Detailed Action
The following is a non-final rejection made in response to preliminarily amended claims received on September 25th 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, and by extension all claims dependent therefrom1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes multiple instances of elements being cited without a proper antecedence basis. Reference to “the firearm” in line 2 of the preamble should be amended to read as -a firearm- since it is the first recitation. Similarly, “the residential area” should be amended to read as -a residential area- (line 4). Reference to “the firearms” should be corrected to read -the firearm- in order to maintain consistency. Lastly, “at least on moveable part” is introduced twice in the claim. The second reference, beginning in the final paragraph of the claim, should be amended to read as “the at least one movable part”.
Claim 6 is considered to be further indefinite since the “movement slot” established by claim seems to be renamed as the “adjusting element slot”. Claim 6 should reference “the movement slot” in order to maintain consistency with its parent claim.
Claim 10 is considered to be further indefinite since it is unclear what “it” is referring to in the limitation that reads “characterized in that it is in the form of a screw”.
Similarly, claims 12 and 14 are considered to be further indefinite because it is unclear what is being referenced by way of the term “it” / “its” in line 3 of the claim 12 and line 2 of claim 14.
Further correction on all counts is required for compliance with this section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims cited in this section are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2005/0188587 (hereinafter referred to as “DANAS” or simply as “the reference”).
Regarding claim 1, Danas teaches a finger support that can be assembled to/disassembled from the firearm in order to facilitate the control of the firearm by providing the necessary power during effective aiming in the firearms used in the residential area and shooting competitions and thus to ensure effective aiming, characterized in that it comprises:
an adjusting element (12) which is connected to an assembly element formed on the firearm (i.e. the grip portion, see Fig. 3) in such a way that the assembly element can be disassembled and assembled to rotate about its axis (a pair of screws 22 and 23 attach the element to the frame, disassembling one of these screws would allow it to “rotate about its axis”), and includes at least one movement slot (defined by receiving slots 24 and 26) which is intended to accommodate at least one moveable part (via clip 32; see Fig. 5) of a support element (30);
at least one movable part (32) which is movable into the at least one movement slot and allows the position of the support element on the firearm to be adjusted (see para. [0058]; “The insert 30 slides from right to left and the clip 32 is secured within the side panel 12. Pressing on an embossed area 34 of the insert 30 causes the insert 30 to slide out for removal”), and the support element provided with a support surface for the placement of the user’s finger (see para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Danas teaches the adjusting element (12) is equipped with an assembly element bracket (via a plate supporting channels 24 and 26) to be connected to the assembly element formed on the firearm (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Danas teaches that the assembly element (i.e. the grip portion of the firearm) and the assembly element bracket (12) are connected by a male-female connection method (the use of fasteners 22 and 23 into threaded apertures is considered to be a male-female connection).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Danas teaches that an assembly member in the form of a screw (either screw fastener 22 or 23) can completely connect the adjusting element (12) to the firearm and fix its angle (installing a single fastener would permit rotation of the element and thereby set an angle).
Regarding claim 6, Danas teaches that the adjusting element (12) provided with the adjusting element slot defining a channel (defined by receiving slots 24 and 26) for positing the movable part (32) in the form of a bar of the support element (see para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Danas teaches that the adjusting element slot is equipped with two protrusions (24, 26) with two edges in the form of a rail (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Danas teaches that the support element (30) comprises the movable part (32) which can only be moved forward and backward in the at least one adjusting element slot (see Fig. 5) and the support element which is provided with a support surface (via its outer surface) after the movable part to determine the position of the support element on the firearm (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Danas teaches a connection element that can fix the position of the movement element in the at least one adjusting element slot (para. [0058] states that “the clip is secured within the side panel 12”).
Regarding claim 11, Danas teaches the at least one adjusting element slot with at least one connection space that can receive a connection element (para. [0058] states that “the clip is secured within the side panel 12”).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Danas teaches a movement element formed on a ridged surface (via embossed area 34) in at least one part of its structure, formed on the side facing a connection space that can receive a connection element (see Fig. 5).
Conclusion
While the Examiner is available via telephone to help resolve administrative issues regarding a patent application, Applicants are encouraged to consider utilizing the USPTO’s Inventor Assistance Center for general administrative and/or procedural matters at 800-786-9199. Issues relating to patentability and/or prospective amendments may be more efficiently discussed via email correspondence subsequent to the filing of form PTO/SB/439 (“Authorization for Internet Communications in a Patent Application”) authorizing permission for internet communication. The form is available online may be submitted for the record along with any other response to this action. In accordance with current USPTO policy, this form must be submitted on the record prior to internet communications being authorized. A written statement by the Applicant authorizing internet communications on the record is not sufficient. Once authorization is submitted, the Applicant may contact the Examiner at samir.abdosh@uspto.gov. In the event that a telephone conversation would be the easiest means of resolving issues related to the subject matter of a pending patent application, the Examiner may be reached by telephone at 303-297-4454. Interviews will not be granted after issuance of a final rejection unless it is to discuss an amendment that either places the application in condition for allowance or simplifies issues for appeal.
/Samir Abdosh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641
1 Claims 2-14 are either directly or indirectly dependent upon claim 1.