DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final Rejection on the merits.
Claims 1 – 17 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 – 8, 11, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davey et al. (Hereinafter Davey) (WO 2019/226887 A1).
As per claim 1, Davey teaches the limitations of:
a modular conveyor system (100) comprising a plurality of conveyor system modules (110, 120, 130) (See at least paragraph 6; a manufacturing module may be provided. The manufacturing module may include a work station configured to perform a process involving equipment capable of use with biological or chemical material, a first transportation segment that spans across the manufacturing module and is configured to connect and disconnect with a second transportation segment such that when connected, a carrier of the biological or chemical material can be transported from the first transportation segment to the second transportation segment, a pick and place robot configured to move an element between the first transportation segment and the work station, and a movement mechanism configured to allow the work station, the first transportation segment, and the pick and place robot to be moved as a single unit.), the plurality of modules being at least:
a conveyor module (120) provided with a conveyor (121) configured to convey objects (See at least paragraph 6 and 20; The transportation pathway is free standing and separate from the module, and may be the same as the transportation segments described above, such as a maglev track or conveyor belt, including a modular pathway. … a first transportation segment that spans across the manufacturing module and is configured to connect and disconnect with a second transportation segment such that when connected, a carrier configured to support an element can be transported from the first transportation segment to the second transportation segment, a pick and place robot configured to move the element between the first transportation segment and the work station, a movement mechanism configured to allow the work station, the first transportation segment, and the pick and place robot to be moved as a single unit, and a utility connection configured to be connected to a connector of a utility, and a controller having at least one processor and a memory. The at least one processor may be operatively connected with each of the manufacturing modules, and the memory may store computer executable instructions for controlling the at least one processor to cause each of the transportation segments to move the carrier across each manufacturing module, cause each pick and place robot to move an element between the transportation segment and the work station, cause each work station to perform a process on or house the biological or chemical material or on the material container, and cause the carrier to be moved between each of the manufacturing modules.),
a robot module (110) comprising a robot arm (111) provided with a head (112) configured to interact with objects at least on the conveyor (121) (See at least paragraph 6 and 20), and
a power module (130) provided with a power inlet and one or more power outlets, the power module being configured to supply power to the conveyor module (120) and the robot module (110), wherein each module (110, 120, 130) comprises an interface (140) adapted to releasably interconnect with a corresponding interface on another module (See at least paragraph 118; Each module may also have one or more utility connections that are each configured to be connected to a connector of a utility. For example, the utility connection may be a utility port or plug receptacle that receives a connection from a utility, such as a power plug or a compressed air line. The utility connections enable the module to receive utilities from a source external to the module. For example the module may include ports or hookups configured to receive power, water, a liquid (e.g., a bleach solution or an ethanol solution for cleaning) gas, ethernet; some more examples include a llOv AC electrical hookup, a RS-232 serial data connection for communication, compressed air, a vacuum connection, and an uninterruptible power supply. The module may not only be able to receive utilities but may also include utility hookups that are configured to provide a utility to one or more elements of the module, such as a power plug in which a power plug from the work station may be plugged.),
wherein the interface comprises:
an electric connection arrangement (510) configured to electrically connect two interconnected modules (110, 120, 130) (See at least paragraph 92; a transportation segment may be connectable with other transportation segments. For example, for some transportation segments that require power or a communications connection to a network, each transportation segment may have a separate power connection and communications connection that can be directly connected to an adjacent transportation segment. As described above, this enables power and communications to be provided directly to a transportation segment from another module without the use of long continuous cables underneath the transportation segment to connect with a central connection like with traditional assembly lines.), and
attachment means configured to releasably attach two interconnected modules (110, 120,130) (See at least paragraph 20 and 90).
As per claim 5, Davey teaches the limitations of:
wherein the power module (130) is provided with a mains switch (420) configured to close and break a connection between the power inlet and the one or more power outlets (see at least paragraph 118).
As per claim 6, Davey teaches the limitations of:
wherein the conveyer (121) is a belt conveyor (see at least paragraph 85).
As per claim 7, Davey teaches the limitations of:
wherein at least one module (110, 120, 130) comprises stop means (210, 310) configured to, upon activation, stop an operation of each module by transmitting a control signal between interconnected modules via respective interfaces (140) (see at least paragraph 103 and 105).
As per claim 8, Davey teaches the limitations of:
wherein the stop means (210, 310) of at least one module (110, 120, 130) comprises a stop button (210, 310) configured to stop the operation upon activation and/or a contact sensor configured to stop the operation upon detecting contact with an object and/or person (see at least paragraph 103 and 105).
As per claim 11, Davey teaches the limitations of:
wherein the conveyor module (120) comprise an electronic display (220) configured to display calibration imagery, and wherein the robot arm (111) comprises a visual sensor configured to sense the calibration imagery (See at least paragraph 99 – 100 and 115).
As per claim 15, Davey teaches the limitations of:
wherein the plurality of modules (110, 120, 130) further comprises at least one of:
a case-forming module configured to form cases conveyed on the conveyor (121), a case sealer module configured to seal cases conveyed on the conveyor (121), and/or a labeler module configured to label cases conveyed on the conveyor (121) (See at least paragraph 97).
As per claim 17, Davey teaches the limitations of:
wherein the connector (513) is arranged on a resilient member (514) (See at least paragraph 97 and 117).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davey in view of Duffy et al. (Hereinafter Duffy) (US 11331796 B2).
As per claim 2, Davey does not explicitly teach the limitations of:
wherein the attachment means comprise magnetic attachment means.
Duffy teaches the limitations of:
wherein the attachment means comprise magnetic attachment means (See at least figure 2 – 3 and 8, and column 25 line 15 – 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the attachment means comprise magnetic attachment means as taught by Duffy in the system of Davey, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 3, the combination of Davey and Duffy teaches the limitations of:
wherein the interface (140) further comprises mechanical alignment means configured to align respective interfaces of two interconnected modules (110, 120, 130) (Davey, see at least paragraph 16 – 18, and Duffy, see at least column 25 line 44 – column 6 line 26 line 5).
As per claim 4, the combination of Davey and Duffy teaches the limitations of:
wherein the electric connection arrangement (510) comprises first electric connection means (511) configured to supply power between two interconnected modules (110, 120, 130), and second electric connection means (512) configured to transmit control signals between two interconnected modules (Davey, see at least paragraph 20 and 90, and Duffy, see at least figure 8).
As per claim 16, the combination of Davey and Duffy teaches the limitations of:
wherein in at least one interface, the first electric connection means (511) and the second electric connection means (512) of the interface are grouped together in a connector (513) (Duffy, see at least figure 8).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davey in view of Poelman et al. (Hereinafter Poelman) (WO 2022104328 A1).
As per claim 9, Davey does not teach the limitations of:
wherein each module (110, 120, 130) comprises a reset switch configured to, upon activation, reset an operation of each module by transmitting a control signal between interconnected modules via respective interfaces.
Poelman teaches the limitations of:
wherein each module (110, 120, 130) comprises a reset switch configured to, upon activation, reset an operation of each module by transmitting a control signal between interconnected modules via respective interfaces (See at least paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein each module comprises a reset switch configured to, upon activation, reset an operation of each module by transmitting a control signal between interconnected modules via respective interfaces as taught by Poelman in the system of Davey, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davey in view of Xu (CN 112047004 A).
As per claim 12, Davey does not explicitly teach the limitations of:
wherein the conveyor module (120), robot module (110), and/or power module (130) comprises at least two interfaces (140) each.
Xu teaches the limitations of:
wherein the conveyor module (120), robot module (110), and/or power module (130) comprises at least two interfaces (140) each (See at least figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the conveyor module (120), robot module (110), and/or power module (130) comprises at least two interfaces (140) each as taught by Xu in the system of Davey, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 13, the combination of Davey and Xu teaches the limitation of:
wherein the conveyor module (120) comprises four interfaces (140) facing different directions (Xu, see at least figure 6).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davey in view of Skaaksrud et al. (Hereinafter Skaaksrud) (CN 111918791 A1).
As per claim 14, Davey does not explicitly teach the limitation of:
wherein the conveyor module (120) comprises a contactless power supply (230) for suppling power to auxiliary equipment.
Skaaksrud teaches the limitation of:
wherein the conveyor module (120) comprises a contactless power supply (230) for suppling power to auxiliary equipment (See at least pager 27 last paragraph – page 28 first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the conveyor module (120) comprises a contactless power supply (230) for suppling power to auxiliary equipment as taught by Skaaksrud in the system of Davey, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Itoh Kazuo et al. (WO 2018038171 A1) discloses conveyor device and conveyor unit.
IG T AN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/IG T AN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662