DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-5, 10, 13, 16, 24, 27, and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 11-12: “the input devices” should read --the set of input devices--
Claim 4, line 2: “the input devices” should read --the set of input devices comprises--
Claim 5, line 2: “the input devices” should read --the set of input devices comprises--
Claim 10, line 3: “the biomarkers” should read --the number of biomarkers--
Claim 13, line 3: “the biomarkers” should read --the number of biomarkers--
Claim 16, lines 10-11: “the input devices” should read --the set of input devices--
Claim 16, lines 11-12: “the input devices” should read --the set of input devices--
Claim 24, line 3: “the biomarkers” should read --the number of biomarkers--
Claim 27, line 3: “the biomarkers” should read --the number of biomarkers--
Claim 29, lines 3-4: “biomarker measurements” should read --the biomarker measurements--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 14, 16, 19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keays (WO 2014144834) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Keays teaches an automated breath analysis apparatus comprising: a set of input devices for receiving identification data of a user (Fig. 8; user identification module 82); a sampling device for receiving a breath sample from the user, the sampling device comprising a nozzle (76) for the user to exhale the breath sample into the sampling device, the nozzle arranged to hold a hygiene mouthpiece (72) such that the user exhales the breath sample via the hygiene mouthpiece without touching the nozzle (Paragraph [0078] the breath tube removably fixed to the breath interface tube 76 and is disposable); and an analysis device for receiving the breath sample from the sampling device and for analysing the breath sample, the analysis device comprising: a mass spectrometer for measuring a number of biomarkers in the breath sample (Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]); and a computer device (80) for receiving the user identification data from the input devices and for generating breath analysis results for the user based on the biomarker measurements (Paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 5, Keays teaches wherein the input devices comprise one or more imaging devices for capturing image data of the user. (Paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 14, Keays teaches wherein the computer device is configured for analysing the biomarker measurements and thereby generate the breath analysis results for the user. (Paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 16, Keays teaches an automated breath analysis method, (Abstract), comprising: receiving, using a set of input devices, identification data of a user (Fig. 8; user identification module 82); receiving, using a sampling device, a breath sample from the user, the user exhaling the breath sample into a nozzle (76) of the sampling device via a hygiene mouthpiece (72) held on the nozzle and without touching the nozzle (Paragraph [0078]); communicating the breath sample from the sampling device to an analysis device for analysing the breath sample (Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; measuring, using a mass spectrometer of the analysis device, a number of biomarkers in the breath sample (Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]); receiving, using a computer device (80) of the analysis device communicative with the input devices and the mass spectrometer, the identification data of the user from the input devices (Paragraph [0081]); and generating, using the computer device (80), breath analysis results for the user based on the biomarker measurements (Paragraphs [0081], [0096]).
Regarding claim 19, Keays teaches wherein receiving the user identification data comprises capturing, using one or more imaging devices, image data of the user. (Paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 29, Keays teaches sending, from the computer device, the user identification data and biomarker measurements to a remote server for the remote server to analyse the biomarker measurements; and receiving, by the computer device, the breath analysis results from the remote server and thereby generate the breath analysis results for the user. (Paragraph [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keays in view of Xu (CN 214312203).
Regarding claim 2, Keays does not teach “a track coupled to the sampling device, wherein the sampling device is moveable along the track to adjust a height of the nozzle relative to the user.”
Xu, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a track (sliding groove 61) coupled to the sampling device (nozzle 7), wherein the sampling device is moveable along the track to adjust a height of the nozzle relative to the user. (Page 5, lines 11-17 of Machine Translation).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “a track coupled to the sampling device, wherein the sampling device is moveable along the track to adjust a height of the nozzle relative to the user” as taught by Xu. Doing so provides a mechanism to adjust the height of the nozzle, which is convenient for users of different heights. (Page 5, lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 3, Keays as modified by Xu teaches the mechanical capability to adjust the nozzle's height along a track to accommodate a user's height, but does not specifically teach “wherein the sampling device is configured to automatically move along the track based on a height of the user to adjust the height of the nozzle relative to the user.”
However, upgrading this from a manual adjustment to an automatic adjustment merely automates a known manual activity using standard electronic sensors (e.g., imaging device/camera) and controllers. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look to standard biometric or proximity sensors to measure a user's height and use a standard motor/actuator to drive the sampling device along the track. In re Venner (CCPA 1958) established that it is generally obvious to automate a manual operation, provided the automation utilizes conventional techniques to achieve the predictable result of the manual step. Hence, the result—the nozzle moving to the correct height—is entirely predictable.
Regarding claim 7, Keays as modified by Xu teaches the mechanical capability to adjust the nozzle's height along a track to accommodate a user's height, but does not specifically teach “wherein the sampling device is configured to automatically move along the track based on a height of the user to adjust the height of the nozzle relative to the user.”
However, upgrading this from a manual adjustment to an automatic adjustment merely automates a known manual activity using standard electronic sensors (e.g., imaging device/camera) and controllers. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look to standard biometric or proximity sensors to measure a user's height and use a standard motor/actuator to drive the sampling device along the track. In re Venner (CCPA 1958) established that it is generally obvious to automate a manual operation, provided the automation utilizes conventional techniques to achieve the predictable result of the manual step. Hence, the result—the nozzle moving to the correct height—is entirely predictable.
Regarding claim 17, Keays as modified by Xu teaches the mechanical capability to adjust the nozzle's height along a track to accommodate a user's height, but does not specifically teach “automatically moving the sampling device along a track based on a track based on a height of the user to adjust the height of the nozzle relative to the use.”
However, upgrading this from a manual adjustment to an automatic adjustment merely automates a known manual activity using standard electronic sensors (e.g., imaging device/camera) and controllers. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look to standard biometric or proximity sensors to measure a user's height and use a standard motor/actuator to drive the sampling device along the track. In re Venner (CCPA 1958) established that it is generally obvious to automate a manual operation, provided the automation utilizes conventional techniques to achieve the predictable result of the manual step. Hence, the result—the nozzle moving to the correct height—is entirely predictable.
Regarding claim 21, Keays as modified by Xu teaches the mechanical capability to adjust the nozzle's height along a track to accommodate a user's height, but does not specifically teach “automatically moving the sampling device based on a height of the user to adjust the height of the nozzle relative to the user based on a height of the user that is determinable from the image data of the user.”
However, upgrading this from a manual adjustment to an automatic adjustment merely automates a known manual activity using standard electronic sensors (e.g., imaging device/camera) and controllers. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look to standard biometric or proximity sensors to measure a user's height and use a standard motor/actuator to drive the sampling device along the track. In re Venner (CCPA 1958) established that it is generally obvious to automate a manual operation, provided the automation utilizes conventional techniques to achieve the predictable result of the manual step. Hence, the result—the nozzle moving to the correct height—is entirely predictable.
Claims 4, 10, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keays in view of Wheeler (WO 2021195489) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Keays does not teach “wherein the input devices comprise one or more scanning devices for scanning an identification document of the user to thereby receive the user identification data.”
Wheeler, in a related field of endeavor, teaches wherein the input devices comprise one or more scanning devices for scanning an identification document of the user to thereby receive the user identification data. (Paragraph [0066]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “wherein the input devices comprise one or more scanning devices for scanning an identification document of the user to thereby receive the user identification data” as taught by Wheeler. The combination merely involves taking a known input device (a scanner) and applying it to a known task (receiving user identification data from an ID card) to achieve the completely predictable result of automated data entry. This represents nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 10, Keays does not teach “a heating device for heating any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers.”
Wheeler teaches a heating device for heating any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers. (Paragraphs [0021], [0075]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “a heating device for heating any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers” as taught by Wheeler. Doing so ionizes the breath sample which is input into a sample inlet of a mass spectrometer 108, wherein the output from the mass spectrometer detects a biomarker associated with or indicative of progression of pulmonary fibrosis. (Paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 18, Keays does not teach “wherein receiving the user identification data comprises scanning, using one or more scanning devices, an identification document of the user.”
Wheeler teaches wherein receiving the user identification data comprises scanning, using one or more scanning devices, an identification document of the user. (Paragraph [0066]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “wherein receiving the user identification data comprises scanning, using one or more scanning devices, an identification document of the user” as taught by Wheeler. The combination merely involves taking a known input device (a scanner) and applying it to a known task (receiving user identification data from an ID card) to achieve the completely predictable result of automated data entry. This represents nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 24, Keays does not teach “heating, using a heating device, any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers.”
Wheeler teaches heating, using a heating device, any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers. (Paragraphs [0021], [0075]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “heating, using a heating device, any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers” as taught by Wheeler. Doing so ionizes the breath sample which is input into a sample inlet of a mass spectrometer 108, wherein the output from the mass spectrometer detects a biomarker associated with or indicative of progression of pulmonary fibrosis. (Paragraph [0075]).
Claims 11, 13, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keays in view of Blackley (US 20160363582) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 11, Keays does not teach “an exhaust fan for ventilating the apparatus”.
Blackley, in a related field of endeavor, teaches an exhaust fan for ventilating the apparatus. (Paragraph [0157]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “an exhaust fan for ventilating the apparatus” as taught by Blackley. Doing so enables air to flow through the assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Keays does not teach “a vacuum pump for evacuating any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers”.
Blackley teaches a vacuum pump for evacuating any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers. (Paragraph [0186]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “a vacuum pump for evacuating any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers” as taught by Blackley. Doing so purges the residual breath sample from the system, thus preventing contamination of the next patient’s sample and causing false positives or inaccurate biomarker quantification.
Regarding claim 27, Keays does not teach “evacuating, using a vacuum pump, any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers.”
Blackley teaches evacuating, using a vacuum pump, any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers. (Paragraph [0186]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “evacuating, using a vacuum pump, any residual breath sample in the mass spectrometer and/or the sampling device after measuring the biomarkers” as taught by Blackley. Doing so purges the residual breath sample from the system, thus preventing contamination of the next patient’s sample and causing false positives or inaccurate biomarker quantification.
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keays in view of Squilla (US 20060111620).
Regarding claim 8, Keays does not teach “a dispenser for storing a plurality of hygiene mouthpieces and for dispensing the hygiene mouthpiece to the user”.
Squilla, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a medical services kiosk (Fig. 1) comprising a dispenser (70) for storing a plurality of hygiene mouthpieces and for dispensing the hygiene mouthpiece to the user. (Paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “a dispenser for storing a plurality of hygiene mouthpieces and for dispensing the hygiene mouthpiece to the user” as taught by Squilla. Doing so combines a known storage/dispensing mechanism with a known article (hygiene mouthpieces) to yield entirely predictable results. Dispensers designed to store a stack or plurality of items and release them one at a time are ubiquitous in the prior art (e.g., cup dispensers, straw dispensers, toothpick dispensers, etc.). Mouthpieces used for hygiene or medical purposes (e.g., spirometer mouthpieces, breathalyzer tips, etc.) are also well known. Taking a standard gravity-fed dispenser and sizing it specifically to hold and dispense mouthpieces uses known elements for their identical, intended functions with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 22, Keays does not teach “dispensing, from a dispenser storing a plurality of hygiene mouthpieces, the hygiene mouthpiece to the user”.
Squilla, in a related field of endeavor, teaches dispensing, from a dispenser (70) storing a plurality of hygiene mouthpieces, the hygiene mouthpiece to the user. (Fig. 1, medical services kiosk; Paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Keays to provide “dispensing, from a dispenser storing a plurality of hygiene mouthpieces, the hygiene mouthpiece to the user” as taught by Squilla. Doing so combines a known storage/dispensing mechanism with a known article (hygiene mouthpieces) to yield entirely predictable results. Dispensers designed to store a stack or plurality of items and release them one at a time are ubiquitous in the prior art (e.g., cup dispensers, straw dispensers, toothpick dispensers, etc.). Mouthpieces used for hygiene or medical purposes (e.g., spirometer mouthpieces, breathalyzer tips, etc.) are also well known. Taking a standard gravity-fed dispenser and sizing it specifically to hold and dispense mouthpieces uses known elements for their identical, intended functions with no unexpected results.
Conclusion
/OM PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791