DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2026 and 03/26/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP22197957.8, filed on 09/27/2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the first output node (Out1) is further coupled to a bleeder circuit.” as shown in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation " wherein the second switched mode power supply is a boost converter or a flyback converter " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 13, recites “the lighting system according to claim 11.” What else is trying to claim?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatu et al [US 2011/0248647 A1]
In regards to claim 1, Hiramatu discloses a driver (see figures 5) for powering a first load (Fig. 5, 4), the driver (see figures 5) comprising:
a converter (figure 5, par[0055]: "filter 6", "rectifier 081 ", "step-up chopper circuit 7'') adapted to convert an alternating current, AC, voltage into a regulated voltage at an output of the converter referred to a reference (par[0051]);
a first load stage (see figure 5: 1 c, 5, 8, R3, R5, R6, Rs, C3, C4, D2, D3, Tr3, n2), coupled to the output of the converter (see figure 5: 6, "081", 7) and adapted to receive the regulated voltage (fig1; par[0024]-[0025]), the first load stage (see figure 5: 1 c, 5, 8, R3, R5, R6, Rs, C3, C4, D2, D3, Tr3, n2) comprising:
a first node (par[0024]: Fig. 1, "input terminal A") adapted to receive the regulated voltage and adapted to be couplable to the first load (Fig. 5, 4);
a second node (par[0028]: Fig. 1, "detecting terminal E' ) adapted to be couplable to the first load such that the first load (Fig. 5, 4) is couplable between the first node (par[0025]: Fig. 1, "input terminal A") and the second node (par[0028]: Fig. 1, "detecting terminal E' ),
a first capacitor (figures 3D and 5: "C3') coupled between the second node (par[0028]: "detecting terminal E' ) and the reference;
a first switched mode power supply (fig 3D: par[0043]; "winding n3", "diode 02'', "transistor Tr3", "capacitor C3"; fig 5: par[0053]: "chopper circuit 1c", "winding n2") having a first input coupled to the second node (par[0028]: Fig. 1, "detecting terminal E' ) and having a first output coupled to a first output node (Fig. 3d and 5, C3),
wherein the first switched mode power supply (par[0032]) is adapted to regulate a current through the first load (Fig. 5, 4),
Hiramatu does not specify in Fig. 5 wherein the first switched mode power supply is a flyback converter.
Hiramatu discloses discloses in Fig. 2a-c wherein the first switched mode power supply is a flyback converter (fig 2A; par[0030]-[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Fig. 2 of Hiramatu with Fig. 5 discloses or teaches wherein the first switched mode power supply is a flyback converter for purpose of provide a lighting device capable of reliably detecting a status (i.e., the existence or absence) of a load connection, and enabling or disabling power output based on the detected load connection status as disclosed by Hiramatu (Paragraph [0010]).
In regards to claim 2. Hiramatu discloses the driver according to claim 1, wherein the converter further comprises a rectifier circuit adapted to convert the AC voltage into a rectified voltage (Fig. 5, DB1).
In regards to claim 3. Hiramatu discloses the driver according to claim 1, wherein the converter is any of a buck converter, a boost converter (Fig. 5, DB1 and 7 & Paragraph [0049]), a buck-boost converter, a flyback converter or a resonant converter.
In regards to claim 5. Hiramatu discloses the driver according to any of the preceding claims, wherein the first output node (par[0025]: "input terminal A") is coupled to a further load (Fig. 5, 4).
In regards to claim 7. Hiramatu discloses the driver according to claims 1, wherein the first output node (Fig. 3d and 5, C3) is coupled to the first node (par[0025]: "input terminal A").
In regards to claim 8. Hiramatu discloses the driver according to claim 7, wherein the second switched mode power supply is a boost converter or a flyback converter (Paragraph [0030]).
In regards to claim 9. Hiramatu discloses the driver according to claim 1, further comprising a controller (Fig. 5, 5 and 70) for controlling the first switched mode power supply (fig 3D: par[0043]; "winding n3", "diode 02'', "transistor Tr3", "capacitor C3"; fig 5: par[0053]: "chopper circuit 1c", "winding n2"), wherein the controller (Fig. 5, 5) is arranged to control the first switched mode power supply (fig 3D: par[0043]; "winding n3", "diode 02'', "transistor Tr3", "capacitor C3"; fig 5: par[0053]: "chopper circuit 1c", "winding n2") for regulating a current through the first load (Fig. 5, 4).
In regards to claim 10. Hiramatu discloses the driver according to claim 9, when depending on claim 5, wherein the controller (Fig. 5, 5 and 70) is part of the further load (Fig. 5, 4).
In regards to claim 11. Hiramatu discloses a lighting system (Fig. 5) comprising the driver according to claim 1 and the first load (Fig. 5, 4)
In regards to claim 12. Hiramatu discloses the lighting system (Fig. 5) according to claim 11, wherein the first load is semiconductor lighting load (Fig. 5, 4).
In regards to claim 13. Hiramatu discloses the lighting system (Fig. 5) according to claim 11.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatu et al [US 2011/0248647 A1] in view of Lee [US 2015/0173145 A1]
In regards to claim 6. Hiramatu discloses the lighting system (Fig. 5) according to claim 1,
Hiramatu does not specify wherein the first output node (Out1) is further coupled to a bleeder circuit.
Lee discloses wherein the first output node (Fig. 4, Lbld node of S3) is further coupled to a bleeder circuit (Fig. 4, 285-283).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Lee with Hiramatu discloses or teaches wherein the first output node (Out1) is further coupled to a bleeder circuit for purpose of controls the bleeder current so that the bleeder current is generated in during conducting phase as disclosed by Lee (Abstract)
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatu et al [US 2011/0248647 A1] in view of Narudo et al [US 2012/0319602 A1]
In regards to claim 14. Hiramatu discloses the lighting system according to claim 13,
Hiramatu does not specify wherein the second load (LED2) is a non-lighting load.
Narudo discloses wherein (Paragraph [0006 & 0012-13 & 0026]) the second load (LED2) is a non-lighting load (Fig. 2, 10b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the invention was made to use teachings Narudo with Hiramatu discloses or teaches wherein the second load (LED2) is a non-lighting load for purpose of provided an illumination apparatus including one of the above described light emitting devices; a power supply unit which individually supplies a drive current to each of the light source units of the light emitting device; and an adjusting unit which obtains the information stored in the information storage unit, and adjusts the drive current supplied from the power supply unit to each of the light source units based on the obtained information and increase illumination as disclosed by Narudo (Paragraph [0012]).
In regards to claim 15. Hiramatu discloses the lighting system according to claims 13,
Hiramatu does not specify wherein a required operating voltage of the first load is different from a voltage required operating voltage of the second load.
Narudo discloses wherein a required operating voltage of the first load (Fig. 1, 10a) is different (Paragraph [0006 & 0012-13 & 0026]) from a voltage required operating voltage of the second load (Fig. 2, 10b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the invention was made to use teachings Narudo with Hiramatu discloses or teaches wherein a required operating voltage of the first load is different from a voltage required operating voltage of the second load for purpose of provided an illumination apparatus including one of the above described light emitting devices; a power supply unit which individually supplies a drive current to each of the light source units of the light emitting device; and an adjusting unit which obtains the information stored in the information storage unit, and adjusts the drive current supplied from the power supply unit to each of the light source units based on the obtained information and increase illumination as disclosed by Narudo (Paragraph [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
“a second load stage comprising: a third node adapted to receive the regulated voltage and adapted to be couplable to a second load (LED2); a fourth node adapted to be couplable to the second load (LED2) such that the second load (LED2) is couplable between the third node and the fourth node, a second capacitor coupled between the fourth node and the reference; a second switched mode power supply having a second input coupled to the fourth node and having a second output coupled to a second output node, wherein the second switched mode power supply is adapted to regulate a current through the second load (LED2).” as shown in claim 4.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845