DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kibbee et al. (US 2012/0038210 A1) in view of Yasugi et al. (US 2012/0049517 A1) in further view of Stephens et al. (US 2025/0012515 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kibbee discloses, in figure 3, a power generation facility (314) used in a power transmission system (300) that charges a storage battery (110’’) mounted on a moving body (105’’) with power generated by the power generation facility (314) (Par 0040); and feeds the power from the storage battery (110’’) transported by the moving body (105’’) to a power receiving facility (Fig. 1A; transmission facility 102) (Par 0034), the power generation facility (314) comprising: a power generator (Par 0040; “Also shown in FIG. 3 is floating power production source 314 which may be an offshore platform having generators powered by stranded natural gas produced offshore at or near platform 314.”).
Kibbee does not disclose an alternating current-direct current converter that converts alternating-current power generated by the power generator to direct-current power.
However, Yasugi discloses, in figure 1, an alternating current-direct current converter (30A) that converts alternating-current power generated by the power generator (20) to direct-current power (Par 0052-0053).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kibbee’s power production source generator by including an alternating current-direct current converter that converts alternating-current power generated by the power generator to direct-current power as taught by Yasugi in order to convert a voltage level that is suitable for charging (Par 0054; Yasugi).
Kibbee and Yasugi does not disclose wherein the direct-current power is transmitted to an outside of the facility using a cable.
However, Stephens discloses, in figure 2, wherein the direct-current power is transmitted to an outside of the facility (offshore switching station 250) using a cable (cable connected from 202 to 250 via 252) (Par 0160).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kibbee’s power production source generator by including wherein the direct-current power is transmitted to an outside of the facility using a cable as taught by Stephens in order to combine and/or convert the electrical outputs from the various wind turbine generators into a one or more outputs that can be connected to a corresponding electrical connector (Par 0160; Stephens).
In regards to claim 2, Kibbee, Yasugi, and Stephens disclose the power generation facility according to claim 1. Kibbee further discloses, in figure 3, wherein the power generation facility (314) is configured as a wind power generation facility installed offshore (Par 0011, 0040).
In regards to claim 3, Kibbee, Yasugi, and Stephens disclose the power generation facility according to claim 1. Stephens further discloses, in figure 2, wherein the cable is a direct-current transmission line (cable connected from 202 to 250 via 252) to a relay facility (offshore switching station 250) that feeds power to the moving body (112a) (Par 0160).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kibbee’s power production source generator by including a relay facility that feeds power to the moving body as taught by Stephens in order to combine and/or convert the electrical outputs from the various wind turbine generators into a one or more outputs that can be connected to a corresponding electrical connector (Par 0160; Stephens).
In regards to claim 4, Kibbee, Yasugi, and Stephens disclose the power generation facility according to claim 1. Yasugi further discloses, in figure 3, comprising a direct-current voltage converter (32) that converts a voltage value (output voltage of 30A) of direct-current voltage that is output of the alternating current-direct current converter (30A) to a voltage value corresponding to the cable (Par 0053-0054).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kibbee’s power production source generator by including a direct-current voltage converter that converts a voltage value of direct-current voltage that is output of the alternating current-direct current converter to a voltage value corresponding to the cable as taught by Yasugi in order to convert a voltage level that is suitable for charging (Par 0054; Yasugi).
In regards to claim 5, Kibbee discloses, in figure 3, a power output method of a power generation facility (314) used in a power transmission system (300) that charges a storage battery (110’’) mounted on a moving body (105’’) with power generated by the power generation facility (314) (Par 0040); and feeds power from the storage battery (110’’) transported by the moving body (105’’) to a power receiving facility (Fig. 1A; transmission facility 102) (Par 0034).
Kibbee does not disclose wherein alternating-current power generated by a power generator is converted to direct- current power.
However, Yasugi discloses, in figure 1, wherein alternating-current power generated by a power generator (20) is converted to direct- current power (30A) (Par 0052-0053).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kibbee’s power production source generator by including wherein alternating-current power generated by a power generator is converted to direct- current power as taught by Yasugi in order to convert a voltage level that is suitable for charging (Par 0054; Yasugi).
Kibbee and Yasugi does not disclose the power is transmitted to an outside of the facility using a cable in the form of direct current.
However, Stephens discloses, in figure 2, the power is transmitted to an outside of the facility (offshore switching station 250) using a cable (cable connected from 202 to 250 via 252) in the form of direct current (Par 0160).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kibbee’s power production source generator by including the power is transmitted to an outside of the facility using a cable in the form of direct current as taught by Stephens in order to combine and/or convert the electrical outputs from the various wind turbine generators into a one or more outputs that can be connected to a corresponding electrical connector (Par 0160; Stephens).
Conclusion
/ALEX W LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2842