DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0154003) and Costa (US Patent Publication No. 2024/00615517)
With reference to claims 1 and 10, Kim discloses a device (110) and method (see Fig. 6) for capturing a numerical code (see paragraphs 30-32; Figs. 1, 5), said device (110) comprising a touch sensor (510) wherein the touch sensor is configured to handle six separate sensing areas (111-116) numbered according to the Braille matrix (see paragraphs 29-31; Figs. 1-4); wherein the device (110) comprises a detector engine (520) configured to detect a plurality of sequential taps on said sensing areas, to identify which symbol of the Antoine notation (in teaching Braille character recognition) corresponds to said plurality of taps (see paragraphs 59; Figs. 5-6), and to capture a digit corresponding to said identified symbol (S660-S670) (see paragraph 65-67; Fig. 6).
While teaching input to six touch areas as explained above, Kim fails to teach using the sixth touch area as an entry input as recited.
Costa discloses a device for capturing input of a touch sensor configured to handle six sensing areas (see paragraphs 26, 48), wherein the detector engine (112, 114) is configured to interpret tapping on the sensing area number six both as a part of said identified symbol and as an order validating the entry of said identified symbol (in teaching mapping or re-mapping special keys as desired; see paragraph 31).
Therefore it would have been obvious to allow the usage of an entry validation key similar to that which is taught by Costa to be carried out in a device similar to that which is taught by Kim to indicate the complete of the entered character thereby providing accurate input for the user.
With reference to claim 2, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses that the detector engine (520) is configured to consider that an even number of taps on a target sensing area among the sensing areas number one to five to be equivalent to no tap on said target sensing area (in teaching a multi-tap for distinguishing the completion of a word or sentence; see paragraph 64; Fig. 6).
With reference to claim 3, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the numerical code consists of a sequence of digits and wherein the detector engine (520) is configured to identify a beginning (S620) and an end of the sequence (S650) of digits (see paragraphs 62-64; Fig. 6).
With reference to claims 4 and 11, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 3 or 10, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the detector engine (520) is configured to interpret the very first tap of the sensing area number six (S620) as the beginning of the sequence or to interpret a specific gesture applied to the touch sensor as the beginning of the sequence (see paragraph 63; Fig. 6).
With reference to claims 6 and 13, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 3 or 10, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the detector engine (520) is configured to interpret tap on the sensing area number six directly subsequent to a entered digit as the end of the sequence or to detect a specific gesture applied to the touch sensor as the end of the sequence (see paragraphs 31, 64; Fig. 6).
With reference to claims 7 and 14, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 3 or 10, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the detector engine (520) is configured to interpret a tap on the sensing area number six greater than a preset time as the end of the sequence or to interpret a double tap on the sensing area number six as the end of the sequence (see paragraph 64; Fig. 6).
With reference to claim 9, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses wherein the touch sensor faces a user who enters the numerical code (see Figs. 4).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Costa as applied to claim 3 or 10 above, and further in view of Luu et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2011/0111375; hereinafter Luu)
With reference to claims 5 and 12, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 3 or 10, however fail to disclose a waiting phase as recited.
Luu discloses a device (100) including a keypad for inputting Braille and detector engine (117), wherein the detector engine (117) is configured to interpret a start of a waiting phase for detecting touched sensing areas as the beginning of the sequence (in teaching pause between Braille sequences; see paragraphs 41-42; Fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to allow for a pause at the beginning of a sequence similar to that which is taught by Luu to be carried out in a device similar to that which is taught by Kim and Costa to thereby indicate progression of character input to the user (see Luu; paragraph 42).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Costa as applied to claim 3 or 10 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0196942; hereinafter Sato).
With reference to claims 8 and 15, Kim and Costa disclose the device according to claim 3 or 10, however fail to disclose counting a number of digits as recited.
Sato discloses a input apparatus (1) (see paragraph 19-20; Fig. 3) wherein the detector engine (13) is configured to count a number of entered digits and to consider that the end of sequence is reached as soon as the number of entered digits reaches a predetermined value (see paragraphs 50-51; Fig. 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow a detector engine configured to count a numbered of entered digits similar to that which is taught by Sato to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kim and Costa to thereby providing indication of the end of character input (see paragraph 50).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NACCACHE et al. (US2013/0321302) discloses a touch-sensitive device for logging data in Braille configured of six touch sensitive areas for detecting pressure to recognize the braille character (see paragraphs 59-106; Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625