DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1 - 18 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 10, 11 – 13 and 16 - 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hauff et al. (U.S. Patent # 5826886).
Regarding Claim 1, Hauff discloses a method (figs 2 and 3) of using an elastomer sleeve (4) for mounting on a line (3), the method comprising the steps of:
i) first, the line (3) is laid through the elastomer sleeve (4) and in the process a supporting element (17) is arranged in the elastomer sleeve (4) and holds the elastomer sleeve in an expanded state (fig 2);
ii) subsequently, the supporting element (17) is removed from the elastomer sleeve (4) (fig 3) and the elastomer sleeve (4) comes into contact with the line (3) (fig 3);
wherein in step i), in relation to a central axis of the elastomer sleeve (axis of 4), an area structure (12, fig 2) is arranged radially between the supporting element (17) and the elastomer sleeve (4),
and wherein the supporting element (17) in step ii) slides out of the elastomer sleeve (4) along the area structure (12) (fig 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Hauff discloses the method, in which the supporting element is a supporting sleeve (17 is a sleeve) which in step ii) slides out of the elastomer sleeve (4) along the area structure (12) (fig 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Hauff discloses the method, in which the supporting sleeve is pulled out of the elastomer sleeve by means of the area structure, namely the supporting sleeve slides out of the elastomer sleeve in a first axial direction (17 out of 14 towards the right side), which points from a first to a second axial end of the supporting sleeve (right to left side ends of 17), along a section of the area structure still remaining between the supporting sleeve and the elastomer sleeve at a respective point in time (section of 12 between 17 and 4), and
the force necessary for this is applied to the second axial end of the supporting sleeve (left end of 17) in that a section of the area structure which has already become free at the respective point in time is pulled out through the supporting sleeve in the first axial direction (section of 12 pulled through 17 in the right direction).
Regarding Claim 7, Hauff discloses the method, in which the supporting sleeve after step ii) is removed radially from the line (17 removed radially from 3), namely the line is moved out through an axial slot in the supporting sleeve (3 through axial slot in 17).
Regarding Claim 10, Hauff discloses the method, in which the area structure is closed circumferentially in itself, in relation to a central axis of the elastomer sleeve (12 is circumferential).
Regarding Claim 11, Hauff discloses the method, in which the area structure has a tubular shape, namely has a hollow cylindrical shape after being removed from the elastomer sleeve ( 12 is a hollow cylinder).
Regarding Claim 12, Hauff discloses an elastomer sleeve arrangement for a method of use, the elastomer sleeve arrangement comprising:
an elastomer sleeve (4) for mounting on a line (3);
a supporting element (17) which is arranged in the elastomer sleeve (4) and holds the latter in an expanded state (fig 2);
and an area structure (12) which, in relation to a central axis of the elastomer sleeve (4), is arranged radially between the supporting element and the elastomer sleeve (12 between 17 and 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Hauff discloses the elastomer sleeve arrangement, in which the supporting element is a supporting sleeve which has an axial slot (12 is a sleeve with axial slot).
Regarding Claim 16, Hauff discloses a method of using an insert, the insert having an elastomer sleeve (insert with 4) with a passage opening for a line to be led through (3 in the opening of 4), a fastening portion (2) for fastening the insert in a through-opening (opening of wall 15, fig 1 same as figs 2 and 3), and a joint via which the elastomer sleeve is arranged in a tiltable manner on the fastening portion (joint with 4 on 2), the method comprising the steps of:
the insert is mounted in a through-opening of a wall or floor element made of concrete or stone (insert with 4 in the opening of 15); and
a line is laid through the elastomer sleeve and the elastomer sleeve is sealed with respect to the line (3 through 4 and 4 sealed with respect to 3).
Regarding Claim 17, Hauff discloses the method, in which the joint is an elastomer joint which is formed monolithically with the elastomer sleeve from the same elastomer material (joint with 4 formed of elastomer).
Regarding Claim 18, Hauff discloses the method, in which the elastomer joint, respectively in relation to a central axis of the elastomer sleeve, is formed with an axially protruding elevation when viewed in an axial section (joint with has elevation at the right side of 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 - 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauff in view of Mette et al. (DE 102018213824).
Regarding Claim 4, Hauff discloses the method.
Hauff does not disclose in which already in step i) an end section of the area structure is folded inwards into the supporting sleeve around the first axial end of the supporting sleeve.
However, Mette teaches in which already in step i) an end section of the area structure is folded inwards into the supporting sleeve around the first axial end of the supporting sleeve (end section of 10, fig 4 folded inwards into 2 around the right end of 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the end section of the area structure of Hauff to be folded inwards into the supporting sleeve as in Mette with a reasonable expectation of success so that the end section provides mechanical strength to the supporting sleeve.
The combination of Hauff and Mette discloses wherein this folded-in end section is gripped after step i) and pulled in the first axial direction (Hauff - section of 12 pulled in the right direction).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hauff and Mette discloses the method, wherein the folded-in end section of the area structure already protrudes in step i) from the second axial end of the supporting sleeve (Mette – end section of 10 protrudes from the left end of 2), namely an end of the end section is arranged outside the supporting sleeve.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hauff and Mette discloses the method, in which the end of the end section in step i) is arranged radially outside the elastomer sleeve (Mette – end of end section of 10 radially outside Hauff 4),
namely the end section is folded outwards around the second axial end of the supporting sleeve (Mette – end section folded outwards around the left end of 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Hauff discloses the method.
Hauff does not disclose in which the area structure is a plastic film.
However, Mette teaches in which the area structure is a plastic film (plastic film 10, fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the area structure of Hauff to be polyethylene as in Mette with a reasonable expectation of success so that the end section provides mechanical strength to the supporting sleeve.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hauff and Mette discloses the method, in which the plastic film is made of polyethylene (Mette - 10 made of polyethylene).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauff in view of Skinner (U.S. Patent # 4478437).
Regarding Claim 14, Hauff discloses the elastomer sleeve arrangement.
Hauff does not disclose in which abutting edges of the supporting sleeve which bear against one another at the slot are provided with a profiling.
However, Skinner teaches in which abutting edges of the supporting sleeve which bear against one another at the slot are provided with a profiling (edges of 28 with profiling, fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the edges or end sections of the supporting sleeve of Hauff to have profiling as in Skinner with a reasonable expectation of success so that a firm stop is provided between the abutting edges of the supporting sleeve.
Regarding Claim 15, Hauff discloses a method for producing an elastomer sleeve arrangement, the method comprising the steps of: the supporting sleeve is introduced into the elastomer sleeve in a radially compressed configuration (17 into 4 radially compressed, fig 2).
Hauff does not disclose end sections of the supporting sleeve overlap.
However, Skinner teaches end sections of the supporting sleeve overlap (end sections of 28, fig 5 overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the edges or end sections of the supporting sleeve of Hauff to have profiling as in Skinner with a reasonable expectation of success so that a firm stop is provided between the abutting edges of the supporting sleeve.
The combination of Hauff and Skinner discloses the supporting sleeve is introduced into the elastomer sleeve in a radially compressed configuration (Hauff - 17 into 4 radially compressed, fig 2) in which end sections of the supporting sleeve overlap (Skinner - end sections of 28 overlap);
and the supporting sleeve is subsequently radially expanded (Hauff 17 expands) and thus the elastomer sleeve is expanded until abutting edges of the end sections bear against one another (Skinner – end sections of 28 against one another).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675