 corresponds to the same method as claimed in claim 14, and therefore is also rejected for the same rationale as listed above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungah Choi et al. [US 20240357111 A1: already of record] in view of Moonmo Koo et al. [US 20210281881 A1] and further in view of Xinwei Li et al. [US 20240007640 A1: already of record].
Regarding claim 4, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 3.
However, Jungah and Moonmo do not teach explicitly:
wherein determining the NSPT kernel comprises:
adaptively determining a number of transform kernel candidates for the kernel set based on a sum of absolute values of the inverse quantization transform coefficients, or a position of first non-zero transform coefficient.
In the same field of endeavor, Xinwei teaches:
wherein determining the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel comprises:
adaptively determining a number of inverse transform kernel candidates for the kernel set based on a sum of absolute values of the inverse quantization inversely-quantized transform coefficients (i.e. For each class, different transform kernel pairs (such as 1, 4 or 6 pairs, etc.) may be considered, with each pair including transform kernels for horizontal and vertical respectively. In example implementations, a number of intra MTS candidates (such as 1, 4 and 6 MTS candidates, for example) may be adaptively selected depending on a sum of absolute values of transform coefficients- ¶0046), or a position of first non-zero transform coefficient.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Jungah and Moonmo with the teachings of Xinwei to select an intra prediction mode with minimum cost (Xinwei- ¶0041).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungah Choi et al. [US 20240357111 A1: already of record] in view of Moonmo Koo et al. [US 20210281881 A1] and further in view of Vadim Seregin et al. [US 20180367814 A1: already of record].
Regarding claim 5, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 3.
However, Jungah and Moonmo do not teach explicitly:
when the kernel set includes a plurality of transform kernel candidates, decoding an NSPT index, wherein determining the NSPT kernel comprises: determining a candidate indicated by the NSPT index among the plurality of inverse transform kernel candidates as the NSPT kernel.
In the same field of endeavor, Vadim teaches:
when the kernel set includes a plurality of inverse transform kernel candidates, decoding an NSPT index, wherein determining the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel comprises: determining a candidate indicated by the NSPT index among the plurality of inverse transform kernel candidates as the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel (i.e. For example, video encoder 22 may be configured to generate and signal syntax elements for transform processing, including primary or secondary transform flags or indices. A primary transform flag or index (e.g., a multi-bit syntax element) may indicate a particular transform, from among multiple to transforms, to use as the primary transform when coding a block of video data… The primary and/or second transforms may include several sets of the transforms, which may be indicated by an index. The transform set to use for any particular block of video data, for example, may depend on the intra prediction mode and/or intra prediction mode direction. That is, video encoder 22 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the set of transforms available for a particular block of video data based on the intra prediction mode and/or intra prediction mode direction used to code that block of video data.- ¶0088-89).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Jungah and Moonmo with the teachings of Vadim to significantly to increase compression efficiency and reduce overhead signaling (Vadim -¶0006).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jungah Choi et al. [US 20240357111 A1: already of record] in view of Moonmo Koo et al. [US 20210281881 A1] and further in view of Jangwon Choi et al. [US 20250203113 A1: already of record].
Regarding claim 8, Jungah and Moonmo teach all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Jungah and Moonmo do not teach explicitly:
wherein, when a width and a height of the transform block are larger than or equal to a predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT and less than or equal to a predefined maximum size for NSPT, decoding a NSPT flag indicating the NSPT is to be applied to the transform block, wherein the predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT represents a minimum size of a transform block for which the NSPT is applied, and the predefined maximum size for NSPT represents a maximum size of a transform block for decoding the NSPT flag.
In the same field of endeavor, Jangwon teaches:
wherein, when a width and a height of the transform block are larger than or equal to a predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT and less than or equal to a predefined maximum size for NSPT(i.e. more than 16 but less than 1024- ¶0318), decoding the NSPT flag indicating the NSPT is to be applied to the transform block, wherein the predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT represents a minimum size of a transform block for which the NSPT is applied, and the predefined maximum size for NSPT represents a maximum size of a transform block for decoding the NSPT flag (i.e. Determination based on information indicating whether non-separable primary transform is applied (e.g., 1 bit flag, e.g., ciip_nspt_mode)- ¶0290… signaling information specifying whether to apply non-separable primary transform based on the number of pixels in the current block (e.g., if the number of pixels in the current block is 16 or more but less than 1024, a primary transform method is determined based on information specifying whether to apply non-separable primary transform). In other cases, non-separable primary transform is not applied- ¶0292…Determination based on information indicating whether non-separable primary transform is applied (e.g., 1 bit flag, e.g., gpm_nspt_mode)- ¶0320… Determination based on the number of pixels in the current block (e.g., if the number of pixels in the current block is more than 16 but less than 1024, non-separable primary transform is always applied)- ¶0321… According to another embodiment of the present disclosure, when the conditions regarding the size and/or shape of the current block satisfy the predetermined condition, a flag specifying whether to apply non-separable primary transform (e.g., 1 bit flag, e.g., ciip_nspt_mode, gpm_nspt_mode) may be transmitted from the encoding apparatus to the decoding apparatus- ¶0341).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Jungah and Moonmo with the teachings of Jangwon to reduce the computational complexity of the non-separable primary transform (Jangwon- ¶0252).
Regarding claim 9, Jungah, Moonmo and Jangwon teach all the limitations of claim 8.
However, Jungah and Moonmo do not teach explicitly:
wherein, when the width and the height of the transform block are larger than or equal to the predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT and less than or equal to a predefined maximum size applicable for NSPT, determining the NSPT kernel is performed, wherein the predefined maximum size applicable for NSPT is less than or equal to the predefined maximum size for NSPT and represents a maximum size of a transform block for which the NSPT is applied.
In the same field of endeavor, Jangwon teaches:
wherein, when the width and the height of the transform block are larger than or equal to the predefined minimum size applicable for NSPT and less than or equal to a predefined maximum size applicable for NSPT, determining the NSPT kernel is performed, wherein the predefined maximum size applicable for NSPT is less than or equal to the predefined maximum size for NSPT and represents a maximum size of a transform block for which the NSPT is applied (i.e. Determination based on information indicating whether non-separable primary transform is applied (e.g., 1 bit flag, e.g., ciip_nspt_mode)- ¶0290… signaling information specifying whether to apply non-separable primary transform based on the number of pixels in the current block (e.g., if the number of pixels in the current block is 16 or more but less than 1024, a primary transform method is determined based on information specifying whether to apply non-separable primary transform). In other cases, non-separable primary transform is not applied- ¶0292…Determination based on information indicating whether non-separable primary transform is applied (e.g., 1 bit flag, e.g., gpm_nspt_mode)- ¶0320… Determination based on the number of pixels in the current block (e.g., if the number of pixels in the current block is more than 16 but less than 1024, non-separable primary transform is always applied)- ¶0321… According to another embodiment of the present disclosure, when the conditions regarding the size and/or shape of the current block satisfy the predetermined condition, a flag specifying whether to apply non-separable primary transform (e.g., 1 bit flag, e.g., ciip_nspt_mode, gpm_nspt_mode) may be transmitted from the encoding apparatus to the decoding apparatus- ¶0341).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Jungah and Moonmo with the teachings of Jangwon to reduce the computational complexity of the non-separable primary transform (Jangwon- ¶0252).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CLIFFORD HILAIRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/CLIFFORD HILAIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488