DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajan (US 20220141634 A1).
Regarding claims 7, 12, Rajan discloses a safety system and method comprising:
a helmet part that is attachable to a helmet (ID tag equipped on intelligent helmet, Para. 68); and
a lock part that is attachable to a vehicle and can lock the vehicle (ignition lock of motorcycle, Para. 68),
wherein the helmet part includes a wearing sensor that detects that the helmet is being worn (EEG-based biometric sensing, Para. 68),
and
the lock part includes:
a lock mechanism that releases a lock of the vehicle through manual
unlocking (unlock the bike for operation by touch, Para. 69); and
a permission unit that permits the manual unlocking of the lock mechanism
when wearing of the helmet is detected by the wearing sensor (Bike electronics equipped with authentication process to authenticate the rider via tag (helmet use, i.e. safety) or biometric signature (EEG-based, i.e. security) etc, Para. 69).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajan, and further in view of Park (US 20170160812 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Rajan fails to disclose wherein the wearing sensor is activated by detecting a movement of the helmet.
Park teaches a sensor of a device can be maintained active or deactivated by detecting movement or lack of movement of the device (Para. 197-198).
From the teachings of Park, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rajan to include wherein the wearing sensor is activated by detecting a movement of the helmet in order to conserve battery consumption by keeping the wearing sensor deactivated until movement has been detected.
Regarding claim 9, Rajan and Park teach the claimed invention, wherein Rajan teaches wherein the lock part is activated by approaching of the helmet part with the wearing sensor activated (unlock the bike for operation by touch, Para. 69).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajan, and further in view of Jones (US 20170270761 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Rajan fails to disclose an alarm unit that emits an alarm when the helmet is removed.
Jones teaches a system that triggers an alarm when a helmet is removed (the helmet has been discarded or dislodged which also triggers the alarm, Para. 38).
From the teachings of Jones, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rajan to include an alarm unit that emits an alarm when the helmet is removed in order to improve safety.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajan, and further in view of Finlinson (US 20160380595).
Regarding claim 11, Rajan fails to disclose wherein the wearing sensor is a heartbeat sensor.
Finlinson teaches a biometrics sensor for a user wearable device can be a heartbeat sensor (Para. 37).
From the teachings of Finlinson, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rajan to include wherein the wearing sensor is a heartbeat sensor in order to detect a user’s presence; as simple substitution for one known device for another resulting in predictable outcomes, including presence detection, is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/YONG HANG JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689