DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dencovski (US 20210219927 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Dencovski discloses a method of image acquisition, comprising:
receiving first current position data of a patient ([0197]: “the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors”);
receiving second current position data and imaging parameters of one or more mobile imaging systems [0199]: “…the trajectory of just one of the two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can be specified or can be determined by one of the two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2. The other mobile platform 1.1, 1.2 can be adjusted to the movement of the one mobile platform 1.1, 1.2. For this, the other mobile platform 1.1, 1.2 can detect the movement of the one mobile platform 1.1, 1.2 with the sensors of its sensor unit. Alternatively, the two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can exchange their data about their respective position in the environment and the position of the medical device such as the X-ray tube 9 or the X-ray detector 8 on the respective holding mechanism 12 of the mobile platform 1.1, 1.2.”; [0197]: “…the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors and the body region detection and automatically position the X-ray tube 9 and the X-ray detector 8 in such a way that an X-ray record of the body region of a patient 31 pre-set by an operator can be taken.”).
determining an optimal configuration of the one or more mobile imaging systems to address a clinical task based on the first current position data, the second current position data and the imaging parameters ([0198]: “The two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can follow trajectories so as to be coordinated with each other for taking a plurality of X-ray records, for example similar to with a C-arm. In embodiments, the trajectory can be specified in advance by an operator 32. Alternatively, the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can determine the trajectory with the sensors of the respective sensor module.”; [0199]: “the trajectory of just one of the two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can be specified or can be determined by one of the two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2. The other mobile platform 1.1, 1.2 can be adjusted to the movement of the one mobile platform 1.1, 1.2. For this, the other mobile platform 1.1, 1.2 can detect the movement of the one mobile platform 1.1, 1.2 with the sensors of its sensor unit. Alternatively, the two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can exchange their data about their respective position in the environment and the position of the medical device such as the X-ray tube 9 or the X-ray detector 8 on the respective holding mechanism 12 of the mobile platform 1.1, 1.2.”);
dispatching the one or more mobile imaging systems in accordance with the optimal configuration to perform medical image acquisition of the patient to generate medical image data ([0197]: “the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors and the body region detection and automatically position the X-ray tube 9 and the X-ray detector 8 in such a way that an X-ray record of the body region of a patient 31 pre-set by an operator can be taken.”); and
performing image reconstruction based on the medical image data ([0208]: “radiological 2D and/or 3D image data can thus be acquired in varying poses and positions of the patient 31.”).
Regarding Claim 2: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 further comprises acquiring the first and second current position data using one or more sensors in the one or more mobile imaging systems ([0197]: “…the system of mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 is coordinated among themselves and in the environment with orientation, collision and patient detection sensors”).
Regarding Claim 3: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 further comprises wirelessly transmitting the first and second current position data and the imaging parameters via a communication unit in the one or more mobile imaging systems ([0036]: “A coupling between components may also be established over a wireless connection”).
Regarding Claim 4: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the imaging parameters comprise a field- of-view (FOV), energy resolution, energy range, spatial resolution, detection efficiency, collimator characteristics, or a combination thereof ([0197]: “…the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors and the body region detection and automatically position the X-ray tube 9 and the X-ray detector 8 in such a way that an X-ray record of the body region of a patient 31 pre-set by an operator can be taken.”).
Regarding Claim 5: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the optimal configuration of the one or more mobile imaging systems comprises determining at least a number, position, imaging parameter value, scan time of the one or more mobile imaging systems, or a combination thereof ([0188]: “The settings for the height and the angle, in which the X-ray record of the patient 31 is to be taken, can be automatically determined by the mobile platform 1 with the patient detection sensor and the body region detection.”).
Regarding Claim 6: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the optimal configuration of the one or more mobile imaging systems comprises determining a configuration of multiple mobile imaging systems, wherein a sum of axial fields-of-view of the multiple mobile imaging systems equals or exceeds a desired axial field-of-view ([0181]: “the lifting device 121, rotating device 122, robotic actuator 123 and/or, in alternative embodiments, manipulation device 124 can be designed in such a way that they can automatically cover the entire adjusting range on the patient from head to toe. This applies to all example embodiments shown in the following figures.”).
Regarding Claim 9: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the optimal configuration of the one or more mobile imaging systems comprises determining a configuration of multiple mobile imaging systems positioned around a body contour of the patient (Figs. 5 and 7-9).
Regarding Claim 10: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 wherein dispatching the one or more mobile imaging systems in accordance with the optimal configuration comprises initiating a transport unit of the one or more mobile imaging systems to autonomously move the one or more mobile imaging systems ([0109]: “…due to the coordination or orientation of the mobile platform in the environment of the mobile platform, it is possible for the mobile platform of at least one embodiment to automatically move to a specified point or location in the environment. In other words, it is possible that the mobile platform can be moved completely autonomously.”).
Regarding Claim 12: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 wherein performing the image reconstruction comprises combining tomographic images from multiple mobile imaging systems ([0075]: “…the trajectory can be defined as a standard trajectory for a particular examination, for example for a tomography of the abdomen of a patient.”).
Regarding Claim 12: Dencovski discloses a mobile imaging system (Fig. 5), comprising:
a medical imaging unit (1.1; 1.2);
a transport unit (13);
a non-transitory memory device for storing computer readable program code [0053]; and
a processor device in communication with the non-transitory memory device, the medical imaging unit and the transport unit, the processor device being operative with the computer readable program code to perform steps including:
determining an optimal configuration to address a clinical task ([0198]: “The two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can follow trajectories so as to be coordinated with each other for taking a plurality of X-ray records, for example similar to with a C-arm. In embodiments, the trajectory can be specified in advance by an operator 32. Alternatively, the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can determine the trajectory with the sensors of the respective sensor module.”),
initiating the transport unit to move in accordance with the optimal configuration ([0197]: “the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors and the body region detection and automatically position the X-ray tube 9 and the X-ray detector 8 in such a way that an X-ray record of the body region of a patient 31 pre-set by an operator can be taken.”), and
initiating the medical imaging unit to perform medical image acquisition of a patient to generate medical image data ([0197]: “the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors and the body region detection and automatically position the X-ray tube 9 and the X-ray detector 8 in such a way that an X-ray record of the body region of a patient 31 pre-set by an operator can be taken.”).
Regarding Claim 13: Dencovski discloses the mobile imaging system of claim 12 wherein the medical imaging unit comprises a single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) imaging system.
Regarding Claim 14: Dencovski discloses the mobile imaging system of claim 12 wherein the transport unit comprises:
at least one mobile structure (Fig. 5, wheels);
a drive module for driving the at least one mobile structure ([0071]: “The drive unit drives the transport unit.”); and
a sensor module for determining position data [0072].
Regarding Claim 15: Dencovski discloses the mobile imaging system of claim 12 further comprising a communication unit in communication with the processor device that enables communications with other mobile imaging systems (communications structure in [0174] – [0175]).
Regarding Claim 16: Dencovski discloses the mobile imaging system of claim 15 wherein the processor device is operative with the computer readable program code to assemble, via the communication unit, the other mobile imaging systems in accordance with the optimal configuration [0194] – [0200].
Regarding Claim 17: Dencovski discloses the mobile imaging system of claim 16 wherein the processor device is operative with the computer readable program code to determine the optimal configuration based on imaging parameters of the mobile imaging system and the other mobile imaging systems [0194] – [0200].
Regarding Claim 18: Dencovski discloses the mobile imaging system of claim 17 wherein the imaging parameters comprise a field-of-view (FOV), energy resolution, energy range, spatial resolution, detection efficiency, collimator characteristics, or a combination thereof ([0197]: “…the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors and the body region detection and automatically position the X-ray tube 9 and the X-ray detector 8 in such a way that an X-ray record of the body region of a patient 31 pre-set by an operator can be taken.”).
Regarding Claim 19: Dencovski discloses the mobile imaging system of claim 12 wherein the processor device is operative with the computer readable program code to determine the optimal configuration by determining at least a number of other mobile imaging systems to be dispatched [0173].
Regarding Claim 20: Dencovski discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media embodying instructions executable by a machine [0053] to perform operations comprising:
determining an optimal configuration of one or more mobile imaging systems to address a clinical task ([0198]: “The two mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can follow trajectories so as to be coordinated with each other for taking a plurality of X-ray records, for example similar to with a C-arm. In embodiments, the trajectory can be specified in advance by an operator 32. Alternatively, the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can determine the trajectory with the sensors of the respective sensor module.”);
dispatching the one or more mobile imaging systems in accordance with the optimal configuration to perform medical image acquisition of a patient to generate medical image data ([0197]: “the mobile platforms 1.1, 1.2 can detect a patient 31 with the respective patient detection sensors and the body region detection and automatically position the X-ray tube 9 and the X-ray detector 8 in such a way that an X-ray record of the body region of a patient 31 pre-set by an operator can be taken.”); and
performing image reconstruction based on the medical image data ([0208]: “radiological 2D and/or 3D image data can thus be acquired in varying poses and positions of the patient 31.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dencovski in view of Ford (US 7356115 B2).
Regarding Claim 7: Dencovski discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the optimal configuration of the one or more mobile imaging systems comprises determining a configuration of multiple mobile imaging systems that perform imaging at different energies.
Ford teaches two x-ray sources at different energies (Fig. 1, sources 12 and 12a; Col. 19, line52-61: “To scan both large and small objects with the same scanning unit 10, one or more linear accelerators may be provided in a scanning unit to emit radiation beams with average energies greater than about 1 MeV to scan objects whose largest thickness is about 5 feet (about 1.5 meters) or greater, and one or more X-ray tubes may also be provided to scan smaller objects. For scanning smaller objects, such as luggage, X-ray tubes with emitting radiation with peak energies of from about 90 KeV to about 200 KeV may be used, for example.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the mobile imaging systems of Dencovski to perform imaging at different energies. One would be motivated to do so on the basis of enabling imaging of objects with different thicknesses.
Regarding Claim 8: Dencovski in view of Ford discloses the method of claim 7 wherein at least one of the multiple mobile imaging systems performs imaging at less than 400keV and at least another one of the multiple mobile imaging systems performs imaging at greater than 511 keV (Ford: Col. 19, line52-61: “To scan both large and small objects with the same scanning unit 10, one or more linear accelerators may be provided in a scanning unit to emit radiation beams with average energies greater than about 1 MeV to scan objects whose largest thickness is about 5 feet (about 1.5 meters) or greater, and one or more X-ray tubes may also be provided to scan smaller objects. For scanning smaller objects, such as luggage, X-ray tubes with emitting radiation with peak energies of from about 90 KeV to about 200 KeV may be used, for example.”).
Conclusion
/MIYA DOWNING/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884