Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 17th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The 112(b) rejections of claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 17-18, 20, 24, 34, 37-38, and 45 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections based over Bawendi et al. in view of Sekiguchi et al. and Yan et al. are maintained.
New rejection follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 20, 24, 34, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 2012/0119193 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Bawendi et al. discloses a bifacial photovoltaic structure configured for receiving and converting a target wavelength or wavelength range of light to electricity (Figs. 1A-B & Paragraph 0029), comprising:
a transparent substrate which is transparent to the target wavelength or wavelength range of light (Fig. 1 TCO (FTO) on glass – the glass portion);
a light-transmissive bottom electrode (Fig. 1, TCO (FTO) on glass – the TCO/FTO portion);
comprising a first set of conductive lines disposed on the transparent substrate (Fig. 1B, Au conductor – Paragraph 0039 – other material selections are possible) and a first conducting layer disposed over the first set of conductive lines (Figs. 1A-B, ETL);
a perovskite absorber layer disposed over the light-transmissive bottom electrode (Fig. 4, #30 or #35 in the alternative shown in Fig. 4 & Paragraph 0049);
a transparent top electrode which is transparent to the target wavelength or wavelength range of light disposed over the perovskite absorber layer (Figs. 1A-B, TCO (FTO, ITO) on glass – TCO (FTO,ITO) portion).
Bawendi et al. does not disclose that the first conducting layer disposed over the first set of conductive lines comprises a conductive carbon.
Sekiguchi et al. teaches a first conducting layer that comprises a conductive carbon in the form of carbon nanotubes (Fig. 1, #3 – Paragraph 0104). Sekiguchi et al. teaches that this type of first conducting layer is improved and allows the efficiency of the conversion of light in a photoelectric element to be improved (Paragraph 0096). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the carbon nanotube material of Sekiguchi et al. as the material for Bawendi et al. first conducting layer for the advantages of utilizing a material that improves the efficiency of the conversion of light.
In view of Claim 3, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the first set of conductive lines can comprise silver (Fig. 1B, Au conductor can be selected as silver - Paragraph 0039).
In view of Claim 4, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the first set of conductive lines can comprise copper (Fig. 1B, Au conductor can be selected as copper- Paragraph 0039).
In view of Claim 6, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Sekiguchi et al. teaches that the first conducting layer comprises carbon nanotubes (Fig. 1, #3 – Paragraph 0104).
In view of Claim 8, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the transparent top electrode comprises a second conducting layer (Figs. 1A-B, TCO (FTO, ITO) on glass – TCO (FTO,ITO) portion).
In view of Claim 9, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Bawendi et al. teaches that the transparent top electrode comprises a transparent conductive oxide (Figs. 1A-B, TCO (FTO, ITO) on glass – TCO (FTO,ITO) portion).
In view of Claim 11, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Bawendi et al. teaches that the transparent top electrode further comprises a second set of conductive lines (Fig. 1B, Au conductor on top is in the form of grid – Paragraph 0007 or Fig. 4, #50).
In view of Claim 13, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Bawendi et al. teaches that the second conductive layer is disposed over the second set of conductive lines (Figs. 1A-B, the TCO section is above the Au conductor on top of cell).
In view of Claim 14, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Bawendi et al. teaches that the second set of conductive lines comprises a metal (Paragraph 0017).
In view of Claim 20, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the first set of conductive lines has can have a height of 10 nm – 10 micrometers with specific selections of 10-100 nm (Paragraph 0040).
In view of Claim 24, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches a first carrier transport layer (Fig. 4, #35) disposed between the bottom electrode (Fig. 4, #45) and the perovskite absorber layer (Fig. 4, #30), and a second carrier transport layer (Fig. 4, #25) disposed between the perovskite absorber layer (Fig. 4, #30) and the transparent top electrode (Fig. 4, #20 & Paragraph 0049).
In view of Claim 34, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. Bawendi et al. teaches an interfacial layer can be disposed between the bottom electrode and the first carrier transport layer (Paragraph 0013-0014 – adhesive may be present between these layers).
In view of Claim 37, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. Bawendi et al. teaches an interfacial layer disposed between the second carrier transport layer and the transparent top electrode (Paragraph 0013-0014 – adhesive may be present between these layers).
In view of Claim 38, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 34. Bawendi et al. teaches that the at least one interfacial layer comprises a metal oxide (Paragraph 0029).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 2012/0119193 A1) as evidenced by Tibbo Glass “7 Main Differences Between ITO & FTO Glass”.
In view of Claim 2, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the top electrode can be ITO and the bottom electrode can be selected to be FTO but is silent on either of these materials being more transparent than the other.
As evidenced by Tibbo Glass, ITO has a higher transmittance than FTO glass (Page 1, Section 7, 1st Paragraph). Accordingly, as evidenced by Tibbo Glass, Bawendi et al. discloses that the top electrode is more transparent than the bottom electrode.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 2012/0119193 A1) in view of Wang (CN-109980021-A). Wang is mapped to the English machine translation provided by the EPO website.
In view of Claim 12, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. does not teach that the second set of conductive lines is disposed over the second conductive layer.
Wang discloses a second set of conductive lines can be disposed over a second conductive layer (Fig. 1, # 7 – Page 3, Line 12-16). Wang discloses that this configuration can better utilize sunlight (Page 1, Lines 17-23 & Summary of the invention). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the second set of conductive lines disposed over the second conductive layer as disclosed by Wang in modified Bawendi et al. bifacial photovoltaic structure for the advantage of better utilizing sunlight.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 2012/0119193 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0092881 A1).
In view of Claims 17-18, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Modified Bawendi et al. does not teach that the second set of conductive lines has an average width that is less than an average width of the first set of conductive lines or the second set of conductive lines has an average height that is larger than an average height of the first set of conductive lines.
Lee et al. teaches that a second set of conductive lines may have a width that is less than an average width of a first set of conductive lines and that the second set of conductive lines have an average height that is larger than an average height of the first set of conductive lines to reduce a shading loss on the front side and sufficiently secure specific resistance (Fig. 1, #422 & #442 – Paragraph 0076). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the second set of conductive lines have an average width that is less than an average width of the first set of conductive lines and that the second set of conductive lines has an average height that is larger than an average height of the first set of conductive lines in modified Bawendi et al. bifacial photovoltaic structure for the advantages of reducing a shading loss on the front side of the bifacial photovoltaic structure while sufficiently securing a specific resistance.
Claims 1 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Yan et al. (US 2022/0231242 A1).
In view of Claims 1 & 7, Bawendi et al. discloses a bifacial photovoltaic structure configured for receiving and converting a target wavelength or wavelength range of light to electricity (Figs. 1A-B & Paragraph 0029), comprising:
a transparent substrate which is transparent to the target wavelength or wavelength range of light (Fig. 1 TCO (FTO) on glass – the glass portion);
a light-transmissive bottom electrode (Fig. 1, TCO (FTO) on glass – the TCO/FTO portion);
comprising a first set of conductive lines disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1B, Au conductor – Paragraph 0039 – other material selections are possible) and a first conducting layer disposed over the first set of conductive lines (Figs. 1A-B, ETL);
a perovskite absorber layer disposed over the bottom electrode (Figs. 1A-B, perovskite);
a transparent top electrode which is transparent to the target wavelength or wavelength range of light disposed over the perovskite absorber layer (Figs. 1A-B, TCO (FTO, ITO) on glass – TCO (FTO,ITO) portion).
Bawendi et al. does not disclose that the first conducting layer disposed over the first set of conductive lines comprises a conductive carbon such as graphene or graphene oxide.
Yan et al. teaches a first conducting layer comprises graphene (Paragraph 0009). Yan et al. discloses that this type of conducting layer can eliminate the charge transfer potential barrier on the contact interface between an electron transport layer and a perovskite layer that has high overall performance (Paragraph 0029). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the first conducting layer of Bawendi et al. comprise graphene as disclosed by Yan for the advantages of eliminating the charge transfer potential barrier between the first conducting layer and the perovskite layer while providing a high-performance electron transfer material.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 2012/0119193 A1) in view of Alemu et al. (US 2026/0068415 A1).
In view of Claim 45, Bawendi et al. and Sekiguchi et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. does not teach the transparent substrate is flexible.
Alemu et al. discloses that a useful material for a transparent support can be thin flexible glass (Paragraph 0039). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a thin flexible glass as the transparent support of Bawendi et al. as this is a useful material for this type of layer and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2147.07.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11, 13-14, 20, 24, 34, 37-38, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Irvin et al. (US 2011/0008926 A1).
In view of Claims 1 & 7, Bawendi et al. discloses a bifacial photovoltaic structure configured for receiving and converting a target wavelength or wavelength range of light to electricity (Figs. 1A-B & Paragraph 0029), comprising:
a transparent substrate which is transparent to the target wavelength or wavelength range of light (Fig. 1 TCO (FTO) on glass – the glass portion);
a light-transmissive bottom electrode (Fig. 1, TCO (FTO) on glass – the TCO/FTO portion);
comprising a first set of conductive lines disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1B, Au conductor – Paragraph 0039 – other material selections are possible) and a first conducting layer disposed over the first set of conductive lines (Figs. 1A-B, ETL);
a perovskite absorber layer disposed over the bottom electrode (Figs. 1A-B, perovskite);
a transparent top electrode which is transparent to the target wavelength or wavelength range of light disposed over the perovskite absorber layer (Figs. 1A-B, TCO (FTO, ITO) on glass – TCO (FTO,ITO) portion).
Bawendi et al. does not disclose a light-transmissive bottom electrode that comprises a first set of conductive lines disposed on the transparent substrate and a first conducting layer comprising a conductive carbon material disposed over the first set of conductive lines.
Irvin et al. discloses a light transmissive (Paragraph 0049) bottom electrode (Fig. 10d, #400) that comprises a first set of conductive lines (Figs. 10c-d, #420) disposed on a transparent substrate (Figs. 10c-d, #410) and a first conductive layer that comprises a conductive carbon material (Paragraph 0072 – transparent conducting material comprises CNTs) disposed over the first set of conductive lines (Fig. 10d, #420 – Paragraph 0071 - “Another option is that the grid could…also be covered by the electrode”). Irvin et al. discloses that this type of configuration can have higher conductivity than the anode as well as increasing the volume of the anode and thus decrease the sheet resistance of the same (Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the light-transmissive bottom electrode of Bawendi et al. that comprises a first set of conductive lines disposed on the transparent substrate and a first conducting layer comprising a conductive carbon material disposed over the first set of conductive lines for the advantages of having a configuration that has higher conductivity as well as increasing the volume of the anode and thus decreasing the sheet resistance of the same.
In view of Claim 3, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the first set of conductive lines can comprise silver (Fig. 1B, Au conductor can be selected as silver - Paragraph 0039).
In view of Claim 4, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the first set of conductive lines can comprise copper (Fig. 1B, Au conductor can be selected as copper- Paragraph 0039).
In view of Claim 6, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Irvin et al. teaches that the first conducting layer comprises carbon nanotubes (Paragraph 0072).
In view of Claim 7, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Irvin et al. teaches that a first conducting material may be the same material as the first set of conductive lines such as graphene (Paragraph 0063).
In view of Claim 8, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the transparent top electrode comprises a second conducting layer (Figs. 1A-B, TCO (FTO, ITO) on glass – TCO (FTO,ITO) portion).
In view of Claim 9, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Bawendi et al. teaches that the transparent top electrode comprises a transparent conductive oxide (Figs. 1A-B, TCO (FTO, ITO) on glass – TCO (FTO,ITO) portion).
In view of Claim 11, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Bawendi et al. teaches that the transparent top electrode further comprises a second set of conductive lines (Fig. 1B, Au conductor on top is in the form of grid – Paragraph 0007 or Fig. 4, #50).
In view of Claim 13, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Bawendi et al. teaches that the second conductive layer is disposed over the second set of conductive lines (Figs. 1A-B, the TCO section is above the Au conductor on top of cell).
In view of Claim 14, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Bawendi et al. teaches that the second set of conductive lines comprises a metal (Paragraph 0017).
In view of Claim 20, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the first set of conductive lines has can have a height of 10 nm – 10 micrometers with specific selections of 10-100 nm (Paragraph 0040).
In view of Claim 24, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches a first carrier transport layer (Fig. 4, #35) disposed between the bottom electrode (Fig. 4, #45) and the perovskite absorber layer (Fig. 4, #30), and a second carrier transport layer (Fig. 4, #25) disposed between the perovskite absorber layer (Fig. 4, #30) and the transparent top electrode (Fig. 4, #20 & Paragraph 0049).
In view of Claim 34, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. Bawendi et al. teaches an interfacial layer can be disposed between the bottom electrode and the first carrier transport layer (Paragraph 0013-0014 – adhesive may be present between these layers).
In view of Claim 37, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. Bawendi et al. teaches an interfacial layer disposed between the second carrier transport layer and the transparent top electrode (Paragraph 0013-0014 – adhesive may be present between these layers).
In view of Claim 38, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 34. Bawendi et al. teaches that the at least one interfacial layer comprises a metal oxide (Paragraph 0029).
In view of Claim 45, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Irvin et al. teaches that the transparent substrate is flexible (Paragraph 0040).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Irvin et al. (US 2011/0008926 A1) as evidenced by Tibbo Glass “7 Main Differences Between ITO & FTO Glass”.
In view of Claim 2, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. teaches that the top electrode can be ITO and the bottom electrode can be selected to be FTO but is silent on either of these materials being more transparent than the other.
As evidenced by Tibbo Glass, ITO has a higher transmittance than FTO glass (Page 1, Section 7, 1st Paragraph). Accordingly, as evidenced by Tibbo Glass, Bawendi et al. discloses that the top electrode is more transparent than the bottom electrode.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Irvin et al. (US 2011/0008926 A1) in view of Wang (CN-109980021-A). Wang is mapped to the English machine translation provided by the EPO website.
In view of Claim 12, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bawendi et al. does not teach that the second set of conductive lines is disposed over the second conductive layer.
Wang discloses a second set of conductive lines can be disposed over a second conductive layer (Fig. 1, # 7 – Page 3, Line 12-16). Wang discloses that this configuration can better utilize sunlight (Page 1, Lines 17-23 & Summary of the invention). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the second set of conductive lines disposed over the second conductive layer as disclosed by Wang in modified Bawendi et al. bifacial photovoltaic structure for the advantage of better utilizing sunlight.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawendi et al. (US 2025/0221139 A1) in view of Irvin et al. (US 2011/0008926 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0092881 A1).
In view of Claims 17-18, Bawendi et al. and Irvin et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Modified Bawendi et al. does not teach that the second set of conductive lines has an average width that is less than an average width of the first set of conductive lines or the second set of conductive lines has an average height that is larger than an average height of the first set of conductive lines.
Lee et al. teaches that a second set of conductive lines may have a width that is less than an average width of a first set of conductive lines and that the second set of conductive lines have an average height that is larger than an average height of the first set of conductive lines to reduce a shading loss on the front side and sufficiently secure specific resistance (Fig. 1, #422 & #442 – Paragraph 0076). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the second set of conductive lines have an average width that is less than an average width of the first set of conductive lines and that the second set of conductive lines has an average height that is larger than an average height of the first set of conductive lines in modified Bawendi et al. bifacial photovoltaic structure for the advantages of reducing a shading loss on the front side of the bifacial photovoltaic structure while sufficiently securing a specific resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that reference numeral 3 of the Sekiguchi reference is directed to an electron transport layer ETL and not the bottom electrode as recited in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully points Applicant’s attention to the primary reference Bawendi that discloses a light-transmissive bottom electrode (Fig. 1, TCO (FTO) on glass – the TCO/FTO portion); comprising a first set of conductive lines disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1B, Au conductor – Paragraph 0039 – other material selections are possible) and a first conducting layer disposed over the first set of conductive lines (Figs. 1A-B, ETL). Bawendi discloses the first conducting layer is an ETL and claim 1 does not restrict this interpretation. Sekiguchi discloses an ETL (analogous to the “first conducting layer” of Bawendi) that comprises a conductive carbon material in the form of either carbon nanotubes or graphite while stating that they are desirable as electroconductive materials (Paragraph 0104) while also teaching that this type of first conducting layer is improved and allows the efficiency of the conversion of light in a photoelectric element to be improved (Paragraph 0096). Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the Yan reference is directed to an electron transport layer (ETL) and not the bottom electrode as recited in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully points out to Applicant that an ETL layer directly adjacent to a conducting layer can be considered “a bottom electrode”. As pointed out above in regards to Sekiguchi claim 1 is not limited by Applicant’s interpretation. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds for rejection being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on July 11th, 2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726