Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "power systems" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While Examiner understands this limitation to refer to at least one of the “power units” of the preceding claims, it is unknown whether “power systems” includes all or only selected “power units”, or the leg assembly as a whole, including structural components that are not the “power units”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112977666 A to Zhang et al., hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang teaches a mobile device, comprising a robot body (“main body” 100, Fig. 1, [0023]) and a wheel (232, Fig. 3, [0048]), wherein
a first power unit (“third driving member” 222, Fig. 2, [0040]) and a leg unit (“leg” 220, Fig. 2, [0034]) are provided between the robot body (100) and the wheel (232, depicted in Fig. 3);
the first power unit (222) is provided with a rotating shaft I (“second rotating shaft” 212, Fig. 3, [0042]) and a fixed end I (“end plate” 2113, Fig. 3, [0038]);
one of the rotating shaft I (212) and the fixed end I (2113) is provided on the robot body (100), and the other is fixed to the leg unit (210) and capable of driving the leg unit (210) to swing relative to the robot body (100, disposition of structure depicted in Figs. 1-3, drive/lift capability recited in [0029-0030]);
the leg unit (220) is provided with at least one rod member or/and plate member or/and support (“supporting member” 234, Fig. 3, [0051]), and is equipped with the wheel (232, depicted in Fig. 3);
and the wheel (232) is capable of swinging up and down when the leg unit (220) swings up and down ([0029-0030]).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang further teaches wherein
the leg unit (220) is connected to the wheel (232) through a leg end portion (distal end of “leg main body” 221, Figs. 2-3, [0040]), forming a multi-joint structure (depicted in Figs. 1-3);
and the leg end portion (distal end of 221) is a rod member or/and plate member or/and support (221 is comprised of two “lower leg pieces” 2211, Fig. 3, [0049], which are plates), which is mounted on an inner side, an outer side, or two sides of the wheel (mounted on one side, Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of U.S. Pub. 2012/0111648 A1 to Terashima et al., hereinafter Terashima.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a self-stabilizing omnidirectional mobile robot, comprising a robot body (“main body” 100, Fig. 1, [0023]), a power system (plurality of “driving members” recited in [0023]), and a wheel (232, Fig. 3, [0048]), wherein the power system comprises a first power unit (“third driving member” 222, Fig. 2, [0040]), and a leg unit (“leg” 220, Fig. 2, [0034]), a leg end portion (distal end of “leg main body” 221, Figs. 2-3, [0040]), and a third power unit (“fourth driving member” 231, Fig. 3, [0048-0050]);
the first power unit (222) is provided with a rotating shaft I (“second rotating shaft” 212, Fig. 3, [0042]) and a fixed end I (“end plate” 2113, Fig. 3, [0038]);
one of the rotating shaft I (212) and the fixed end I (2113) is provided on the robot body (forming the hinge attached to 100, Figs. 1-3), and the other drives the leg unit (220) to swing relative to the robot body (100) in a vertical plane (via “first connecting rod” 224, Fig. 3, [0046]);
the third power unit (231) is provided with a rotating shaft III (“gearing” 233, Figs. 2-3) and a fixed end III (“supporting member” 234, Figs. 2-3, [0051]); one of the rotating shaft III (233) and the fixed end III (234) is provided on the leg end portion (distal end of 221) and the other drives the wheel (232) to rotate ([0048], connections and orientations depicted in Figs. 2-3);
when the wheel (232) encounters an obstacle, the leg unit (220) is capable of swinging up and down, causing the wheel to swing up and down vertically ([0029-0030]).
Zhang does not teach a second power unit provided with a rotating shaft or its orientation.
In the same field of endeavor of electrically powered wheeled vehicles, Terashima teaches a second power unit (“steering unit” 1, Fig. 1, [0048]), and a leg end portion (“wheel frame” 5, Fig. 1, [0048], analogous to Zhang – distal end of 221) connected in sequence;
the second power unit (1) is provided with a rotating shaft II (“support shaft” 21, Fig. 1, [0050]) for driving the leg end portion (5) to rotate vertically along the axis thereof (i.e., coaxial to 21, Fig. 1, also depicted as axis C in Fig. 3(a)), so as to steer the wheel (4);
Terashima further teaches wherein at least three sets of power systems and wheels are arranged on the robot body (“vehicle body base” 6, Figs. 1-6, [0048], analogous to Zhang – 100, four duplicate wheel assemblies apparent in Terashima – Figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the robot body, first and third power unit, and leg/thigh mechanism (including the leg end portion) of Zhang with the analogous leg end portion, second power unit (and associated rotating shaft) and wheel of Terashima, combined at the spatial region of the analogous leg end portion of Zhang/Terashima, yielding predictable results. One ordinarily skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to rotate a powered caster-type wheel on a vertical axis to provide the wheeled walking vehicle with fully-independent four-wheel steering and drive control (Terashima – [0031-0033]).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang in view of Terashima further teaches wherein the leg unit (Zhang – 220) comprises a thigh base (“connecting piece” 2115, Figs. 2-3, [0038-0039]), a thigh linkage (“second connecting rod” 225, Figs. 2-3, [0046]), and a support seat (“third rotating shaft” 213, Figs. 2-3, [0044]), wherein the support seat (213) is fixed on a housing of the second power unit (when combined with Terashima – housing depicted as “drive mechanism” Xa, Figs. 5-6) and hinged to the thigh base (hinged at rotation axis of Zhang – 213, Fig. 3); an output end (end comprising 212) of the first power unit (222) is fixedly connected to the thigh base (via 2113, Fig. 3); one end of the thigh linkage (rightmost end of 225, Fig. 3) is hinged to a housing of the first power unit (via 224, Fig. 3) or the robot body (100, Fig. 1), and the other end (leftmost end of 225, Fig. 3) is hinged to the support seat (213, hinging depicted in Figs. 2-3); the thigh base (2115), the thigh linkage (225), and the support seat (213) form a four-bar linkage (the fourth link being 224, mechanism depicted in Figs. 1-3) driving the wheel (232, analogous to Terashima – 4) to move up and down (Zhang – [0029]) and a steering axis of the wheel (Terashima – axis of 21) remains vertical relative to the ground (as in the orientation depicted in Fig. 2). See also MPEP § 2144.05(II) regarding routine optimization. Desired kinematic behavior in four-bar linkages is achieved as a result of optimizing linkage lengths, resulting in Grashof or non-Grashof behavior, or desired behavior of Grashof mechanisms (in this case, a crank-rocker).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Terashima further teaches wherein a pin shaft seat (Zhang – “first rotating shaft” 223, Fig. 3, [0041-0043]) is fixed on the housing of the first power unit (depicted in Fig. 3); the thigh linkage (225) is rotatably connected to the first power unit (through 224, Fig. 3) or the robot body (100, Fig. 1) through the pin shaft seat (223); and a thigh cover plate (plate structure comprising both instances of “thigh” 2111, Fig. 3, [0038-0039]) is fitted to a side of the thigh base (2115, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang in view of Terashima further teaches wherein the first power unit (Zhang – 222) and/or the second power unit (Terashima – 1) and/or the third power unit (Zhang – 231) comprise a motor unit and a reduction unit (e.g., 231 designates the motor, while 233 designates the reduction bevel gearing of the third power unit), the housing (Terashima – Xa) of the second power unit (1) is fixed on the leg end portion (Zhang – distal end of 221, analogous to Terashima – 5, fixed together when combined), and a housing (Zhang – “receiving groove” 2212, Fig. 3, [0049]) of the third power unit (231) is provided coaxially with the center of rotation of the wheel (cover present over rotation axis of 232, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang in view of Terashima further teaches wherein at least three sets of power systems and wheels are arranged on the robot body (“vehicle body base” 6, Figs. 1-6, [0048], four duplicate wheel assemblies apparent in Figs. 5-6). See also MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B) regarding duplication of parts.
Regarding Claim 8 (note dependency on Claim 6), Zhang in view of Terashima as applied to Claims 1-5 above already teaches wherein
a second power unit (Terashima – “steering unit” 1, Fig. 1, [0048]) is mounted between the leg unit (Zhang – 220) and the leg end portion (distal end of 221, Figs. 1-3, analogous to Terashima – 5); and
the second power unit (Terashima – 1) is provided with a rotating shaft II (“support shaft” 21, Fig. 1, [0050]) and has a fixed end (portion of 6 surrounding 1, Fig. 1) mounted on the leg unit (when combined with Zhang – 220), the rotating shaft II (Terashima – 21) being fixed to the leg end portion (6, analogous to Zhang – distal end of 221 when combined).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang in view of Terashima already teaches wherein
a third power unit (Zhang – 231) is provided with a rotating shaft III (“gearing” 233, Figs. 2-3) and has a fixed end (“supporting member” 234, Figs. 2-3, [0051]) mounted on the leg end portion (distal end of 221, depicted in Figs. 1-3), the rotating shaft III (233) being fixed to the wheel (232, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang in view of Terashima already teaches wherein
the axis of rotation of the second power unit (Terashima – axis of 21, Fig. 1 or axis C, Fig. 3(a) for clarity and specificity) is perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the first power unit (the axis of rotation of Zhang – 222, which is horizontal); and
the axis of rotation of the third power unit (axis perpendicular to wheel axis of 232, Figs. 1-3) is perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the second power unit (Terashima – axis of 21 or C for clarity), enabling the wheel to rotate 360 degrees (Terashima – [0090]) and swing up and down (Zhang – [0029-0030]).
Conclusion
/Mitchell James Price/ Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611