DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stucchi (EP 3719394A1, included on IDS) in view of Pryor (U.S. 20070002558).
Regarding claim 1, Stucchi (EP 3719394A1, included on IDS) teaches a track lighting system (see fig. 11) comprising an elongated system track (see fig. 11, tracks 500), a first connector element (adapter 200), and a LED luminaire (lamp 100) configured to be connected to said elongated system track;
wherein the elongated system track extends along an axis of elongation;
wherein the first connector element is configured to mechanically and electrically connect said LED luminaire with said elongated system track, wherein the first connector element comprises a first luminaire connector (portion connected to luminaire) and a first track connector (portion connected to track);
wherein the LED luminaire comprises a back panel facing the elongated system track when the LED luminaire is connected to said elongated system track, and a first luminaire track arranged in or on the back panel of the LED luminaire (see fig. 5, back panel with opposite side having LEDs as shown in figure 7, light sources 105);
wherein the first luminaire connector is mechanically and electrically connected to the first luminaire track and is movable along the first luminaire track (movable along track, see description);
wherein the first track connector is mechanically and electrically connected to the elongated system track (see abstract) and is movable along of said elongated system track;
wherein the track lighting system comprises a second connector element (300);
wherein the second connector element is configured to mechanically and electrically connect said LED luminaire with said elongated system track, wherein the second connector element comprises a second luminaire connector (portion connected to luminaire) and a second track connector (portion connected to second track);
wherein the second track connector is mechanically and electrically connected to the elongated system track and is movable along said elongated system track;
wherein the second luminaire connector is mechanically and electrically connected to the first luminaire track and is movable along the first luminaire track (see fig. 11); OR wherein the LED luminaire comprises a second luminaire track arranged in or on the back panel of the luminaire, and wherein the second luminaire connector is mechanically and electrically connected to the second luminaire track and is movable along the second luminaire track.
Stucchi does not specifically teach that the second connector additionally is electrically connected to the luminaire and the track.
Pryor teaches that the second connector additionally is electrically connected to the luminaire and the track (see fig. 3c, 32a and 32b form a first electrical connection and 34a and 34b form the second connection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the second connector of Stucchi electrically connected as well to enable the light source to be provided an additional power connection as taught by Pryor so that each light source (or every light source array) has its own power connection, reducing additional wiring and enabling a low voltage track system, see p. 0005 of Pryor.
Regarding claim 2, Stucchi teaches that the first luminaire track and the second luminaire track are symmetrically arranged with respect to each other relative to a plane of symmetry perpendicular to the back panel (see fig. 11, symmetrical tracks 500).
Regarding claim 3, Stucchi teaches that the first luminaire track and the second luminaire track are arranged in parallel on the back panel of the luminaire.
The Exmainer notes that claim 3 depends from claim 1, wherein the second luminaire track is recited as part of an “or” statement that was not selected by the Examiner. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, Stucchi teaches that the second luminaire connector is…. Connected to the first luminaire track… and therefore teach the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 4, Stucchi teaches that the first luminaire track (see fig. 5 of Stucchi) and/or the second luminaire track is recessed in the back panel.
Regarding claim 9, Stucchi teaches that the first track connector comprises a first track connector locking mechanism to reversibly lock the first track connector to a fixed position on the elongated system track; and/or wherein the first luminaire connector comprises a first luminaire connector locking mechanism to reversibly lock the first luminaire connector to a fixed position on the first luminaire track (slide 220 comprises locking portions, see p. 0044 to lock within guide rail 120).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Stucchi and Pryor teaches that the second track connector comprises a second track connector locking mechanism to reversibly lock the second track connector to a fixed position on the elongated system track; and/ or wherein the second luminaire connector comprises a second luminaire connector locking mechanism to reversibly lock the second luminaire connector to a fixed position on the second luminaire track (identical first and second luminaire connectors as taught by Pryor).
Regarding claim 11, Stucchi teaches that the LED luminaire is a LED panel (lamp 100).
The Examiner notes that the limitation “panel” has been interpreted as “a planar arrangement of leds”.
Regarding claim 12, Stucchi teaches that the first luminaire track comprises a first slit embedded in the back panel of the luminaire (see fig. 5), wherein the first luminaire connector is mechanically confined in the first slit of the first luminaire track (see fig. 5, confined within track); and/or wherein the second luminaire track comprises a second slit embedded in the back panel of the luminaire, wherein the second luminaire connector is mechanically confined in the second slit of the second luminaire track.
Regarding claim 14, Stucchi teaches that the first connector element and/or the second connector element comprises a respective controllable hinge (see fig. 4, intermediate portion 240 allows rotation), wherein the respective controllable hinge is configured to hinge the first luminaire connector and the first track connector relative to each other (see p. 0056) and/or wherein the respective controllable hinge is configured to hinge the second luminaire connector and the second track connector relative to each other.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stucchi in view of Pryor, further in view of Perquy (U.S. 8,858,014)
Regarding claim 8, Stucchi does not specifically teach that the first track connector and/or the second track connector are click-fitted into the elongated system track.
Perquy teaches a click fitted elongated system track (see col. 5 lines 25-57).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a click fit connection as taught by Perquy to insert the connectors of Stucchi into the system track for a toolless connection that enables removal, as taught by Perquy (see col. 3 lines 58-62).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stucchi in view of Pryor, further in view of Lehman (U.S. 7,416,422).
Regarding claim 13, Stucchi does not teach the track lighting system comprises a third connector element; wherein the third connector element comprises a third luminaire connector and a third track connector; wherein the third luminaire connector is mechanically connected to the first luminaire track and is movable along the first luminaire track; wherein the third track connector is mechanically connected to the elongated system track and is movable along said elongated system track.
Lehman teaches the track lighting system comprises a third connector element; wherein the third connector element comprises a third luminaire connector and a third track connector; wherein the third luminaire connector is mechanically connected to the first luminaire track and is movable along the first luminaire track; wherein the third track connector is mechanically connected to the elongated system track and is movable along said elongated system track (see figure 2, slideable along three rails).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a third track as taught by Lehman in the structure of Stucchi to provide additional stability and an optional arrangement in which the lamp of Stucchi is only arranged perpendicular to the three tracks.
It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produce. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Conclusion
/Matthew J. Peerce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875