Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Walker et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0372132).
Regarding Claim 1, Walker et al. discloses a barrier (Fig. 1-7) comprising: a rail (12) having a length extending along a longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 2 & 6), the rail including: a partition (48, 52, 56, 70, 68, 58, and 50) extending across the width of the rail (Fig. 5) and defining a first cavity (between inside 42, 46, 44 and the partition) and a second cavity (60, 64, and the space between the partition and opening 105), the first cavity defined by a top of the rail (42,46, and 44) and a top surface of the partition(Fig. 5), and the second cavity defined by a bottom surface of the partition and a bottom of the rail (Fig. 5) including a first opening (105) for receiving a support leg (16), and a first groove (between 52 and 54) disposed within the second cavity (Fig. 5), the first groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 4) and configured for receiving an upper end of the support leg (Fig. 5), wherein the top of the rail includes a first upper guide (between 86 and 54), and the bottom of the rail includes a first lower guide (between 84 and 54), both the first upper guide and the first lower guide extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 2 & 6); and a first rigid plate (92) having an upper end and a lower end, each being disposed within the first upper guide and the first lower guide, respectively (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Walker et al. discloses further comprising a first end cover (36) disposed at a first end of the rail, the first end cover enclosing the first end of the rail and a first end of the first rigid plate (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Walker et al. discloses wherein the rail further includes a sidewall (54) connecting the first upper guide with the first lower guide, wherein the sidewall, the first upper guide, and the first lower guide together form a track, and a cross section of the track is substantially c-shaped (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Walker et al. discloses wherein the rail forms a single extruded part (Fig. 1-7).
Regarding Claim 6, Walker et al. discloses wherein the first plate covers a surface of the sidewall facing away from the rail and prevents the sidewall from being directly impacted by an object (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Walker et al. discloses wherein the track has a second opening (90) through which a middle portion of the first rigid plate is exposed (Fig. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 18, Walker et al. discloses wherein the support leg has a lower end configured for attachment to an anchoring surface (14, Fig. 1, 2, 8 and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. in view of Stinson (USPN 8695948).
Regarding Claim 3, Walker et al. discloses the invention as claimed above. However, Walker et al. does disclose the end of the rail attached to a cap that is attached to a post but does not disclose wherein the rail further includes a second groove disposed within the first cavity or the second cavity, the second groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier and configured for receiving a first fastener, and the first end cover is attached to the first end of the rail by a fastener extending through a first through hole in the first end cover and into the second groove. Stinson teaches a similar rail (24) that has a groove (36) disposed inside a first cavity (Fig. 3) to receive a fastener to attach an end cap (Col. 4, lines 46-57) so as to allow the rail to be attached to a post or to have the end be free and still covered so debris does not get inside the rail.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a groove inside one of the cavities of the rail of Walker et al. to allow for an end cap to be attached, as taught by Stinson, so as to allow the rail to be attached to a post or to have the end be free and still covered so debris does not get inside the rail.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. in view of Dilio (USPN 10287776).
Regarding Claim 8, Walker et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose wherein a portion of the first rigid plate extending outside the first upper guide and the first lower guide has a facade including a periodic pattern, the facade facing away from the rail. Dilio teaches a rail (Fig. 1) having a plate (40) inserted into grooves on the rail (Fig. 1 and 2) that is designed to provide an interchangeable decorative effect to the rail (Col. 4,lines 1-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the plate of Walker et al. with a decorative design, as taught by Dilio, so as to provide an interchangeable decorative effect to the rail. Further, it should be noted that providing a pattern/decoration on the plate is an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that the periodic pattern solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with no pattern or design.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. in view of Murdaca (USPN 6029954).
Regarding Claim 9, Walker et al. discloses the invention as claimed above. However, Walker et al. does not disclose wherein the rail further includes a second upper guide and a second lower guide, both of which extend along the longitudinal axis of the barrier, the second upper guide formed within the top and the second lower guide formed within the bottom, and wherein the barrier further comprises a second rigid plate having an upper end and a lower end, each being disposed within the second upper guide and the second lower guide, respectively. Murdaca teaches a similar rail (17) having guides on both sides of the rail (Fig. 5 and 3-7; Col. 5, lines 3-20) for attaching a rigid plate (32) on both sides of the rail (Fig. 5 and 3-7) so as to allow the rail to be attached to a support (20) on either side of the rail and provide a symmetrical finished look to the rail.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide guides and a second rigid plate on the opposite side of the rail of Walker, as taught by Murdaca, so as to allow the rail to be attached to a support (20) on either side of the rail and provide a symmetrical finished look to the rail. Further, it should be noted that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co. 193 USPQ 8 MPEP 2144.04(vi)(B)
Regarding Claim 10, Walker et al. further comprising a first end cover disposed at a first end of the rail, the first end cover enclosing the first end of the rail, a first end of the first rigid plate, and a first end of the second rigid plate (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Walker et al. comprising a second end cover disposed at a second end of the rail, the second end cover enclosing the second end of the rail, a second end of the first rigid plate, and a second end of the second rigid plate, wherein all ends of the first and second rigid plates are enclosed (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 12, 13, and17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. in view of Oliveri et al. (USPN 5794390).
Regarding Claim 12, Walker et al. discloses a barrier system (Fig. 1-7) comprising a first barrier (Fig. 2), wherein the first barrier includes: a rail (12) having a length extending along a longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 2 & 6), the rail including: a partition (48, 52, 56, 70, 68, 58, and 50) extending across the width of the rail (Fig. 5) and defining a first cavity (between inside 42, 46, 44 and the partition) and a second cavity (60, 64, and the space between the partition and opening 105), the first cavity defined by a top of the rail (42,46, and 44) and a top surface of the partition(Fig. 5), an and the second cavity defined by a bottom surface of the partition and a bottom of the rail (Fig. 5) including a first opening (105) for receiving a support leg (16), a groove disposed (between 52 and 54) disposed within the second cavity (Fig. 5), the first groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 4) and configured for receiving an upper end of the support leg (Fig. 5), and an upper guide (between 86 and 54) and a lower guide (between 84 and 54), both of which extend along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 2 & 6), the upper guide formed within the top and the lower guide formed within the bottom (Fig.2 & 6, wherein the upper guide is above the lower guide and attached to the top thus is within the top), and a rigid plate (92) having an upper end and a lower end, each being disposed within the upper guide and the lower guide, respectively (Fig. 5). Walker et al. does not specifically disclose a second barrier and a first connector sized and configured for sliding onto a first end of the first barrier and a second end of the second barrier and attached to the first end and the second end. Oliveri et al. teaches a barrier system (Fig. 2) having a first barrier (between 7/56 and 5/52) and a second barrier (either the section between 6 and 7 and/or the section to the left of 5/52) and a connector (5/52 and/or 7/56) slid on the ends of the first and second barriers (Fig. 2) so as to cover any gaps between the ends of adjacent barriers and to protect a larger area than one barrier would protect. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the device of Walker et al. with multiple barriers and a connector between the ends of the barriers, as taught by Oliveri et al., so as to cover any gaps between the ends of adjacent barriers and to protect a larger area than one barrier would protect.
Regarding Claim 13, Oliveri et al. discloses wherein the first connector (5/52) is substantially straight along a first axis and aligns the first barrier and the second barrier along the first axis (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Oliveri et al. discloses wherein the first connector has a flange (74 and/or 100), the flange attached to the first end and the second end (Fig. 5 & 7).
Regarding Claim 17, Walker et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to specifically disclose further comprising: a second rail having a length extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier and includes: a second partition extending across the width of the second rail and defining a third cavity and a fourth cavity, the third cavity defined by the top of the body and a top surface of the second partition, and the fourth cavity defined by a bottom surface of the second partition and a bottom of the second rail including a second opening for receiving a second support leg, a second groove disposed within the fourth cavity, the second groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier and configured for receiving an upper end of the second support leg, and a second upper guide and a second lower guide, both of which extend along the longitudinal axis of the barrier, the second upper guide formed within the top and the second lower guide formed within the bottom, and a first connector sized and configured for sliding onto a first end of the first rail and a second end of the second rail and attached to the first end and the second end, the first connector being substantially straight and aligning the first rail and the second rail along a common longitudinal axis, wherein the upper end of the first rigid plate is disposed within the first upper guide, and the lower end of the first rigid plate is disposed within the first lower guide. Oliveri et al. teaches a barrier system (Fig. 2) having a first barrier (between 7/56 and 5/52) and a second identical barrier (either the section between 6 and 7 and/or the section to the left of 5/52) so as to protect a larger area than one barrier would protect and provide a uniform look to the entire barrier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the device of Walker et al. with multiple identical barriers, as taught by Oliveri et al., so as to protect a larger area than one barrier would protect and provide a uniform look to the entire barrier.
Claim(s) 12, 15, and16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al. in view of Sabin et al. (USPN 5891534).
Regarding Claim 12, Walker et al. discloses a barrier system (Fig. 1-7) comprising a first barrier (Fig. 2), wherein the first barrier includes: a rail (12) having a length extending along a longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 2 & 6), the rail including: a partition (48, 52, 56, 70, 68, 58, and 50) extending across the width of the rail (Fig. 5) and defining a first cavity (between inside 42, 46, 44 and the partition) and a second cavity (60, 64, and the space between the partition and opening 105), the first cavity defined by a top of the rail (42,46, and 44) and a top surface of the partition(Fig. 5), an and the second cavity defined by a bottom surface of the partition and a bottom of the rail (Fig. 5) including a first opening (105) for receiving a support leg (16), a groove disposed (between 52 and 54) disposed within the second cavity (Fig. 5), the first groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 4) and configured for receiving an upper end of the support leg (Fig. 5), and an upper guide (between 86 and 54) and a lower guide (between 84 and 54), both of which extend along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Fig. 2 & 6), the upper guide formed within the top and the lower guide formed within the bottom (Fig.2 & 6, wherein the upper guide is above the lower guide and attached to the top thus is within the top), and a rigid plate (92) having an upper end and a lower end, each being disposed within the upper guide and the lower guide, respectively (Fig. 5). Walker et al. does not specifically disclose a second barrier and a first connector sized and configured for sliding onto a first end of the first barrier and a second end of the second barrier and attached to the first end and the second end. Sabin et al. teaches a barrier system (Fig. 1) having two identical barriers (12 and 14) that are attached to each other by a connector (16) slid over the ends of the two barriers so as to cover any gaps between the ends of adjacent barriers and to protect a larger area than one barrier would protect. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the device of Walker et al. with multiple barriers and a connector between the ends of the barriers, as taught by Sabin et al., so as to cover any gaps between the ends of adjacent barriers and to protect a larger area than one barrier would protect.
Regarding Claim 15, Sabin et al. discloses wherein the first connector is substantially L- shaped (Col. 5, Lines 53-56) at a fixed angle (Col. 6, Lines 36-39), the first connector having a cavity (cavity inside socket adapters 18 and 20 as shown in Fig. 3) and a plurality of ribs (vertical side walls of adapters 18 and 20 as shown in Fig. 3) inside the cavity, wherein a first rib (vertical side wall of adapter 18 as shown in Fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs abuts the first end and a second rib (vertical side wall of adapter 20 as shown in Fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs abuts the second end (Col. 6, Lines 13-14; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Sabin et al. discloses the first connector includes a lower end bracket (mounting bracket that includes fingers 60 and 62 as shown in Fig. 2 and unnumbered in Fig. 3 and identical to the mounting bracket 49 shown in Fig. 5) attached to the first end, an upper end bracket (mounting bracket 49 shown in Fig. 5 which includes fingers 48 and 50 shown in Figs. 2 and 3) attached to the second end, and a coupling mechanism (axle pin 40; Figs. 2 and 3), the coupling mechanism coupling the lower end bracket to the upper end bracket and allowing a range of angles between the lower end bracket relative to the upper end bracket (Col. 6, Lines 13-31 and Col. 8, Lines 7-23; Figs. 1-3 and 5).
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabin et al. (USPN 5891534) in view of Brown (UJSPN 3842564).
Regarding Claim 1, Sabin teaches a barrier (protective member 12; Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising: a rail (channel member 66; Fig. 4) having a length extending along a longitudinal axis of the barrier (Col. 7, Lines 16-18; Fig. 3), the rail Including: a partition (lower transverse member 74; Col. 7, Lines 24-27; Fig. 4) extending across the width of the rail and defining a first cavity (cavity above lower transverse member 74 as shown in Fig. 4) and a second cavity (cavity below lower transverse member 74 as shown in Fig. 4), the first cavity defined by a top of the rail and a top surface of the partition (as shown in Fig. 4), and the second cavity defined by a bottom surface of the partition (as shown in Fig. 4) and a bottom of the rail Including a first opening (opening between tabs 79 as shown in Fig. 4; Col. 8, Lines 28-31) for receiving a support leg (post 24; Col. 5, Lines 37-39; Fig. 4); and a first groove (slots 108; Fig. 3) disposed within the second cavity, the first groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier and configured for receiving an upper end (upper bracket 106; Figs. 3 and 4) of the support leg (Col. 8, Lines 28-31; Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the rail includes first guides (retaining tabs 79; Fig. 4) extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Col. 8, Lines 28-31); and a first rigid plate (sheath 64; Fig. 4) having lower ends (lower ends of sheath 64 as shown in Fig. 4), each being disposed within the guides, respectively (Col. 7, Lines 33-41; Fig. 4). Sabin fails to teach of the rail including: wherein the top of the rail includes a first upper guide, and the bottom of the rail includes a first lower guide, both the first upper guide and the first lower guide extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier; and the first rigid plate having an upper end and a lower end, each being disposed within the first upper guide and the first lower guide, respectively. Brown teaches a barrier (rail or rigid supporting member 60 and bumper 76; Abstract; Figs. 3 and 4) and teaches of a rail (60; Col. 4, Lines 25-28; Figs. 3 and 4) including: wherein the top of the rail includes a first upper guide (undercut toe portion 74; Fig. 4), and the bottom of the rail includes a first lower guide (undercut toe portion 72; Fig. 4), both the first upper guide and the first lower guide extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (as shown in Fig. 3; Col. 4, Lines 33-36); and a bumper (76) having an upper end (upper end located under undercut toe portion 74 as shown in Fig. 4) and a lower end (lower end located under undercut toe portion 72 as shown in Fig. 4), each being disposed within the first upper guide and the first lower guide, respectively (Col. 4, Lines 36-40; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the guides and plate of Sabin to have the configuration of the guides and bumper of Brown in order to reduce the volume of material in the plate thereby providing a less expensive replaceable part.
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 1, and Sabin teaches of further comprising a first end cover (end cap 28 on the left end of protective member 12; Col. 5, Lines 33-36; Fig. 1) disposed at a first end (left end as shown in Fig. 1) of the rail, the first end cover enclosing the first end of the rail and a first end of the first rigid plate (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 2, and Sabin teaches of wherein the rail further includes a second groove (slot extending through shoulders 77; Fig. 4) disposed within the first cavity or the second cavity, the second groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Col. 7, Lines 27-31; Fig. 3) and configured for receiving a first fastener (screws 79; Fig. 3), and the first end cover is attached to the first end of the rail by a fastener (screws 79; Fig. 3) extending through a first through hole in the first end cover and into the second groove (Col. 7, Lines 31-33; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 1, and Sabin teaches of wherein the rail further includes sidewalls (walls 68 and 70; Col. 7, Lines 24-27; Fig. 4) connecting the first guides, wherein the sidewall and the first guides together form a track (track supporting sheath 64 as shown in Fig. 4; Col. 8, Lines 37-41; note that the retaining tabs are miss-numbered as 78 in these lines). Sabin fails to teach of the sidewall connecting the first upper guide with the first lower guide, wherein the sidewall, the first upper guide, and the first lower guide together form a track, and a cross section of the track is substantially c-shaped. Brown teaches of a sidewall (sidewall of channel 70 as shown in Fig. 4) connecting the first upper guide with the first lower guide, wherein the sidewall, the first upper guide, and the first lower guide together form a track (channel 70; Fig. 4), and a cross section of the track is substantially c-shaped (Col. 4, Lines 33-36; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the guides and plate of Sabin to have the configuration of the guides and bumper of Brown in order to reduce the volume of material in the plate thereby providing a less expensive replaceable part.
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 4, and Sabin teaches of wherein the rail forms a single extruded part (Col. 7, Line 18; Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 4, and Sabin teaches of wherein the first plate covers a surface of the sidewall facing away from the rail and prevents the sidewall from being directly impacted by an object (Col. 7, Lines 45-54; Figs. 1, 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 4, but Sabin fails to teach of wherein the track has a second opening through which a middle portion of the first rigid plate is exposed. Brown teaches of wherein the track has a second opening (opening between the outer edges of the undercut toe portions 72 and 74 as shown in Fig. 4) through which a middle portion of the first rigid plate is exposed (as shown in Figs. 3 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the guides and plate of Sabin to have the configuration of the guides and bumper of Brown in order to reduce the volume of material in the plate thereby providing a less expensive replaceable part.
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 1, and Sabin teaches of wherein a portion of the first rigid plate extending outside the first guides has a façade (grooves in the impact faces 11 visible in Figs. 1, 3 and 4; Col. 5, Lines 31-33) including a periodic pattern (parallel grooves as shown in Figs 1, 3 and 4), the façade facing away from the rail (as shown in Figs. 1, 3 and 4).
Sabin fails to teach of the portion of the first rigid plate extending outside the first upper guide and the first lower guide. Brown teaches of a portion of the bumper extending outside the first guides has a façade (as shown in Figs. 3 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the guides and plate of Sabin to have the configuration of the guides and bumper of Brown in order to reduce the volume of material in the plate thereby providing a less expensive replaceable part.
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 1, but Sabin fails to teach of wherein the rail further includes a second upper guide and a second lower guide, both of which extend along the longitudinal axis of the barrier, the second upper guide formed within the top and the second lower guide formed within the bottom, and wherein the barrier further comprises a second rigid plate having an upper end and a lower end, each being disposed within the second upper guide and the second lower guide, respectively. Sabin does teach that the sheath (64; Fig. 4) includes an impact face (11; Fig. 4) on each sidewall (76 and 78; Col. 5, Lines 31-33; Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a second upper guide, a second lower guide and a second rigid plate, since a mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. and such an arrangement would provide the impact face on the opposite side of the barrier.
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 8, and Sabin teaches of further comprising a first end cover (end cap 28 on the left end of protective member 12; Col. 5, Lines 33-36; Fig. 1) disposed at a first end (left end as shown in Fig. 1) of the rail, the first end cover enclosing the first end of the rail, a first end of the first rigid plate, and a first end of the second rigid plate (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 10, and Sabin teaches of further comprising a second end cover (end cap 28 on the right end of protective member 14; Col. 5, Lines 33-36; Fig. 1) disposed at a second end of a rail (protective member 14), the second end cover enclosing the second end of the rail, a second end of another rigid plate (sheath 64 on protective member 14 as shown in Figs. 1 and 3). Sabin does not expressly teach a second end cover disposed at a second end of the rail, the second end cover enclosing the second end of the rail, a second end of the first rigid plate, and a second end of the second rigid plate, wherein all ends of the first and second rigid plates are enclosed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose the second end cover at a second end of the rail, since a mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and such an arrangement would by necessary when only one rail is to be used.
Regarding Claim 12, Sabin teaches a barrier system (protective rail system 10; Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising a first barrier (first protective rail member 12; Fig. 1), a second barrier (second protective rail member 14; Fig. 1), and a first connector (corner assembly 16; Fig. 1), the first connector sized and configured for sliding onto a first end (left end of first protective rail member 12 as shown in Fig. 1, note that the members 12 and 14 are identical, and wherein the unnumbered flange around the middle of socket adapter 18/20 that protrudes into the members 12/14 will slide along the upper transverse members 72 when the assembly 16 is mated with the member 14 as shown in Fig. 3) of the first barrier and a second end (right end of second protective rail member 14 as shown in Fig. 1) of the second barrier and attached to the first end and the second end (Col. 5, Lines 19-31; Fig. 1), wherein each of the first barrier and the second barrier includes: a rail (channel member 66; Fig. 4) having a length extending along a longitudinal axis of the barrier (Col. 7, Lines 16-18; Fig. 3), the rail including: a partition (lower transverse member 74; Col. 7, Lines 24-27; Fig. 4) extending across the width of the rail and defining a first cavity (cavity above lower transverse member 74 as shown in Fig. 4) and a second cavity (cavity below lower transverse member 74 as shown in Fig. 4), the first cavity defined by a top of the rail and a top surface of the partition (as shown in Fig. 4), and the second cavity defined by a bottom surface of the partition (as shown in Fig. 4) and a bottom of the rail including an opening (opening between tabs 79 as shown in Fig. 4; Col. 8, Lines 28-31) for receiving a support leg (post 24; Col. 5, Lines 37-39; Fig. 4), a groove (slots 108; Fig. 3) disposed within the second cavity, the groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier and configured for receiving an upper end (upper bracket 106; Figs. 3 and 4) of the support leg (Col. 8, Lines 28-31; Figs. 3 and 4); and wherein the rail includes guides (retaining tabs 79; Fig. 4) extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Col. 8, Lines 28-31); and a first rigid plate (sheath 64; Fig. 4) having lower ends (lower ends of sheath 64 as shown in Fig. 4), each being disposed within the guides, respectively (Col. 7, Lines 33-41; Fig. 4). Sabin fails to teach of the rail including: wherein the top of the rail includes a first upper guide, and the bottom of the rail includes a first lower guide, both the first upper guide and the first lower guide extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier; and the first rigid plate having an upper end and a lower end, each being disposed within the first upper guide and the first lower guide, respectively. Brown teaches of a rail (60; Col. 4, Lines 25-28; Figs. 3 and 4) including: wherein the top of the rail includes a first upper guide (undercut toe portion 74; Fig. 4), and the bottom of the rail includes a first lower guide (undercut toe portion 72; Fig. 4), both the first upper guide and the first lower guide extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (as shown in Fig. 3; Col. 4, Lines 33-36); and a bumper (76) having an upper end (upper end located under undercut toe portion 74 as shown in Fig. 4) and a lower end (lower end located under undercut toe portion 72 as shown in Fig. 4), each being disposed within the first upper guide and the first lower guide, respectively (Col. 4, Lines 36-40; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the guides and plate of Sabin to have the configuration of the guides and bumper of Brown in order to reduce the volume of material in the plate thereby providing a less expensive replaceable part.
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier system of claim 12, and Sabin teaches of wherein the first connector is substantially straight along a first axis and aligns the first barrier and the second barrier along the first axis (as shown in Fig. 3; note the angle 30 between the base rails 12 and 14 can be adjusted to any angle; Col. 5, Lines 53-56; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier system of claim 13, and Sabin teaches of wherein the first connector has a flange (socket adapters 18 and 20; Fig. 1), the flange attached to the first end and the second end (Col. 5, Lines 28-31; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier system of claim 12, and Sabin teaches of wherein the first connector is substantially L-shaped (Col. 5, Lines 53-56) at a fixed angle (Col. 6, Lines 36-39), the first connector having a cavity (cavity inside socket adapters 18 and 20 as shown in Fig. 3) and a plurality of ribs (vertical side walls of adapters 18 and 20 as shown in Fig. 3) inside the cavity, wherein a first rib (vertical side wall of adapter 18 as shown in Fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs abuts the first end and a second rib (vertical side wall of adapter 20 as shown in Fig. 3) of the plurality of ribs abuts the second end (Col. 6, Lines 13-14; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier system of claim 12, and Sabin teaches of wherein the first connector includes a lower end bracket (mounting bracket that includes fingers 60 and 62 as shown in Fig. 2 and unnumbered in Fig. 3 and identical to the mounting bracket 49 shown in Fig. 5) attached to the first end, an upper end bracket (mounting bracket 49 shown in Fig. 5 which includes fingers 48 and 50 shown in Figs. 2 and 3) attached to the second end, and a coupling mechanism (axle pin 40; Figs. 2 and 3), the coupling mechanism coupling the lower end bracket to the upper end bracket and allowing a range of angles between the lower end bracket relative to the upper end bracket (Col. 6, Lines 13-31 and Col. 8, Lines 7-23; Figs. 1-3 and 5).
Regarding Claim 17; the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claim 1, and Sabin teaches of further comprising: a second rail (channel member 66 of the other of the protective rail members 12 and 14; Figs. 1 and 4; note that the protective rail members 12 and 14 are identical; Col. 7, Lines 10-13) having a length extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Col. 7, Lines 16- 18; Fig. 3) and includes: a second partition (lower transverse member 74; Col. 7, Lines 24-27; Fig. 4) extending across the width of the second rail and defining a third cavity (cavity above lower transverse member 74 as shown in Fig. 4) and a fourth cavity (cavity below lower transverse member 74 as shown in Fig. 4), the third cavity defined by the top of the body and a top surface of the second partition (as shown in Fig. 4), and the fourth cavity defined by a bottom surface of the second partition (as shown in Fig. 4) and a bottom of the second rail including a second opening (opening between tabs 79 as shown in Fig. 4; Col. 8, Lines 28-31) for receiving a second support leg (post 24; Col. 5, Lines 37-39; Fig. 4), a second groove (slots 108; Fig. 3) disposed within the fourth cavity, the second groove extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier and configured for receiving an upper end (upper bracket 106; Figs. 3 and 4) of the second support leg (Col. 8, Lines 28-31; Figs. 3 and 4); and second guides (retaining tabs 79; Fig. 4) extending along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (Col. 8, Lines 28-31); and a first connector (corner assembly 16; Fig. 1) sized and configured for sliding onto a first end (left end of first protective rail member 12 as shown in Fig. 1, wherein the unnumbered flange around the middle of socket adapters 18/20 that protrudes into the members 12/14 will slide along the upper transverse members 72 when the assembly 16 is mated with the members 12/14 as shown in Fig. 3) of the first rail and a second end (right end of second protective rail member 14 as shown in Fig. 1) of the second rail and attached to the first end and the second end (Col. 5, Lines 19-31; Fig. 1), the first connector being substantially straight and aligning the first rail and the second rail along a common longitudinal axis (as shown in Fig. 3; note the angle 30 between the base rails 12 and 14 can be adjusted to any angle; Col. 5, Lines 53-56; Fig. 1), a first rigid plate (sheath 64; Fig. 4) having lower ends (lower ends of sheath 64 as shown in Fig. 4), each being disposed within the guides, respectively (Col. 7, Lines 33-41; Fig. 4). Sabin fails to teach of the second rail including: a second upper guide and a second lower guide, both of which extend along the longitudinal axis of the barrier, the second upper guide formed within the top and the second lower guide formed within the bottom; and wherein the upper end of the first rigid plate is disposed within the first upper guide, and the lower end of the first rigid plate is disposed within the first lower guide. Brown teaches a barrier (rail or rigid supporting member 60 and bumper 76; Abstract; Figs. 3 and 4) and teaches of a rail (60; Col. 4, Lines 25-28; Figs. 3 and 4) including: an upper guide (undercut toe portion 74; Fig. 4) and a lower guide (undercut toe portion 72; Fig. 4), both of which extend along the longitudinal axis of the barrier (as shown in Fig. 3), the second upper guide formed within the top and the second lower guide formed within the bottom (as shown in Fig. 4; Col. 4, Lines 33-36); and wherein the upper end (upper end located under undercut toe portion 74 as shown in Fig. 4) of the bumper is disposed within the first upper guide, and the lower end (lower end located under undercut toe portion 72 as shown in Fig. 4) of the bumper is disposed within the first lower guide (Col. 4, Lines 36-40; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the guides and plate of Sabin to have the configuration of the guides and bumper of Brown in order to reduce the volume of material in the plate thereby providing a less expensive replaceable part.
Regarding Claim 18, the modified Sabin teaches the barrier of claims 1, and Sabin teaches of wherein the support leg has a lower end
(lower end of post 24 as shown in Fig. 3) configured for attachment to an anchoring surface (floor 104; Col. 3, Lines; Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678